SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

The Press Advance Office handled logistical planning and support for media covering the President's foreign and domestic trips. A small subject file includes useful folders on the 1976 campaign and advance procedures. Case files for foreign trips are occasionally substantive. Domestic trip files are very routine with rare exceptions, e.g. New Hampshire, 1976.

QUANTITY
20.0 linear feet (ca. 37,000 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-89)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by David Horrocks, July 1984
[s:\bin\findaid\rosenberger, eric and blaser, douglass - files.doc]

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

Eric Rosenberger

1944 - Born

1967 - B.A., Harvard College

1967-72 - Various private industry positions

1968 - Member, Massachusetts Nixon-Agnew Committee

Oct. 1972 - Became volunteer advanceman for the Committee for Re-election of the President

Dec. 1972 - Joined Nixon Inaugural Committee as a subcommittee assistant director

Feb. 1973 - Became consultant for Office of Economic Opportunity. Began volunteer advance work for First Family.

Nov. 1973 - Joined White House staff as advanceman for First Family

Dec. 1973 - Became advanceman for Vice President Ford, "on loan" from White House staff

March 1974 - Appointed director of White House press advance

June 1976 - Resigned, returned to Boston to work in family firm, Woodfield Farm

Douglass Blaser

1942 - Born in Logan, Utah

1965 - B.S., Utah State University

1965-68 - Allstate Insurance Co., Los Angeles

1968 - Became marketing manager, Mattell Inc.

1972 - Joined Vice President Agnew's staff as an advanceman

1973 - Became Executive Assistant to the Director, National Park Service

April 1976 - Joined White House press advance staff

June 1976 - Appointed director of press advance

Jan. 1977 - Resigned

INTRODUCTION

Eric Rosenberger and his successor, Douglass Blaser, directed White House press advance. Press advance was assistance to the White House press corps, the local press, and press office staff during all presidential trips outside the White House. Such assistance might include: visas, credentialling, air and ground transportation, lodging, camera lighting, press positions, equipment and space for filing stories, and organization of press pools.

Most of the Rosenberger-Blaser Files, especially domestic trip case files, abundantly reflect these routine logistical activities. Some case files, however, do contain materials of greater research value, e.g. State Department cables regarding foreign trips, occasional memoranda on local political conditions, and clippings of local press coverage. A general subject file includes useful information on the 1976 campaign, press relations problems and goals, office organization, and advance work "philosophy" among other matters.

The press advance staff was small and used field volunteers during domestic trips. It was part of the Press Secretary's Office, and its head reported to the Deputy Press Secretary. Predictably, it had coordination problems with the much more important but separate Office of Scheduling and Advance, which did the advance work for the presidential party.

Related Materials (July 1984)
At this writing, archivists have identified no other files narrowly focussed on press advance. However, the files and paper of colleagues in the Press Secretary's Office will contain related material in varying degrees, as will WHCF category PR-Public Relations. A few items on Rosenberger and Blaser may be found in WHCF Name File and WHCF subcategory FG 6-11-1/(name).

Material on the many facets of presidential trips, including advance work, may be found at WHCF category TR-Trips. The files of "Red" Cavaney, who directed advance work for the presidential party, extensively treat all aspects of advance work but they are currently unprocessed and unavailable.

SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Subject File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 1-5, 2.5 linear feet)
Advance office manual, memoranda, newsletters to volunteers, schedules, checklists, forms, press releases, resumes, expense logs, and other material. Subjects include press advance procedures, expenses and personnel; 1976 campaign press relations, analysis of still photo coverage, and relations with the President Ford Committee and the Republican National Committee; diverse reference information such as a mileage tabulation of presidential trips.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Foreign Trips, 1974-76.  (Boxes 6-16, 4.5 linear feet)
State Department cables, memoranda, airport diagrams, floor-plans, schedules, press kits of country fact sheets and biographical statements on foreign officials, tourist literature, and local press clippings (especially West Germany and Indonesia).

Arranged by trip and thereunder by itinerary.

View container list for this series

Domestic Trips, 1974-76.  (Boxes 17-44, 11.5 linear feet)
Memoranda, transportation schedules, checklists, floorplans, airport diagrams, local newspaper clippings, maps, tourist literature, press releases, and correspondence. Most of the material is highly routine, but there are exceptions, e.g. New Hampshire 1976.

Arranged by state and thereunder by date of each trip.

View container list for this series

District of Columbia Area Trip File, 1974-77. (Boxes 44-47, 1.5 linear feet)
Hotel floorplans and publications, press releases, schedules, memoranda, and checklists regarding presidential events in the D.C. metropolitan area.

Arranged chronologically by trip.

View container list for this series

CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Subject File

• Advance Manual (1)-(5)
• Advance Manual Revision - "International Press Advance"
• Advance Manual Revision - "The Press" (Chapter VIII) (1)-(2)
• Advance Office Newsletter
• Biographies
• Camp David - Background, 1969-73 (1)-(3)

Box 2 - Subject File

• Checklists and Forms - Domestic Trips
• Checklists and Forms - Foreign Trips
• Checklists and Forms - In Town
• Directory of Staff Assistants to Governors
• Expenses - Bills (1)-(2)
• Expenses - Local Press Center (1)-(6)
• Expenses - Rosenberger

Box 3 - Subject File

• Ford Travel, Speeches, Interviews
• Local Press Relations
• Military Aide's Office
• Planning Calendars
• Pre-Advance Trip to Salzburg
• Presidential Campaign - Miscellaneous
• Presidential Campaign - Republican Convention
• Press Advance Log Book
• Press Advance Meeting, June 1976
• Press Advance - Miscellaneous Internal Memos
• Press Advance Procedures
• Press Advance Relations with the Republican National Committee
• Press Advance Schedules, Aug. - Dec. 1975
• Press Pools (1)-(2)

Box 4 - Subject File

• Press Pools (3)-(5)
• Press Relations Meeting, June 1975
• Press Relations Meeting, Aug. 1976
• Resumes - Female
• Resumes - Male
• Rosenberger - Letters (1)-(3)
• Rosenberger - Memoranda (1)-(2)
• Schedules - Mrs. Ford
• United States Information Agency
• United States Secret Service

Box 5 - Subject File

• Volunteer Forms
• Volunteer Seminar, September 1976
• Volunteers - Current List
• Volunteers - Previously Used (1)-(2)
• Washington, DC - Media List (1)-(3)
• Washington, DC - Hotel Conference Space Floor Plans
• White House Organization/Standards of Conduct, Standards of Conduct

Box 6 - Foreign Trips

• Mexico, October 1974
• General (1)-(2)
• Bills
• Schedules
• Thank You Letters
• Far East, November 1974
• General
• Japan Advance Book
• Japan Briefing Book
• Japan Cables
• Japan General (1)-(2)
• Japan Kyoto Visit

Box 7 - Foreign Trips

• Far East, November 1974
• Japan Network Requirements
• Japan Pool Breakdowns
• Japan Schedules (1)-(4)
• South Korea Advance Book
• South Korea Cables
• South Korea General
• South Korea Schedules (1)-(2)
• U.S.S.R. Advance Book
• U.S.S.R. Cables

Box 8 - Foreign Trips

• Far East, November 1974
• USSR General
• USSR Schedules
• Martinique, December 1974
• Advance Book
• Cables
• Fact Book
• General (1)-(5)
• Press Releases
• Schedules (1)-(3)

Box 9 - Foreign Trips

• Martinique, December 1974
• Tourist Literature (1)-(2)
• Europe, May-June 1975
• Europe Advance Book
• Europe General
• Gifts from President Ford
• Press Book Originals (1)-(2)
• Press Pools
• Schedules (1)-(3)
• Belgium Cables
• Belgium Diagrams
• Belgium General (1)-(2)

Box 10 - Foreign Trips

• Europe, May-June 1975
• Belgium Press Lists and Pool
• Belgium Schedules
• Spain American Embassy Packet
• Spain Cables
• Spain Diagrams
• Spain General (1)-(2)
• Spain Press Kit
• Spain Press Lists and Pools
• Spain Reporters Notebook
• Spain Schedules (1)-(3)
• Austria Cables
• Austria Facts and Figures

Box 11 - Foreign Trips

• Europe, May-June 1975
• Austria General
• Austria Press Kit
• Austria Press Lists and Pools
• Austria Schedules (1)-(2)
• Italy Cables
• Italy General
• Italy Press Kit
• Italy Press Lists and Pools
• Italy Schedules
• Europe, July-August 1975
• Europe Cables
• Europe General
• Europe Gifts Exchanged
• Europe Press Book (1)-(2)
• Europe Press Book Originals (1)

Box 12 - Foreign Trips

• Europe, July-August 1975
• Europe Press Book Originals (2)-(3)
• Europe Schedules
• Germany Press Book Raw Materials (1)-(2)
• Germany Background (Printed Material)
• Germany General
• Germany Local Press Clippings
• Germany Press Notebook
• Germany Schedules
• Poland Cables
• Poland Diagrams

Box 13 - Foreign Trips

• Europe, July-August 1975
• Poland General
• Poland Schedules
• Poland Tourist Literature (1)-(3)
• Finland General
• Finland CSCE Biographical Information
• Finland Tourist Literature
• Romania General
• Romania Press Kit
• Romania Schedules
• Yugoslavia American Embassy Packet
• Yugoslavia Cables
• Yugoslavia Diagrams

Box 14 - Foreign Trips

• Europe, July-August 1975
• Yugoslavia General
• Yugoslavia Press Kit
• Yugoslavia Schedules
• France/Rambouillet, Nov. 1975
• Biographies of Participants
• Diagrams
• General (1)-(2)
• Press Book
• Press Pools and Lists
• Schedules
• Tourist Literature (1)-(3)

Box 15 - Foreign Trips

• Pacific Basin, November-December 1975
• General Schedule
• China General
• China Tourist Manual
• Philippines
• Indonesia Cables
• Indonesia Diagrams
• Indonesia General (1)-(2)
• Indonesia Local Press Clips
• Indonesia Press Lists
• Indonesia Press Notes
• Indonesia Schedules

Box 16 - Foreign Trips

• Puerto Rico, June 1976
• Advance Book (1)-(3)
• General
• Press Kit (1)-(2)
• Press Kit White House
• Tourist Literature

Box 17 - Domestic Trips

• Alaska - Anchorage, 11-17-74
• Alaska - Fairbanks, 11-29-75 (1)-(2)
• Alaska - Anchorage, 11-29-75 to 11-30-75
• Alabama - Birmingham, 5-3-76
• Alabama - Mobile, 9-26-76
• Arizona - Phoenix, 11-14-74
• Arkansas - Fort Smith and Fort Chaffee, 8-10-75
• California - Background Information
• California - San Francisco, 10-6-74 (Trip Cancelled)
• California - Los Angeles, 10-31-74
• California - Fresno, 11-1-1974
• California - Palm Springs, 3-29-75 to 4-6-75 (1)-(3)

Box 18 - Domestic Trips

• California - Palm Springs, 3-29-75 to 4-6-75 (4)
• California - Elk Hills Naval Petroleum Reserve, 3-31-75
• California - Bakersfield, 3-31-75 (1)-(2)
• California - San Diego, 4-3-75 (1)-(3)
• California - Sonoma County Geothermal Energy Project (The "Geysers"), 4-4-75
• California - San Francisco, 4-4-75 to 4-5-75 (1)-(2)
• California - Sacramento, 9-4-75 to 9-5-75 (1)

Box 19 - Domestic Trips

• California - Sacramento, 9-4-75 to 9-5-75 (2)
• California - Los Angeles, 9-19-75 to 9-20-75 (1)-(2)
• California - Malibu, 9-20-75
• California - Pebble Beach, 9-20-75 to 9-21-75
• California - Palo Alto, 9-21-75
• California - Anaheim, 9-21-75 (1)-(2)
• California - San Francisco, 9-22-75 (1)-(2)
• California - Los Angeles, 10-29-75 to 10-30-75 (1)-(3)
• California - San Francisco, 10-30-75 (1)

Box 20 - Domestic Trips

• California - San Francisco, 10-30-75 (2)-(4)
• California - San Francisco, 3-26-76
• California - Los Angeles, 3-26-76 to 3-27-76
• California - Fresno, 3-27-76
• California - Anaheim, 5-23-76 to 5-24-76
• California - San Diego, 5-24-76
• California - Los Angeles, 5-24-76 to 5-25-76
• California - San Jose, 5-25-76 to 5-26-76
• California - San Francisco, 10-4-76 to 10-7-76
• California - Los Angeles, 10-7-1976 to 10-8-1976
• California - Glendale, 10-8-76
• California - Pasadena, 10-23-76 to 10-24-76
• California - San Diego, 10-24-76 to 10-25-76
• Colorado - Grand Junction, 11-2-74
• Colorado - Vail, 12-22-74 to 1-2-75 (1)-(2)

Box 21 - Domestic Trips

• Colorado - Vail, 12-22-74 to 1-2-75 (3)
• Colorado - Vail, 8-10-75 to 8-25-75
• Colorado - Vail, 12-23-75 to 12-30-75 (1)-(2)
• Colorado - Vail, 8-20-76 to 8-29-76
• Connecticut - General
• Connecticut - New Haven, 4-25-75 (1)-(2)
• Connecticut - Hartford, 10-14-75 (1)-(2)
• Connecticut - Hartford, 7-16-76
• Florida - General
• Florida - Gainesville, 10-24-75 (Cancelled)
• Florida - Miami, 2-25-75 to 2-26-75 (1)-(2)

Box 22 - Domestic Trips

• Florida - Miami, 2-25-75 thru 2-26-75 (3)
• Florida - Jacksonville, 11-2-75 (1)-(2)
• Florida - Orlando, 2-13-76 (1)-(2)
• Florida - Fort Lauderdale, 2-13-76
• Florida - Fort Myers, 2-14-76
• Florida - Miami, 2-14-76
• Florida - St. Petersburg, 2-14-76
• Florida - West Palm Beach, 2-28-76 (1)-(2)
• Florida - Sarasota, 2-28-76 thru 2-29-76
• Florida - Miami, 2-28-76
• Florida - Tampa, 2-29-76
• Florida - Miami, 9-26-76 thru 9-27-76 (1)

Box 23 - Domestic Trips

• Florida - Miami, 9-26-76 thru 9-27-76 (2)
• Georgia - Atlanta, 2-3-75 thru 2-4-75 (1)-(6)
• Georgia - Fort Benning, 6-14-75 (1)-(2)
• Georgia - Atlanta, 11-14-75 (1)-(2)
• Georgia - Atlanta, 4-23-76

Box 24 - Domestic Trips

• Hawaii - Honolulu, 12-7-75
• Illinois - Background
• Illinois - Chicago, 8-19-74 (1)-(2)
• Illinois - Melvin, 10-24-74
• Illinois - Chicago, 10-24-74
• Illinois - Chicago, 7-11-75 thru 7-12-75 (1)-(2)
• Illinois - Pekin and Peoria 8-20-75 (1)-(2)
• Illinois - Chicago, 8-24-75 thru 8-25-75 (1)-(2)
• Illinois - Chicago, 9-30-75 thru 10-1-75

Box 25 - Domestic Trips

• Illinois - Springfield, 3-5-76 (1)-(2)
• Illinois - Peoria, 3-5-76 thru 3-6-76
• Illinois - Marion, 3-6-76
• Illinois - Champaign, 3-6-76
• Illinois - Rockford, 3-11-76 thru 3-12-76
• Illinois - Wheaton, 3-12-76
• Illinois - Buffalo Grove, 3-12-76
• Illinois - Chicago, 3-12-76 thru 3-13-76
• Illinois - Train Trip, 10-15-76 thru 10-16-76 (1)-(2)
• Illinois - Chicago, 10-26-76 thru 10-27-76
• Indiana - Indianapolis, 10-16-74
• Indiana - South Bend, 3-17-76 (1)-(2)

Box 26 - Domestic Trips

• Indiana - South Bend, 3-17-76 (3)-(6)
• Indiana - Indianapolis, 4-22-76 thru 4-23-76
• Indiana - Evansville, 4-23-76
• Indiana - Fort Wayne, 5-2-76 thru 5-3-76
• Indiana - Indianapolis, 5-3-76
• Indiana - Indianapolis, 6-22-76
• Indiana - Indianapolis, 10-28-76
• Iowa - Des Moines, 10-24-74
• Iowa - Sioux City, 10-31-74
• Iowa - Des Moines, 8-19-75 (1)-(3)

Box 27 - Domestic Trips

• Iowa - Des Moines, 6-18-76
• Iowa - Ames, 10-15-76
• Kansas - Topeka, 2-11-75 (1)-(3)
• Kansas - Kansas City, 9-12-75
• Kansas - Wichita, 11-2-75
• Kentucky - Louisville, 10-19-74
• Kentucky - Louisville, 10-16-75 (Cancelled)
• Kentucky - Louisville, 5-14-76
• Louisiana - New Orleans, 4-23-75 (1)-(5)

Box 28 - Domestic Trips

• Louisiana - Shreveport, 4-27-76 (1)-(2)
• Louisiana - New Orleans, 9-25-76 thru 9-26-76 (1)-(3)
• Maine - Augusta and Portland, 8-30-75
• Maryland - Baltimore, 7-4-75 (1)-(2)
• Maryland - Camp David, 7-5-75
• Maryland - Baltimore, 7-14-76

Box 29 - Domestic Trips

• Massachusetts - Boston, 4-18-75 (1)-(5)
• Massachusetts - Lexington and Concord, 4-19-75
• Massachusetts - Springfield, 11-7-75 (1)-(2)
• Massachusetts - Boston, 11-7-75 (1)-(2)
• Michigan - Detroit, 9-23-74 (1)-(2)

Box 30 - Domestic Trips

• Michigan - Detroit, 9-23-74 (3)
• Michigan - Detroit, 10-10-74
• Michigan - Grand Rapids, 10-29-74
• Michigan - Traverse City, 7-11-75 thru 7-12-75 (1)-(2)
• Michigan - Mackinac Island, 7-12-75 thru 7-13-75 (1)-(4)
• Michigan - Detroit, 10-10-75 (1)-(2)
• Michigan - Dearborn, 1-31-76 (1)-(3)

Box 31 - Domestic Trips

• Michigan - Detroit, 5-12-76
• Michigan - Flint, 5-15-76 (1)-(2)
• Michigan - Holland, 5-15-76
• Michigan - Grand Rapids, 5-15-76
• Michigan - Saginaw, 5-16-76
• Michigan - Ann Arbor, 9-15-76
• Michigan - Livonia, 11-1-76
• Michigan - Grand Rapids, 11-1-76 thru 11-2-76
• Minnesota - Minneapolis and St. Paul, 8-19-75 thru 8-20-75 (1)-(4)
• Mississippi - Jackson, 7-30-76
• Mississippi - Motorcade - Bay St. Louis, Gulfport, Biloxi, Pascagoula - 9-26-76 (1)-(2)

Box 32 - Domestic Trips

• Missouri - Kansas City, 10-16-74 (1)-(2)
• Missouri - Kansas City, 9-12-75 thru 9-13-75
• Missouri - St. Louis, 9-12-75 (1)-(2)
• Missouri - St. Louis, 1-5-76 (1)-(2)
• Missouri - Independence, 5-8-76
• Missouri - Springfield, 6-11-76
• Missouri - St. Louis, 10-16-76
• Missouri - St. Louis, 10-29-76
• Montana - Libby, 8-24-75 (1)-(2)
• Montana - Yellowstone National Park, 8-29-76

Box 33 - Domestic Trips

• Nebraska - Lincoln, 10-16-74
• Nebraska - Omaha, 10-1-75
• Nebraska - Omaha, 5-7-76 thru 5-8-76
• Nebraska - Lincoln, 5-8-76
• Nevada - Las Vegas, 11-14-74
• Nevada - Las Vegas, 4-7-75
• Nevada - Las Vegas, 5-24-76
• New Hampshire - Concord, 4-18-75 (1)-(4)
• New Hampshire - "Wyman Campaign Swing", 9-11-75 (1)-(2)
• New Hampshire - Campaign Swing, 2-7-76 thru 2-8-76 (1)-(2)

Box 34 - Domestic Trips

• New Hampshire - Campaign Swing, 2-7-76 thru 2-8-76 (3)-(7)
• New Hampshire - Keene, 2-19-76 thru 2-20-76
• New Hampshire - Dover and Portsmouth, 2-20-76
• New Jersey - Newark, 10-4-75 (1)-(2)
• New Jersey - Paterson, 6-6-76
• New Jersey - Paramus, Union, and Newark Campaign Swing, 10-13-76
• New Jersey - Atlantic City, 10-27-76
• New Mexico - Albuquerque, 10-29-75 (Cancelled)

Box 35 - Domestic Trips

• New York - New York City, 9-18-74
• New York - New York City, 12-10-74
• New York - New York City, 2-13-75 (1)-(2)
• New York - West Point, 6-4-75
• New York - Plattsburg, 7-10-76
• New York - New York City, 7-4-76
• New York - New York City, 10-12-76 thru 10-13-76
• New York - New York City, 10-21-76
• New York - Syracuse, 10-30-76
• New York - Buffalo, 10-30-76 thru 10-31-76
• New York - Rochester, 10-31-76
• New York - New York City and Long Island, 10-31-76
• North Carolina - Pinehurst, 9-11-74 (1)-(2)
• North Carolina - Greensboro, 10-19-74

Box 36 - Domestic Trips

• North Carolina - Charlotte, 5-20-75 (1)-(3)
• North Carolina - King's Mountain, 10-7-75 (Cancelled)
• North Carolina - Raleigh and Durham, 11-14-75 (1)-(2)
• North Carolina - Greensboro, 3-13-76
• North Carolina - Winston-Salem, 3-13-76
• North Carolina - Wilkesboro, 3-13-76
• North Carolina - Hickory, 3-20-76
• North Carolina - Asheville, 3-20-76
• North Carolina - Spruce Pine, 3-20-76
• North Carolina - Charlotte, 3-20-76 (1)-(2)
• North Carolina - Raleigh, 10-23-76
• Ohio - Columbus, 8-30-74
• Ohio - Cleveland, 10-22-74

Box 37 - Domestic Trips

• Ohio - Cleveland, 7-3-75
• Ohio - Cincinnati, 7-3-75
• Ohio - Columbus, 5-26-76
• Ohio - Cleveland, 6-6-76
• Ohio - Cincinnati, 6-6-76
• Ohio - Campaign Swing - Middletown, Dayton, Springfield, Lima, Findlay, Bowling Green, Toledo 6-7-76
• Ohio - Cincinnati, 10-28-76
• Ohio - Cleveland, 10-28-76 thru 10-29-76
• Ohio - Akron and Canton, 10-31-76 thru 11-1-76
• Ohio - Columbus, 11-1-76
• Oklahoma - Oklahoma City, 10-22-74
• Oklahoma - Oklahoma City, 9-19-75 (1)-(2)
• Oklahoma - Lawton, 10-8-76 thru 10-9-76
• Oregon - Portland, 11-1-74 (1)-(2)
• Oregon - Portland, 9-4-75 (1)

Box 38 - Domestic Trips

• Oregon - Portland, 9-4-75 (2)
• Oregon - Portland, 5-22-76 thru 5-23-76
• Oregon - Medford, 5-22-76
• Oregon - Pendleton, 5-23-76
• Oregon - Portland, 10-25-76
• Pennsylvania - Philadelphia, 9-6-74
• Pennsylvania - Pittsburgh, 9-9-74
• Pennsylvania - Philadelphia, 10-9-74
• Pennsylvania - Philadelphia, 11-30-74
• Pennsylvania - Pittsburgh, 1-24-75
• Pennsylvania - Philadelphia, 5-18-76 (1)-(2)
• Pennsylvania - Valley Forge, 7-4-76
• Pennsylvania - Philadelphia, 7-4-76
• Pennsylvania - Philadelphia, 7-13-76

Box 39 - Domestic Trips

• Pennsylvania - Philadelphia, 8-8-76
• Pennsylvania - Philadelphia, 9-23-76 thru 9-24-76
• Pennsylvania - Pittsburgh, 10-25-76 thru 10-26-76
• Pennsylvania - Philadelphia, 10-27-76 thru 10-28-76
• Pennsylvania - Philadelphia, 10-30-76
• Rhode Island - Newport, 8-30-75
• Rhode Island - Newport, 7-10-76
• South Carolina - Greenville, 10-19-74 (1)-(2)
• South Carolina - Anderson, 10-19-74
• South Carolina - Rock Hill, 10-19-74
• South Carolina - Columbia, 10-24-75 (Cancelled) (1)-(2)
• South Carolina - Columbia, 10-23-76
• South Dakota - Sioux Falls, 10-16-74
• South Dakota - Ellsworth Air Force Base, 8-29-76

Box 40 - Domestic Trips

• Tennessee - Knoxville, 10-7-75
• Tennessee - Memphis, 5-14-76
• Tennessee - Johnson City, 5-14-76
• Texas - Houston, 2-10-75 (1)-(4)
• Texas - Dallas, 9-12-75 (1)-(2)
• Texas - Midland, 9-12-75
• Texas - San Antonio, 4-9-76 (1)-(2)

Box 41 - Domestic Trips

• Texas - Dallas, 4-9-76 thru 4-10-76
• Texas - El Paso, 4-10-76
• Texas - Amarillo, 4-10-76
• Texas - Fort Worth, 4-28-76 thru 4-29-76
• Texas - Houston, 4-28-76 thru 4-29-76 (1)-(2)
• Texas - Waco, 4-29-76
• Texas - Dallas, 4-29-76 thru 4-30-76 (1)-(2)
• Texas - Lubbock, 4-30-76
• Texas - Abilene, 4-30-76
• Texas - Dallas, 10-9-76 thru 10-10-76
• Texas - Houston, 10-29-76 thru 10-30-76

Box 42 - Domestic Trips

• Utah - Provo, 10-2-74 (Cancelled)
• Utah - Salt Lake City, 11-2-74
• Vermont - Burlington, 10-7-74 (1)-(2)
• Virginia - Norfolk, 4-3-75 (1)-(3)
• Virginia - Winchester, 5-2-75 (1)-(2)
• Virginia - Locust Grove, 5-10-75
• Virginia - Williamsburg, 1-31-76 (1)-(3)

Box 43 - Domestic Trips

• Virginia - Norfolk, 6-15-76
• Virginia - Charlottesville, 7-5-76
• Virginia - Williamsburg, 10-22-76
• Virginia - Richmond, 10-22-76 thru 10-23-76
• Washington - Seattle, 9-4-75 (1)-(2)
• Washington - Seattle, 10-25-76
• West Virginia - Elkins, 10-4-75 (1)-(2)
• West Virginia - Charleston, 11-11-75 (1)-(2)
• Wisconsin - Milwaukee, 8-25-75
• Wisconsin - Milwaukee, 8-30-75 (1)-(2)
• Wisconsin - LaCrosse, 3-27-76

Box 44 - Domestic Trips

• Wisconsin - Milwaukee, 4-2-76 (1)-(2)
• Wisconsin - West Bend, 4-2-76
• Wisconsin - Fon du Lac, 4-3-76
• Wisconsin - Green Bay, 4-3-76
• Wisconsin - Milwaukee, 10-29-76 (1)-(2)
• Wyoming - Yellowstone National Park, 8-29-76

Box 44 (Continued) - District of Columbia Area Trip File

• Attendance at Immanuel Church-On-the-Hill - Alexandria, Virginia, 8-11-74
• Capitol - Joint Session of Congress, 8-12-74
• Memorial Ceremony for Ambassador Rodger Davies - Andrews Air Force Base, 8-21-74
• Bill Signing Ceremony - Department of HEW, 8-21-74
• Visit to the Capitol - Courtesy Call on Members, 8-21-74
• Farewell Party for Dr. Herbert Stein - Kennedy Center, 8-26-74
• Reception for National Endowment of the Arts and Attendance at Opera - Kennedy Center, 9-4-74
• Attendance at Republican National Committee Luncheon and visit to Congressional Golf Tournament - Mayflower Hotel, 9-16-74
• Capitol - Joint Session of Congress, 10-8-74
• Reception in Honor of Congressman John Rooney - 8th Floor Department of State, 11-26-74
• Salute to Lee Elder - Washington Hilton Hotel, 12-1-74
• Award to the Scout of the Year - Sheraton Park Hotel, 12-2-74
• American Trade Conference - Sheraton Park Hotel, 12-3-74
• Reception at the Capitol Hill Club for Newly Elected Congressmen and Spouses, 12-4-74
• Rockefeller Public Service Awards Luncheon - Mayflower Hotel, 12-4-74
• Symphony Ball - Shoreham Americana Hotel, 12-6-74
• The Business Council - Mayflower Hotel, 12-11-74
• Christmas Pageant for Peace - The Ellipse, 12-17-74
• American Freedom Train - Alexandria Railway Station - Alexandria, Virginia, 12-19-74
• Ceremony for Swearing In of Nelson Rockefeller as Vice President - Senate Chamber of the US Congress, 12-19-74

Box 45 - District of Columbia Area Trip File

• 1975 National Collegiate Athletic Association Honors Luncheon - Sheraton Park Hotel, 1-7-75
• The Eastman Kodak American Football Coach's Association Coach of the Year Banquet - Washington Hilton Hotel, 1-9-75
• Service of Intersession and Holy Communion - The National Presbyterian Church, 1-14-75
• The President's 1975 State of the Union Message - The Capitol, 1-15-75
• Robert A. Georgine Testimonial Dinner of the Building and Construction Trades Department AFL-CIO, Washington Hilton Hotel, 1-18-75
• The Chowder and Marching Dinner - Residence of Former US Representative and US Senator Charles E. Potter of Michigan, 1-19-75
• The Presidential Dinner of the Conference Board - Sheraton Park Hotel, 1-22-75
• 62nd Anniversary Dinner of the Alfalfa Club - Statler Hilton Hotel, 1-25-75
• Celebration of the Red Mass - St. Matthews Cathedral, 1-26-75
• Ceremony to Swear in Mr. William Broom as President of the National Press Club, 1-26-75
• Congressional Breakfast of the 32nd Annual Convention of the National Religious Broadcasters - Washington Hilton Hotel, 1-28-75
• National Prayer Breakfast - Washington Hilton Hotel, 1-30-75
• OMB Press Briefing on FY 76 Budget - Department of State Auditorium, 2-1-75
• The 28th Washington Mardi Gras Ball of the Louisiana State Society - Sheraton Park Hotel, 2-1-75
• Visit to the Lincoln Memorial, 2-12-75
• The Unveiling of the Gerald R. Ford Medallion at the George Washington Masonic National Memorial - Alexandria, Virginia, 2-17-75
• Visit to Reserve Officers Association Mid-Winter Conference - Washington Hilton Hotel, 2-21-75
• Worship Service at Christ Church - Alexandria, Virginia, 2-23-75
• National Bicentennial Conference - Washington Hilton Hotel, 2-25-75
• Reception in Honor of Congressman Olin Teague - Rayburn House Office Building, 2-27-75
• The 23rd Annual Congressional Dinner of the University of Michigan Club of Washington, D.C. - Washington Hilton Hotel, 3-5-75
• The Republican National Committee Leadership Conference Dinner - Washington Hilton Hotel, 3-7-75

Box 46 - District of Columbia Area Trip File

• The Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. Foundation's International Special Olympics Benefit - The Kennedy Center, 3-9-75 (1)-(2)
• The Institute for Collective Bargaining Dinner - Statler Hilton Hotel, 3-13-75
• The Radio and Television Correspondents Dinner - Washington Hilton Hotel, 3-13-75
• Dinner of John Dunlop, Secretary of Labor - The 1925 F Street Club, 3-19-75
• Luncheon for Travel Program for Foreign Diplomats - Department of State Dining Room, 3-20-75
• The Gridiron Club Annual Dinner - Statler Hilton Hotel, 3-22-75
• Performance of Ms. Pearl Bailey - Kennedy Center, 4-8-75 (Cancelled)
• Presidential Address to Joint Session of Congress - U.S. Capitol, 4-10-75
• The National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution Continental Congress - Constitution Hall, 4-15-75
• The Republican Senate - House Dinner - Washington Hilton Hotel, 4-15-75
• Luncheon of the American Society of Newspaper Editors Annual Convention - Shoreham Hotel, 4-16-75
• White House News Photographers Association Dinner - Sheraton Park Hotel, 4-16-75
• Attendance at Opening of James Whitmore's Play "Give 'Em Hell, Harry" - Fords Theater, 4-17-75
• Unveiling of Portrait of President Gerald R. Ford - Capitol Hill Club, 4-24-75
• Virginia GOP Receptions - Marriott Twin Bridges Hotel - Alexandria, Virginia, 4-26-75
• 63rd Annual Meeting of U.S. Chamber of Commerce - Constitution Hall, 4-28-75
• 61st Annual White House Correspondents Dinner - Washington Hilton Hotel, 5-3-75
• Unveiling of Portrait of Former Secretary of Treasury Schultz - Department of the Treasury Room 4121, 5-5-75
• Iranian Reciprocal Reception and Dinner - Iranian Embassy, 5-16-75
• USS Monterey Reunion Reception - L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, 5-24-75
• Holton Arms Commencement, 6-5-75
• Ceremony for Swearing in Secretary of Interior Stanley K. Hathaway - Department of the Interior, 6-13-75
• National Federation of Independent Business Conference - Washington Hilton Hotel, 6-17-75
• Performance of La Boheme - Wolf Trap Farm Park, 6-23-75
• Dr. John C. Harvey Family Reception - Army Navy Club, 6-27-75
• American GI Forum - Quality Inn - Arlington, Virginia
• 66th Annual Convention of NAACP - Sheraton Park Hotel, 7-1-75
• Ceremony to Swear in Dr. Ted Cooper as Assistant Secretary of HEW and Dr. Donald Frederickson as Director of NIH - NIH Clinical Center, 7-1-75
• Groundbreaking Ceremony for the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences - National Naval Medical Center, Bethesda Maryland, 7-10-75
• DC Village Visitation, 7-14-75
• Television Launch of Soviet Soyuz Spacecraft - Department of State Auditorium, 7-15-75
• Armed Forces Policy Council Meeting - The Pentagon, 7-15-75
• Ceremony for the Signing of SJ 23 - Custis/Lee Mansion - Arlington, Virginia, 8-5-75
• Ceremony for Swearing In Dr. Forrest D. Matthews as Secretary of HEW - HEW Auditorium, 8-8-75
• 1975 Annual Meetings of the Boards of Governors of the International Monetary Fund and the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development - Sheraton Park Hotel, 9-2-75
• Fundraising Reception - Capitol Hill Club, 9-10-75
• Reception and Dinner Hosted by Mrs. Katherine Graham, Publisher of the Washington Post, in Honor of Carroll Kilpatrick, Retiring Columnist - The Graham Residence, 9-15-75
• The Air Force Association's Salute to Congress - Sheraton Park Hotel, 9-16-75
• The Law Enforcement Assistance Administration Conference - Department of Justice Great Hall, 9-26-75
• Ceremony for the Dedication of the J. Edgar Hoover FBI Building, 9-30-75
• Reciprocal Dinner Hosted by the Emperor and Empress of Japan - Smithsonian Institution, 10-3-75
• Reception of the 57th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Oral Surgeons - Washington Hilton Hotel, 10-7-75
• Celebration of the 200th Birthday of the US Navy - Washington Navy Yard, 10-9-75
• Reception of the National Association of Food Chains - Washington Hilton Hotel, 10-15-75
• Private Dinner - Buchen Residence, 10-17-75
• Wreath-Laying Ceremony at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier - Arlington National Cemetery, 10-27-75
• Reciprocal Dinner Hosted by President Anwar Sadat of Egypt - Anderson House, 10-28-75
• National Press Club, 10-29-75
• Live Broadcast of NBC's "Meet The Press" - NBC Studios, 11-9-75
• The Marine Corps War Memorial Ceremony - Iwo Jima memorial, 11-11-75
• Ceremony for Swearing In Dr. Daniel Boorstin as Librarian of Congress - Great Hall of the Library of Congress, 11-12-75
• Ceremony for Swearing in Mr. Donald Rumsfeld as Secretary of Defense - The Pentagon, 11-20-75
• Fundraising Reception in Honor of Representative John Rhodes - House Minority Leader, Sheraton Carlton Hotel, 11-19-75
• 21st Annual Christmas Pageant of Peace Program (National Christmas Tree Lighting), 12-18-75
• Ceremony for Swearing In of Justice Stevens to the Supreme Court - Supreme Court Building, 12-19-75

Box 47 - District of Columbia Area Trip File

• Funeral Services for Mr. Richard S. Welch - New Memorial Chapel - Fort Myer, Virginia, 1-6-76
• Visit to Headquarters of President Ford Committee, 1-7-76
• 30th Annual Service of Intercession and Holy Communion - The National Presbyterian Church, 1-19-76
• The State of the Union Address - US Capitol, 1-19-76
• OMB Press Briefing on the Fiscal Year 77 Budget - Department of State Auditorium, 1-20-76
• Performance of "Hello Dolly" Starring Ms. Pearl Bailey - Kennedy Center, 1-21-76
• Salute to Mr. Roger Stevens - Kennedy Center, 1-25-76
• National Prayer Breakfast - Washington Hilton Hotel, 1-29-76
• Reciprocal Reception Hosted by Prime Minister and Mrs. Rabin of Israel - Shoreham Americana Hotel, 1-29-76
• Ceremony for Swearing in of Mr. George Bush as Director of the Central Intelligence Agency, 1-30-76
• Reception at the Inauguration of the President of the National Press Club, 2-1-76
• Northeast Republican Conference - Twin Bridges Marriott Hotel - Arlington, Virginia, 2-6-76
• Performance of "Bubbling Brown Sugar" - National Theater, 2-10-76
• Visit to the Lincoln Memorial, 2-12-76
• 92nd Birthday Party for Mrs. Alice Roosevelt Longworth - Mrs. Longworth's Residence, 2-12-76
• 1976 National Convention of the National Association of Secondary School Principals - Sheraton Park Hotel, 2-16-76
• Joint Convention of the National Religious Broadcasters and the National Association of Evangelicals - Shoreham Americana Hotel, 2-22-76
• Winter Meeting of the National Governor's Conference - Statler Hilton Hotel, 2-23-76
• Dedication of Headquarters of Disabled American Veterans, 3-3-76
• Birthday Reception in Honor of Senator John L. McClellan - Russell Senate Office Building, 3-3-76
• Reception in Honor of Congressman Elford A. Cederberg's Birthday - Sheraton Carlton Hotel, 3-4-76
• Reception at the National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs, 3-4-76
• Annual Convention of the Associated General Contractors of America - Washington Hilton Hotel, 3-9-76
• 1976 Washington Conference of the Veterans of Foreign Wars - Sheraton Park Hotel, 3-9-76
• Annual Congressional City Conference of the National League of Cities and the US Conference of Mayors - Washington Hilton Hotel, 3-15-76
• The Radio and Television Correspondent's Dinner - Washington Hilton Hotel, 3-25-76
• Gridiron Dinner - Statler Hilton Hotel, 4-3-76
• Bicentennial Congressional Dinner of the Order of the American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association - Washington Hilton Hotel, 4-5-76
• 34th Annual Celebration at the National Jefferson Memorial - The Tidal Basin, 4-13-76
• Dedication of a Hall in the Pentagon, 4-20-76
• 85th Continental Congress of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution - Constitution Hall, 4-21-76
• 64th Annual Meeting of the US Chamber of Commerce - Constitution Hall, 4-26-76
• 62nd Annual White House Correspondents Association Dinner - Washington Hilton Hotel, 5-1-76
• Meeting of Committee on American Mothers - Shoreham Americana Hotel, 5-5-76
• Reception of the Michigan Association of Broadcasters - Madison Hotel, 5-6-76
• Observance of Armed Forces Week - Washington Monument, 5-10-76
• Small Business Association Luncheon - Hyatt Regency Hotel, 5-13-76
• French Reciprocal Dinner - French Embassy Residence, 5-18-76
• American Enterprise Institute's Dinner - Madison Hotel, 5-19-76
• French Sound and Light Show - Mount Vernon, Virginia, 5-19-76
• Cruise with Prime Minister Trudeau of Canada on the USS Sequoia - Washington Naval Yard, 6-16-76
• Fundraising Reception at the Capitol Hill Club, 6-23-76
• Visit to the National Air and Space Museum and the US Capitol, 7-1-76
• Visit to the National Archives, 7-2-76
• Visit to Kennedy Center for "Honor America" Program, 7-3-76
• Visit to Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, 7-4-76
• Visit to the Washington National Cathedral with the Queen and Prince Phillip of England, 7-8-76
• Dinner at the British Embassy, 7-8-76
• Annual National Convention of the National Exchange Club - Sheraton Park Hotel, 7-12-76
• National Hispanic Dinner - Mayflower Hotel, 7-29-76
• 98th General Conference of the National Guard Association of the U.S. - Washington Hilton Hotel, 9-1-76
• B'nai B'rith Convention - Washington Hilton Hotel, 9-9-76
• Service Performed by Archbishop of Canterbury - Washington Cathedral, 9-12-76
• The National Italian-American Bicentennial Tribute Dinner - Washington Hilton Hotel, 9-16-76
• Hispanic Mass Reception at the Shrine of the Immaculate Conception, 9-16-76
• Liberian Reciprocal Reception - Anderson House, 9-22-76
• Visit to Moore and Moore Printing Company for a TV Filming, 10-4-76