SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection contains materials related to legal determinations and advice given within the Treasury Department and White House on such topics as Watergate, General Revenue Sharing Program, Emergency Loan Guarantee Program, railway improvement, regulatory reform, constitutional or statutory powers of the President, conflict of interest rules, standards of conduct, political restrictions, and a variety of domestic and foreign policy issues involving legal questions.

QUANTITY
14.5 linear feet (ca. 26,000 pages)

DONOR
Edward C. Schmults (accession number 2014-NLF-010)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Edward C. Schmults donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Prepared by James Neel and John J. O’Connell, September 2014
[s:\bin\findaid\schmults, edward - papers.doc]

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

Edward Charles Schmults

Feb. 6, 1931 - Born in Paterson, NJ

1949-53 - Yale University (B.S.)

1953-55 - U.S. Marine Corps

1955-58 - Harvard Law School (LL.B. Cum Laude)

1958-73 - White & Case law firm, New York City; specialized in corporate and securities law; partner, 1965-73

1973-74 - General Counsel, U.S. Treasury Department

1974-75 - Undersecretary of the Treasury

1975-77 - Deputy Counsel to the President

1977-81 - Partner, White and Case law firm, New York City

1981-84 - Deputy Attorney General, Department of Justice

1984-94 - Sr. Vice President and General Counsel, GTE Corp.

INTRODUCTION

Enter text here...Edward C. Schmults began his career in public service as the General Counsel for the U.S. Department of the Treasury in June 1973. During his tenure he provided legal advice and counsel on the Federal Government’s General Revenue Sharing Program, was involved in the integration of processes to institute the Privacy Act of 1974 within the Department, directed a reorganization of the Treasury General Counsel’s office, and oversaw the conflict of interest vetting for candidates for positions and consultancies within the Department. Additionally, Schmults served as Executive Director and General Counsel of the Emergency Loan Guarantee Board.

Schmults oversaw many of the Treasury Department’s communication efforts with the Senate Select Committee on Presidential Campaign Activities and the Watergate Special Prosecution Force. In this effort, he compiled background information on several controversial issues of the day that were related to the Department and the Watergate scandal, including the Milk Price Support Program, ITT Corporation Anti-Trust Case, and allegations of the improper use of Federal agencies (Internal Revenue Service, Customs Service, and Secret Service) by the President and his advisers. Schmults often accompanied key Treasury Department officials being interviewed or deposed on Watergate issues by the Senate Select Committee or the Special Prosecutor’s Office, and wrote summaries of these occurrences, which are included in the collection. He was a key intermediary between the White House and the Senate Select Committee on matters related to the subpoena and subsequent interview of Secret Service personnel who were serving, or had served, in a protective capacity in the White House. He worked with the IRS Commissioner with respect to Senate Select Committee subpoenas issued for the examination of tax records of public and private citizens associated with the Watergate scandal.

Schmults’ time as General Counsel culminated in his nomination by President Nixon to be the Undersecretary of the Treasury, a position he assumed in July 1974. During his tenure as Undersecretary, Schmults served on the Board of Directors of the Securities Investor Protection Corporation, the Federal Financing Bank, and the United States Railway Association. Within these roles, he was involved as a key decision maker with the Lockheed Corporation government loan program and their production of the L1011 aircraft, securities and banking reform, and controlled transfer procedures related to ConRail.

In November 1975, Schmults moved to the White House Counsel’s Office. As Deputy Counsel for the President, Schmults provided legal advice to the President and members of the White House staff on domestic and foreign policy issues, constitutional or statutory powers of the President, acceptance of gifts, and the Hatch act and other political restrictions. He also handled conflict of interest questions, standards of conduct, Secret Service protection authorizations, and approval of White House contacts with independent regulatory agencies.

The collection is particularly useful for studying regulatory reform, legislative encroachment, and the 1976 Presidential campaign. For example, the regulatory reform records encapsulate not only President Ford’s philosophy, but also reflect a growing sentiment among many Americans favorable to a smaller role for the Federal government. Of special interest are the records on cable television which include an internal debate about whether or not to deregulate the growing industry. The collection also contains material related to airline deregulation, railroad reorganization, telecommunications (Federal Communications Commission), and the trucking industry. The material on legislative encroachment provides a useful study of the post-Watergate politics of the era, especially the attempt by Congress to reassert its authority in the making of foreign policy. Finally, the material on the 1976 Presidential campaign offers an account of the many challenges President Ford faced in his bid to win reelection; not only from the Democratic nominee but the conservative wing of the Republican Party as well.

Related Materials (September 2014)
Significant related materials on the Treasury Department include the William Simon Papers, the Arthur Burns Papers, and the Arthur Burns Journals, and such White House Central Files (WHCF) categories as FG (Federal Government), BE (Business-Economics), CM (Commodities), and FA (Federal Aid). On issues involving direct legal questions, significant materials appear in the files of staff members of the Domestic Council, the Office of the Assistant for Economic Affairs, and the WHCF Subject File. The Edward C. Schmults Files, distinct from the Schmults Papers, consist of Schmults’ official White House records.

SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Treasury Subject File, 1973‑75.  (Boxes 1‑18, 7.6 linear feet)
This series contains correspondence, memoranda, reports, notes, press releases, speeches, speech drafts, manuals, pamphlets, and clippings. A major theme within this series is background information on the Watergate scandal as it pertains to personnel and agencies within the Treasury Department. The other materials address a wide variety of topics, including: General Revenue Sharing program, the Privacy Act, and Departmental reorganization, employee conflicts of interest, Emergency Loan Guarantee Board, securities reform, and railway improvement.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

White House Subject File, 1975‑77. (Boxes 19‑33, 6.6 linear feet)
This series contains memoranda, correspondence, briefing papers, bills, press releases, fact sheets, reports, Presidential messages, clippings, agendas, notes, and some correspondence from persons outside the Federal government. The major subjects include judicial reorganization, legislative encroachment, Presidential campaign of 1976, regulatory reform, and Secret Service protection. Other topics include cable television (especially broadcast media), the Civil Aeronautics Board, labor conditions (Occupational Safety and Health Administration), maritime affairs (cargo preference), railroad reorganization, telecommunications, and the trucking industry.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Post-White House Subject File, 1977‑81. (Box 34, 0.3 linear feet)
This series contains correspondence, notes, clippings, and reports. Major topics include the Regulatory Reform Act of 1979, airline deregulation, and economic reform. Other topics include labor unions, campaign funds, and the Republican Party platform.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Treasury Subject File

• Budget Results and Outlays, 1974
• Budget Struggle - Newsclippings, 1974
• Chronological File, 5/73 - 10/73 (1)
• Chronological File, 5/73 - 10/73 (2)
• Chronological File, 5/73 - 10/73 (3)
• Chronological File, 5/73 - 10/73 (4)
• Chronological File, 5/73 - 10/73 (5)
• Chronological File, 5/73 - 10/73 (6)

Box 2 - Treasury Subject File

• Chronological File, 11/73-6/74 (1)
• Chronological File, 11/73-6/74 (2)
• Chronological File, 11/73-6/74 (3)
• Chronological File, 11/73-6/74 (4)
• Chronological File, 11/73-6/74 (5)
• Chronological File, 11/73-6/74 (6)

Box 3 - Treasury Subject File

• Chronological File, 7/74 (1)
• Chronological File, 7/74 (2)
• Chronological File, 7/74 (3)
• Chronological File, 8/74-12/74 (1)
• Chronological File, 8/74-12/74 (2)
• Chronological File, 8/74-12/74 (3)
• Chronological File, 8/74-12/74 (4)
• Chronological File, 1/75-4/75 (1)

Box 4 - Treasury Subject File

• Chronological File, 1/75-4/75 (2)
• Chronological File, 1/75-4/75 (3)
• Chronological File, 1/75-4/75 (4)
• Chronological File, 5/75-10/75 (1)
• Chronological File, 5/75-10/75 (2)
• Chronological File, 5/75-10/75 (3)
• Chronological File, 5/75-10/75 (4)

Box 5 - Treasury Subject File

• Correspondence - Letters to Corporate Officers
• Correspondence - Letters to Individuals
• Correspondence - Treasury Officials' Ties to Oil Companies
• Correspondence - Congressional - Routine
• Correspondence - Congressional- Significant (1)
• Correspondence - Congressional- Significant (2)
• Correspondence to Government Officials
• Customs Service - Border Patrol Memorandum
• Customs Service - Labor Building Controversy
• Dunlop, John L. - Relationship with Saudi Arabia - Financial Disclosures
• Economic Indicators
• Economic Policy Issues
• Embassy Incidents in Washington
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Board - Annual Meeting Pamphlets, 1972-75
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Board - Lockheed Corporation - Potential Conflicts of Interest
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Board - Memoranda
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Board - Special Report to the Congress

Box 6 - Treasury Subject File

• Emergency Loan Guarantee Board - Twentieth Meeting, Sep. 22, 1975 (1)
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Board - Twentieth Meeting, Sep. 22, 1975 (2)
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Loan - Lockheed Corporation (1)
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Loan - Lockheed Corporation (2)
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Loan - Lockheed Corporation (3)
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Loan - Lockheed Corporation (4)
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Loan - Lockheed Corporation (5)
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Loan - Lockheed Corporation (6)
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Loan - Lockheed Corporation (7)
• Emergency Loan Guarantee Loan - Lockheed Corporation (8)

Box 7 - Treasury Subject File

• Employment Documents - DD 214
• Energy Policy - Integrated Emergency Plan
• Energy Policy - Natural Gas Legislation
• Federal Advisory Committee Act
• Foreign Borrowing from U.S. Banks
• Foreign Policy - Countervailing Duty Status Report
• Foreign Policy - Economic Sanctions on Cuba
• Fort Knox - Congressional Inspection of Gold Repository, Sep. 23, 1974
• Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) - Procedures
• Freedom of Information Act - Supporting Documents Submitted to President
• General Revenue Sharing (1)
• General Revenue Sharing (2)
• General Revenue Sharing (3)
• Government Budget and Staffing Proposal
• House Budget Committee - Budget and Impoundment Act of 1974
• Interagency Law Enforcement Strike Forces (1)
• Interagency Law Enforcement Strike Forces (2)

Box 8 - Treasury Subject File

• Interagency Law Enforcement Strike Forces (3)
• Interagency Law Enforcement Strike Forces (4)
• IRS - IRS Relationship with the Treasury Department
• IRS - IRS, Treasury Ground Rules
• IRS - Narcotics Trafficking Program (1)
• IRS - Narcotics Trafficking Program (2)
• IRS - Taxation of Political Parties
• Joint Economic Committee Testimony - Rush, Kenneth
• Legislation - Ash, Roy - Emerging Livestock Financing
• Legislation - Banking - Financial Institutions Act, Citicorp Bill
• Legislation - Cargo Preferences
• Legislation - Confidentiality of Individual Tax Returns
• Legislation - House Resolution 7130 - Congressional Budget and Impoundment Control Act, Introduced on 4/18/73
• Legislation - Privacy Act of 1974
• Management by Objective (MBO) efforts in FY 74 - Status Report to Deputy Secretary

Box 9 - Treasury Subject File

• Milk Price Supports - School Lunches
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (1)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (2)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (3)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (4)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (5)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (6)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (7)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (8)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (9)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (10)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (11)

Box 10 - Treasury Subject File

• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (12)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (13)
• Milk Price Supports - Documentation (14)
• Milk Price Supports - Milk Paper Project (1)
• Milk Price Supports - Milk Paper Project (2)
• Milk Price Supports - Milk Paper Project (3)
• Milk Price Supports - Milk Paper Project (4)
• Milk Price Supports - Milk Paper Project (5)
• Milk Price Supports - Milk Paper Project (6)

Box 11 - Treasury Subject File

• Milk Price Supports, Newsclippings
• New York City Bankruptcy Crisis, 1975
• Nixon Taxes
• Presidential Commission on Personnel Interchange - Appropriations
• President's Economic Plan
• President's Economic Speech - Draft with Recommendations
• Quarterly Refinancing Report to the President - 4th Quarter - Fiscal Year 1974
• Regulatory Reform - Banking
• Responsiveness Program
• Restrictions on Political Participation by Executive Branch Officials and Employees
• Secret Service - Evolution of Functions - Treasury Department Study
• Secret Service - Functions, 1973-1975

Box 12 - Treasury Subject File

• Securities - Amendments to Security Act
• Securities - Bond Market
• Securities - Capital Market (1)
• Securities - Capital Market (2)
• Securities - Citicorp - Congressional Testimony
• Securities - Citicorp Offering
• Securities - Investor Protection Corporation 3rd Annual Report, 1973
• Securities - Legislative Reform (1)
• Securities - Legislative Reform (2)
• Securities - Market (1)
• Securities - Market (2)
• Securities - Market (3)
• Securities - Market (4)

Box 13 - Treasury Subject File

• Simon, William E. - Summary of Foreign Trip Submitted to President on 4/28/75
• Treasury Department - 1976 Budget
• Treasury Department - Administrative Matters
• Treasury Department - Documents pertaining to Conflicts of Interest (1)
• Treasury Department - Documents pertaining to Conflicts of Interest (2)
• Treasury Department - Office of the General Counsel - Reorganization
• Treasury Department - Office of the General Counsel - Proposed Reorganization of Operation & Structure
• Treasury Department - Organization Chart, Draft
• Treasury Department - Relationship between Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy and the Commissioner of IRS
• Truck Research, Status Report, Draft
• United States Railway Association (USRA) - Board of Directors Meeting Minutes, 6/74-7/75 (1)
• United States Railway Association (USRA) - Board of Directors Meeting Minutes, 6/74-7/75 (2)

Box 14 - Treasury Subject File

• United States Railway Association (USRA) - ConRail - Controlled Transfer Procedures
• United States Railway Association (USRA) - Memoranda
• Watergate - Acree/Barth/Davis - Interviews and Notes by Edward Schmults (1)
• Watergate - Acree/Barth/Davis - Interviews and Notes by Edward Schmults (2)
• Watergate - Acree/Barth/Davis - Interviews and Notes by Edward Schmults (3)
• Watergate - Appointment of the Special Prosecutor
• Watergate - Caulfield Documentation (1)
• Watergate - Caulfield Documentation (2)
• Watergate - Customs Service - Electronic Surveillance (1)
• Watergate - Customs Service - Electronic Surveillance (2)

Box 15 - Treasury Subject File

• Watergate - Documentation on G. Gordon Liddy and John Caulfield
• Watergate - Electronic Surveillance by Secret Service (1)
• Watergate - Electronic Surveillance by Secret Service (2)
• Watergate - Executive Privilege (1)
• Watergate - Executive Privilege (2)
• Watergate - Investigation Findings Related to the IRS
• Watergate - Investigation of Howard Hughes and Charles "B.B." Rebozo [Newsclippings]
• Watergate - ITT Corporation Anti-Trust Case, ITT Controversy
• Watergate - Memoranda on Investigations (1)
• Watergate - Memoranda on Investigations (2)
• Watergate - Morgan, Edward L. - Interview by Senate Select Cmte.
• Watergate - Newsclippings, Magazine Articles, Press Releases
• Watergate - Nixon Tapes Dispute
• Watergate - Nixon, F. Donald - Surveillance by Secret Service

Box 16 - Treasury Subject File

• Watergate - Schultz, George P. - Calendar and Appointment Logs
• Watergate - Schultz, George P. - Grand Jury Testimony
• Watergate - Schultz, George P. - Interview by House Judiciary Committee Counsel
• Watergate - Schultz, George P. - Interviews
• Watergate - Schultz, George P. - Tax Inquiry
• Watergate - Secret Service, Interviews of officials on electronic surveillance
• Watergate - Senate Select Committee (1)
• Watergate - Senate Select Committee (2)
• Watergate - Senate Select Committee/Special Prosecution Force

Box 17 - Treasury Subject File

• Watergate - Simon, William E. - Testimony before the Senate Select Committee
• Watergate - Special Prosecutor (1)
• Watergate - Special Prosecutor (2)
• Watergate - Special Prosecutor (3)
• Watergate - Special Prosecutor (4)
• Watergate - Special Prosecutor (5)
• Watergate - Special Prosecutor (6)
• Watergate - Excerpts of Testimony before the Senate Select Committee (1)
• Watergate - Excerpts of Testimony before the Senate Select Committee (2)
• Watergate - Excerpts of Testimony before the Senate Select Committee (3)

Box 18 - Treasury Subject File

• Watergate - Excerpts of Testimony before the Senate Select Committee (4)
• Watergate - Excerpts of Testimony before the Senate Select Committee (5)
• Watergate - Excerpts of Testimony before the Senate Select Committee (6)
• Watergate - Excerpts of Testimony before the Senate Select Committee (7)
• Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
• Who's Who in Government Listing (1974)

Box 19 - White House Subject File

• Aircraft Noise Reduction Act
• American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
• Antitrust Improvements Act
• Arab Boycott (1)
• Arab Boycott (2)
• Cable Television Regulatory Reform: Background Material on Cable Issue
• Cable Television Regulatory Reform: Briefing Book (1)
• Cable Television Regulatory Reform: Briefing Book (2)
• Cable Television Regulatory Reform: Briefing Book (3)
• Cable Television Regulatory Reform: Broadcasters
• Cable Television Regulatory Reform: Cable Industry

Box 20 - White House Subject File

• Cable Television Regulatory Reform: Copyright Bill (1)
• Cable Television Regulatory Reform: Copyright Bill (2)
• Cable Television Regulatory Reform: Movie Producers
• Cable Television Regulatory Reform: Public Interest Groups
• Certificate of Value Amendment
• Civil Aeronautics Board
• Clippings and Articles (1)
• Clippings and Articles (2)
• Clippings and Articles (3)
• Clippings and Articles (4)
• Clippings and Articles (5)
• Ethical Issues: White House Mailings to News Media
• FCC Regulatory Reform: Discussion Draft, 03/17/1976
• FCC Regulatory Reform: Domestic Council Review Group
• FCC Regulatory Reform: Executive Order 1156
• FCC Regulatory Reform: National Communications System Report (1969)
• FCC Regulatory Reform: National Communications System Study (1968)
• FCC Regulatory Reform: National Security Agency
• FCC Regulatory Reform: Office of Telecommunications Policy Study (OTP)

Box 21 - White House Subject File

• FCC Regulatory Reform: Organizational Alternative for the Office of Telecommunication Policy
• Federal Courts: "Special Message to Congress on the Needs of the Federal Courts"
• Federal Jurisdiction Project (1)
• Federal Jurisdiction Project (2)
• Federal Jurisdiction Project (3)
• Federal Jurisdiction Project (4)
• Foreign Payments Disclosure Act
• GAO: Federal Assistance for Presidential Transitions
• General Counsel and Secretary
• GSA: White House Furnishing Purchases
• Hope, Judith Richards
• House Committee on Merchant Marine and Fisheries
• IRS
• Marine Engineer Benefit Association
• Meeting Notes: Meeting with President Ford, 2/4/1976
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 10/29/1975-12/30/1975 (1)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 10/29/1975-12/30/1975 (2)

Box 22 - White House Subject File

• Memoranda and Correspondence: 10/29/1975-12/30/1975 (3)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 1/4/1976-2/27/1976 (1)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 1/5/1976-2/27/1976 (2)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 3/1/1976-4/30/1976 (1)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 3/1/1976-4/30/1976 (2)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 3/1/1976-4/30/1976 (3)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 3/1/1976-4/30/1976 (4)

Box 23 - White House Subject File

• Memoranda and Correspondence: 5/1/1976-8/31/1976 (1)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 5/1/1976-8/31/1976 (2)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 5/1/1976-8/31/1976 (3)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 5/1/1976-8/31/1976 (4)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 5/1/1976-8/31/1976 (5)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 9/1/1976-10/28/1976 (1)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 9/1/1976-10/28/1976 (2)

Box 24 - White House Subject File

• Memoranda and Correspondence: 11/1/1976-4/1/1977 (1)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 11/1/1976-4/1/1977 (2)
• Memoranda and Correspondence: 11/1/1976-4/1/1977 (3)
• Military Department Appointees
• Military Sealift Command
• Office of the Counsel to the President Transition Book Volume 1 (1)
• Office of the Counsel to the President Transition Book Volume 1 (2)
• Office of the Counsel to the President Transition Book Volume 2 (1)

Box 25 - White House Subject File

• Office of the Counsel to the President Transition Book Volume 2 (2)
• Office of the Counsel to the President Transition Book Volume 2 (3)
• Office of the Counsel to the President Transition Book Volume 3 (1)
• Office of the Counsel to the President Transition Book Volume 3 (2)

Box 26 - White House Subject File

• Office of the Counsel to the President Transition Materials, November 1975
• Policy Executives Briefing Materials
• Policy Executives Orientation
• President Ford Committee: Ballot Security (1)
• President Ford Committee: Ballot Security (2)
• President Ford Committee: Campaign Expenditures
• President Ford Committee: Federal Election Campaign Laws (1)
• President Ford Committee: Federal Election Campaign Laws (2)

Box 27 - White House Subject File

• President Ford Committee: Federal Election Campaign Laws (3)
• President Ford Committee: Ford and Carter's Use of Campaign Funds
• President Ford Committee: News Clippings
• President Ford Committee: Patman Investigation (1)
• President Ford Committee: Patman Investigation (2)
• President Ford Committee: Political Activity Guidance for White House Staff Members
• President Ford Committee: Republican National Committee
• President Ford Committee: Special Prosecutor Investigation (1)
• President Ford Committee: Special Prosecutor Investigation (2)
• President Ford Committee: Special Prosecutor Investigation (3)
• President Ford Committee: Watergate Tapes

Box 28 - White House Subject File

• Presidential Messages (1)
• Presidential Messages (2)
• Presidential Papers: Ford, Gerald R. (1)
• Presidential Papers: Ford, Gerald R. (2)
• Presidential Papers: Ford, Gerald R. (3)
• Presidential Papers: Nixon, Richard M.
• Presidential Schedules (1)
• Presidential Schedules (2)
• Presidential Schedules (3)
• Presidential Schedules (4)

Box 29 - White House Subject File

• Questionable Corporate Payments Abroad
• Reduction of Transportation Excise Taxes
• Regulatory Reform: American Enterprise Institute
• Regulatory Reform: Anti-trust Immunities
• Regulatory Reform: Anti-Trust legislation
• Regulatory Reform: Aviation Act 1977
• Regulatory Reform: Carter, Jimmy
• Regulatory Reform: Civil Aeronautics Board
• Regulatory Reform: Council of Economic Advisors
• Regulatory Reform: Council on Wage and Price Stability
• Regulatory Reform: Domestic Council Review Group (1)
• Regulatory Reform: Domestic Council Review Group (2)
• Regulatory Reform: Economic Policy Board

Box 30 - White House Subject File

• Regulatory Reform: Economic Policy Review
• Regulatory Reform: Fact Sheet
• Regulatory Reform: FCC
• Regulatory Reform: Independent Regulatory Commissions
• Regulatory Reform: Journal Articles (1)
• Regulatory Reform: Journal Articles Folder (2)
• Regulatory Reform: Kennedy, Senator Edward
• Regulatory Reform: M.I.T
• Regulatory Reform: Maritime Task Force
• Regulatory Reform: Memorandum for the President 12/22/1976
• Regulatory Reform: Motor Carrier Reform Act 1976
• Regulatory Reform: Motor Carrier Regulation (1)
• Regulatory Reform: Motor Carrier Regulation (2)
• Regulatory Reform: National Conference on Regulatory Reform

Box 31 - White House Subject File

• Regulatory Reform: Omnibus Bill Legislation (1)
• Regulatory Reform: Omnibus Bill Legislation (2)
• Regulatory Reform: Omnibus Bill Legislation (3)
• Regulatory Reform: OSHA
• Regulatory Reform: Pamphlets, Books
• Regulatory Reform: President Ford's Reform Agenda (1)
• Regulatory Reform: President Ford's Reform Agenda (2)
• Regulatory Reform: Product Liability
• Regulatory Reform: Regulatory Agencies
• Regulatory Reform: Senate Government Operations Committee
• Regulatory Reform: Social Regulation

Box 32 - White House Subject File

• Regulatory Reform: Speeches (1)
• Regulatory Reform: Speeches (2)
• Regulatory Reform: White House Strategy (1)
• Regulatory Reform: White House Strategy (2)
• Rockefeller Commission Report
• Rockefeller, Nelson
• Secret Service (1)
• Secret Service (2)

Box 33 - White House Subject File

• Separation of Powers (1)
• Separation of Powers (2)
• Separation of Powers (3)
• Speeches
• Stand Up Breakfast at the White House, 01-20-1977
• Unconditional Amnesty - Jane Hart Request
• United States Supreme Court: Application For Admission to Practice, 12-03-1976
• Watergate Reorganization and Reform Act of 1976
• White House Fact Sheets (1)
• White House Fact Sheets (2)
• White House Office Files - Folder Listing
• White House Press Release: Dedication of the National Defense University
• White House Press Release: International Economic Issues
• White House Press Release: Proposed Legislation for the Admittance of Turkey to NATO
• White House Press Releases (1)
• White House Press Releases (2)

Box 34 - Post-White House Subject File

• Airline Regulation
• Biography
• Council on Economic Affairs
• Deerfield Academy
• Dole, Robert
• Regulation Reform Act of 1979 (1)
• Regulation Reform Act of 1979 (2)
• Republican National Committee (1)
• Republican National Committee (2)
• Senate Finance Committee
• Senate Testimony
• Union Political Contributions - Investigation into Alleged Misuse by President Ford