COLLECTION FINDING AID



ROBERT ORBEN PAPERS, 1947-2005

Comedy Writer; Speechwriter;
Special Assistant to the President and Director, White House Speechwriting Staff




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection contains materials relating to Robert Orben’s comedy writing career encompassing his work as a humor consultant and speechwriter for television personalities, corporate clients, and politicians. Materials compiled during his tenure as speechwriter for President Ford are also included.

QUANTITY
39 linear feet (ca. 69,000 pages)

DONOR
Robert Orben (2005-NLF-053, 2006-NLF-017)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Robert Orben donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Hannah Brookhart, Jeremy Schmidt, Diana Bachman, September 2014
[s:\bin\findaid\Orben, Robert - Papers.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Robert Orben


March 4, 1927 - Born in New York, New York

1943 - Graduated from Theodore Roosevelt High School

1946 - Published The Encyclopedia of Patter

1950-51 - Writer, Fun with Felix

1958-89 - Editor, “Orben’s Current Comedy”

1962-63 - Writer, The Tonight Show (Jack Paar)

1964-67 - Writer, The Red Skelton Hour

1974 - Consultant to Vice President Gerald R. Ford

1974-75 - Speechwriter and Associate Editor for President Gerald R. Ford

1/1976-1/1977 - Director, White House Speechwriting Staff

3/1976 – 1/1977 - Special Assistant to the President under Counsellor Robert T. Hartmann

2000 Published Speaker’s Handbook of Humor


INTRODUCTION

Robert Orben began his comedy career as a magician and played a prominent role in the magic community through the 1950s. In 1946, he produced his first magic book, The Encyclopedia of Patter. Later he wrote for Magic is Fun and Genii magazine and for the magic TV show Fun with Felix. Following this early success, Orben transitioned away from magic and applied his humor to other fields.

As his popularity increased, Orben’s comedy writing services attracted corporate and political clients. As a writer for the Republican Congressional Committee and other GOP clients, he was hired as a consultant for Vice President Gerald Ford and served as a speechwriter and advisor during Ford’s presidency, eventually becoming Special Assistant to the President. In 1976, he succeeded Paul Theis as the head White House speechwriter under Counsellor Robert Hartmann. Even after his presidency, President Ford continued to employ Orben’s humor, seeking his counsel for commencement speeches, Republican National Conventions, and similar public addresses through the 1990s.

In the corporate world, Orben wrote for individual executives as well as large corporations. He worked extensively with IBM’s multiple divisions and managers through the 1980s. His experience with speechwriting and delivery also appealed to professional and non-profit organizations. He traveled throughout the United States giving talks on the uses of humor in business and communications. In particular, his talk, “The Business of Humor, the Humor of Business,” was well known and frequently requested.

In addition to writing for others, Orben contributed his own jokes and one-liners to numerous newspaper and magazine columns. He has written over 40 books on humor, some of which are included in this collection’s “Publications” series. He also edited his own comedy newsletter, “Orben’s Current Comedy,” published through his Delaware company, The Comedy Inc.

Scope and Content of the Robert Orben Papers: This collection primarily covers Orben’s later work in the fields of entertainment, business, and politics, although there are some early publications and clippings documenting his contributions to the magic community during the 1940s and 50s. Materials related to his speechwriting are generally confined to the 1960s through the early 1990s.

Scope and Content
The materials Orben compiled from the Ford administration may in some cases parallel the materials in the Theis and Orben Files or in the White House Central Files Subject File: SP (Speeches), but this collection is not likely to be helpful as a comprehensive resource for speeches and statements delivered by President Ford. Instead, the “White House Speeches” and “White House Subject File” contain materials concerning the use of humor in political situations and as a tool to manage the President’s image. Humor as a communication device in the political and corporate realm is also the topic of most materials in the “Interviews and Public Appearances” series.

Related Materials (September 2014)
Related materials include the Paul Theis and Robert Orben Files, the Paul Theis Papers, the Robert T. Hartman Files, Robert Hartman Papers, and the Ron Nessen Files. Drafts and background material for President Ford’s speeches can be found in the White House Central Files Subject File: SP (Speeches).


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Television File, 1961‑70 (1993).  (Boxes A1‑A8, 14 linear feet)
This series contains correspondence, newspaper clippings, monologues, scripts, and joke cards compiled during Robert Orben’s career as a comedy writer prior to his work on President Ford’s White House Editorial Staff. Included are materials Orben wrote for comedians and television personalities such as Red Buttons, Dick Gregory, Jack Paar, and Red Skelton. The subseries pertaining to Jack Paar consists primarily of monologues written for Paar as host of The Tonight Show. Materials relating to Red Skelton include writing for the Red Skelton Hour as well as his numerous appearances on other talk shows. Orben’s edited copies of Dick Gregory’s book, From the Back of the Bus, are also included along with a published copy.

Arranged alphabetically, chronologically thereunder. Index cards are filed in boxes L1 – L11.

View container list for this series

Political File, 1964‑96. (Boxes B1‑B5, 3.7 linear feet)
This series contains correspondence, background materials, and drafts written by Orben as a political speechwriting consultant. The speeches he wrote for Gerald Ford before and after his presidency are included in this series. Other prominent politicians in this series are Jimmy Carter, Bob Dole, Barry Goldwater, Al Haig, and Ronald Reagan. Prior to working in the Ford Administration, Orben contributed to “Congressional Chaff”, the humor section of the Republican Congressional Committee’s monthly newsletter, and to “Political Punchlines”, a compilation of political one-liners. His working papers for these materials along with the final publications are included in the “Republican Congressional Committee” subseries.

Arranged alphabetically by speaker or organization, and chronologically thereunder. Index cards are filed in boxes L11 – L13.

View container list for this series

Corporate File, 1967‑92. (Boxes C1‑C7, 3.1 linear feet)
This series contains correspondence, invoices, event programs and schedules, speech cards, and scripts relating to Robert Orben’s work as a consultant to executives and corporations. It encompasses his speech writing as well as editing services and speech workshops. Some of his clients include the Campbell Soup Company, Eastern Airlines, and Shell Oil Company. The bulk of this series is comprised of materials representing his long-term business relationship with IBM (spanning from 1977-1991). This includes planning notes and scripts for IBM’s varied recognition events and business retreats as well as comedy material for presenters and managers.

Arranged alphabetically by corporation, chronologically thereunder.

View container list for this series

White House Speech File, 1968‑77. (Boxes D1‑D8, 3.6 linear feet)
This series consists of case files containing Orben's copies of select speeches and public messages given by White House officials as well as material related to speech development. Most files include the press release copy of the speech (sometimes the first page only) and may also include background material, correspondence, handwritten notes, drafts, joke cards, or clippings. All speeches were delivered by Ford unless otherwise noted in the folder title list. Presidential writings other than speeches are filed in the White House Subject File series under “Speechwriters - Editorial Staff Writings”.

Arranged chronologically. Index cards are filed in box L13.

View container list for this series

White House Subject File, 1974‑77. (Boxes E1‑E4, 2.6 linear feet)
This series consists of correspondence, and general materials compiled or created during Orben’s time as Presidential speechwriter. Topics represented in this series include: President Ford’s humor and image, the Ford / Nessen appearance on Saturday Night Live, and critique and analysis of Ford speeches.

Arranged alphabetically. Index cards are filed in box L13.

View container list for this series

Interviews and Public Appearances, 1971‑2001. (Boxes F1‑F2, 0.9 linear feet)
This series consists of event programs, correspondence, and speech drafts compiled from Robert Orben’s guest speaker appearances as well as his television and print interviews. He was a popular guest speaker at the recognition events and conferences of many nonprofits and professional associations. Most talks pertained to the importance of humor in communication. Orben also gave talks on political humor, including his speech at the Gerald R. Ford Foundation’s “Humor and the Presidency Symposium.” His interviews with hosts such as David Letterman and Good Morning America are included in the “Interviews” subseries.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Publications, 1948‑2005. (Boxes G1‑G12, 5.5 linear feet)
This series contains books, articles, and newsletters written by Orben as well as other publications that concern his comedy career or incorporate his jokes and stories. In addition to the columns and articles he wrote for magic, business, and political publications, this series includes Orben’s Current Comedy and other newsletters published by the Comedy Center, Inc.
Some of the books that are part of this collection contained loose documents. In these cases, the documents left inside a book have been transferred to the book’s parallel folder at the end of the series.

Arranged alphabetically. Index cards are filed in box L14.

View container list for this series

Correspondence, 1953‑2001. (Boxes H1‑H2, 0.9 linear feet)
This series contains letters and printed e-mails between Robert Orben and his friends and fans as well as media representatives, politicians, and other humorists. Frequent correspondents include, Herb Block, Jerry Lester, Phyllis Schlafly, J.P. Tarcher (Penguin Publishing), and President Ford. Prominent politicians such as Bill Clinton, James Baker, and Dick Cheney are also represented.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

General Subject File, 1964‑2005. (Boxes I1‑I3, 1.3 linear feet)
This series contains correspondence, invoices, event programs, and birthday cards compiled during Orben’s professional comedy and speechwriting career and from his personal contacts thereafter. This includes Orben’s awards and fan letters as well as materials related to the reprinting of his comedy material through publications such as Reader’s Digest. Correspondence, newsletters, and programs pertaining to the Gerald R. Ford Foundation and the Ford Presidential Library and Museum are also part of this series.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Clippings, Magazines, and Scrapbooks, 1947‑2002. (Boxes J1‑J8, 3.5 linear feet)
This series contains newspaper and magazine clippings, bound scrapbooks, and loose scrapbook material. Clippings are compiled from national and local news sources as well as magic and comedy publications. Some of Orben’s own publications are included. Also included are select issues of “News and Comment: The President's Daily News Summary” a White House-produced collection of news and magazine articles.
These materials primarily concern Robert Orben in his capacity as a magician, comedian, and comedy writer. The White House clippings and Post-White House clippings also pertain to the Ford administration. The scrapbooks cover Orben’s early career and mainly contain material from magic magazines and newsletters.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Audio Visual Materials. 
This series is unprocessed and is currently unavailable for research.


CONTAINER LIST

Box A1 - Television File

  • Red Buttons
    - Correspondence
    - Sketches, 1963
    - Sketches, 1964
    - Sketches, 1969
    - Sketches, 1993
  • Dick Gregory
    - From the Back of the Bus (1)
    - From the Back of the Bus (2)
    - From the Back of the Bus (3)
    - Correspondence
    - Comedy Material
    - 1961 (1)
    - 1961 (2)
    - 1962 (1)
    - 1962 (2)

Box A2 - Television File

  • Dick Gregory
    - Comedy Material [Continued]
    - 1963 (1)
    - 1963 (2)
    - 1964
    - 1965
    - 1966
    - 1967
    - 1993
    - Newspaper Clippings (1)
    - Newspaper Clippings (2)
    - Index Cards
  • Jack Paar
    - Correspondence
    - Newspaper Clippings
    - Tonight Show Monologues - 9/21/1962
    - Tonight Show Monologues - 9/28/1962

Box A3 - Television File

  • Jack Paar – Tonight Show Monologues [Continued]
    - 10/2/1962
    - 10/9/1962
    - 10/16/1962
    - 10/23/1962
    - 10/28/1962
    - 11/4/1962
    - 11/11/1962
    - 11/18/1962
    - 12/2/1962
    - 12/9/1962
    - 12/16/1962
    - 12/23/1962
    - 12/30/1962
    - 1/6/1963
    - 2/1/1963
    - 2/8/1963
    - 2/15/1963
    - 2/22/1963
    - 2/29/1963
    - 3/8/1963
    - 3/15/1963
  • Red Skelton
    - Correspondence
    - Monologues
    - 1964-65 (1)
    - 1964-65 (2)

Box A4 - Television File

  • Red Skelton
    – Monologues [Continued]
    - 1964-65 (3)
    - 1964-65 (4)
    - 1964-65 (5)
    - 1965-66 (1)
    - 1965-66 (2)

Box A5 - Television File

  • Red Skelton
    - Monologues [Continued]
    - 1965-66 (3)
    - 1965-66 (4)
    - 1966-67 (1)
    - 1966-67 (2)
    - 1966-67 (3)
    - 1966-67 (4)
    - 1967-68 (1)

Box A6 - Television File

  • Red Skelton
    – Monologues [Continued]
    - 1967-68 (2)
    - 1967-68 (3)
    - 1968-69 (1)
    - 1968-69 (2)
    - 1968-69 (3)
    - 1969-70 (1)

Box A7 - Television File

  • Red Skelton
    – Monologues [Continued]
    - 1969-70 (2)
    - 1969-70 (3)
    - 1969-70 (4)
    - Newspaper Clippings
    - Obituaries and Tributes
    - Red Skelton Show (1)
    - Red Skelton Show (2)

Box A8 - Television File

  • Red Skelton [Continued]
    - Red Skelton Show (3)
    - Red Skelton Show (4)
    - Writers Guild Foundation Book

Box B1 - Political File

  • Adams, Secretary of Transportation Brock- 1979
  • Baker, James
    - 11/13/1981, Texas Dinner
    - 1/16/1982, Republican Southern Leadership Conference
    - 3/23/1991, Gridiron Dinner
  • Blatchford, Joseph - 10/6/1972
  • Dean, Burch - 11/30/1964, Gridiron Dinner
  • Carter, Jimmy - 9/24/1977, Black Caucus Dinner
  • Dole, Bob
    - Correspondence
    - 3/3/1977, Saints & Sinners
    - 1/25/1978, Washington Press Club
    - 3/11/1978, Gridiron Dinner
    - 5/6/1986, Cronkite Roast
  • Dole, Elizabeth - 6/14/1977, A.A.F Luncheon
  • Eckert, Jack - Comedy Material (1)
  • Eckert, Jack - Comedy Material (2)

Box B2 - Political File

  • Ford, Betty - 4/28/1987, Washington Post Book and Author Luncheon
  • Ford, Gerald R.
    - 3/9/1968 - Gridiron Dinner
    - 1/21/1971, Remarks of the Honorable Gerald R. Ford Upon the Election of the Speaker of the 92nd Congress
    - 5/29/1972, Wake Forest Commencement Address
    - 3/18/1977, Ski Industries America Trade Show
    - 12/7/1982, National Football Foundation
    - 1/29/1983, NFL Alumni Award
    - 2/28/1983, Hyman Rickover
    - 5/17/1983, Kissinger Chair Event
    - 9/15/1983, Voter Participation Symposium
    - 4/12/1984, Pat Brown Institute
    - 5/20/1984, Commencement
    - 3/17/1986, Tip O'Neil Dinner
    - 9/25/1986, Paul Conrad Roast
    - 1/3/1988, Dolores Hope Outpatient Center
    - 8/16/1988, Republican Convention
    - 1/20/199, Betty Ford Center Roast
    - 8/1/1992, Bohemian Grove
    - 5/27/1993, Kissinger's 70th Birthday
    - 10/30/1993, Bakersfield Business/Finance Conference
    - 8/1996, Republican National Convention
  • Fritz, Sarah - 4/13/1984, White House Correspondents Dinner
  • Goldwater, Barry
    - Comedy Material
    - Correspondence
    - Newsbook

Box B3 - Political File

  • Goldwater, Barry [Continued]
    - 3/20/1965, Gridiron Dinner
    - 11/11/1965, National Review Dinner
    - 7/27/1966, National Press Club
    - 11/17/1966, Golden Mike Awards Dinner
    - 8/23/1967, "Bull Elephants" Talk
    - 10/18/1967, Ryder Cup Match Dinner
    - 3/5/1968, Republican Dinner Speech
    - 1/7/1969, Women's National Press Club
    - 3/5/1969, National Space Club Luncheon
    - 9/22/1984, 50th Wedding Anniversary
  • Goldwater, Barry Jr. - 11/24/1969, Trunk and Tusk Speech
  • Haig, Al
    - 1/26/1980, Alfalfa Speech (1)
    - 1/26/1980, Alfalfa Speech (2)
    - 1/26/1980, Alfalfa Speech (3)
  • Lufkin, Daniel
    - Introductions
    - Venue Fact Sheets
    - 2/8/1974, Danbury
    - 2/13/1974, East Haddam
    - 2/15/1974, New Haven
    - 2/16/1974, Stratford

Box B4 - Political File

  • Lufkin, Daniel [Continued]
    - 2/22/1974, Meriden
    - 5/23/1974, Agawam
  • Nunn, Senator Sam - 1/3/1982, Alfalfa Dinner
  • Reagan, Ronald
    - 3/4/1976, Florida
    - 10/16/1980, Al Smith Dinner
  • Republican Congressional Committee
    - Political Punchlines (1)
    - Political Punchlines (2)
    - Newsletter (1)
    - Newsletter (2)
    - Newsletter (3)
    - Newsletter (4)
    - Newsletter (5)
    - Newsletter (6)
    - Newsletter (7)
    - Newsletter (8)

Box B5 - Political File

  • Republican Congressional Committee [Continued]
    - Newsletter (9)
    - Newsletter (10)
    - Newsletter (11)
    - Newsletter (12)
    - Newsletter (13)
    - Newsletter (14)
  • Richards, Carol - 1/26/1982, Washington Press Club Congressional Night
  • Vander Jagt, Guy - 12/4/1982, Gridiron Mid-Year Dinner
  • Wilson, Representative Bob

Box C1 - Corporate File

  • Allied Air Freight / Louis Kasman
    - 11/8/1977, Annual Convention of Allied Van Lines
    - 2/16/1977, Air Cargo Convention of Allied Van Lines
    - 4/14/1978, Chicago Chapter of the National Defense Transportation Association
    - 6-8/1978
  • Burston-Marsteller – 12/30/1980, Farewell Dinner
  • Campbell Soup Co. / David Johnson
    - 1992
    - 1/31/1992
    - 3/9/1992, National Food Processors Association, “Butterflies are not Free”
    - 4/24/1992, University of Chicago Graduate School of Business Annual Management Conference
    - 7/19/1992, Sales Meeting
  • Chase Manhattan Bank – 1/6/1983, Speechwriters Seminar
  • Eastern Airlines
    - 8/11/1971, Lee Stern, Sales Conference
    - 4/13/1972, Floyd Hall, “IATA: The Untidy Art of Muddling Through”
    - 5/1/1972, Jonathan Rinehart
    - 6/27/1972, Frank Borman
    - 9/25/1972, Floyd Hall (International Air Transport Association)
    - 11/10/1972, Floyd Hall
    - 7/20/1973, Floyd Hall

Box C2 - Corporate File

  • Eastman Kodak – 3/4-3/5/1985, Speechwriting Seminar
  • Esquire / Clay Felker – 1/11/1979, 25th Anniversary of Playboy
  • Focus Marketing / Johnnie Walker Comedy
    - 9/1989
    - 1991
  • IBM
    - COMDEX Convention
    - Management Conferences
    - 11/28/1977, Administrative Assistants Meeting
    - 9/1982, System Products Division Manager's Conference [empty]
    - 1984 Entry Systems Division System Products Division MSP Leadership Symposium
    - 9/1984, System Products Division Leadership Symposium
    - 11/1984 System Products Division Rochester Management Conference
    - Recognition Events
    - 1978, Atlanta
    - 1979, San Francisco 100% Club
    - 1980, General Systems Division
    - 1980, Kick Off Film
    - 3/11-3/27/1980, General Systems Division 100% Club
    - 5/14/1980
    - 11/10/1980, Armonk
    - 1981, Armonk
    - 1981, General Systems Division Golden Circle
    - 12/15-12/16/1981, Atlanta National Marketing Division
    - 1982, Armonk

Box C3 - Corporate File

  • IBM
    - Recognition Events [Continued]
    - 1982, Miami / Dallas Hawaii / San Francisco General Systems Division
    - Golden Circle
    - 5/2-5/8/1982, System Products Division
    - 5/5/1982, System Products Division
    - 9/25-9/30/1982, Innisbrook, Florida Communication Products Division
    - 10/22-10/23/1982 System Products Division Quarter Century Club [empty]
    - 1983, Armonk
    - 1983, National Marketing Division submitted jokes
    - 1983, San Francisco System Products Division
    - 1983, Miami / San Diego / Bermuda National Marketing Division
    - 3/9/1983, National Marketing Division
    - 4/1-4/9/1983, San Francisco System Products Division
    - 9/24-9/29/1983, Miami Beach Communication Products Division
    - 1984, National Marketing Division Golden Circle
    - 1984, Orlando National Marketing Division
    - 1984, San Francisco / Orlando / Kauai National Marketing Division
    - 1984, White Plains / Scottsdale Information Products Division
    - 2/2-2/3/1984, System Products Division Quarter Century Club
    - 4/7-4/12/1984, System Products Division [empty]
    - 5/1984, Phoenix Information Products Division
    - 8/10-8/14/1984, Dallas Entry Systems Division
    - 9/1984, Orlando Entry Systems Division System Products Division MSP
    - 9/14-9/21/1984, Minneapolis System Products Division
    - 11/1-11/13/1984, Lexington Information Products Division
    - 1985, Atlanta National Marketing Division
    - 1985, National Marketing Division Garford C. Hogue
    - 1985, National Marketing Division Golden Circle
    - 1986, National Marketing Division
    - 1986, South-West Marketing Division
    - 1987
    - 1987-1990 new and submitted material

Box C4 - Corporate File

  • IBM
    - Recognition Events [Continued]
    - 1988, US Marketing and Services Group
    - 1989 (1)
    - 1989 (2)
    - 1989, Miami Beach
    - 1989 San Francisco / Miami Beach, 100% Club
    - 1990
    - 1991, Golden Circle
    - Bermuda National Marketing Division
    - Garford Hogue Ideas
    - Sketches, Durwood Chryons
    - Sketches, 1979
    - Sketches, 1980
    - Sketches, 1981
    - Sketches, 1982

Box C5 - Corporate File

  • IBM
    - Recognition Events [Continued]
    - Sketches, 1983 (1)
    - Sketches, 1983 (2)
    - Sketches, 1984 (1)
    - Sketches, 1984 (2)
    - Sketches, 1984 (3)
    - Sketches, 1985
    - Sketches, 1988 (1)
    - Sketches, 1988 (2)

Box C6 - Corporate File

  • IBM
    - Recognition Events [Continued]
    - Sketches, 1988 (3)
    - Sketches, 1991
    - Speeches
    - 4/21/1982, Jack Rogers
    - 2/23/1984, Bob Goodnough
    - 6/5/1984, Jack Rogers
    - 3/8/1985, Jack Rogers
    - 2/20-2/21/1989, Tom Sprott / Tom Trotter / Dave Kella / Adrienne Lallo
    - 3/1-3/4/1989, Lee Bowman / Ted Cook
    - 3/22/1989, Ken Thornton / Jim Chapman
    - 3/29-4/1/1989, Tom Smith / Dallas Boothe
    - 4/5-4/7/1989, Bob Timpson / Laurie Endres
    - 4/9-4/11/1989, Bill Roocker, Jr. / John Hibbert
    - 5/15-5/18/1989, Ron Kilpatrick / Rick Weiner
    - 3/1990, Pat Payne / Kathy Riemer
    - 3/7-3/10/1990, Ken Thornton
    - 3/12/1990, Ron Kilpatrick / Rick Weiner
    - 3/21-3/24/1990, Bill Rooker, Jr. / Mike Lawrie, Glen Horn, Debbie Nemesi
    - 1991, Ken Thornton
    - 2/13-2/15/1991, Ezra Stone
    - 4/1992, Ken Thornton
    - Speechwriting Talks and Workshops
    - 10/3/1977
    - 10/23/1979, White Plains, New York
    - 11/8/1979, Tucson, Arizona
    - 12/13-12/14/1979
    - 10/16/1985, Arrowhead / Rye Brook, New York
    - 10/10/1986, Armonk
    - 1/22/1987, Arrowhead / Rye Brook, New York
    - 7/15/1987, Ossining, New York
    - 9/28/1989 and 10/10/1989, Washington, D.C.
    - 11/9/1989, Charlotte

Box C7 - Corporate File

  • Jones and Laughlin Steel Corporation - 8/1981, American Iron and Steel Institute
  • J. Walter Thompson Company – 1967, silly millimeter jokes
  • Larry King – 1/31/1987, Tommy Lasorda Roast
  • Marriott Corporation – 5/18-5/21/1977, 50th Anniversary Celebration
  • Mobil Oil Corporation – 1979
  • New York Apples Tennis Team – 3/19/1977
  • Panax Corporation / John McGoff – 1/13/1978, Dr. John Jamrich Roast
  • Phillips Petroleum Company
    - 7/15-7/17/1981, Seminar
    - 3/30/1982, Bill Martin Retirement
  • Scientific Medical Programs
    - 8/1/1989
    - 5/2/1990
  • The Silurian Society – 1982, Newspapers
  • Shell Oil Company / Kitty Borah - 1977, “Future Fuels: A Day in the Year 2000” (1)
  • Shell Oil Company / Kitty Borah - 1977, “Future Fuels: A Day in the Year 2000” (2)
  • Tastykake, Inc. – 6/26-27/1978
  • Union Carbide / Warren Anderson
    - 11/1/1977, “The Presidents”
    - 1/31/1978, Victoria Chamber of Commerce, Victoria, Texas
  • U.S. News and World Report – 1982, 50th Anniversary Issue
  • Young and Rubicam Inc. – 4/8/1987, AT&T Commercial

Box D1 - White House Speech File

  • Presidential Speechwriting Log, 8/9/1974-1/12/1977
  • White House Files Box List
  • Unidentified Speech Material
  • 4/17/1967-11/14/1975, Early Humor Speeches (1)
  • 4/17/1967-11/14/1975, Early Humor Speeches (2)
  • 1973-74, Kissinger Speeches
  • 3/9/1968, Gridiron Club
  • 6/9/1968, College of William and Mary Commencement
  • 5/29/1972, Wake Forest University Commencement
  • 11/1/1973, Senate Committee on Rules and Administration
  • 11/15/1973, House Committee on the Judiciary
  • 12/4/1973, National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame
  • 12/6/1973, Senate and Joint Meeting of Congress
  • 12/8/1973, Gridiron Club
  • 12/13/1973, Heisman Trophy Dinner
  • 1/19/1974, Touchdown Club, Washington, D.C.
  • 1/25/1974, Touchdown Club, Columbus, OH
  • 1/29/1974, Washington Press Club Congressional Dinner
  • 3/16/1974, Hibernian Society
  • 3/28/1974, Radio-TV Correspondents Dinner
  • 4/6/1974, Gridiron Club
  • 4/26/1974, GOP Reception, Alexandria, VA
  • 5/4/1974, White House Correspondents' Association

Box D2 - White House Speech File

  • 6/28/1974, Sigma Delta Chi
  • 7/20/1974, Virginia Bar Association
  • 8/1/1974, American Bar Association
  • 8/27/1974, Herbert Stein Farewell
  • 8/28/1974, Press Conference No. 1
  • 8/30/1974, Ohio State University Commencement
  • 9/4/1974, Alan Greenspan (Chairman, Council of Economic Advisors) Swearing-in
  • 9/6/1974, Message to Washington Redskins
  • 9/6/1974, Johnny Grant
  • 9/6/1974, Dinner to Honor Reconvening the First Continental Congress
  • 9/11/1974, World Golf Hall of Fame
  • 9/18/1974, Washington Press Club
  • 9/18/1974, Ron Sarro (President, Washington Press Club) Swearing-in
  • 9/23/1974, Congressional Administrative Assistants Reception
  • 9/24/1974, International Association of Chiefs of Police 81st Convention
  • 9/24/1974, Congresswoman Leonor Sullivan Portrait Unveiling
  • 9/26/1974, Aviation Club - Robert Hartmann Remarks
  • 9/27/1974, Governor William Scranton Dinner
  • 10/3/1974, Congressional Retirees Dinner
  • 10/7/1974, Senator George Aiken Dinner
  • 10/9/1974, Press Conference No. 3
  • 10/10/1974, GOP "Michigan Republicans Salute the President" Dinner
  • 10/15/1974, Washington Press Club Dinner - Mary Louise Smith Remarks
  • 10/16/1974, Lincoln Municipal Airport Rally, Lincoln, NE
  • 10/16/1974, South Dakota Rally, Sioux Falls, SD
  • 10/16/1974, Republican Candidate Fundraising Dinner, Indianapolis, IN
  • 10/16/1974, Alfred E. Smith Memorial Dinner - Henry Kissinger Remarks
  • 10/19/1974, South Carolina Speech
  • 10/19/1974, GOP Fundraiser, Louisville, KY
  • 10/21/1974, GOP Fundraiser, Des Moines, IA
  • 10/21/1974, GOP Dinner, Chicago, IL
  • 10/22/1974, GOP Breakfast and Rally, Oklahoma City, OK
  • 10/22/1974, GOP Fundraising Dinner, Cleveland, OH
  • 10/29/1974, Calvin College
  • 10/31/1974, Sioux City Municipal Airport Rally, Sioux City, IA
  • 10/31/1974, GOP Fundraiser, Los Angeles, CA
  • 11/1/1974, GOP Rally, Portland, OR
  • 11/1/1974, GOP Rally, Wichita, KS
  • 11/2/1974, GOP Rally, Grand Junction, Co
  • 11/7/1974, National Alliance of Businessmen - Remarks Were Not Used
  • 11/14/1974, Luke Air Force Base
  • 11/14/1974, National Association of Realtors
  • 11/14/1974, Sigma Delta Chi
  • 11/26/1974, Congressman John Rooney Reception
  • 12/1/1974, Lee Elder Testimonial
  • 12/2/1974, Boy Scouts "Scouter of the Year" Banquet
  • 12/5/1974, Defeated Members of Congress Breakfast
  • 12/6/1974, Harlem Globetrotters
  • 12/10/1974, Congressman George Mahon Portrait Unveiling

Box D3 - White House Speech File

  • 12/10/1974, Bob Hope, Distinguished American Award, National Football Foundation
  • 12/11/1974, Business Council
  • 12/11/1974, Children's Christmas Party - Betty Ford Remarks
  • 12/15/1974, Sid Yodain Party - Remarks Written by Paul Theis (Handwritten Notes Only)
  • 12/1974, Secretary Simon Introduction - Kent Crane (Handwritten Notes Only)
  • 12/17/1974, Christmas Ball for Congress
  • 12/19/1974, Christmas Party for White House Press Corps
  • 12/20/1974, John J. Sparkman's 75th Birthday Party
  • 12/1974, Christmas Gift (Pocket Calculator) for Hill
  • 1/7/1975, NCAA Honors Luncheon
  • 1/16/1975, National Press Club - Robert Hartmann, Remarks Were Not Used
  • 1/9/1975, American Football Coaches Association Dinner/Coaches of the Year Ceremony
  • 1/16/1975, Thank You for Gift of Phone-Lamp
  • 1/18/1975, Goldwater-Miller Non-Inaugural Party
  • 1/18/1975, Robert Georgine Testimonial
  • 1/21/1975, PRSA Luncheon - Robert Hartmann, Remarks Were Not Used
  • 1/22/1975, Conference Board
  • 1/25/1975, Alfalfa Club Dinner
  • 1/24/1975, Bill Broom (President, National Press Club) Swearing-in
  • 1/28/1975, New Jersey Republican Finance Committee Dinner - Nelson Rockefeller, Remarks Were Not Used
  • 2/1/1975, Budget Press Briefing
  • 2/3/1975, White House Conference, Atlanta, GA
  • 2/10/1975, API Energy Conference
  • 2/11/1975, On the Steps of the Capital Building, Topeka, KS
  • 2/11/1975, Joint Session of the Kansas State Legislature
  • 2/11/1975, Rock Creek Women's Republican Club - Gwen Anderson Remarks
  • 2/12/1975, Bob Hope, Comedian of the Century Award, National Entertainment Conference
  • 2/13/1975, Honor Rockefeller Dinner
  • 2/13/1975, New York Society of Security Analysts
  • 2/14/1975, Congressman Sam Devine Testimonial
  • 2/20/1975, White House Dinner Honoring Governors (National Governors Conference), Includes Toasts Exchanged with Governor Calvin Rampton, Utah
  • 2/21/1975, Reserve Officers Association Minuteman of the Year Award
  • 2/26/1975, Jackie Gleason Golf Reception
  • 2/27/1975, Congressman Olin "Tiger" Teague Portrait Unveiling
  • 2/28/1975, Young Republican Leadership Conference
  • 3/5/1975, University of Michigan Club
  • 3/6/1975, Doral Celebrity Dinner - Videotape
  • 3/7/1975, Republican National Committee Leadership Conference
  • 3/10/1975, Carla Hills (Secretary, Department of Housing and Urban Development) Swearing-in
  • 3/13/1975, Radio-TV Correspondents Dinner
  • 3/17/1975, University of Notre Dame Convocation
  • 3/18/1975, John Dunlop (Secretary of Labor) Swearing-in
  • 3/22/1975, Gridiron Club (1)

Box D4 - White House Speech File

  • 3/22/1975, Gridiron Club (2)
  • 3/22/1975, Gridiron Club - Nelson Rockefeller
  • 3/22/1975, Gridiron Club - Henry Kissinger
  • 3/26/1975, White House Republican Reception
  • 3/26/2014, Baseball Pass Presentation
  • 4/3/1975, White House Conference and U.S. Naval Training Stop, San Diego, CA
  • 4/4/1975, San Francisco Bay Area Council
  • 4/7/1975, National Association of Broadcasters
  • 4/15/1975, GOP Senate-House Dinner
  • 4/16/1975, White House News Photographers Association
  • 4/18/1975, White House Conference, Concord, NJ
  • 4/18/1975, Joint Session of the New Hampshire State Legislature
  • 4/23/1975, Gerald Ford Portrait Unveiling
  • 4/23/1975, F. Edward Herbert Library Groundbreaking Ceremonies
  • 4/23/1975, Tulane University
  • 4/23/1975, Navy League Convention
  • 4/25/1975, Yale Law School Sesquicentennial
  • 4/28/1975, U. S. Chamber of Commerce
  • 5/1/1975, Rogers C. B. Morton (Secretary of Commerce) Swearing-in
  • 5/3/1975, White House Correspondents' Association
  • 5/5/1975, George P. Schultz Portrait Unveiling
  • 5/18/1975, Senator Hugh Scott Testimonial
  • 5/18/1975, University of Pennsylvania Commencement
  • 5/18/1975, Illinois College Commencement - Donald Rumsfeld Remarks
  • 5/20/1975, Freedom Day Celebration and North Carolina Bicentennial Committee Picnic Luncheon
  • 5/22/1975, Former Congressmen Reception
  • 5/24/1975, U.S.S. Monterey Reunion

Box D5 - White House Speech File

  • 5/25/1975, Park College Commencement - Donald Rumsfeld Remarks
  • 6/4/1975, West Point Commencement
  • 6/5/1975, Susan Ford's Graduation, Holton Arms School
  • 6/9/1975, Capitol Page School Graduates
  • 6/10/1975, National Industrial Council
  • 6/11/1975, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Youth Group
  • 6/14/1975, Army Bicentennial on Flag Day
  • 6/15/1975, Tennessee Ernie Ford and Opryland Singers Introduction
  • 6/17/1975, National Federation of Independent Business
  • 6/19/1975, Teenage Republicans
  • 6/24/1975, Republican National Associates
  • 7/3/1975, National Environmental Research Center
  • 7/3/1975, GOP Fundraising Dinner, Cuyahoga County, OH
  • 7/3/1975, White House Conference, Cincinnati, OH
  • 7/11/1975, Mid-America Committee for International Business and Government Cooperation
  • 7/12/1975, Chicago State University Commencement
  • 7/12/1975, Walter Hagen Invitational Golf Tournament
  • 7/13/1975, Judicial Conference
  • 7/14/1975, Philip C. Jackson (Member, Federal Reserve Board) Swearing-in
  • 7/17/1975, University of Michigan Interns
  • 7/18/1975, Girl's Nation Representatives
  • 7/22/1975, Future Farmers of America
  • 7/23/1975, Boys' Nation Delegates
  • 7/23/1975, Congressional Summer Interns
  • 7/24/1975, Apollo Crew Members after Splashdown - Phone Call
  • 7/24/1975, All-American Collegiate Golf Foundation Dinner - Film Message
  • 7/25/1975, Joe Laitin and Bob Loftus Lunch
  • 7/27/1975, U.S. and German Troop Picnic, Kirschgoens, Germany
  • 8/8/1975, David Mathews (Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare) Swearing-in
  • 8/18/1975, Iowa State Fair
  • 8/18/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Des Moines, IA
  • 8/19/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Minneapolis, MN
  • 8/19/1975, American Legion
  • 8/19/1975, White House Conference, Peoria, IL
  • 8/23/1975, Response to "My Fair Jerry"
  • 8/24/1975, Chicago Yacht Club
  • 8/24/1975, Libby Dam Dedication
  • 8/25/1975, White House Conference, Milwaukee, WI
  • 8/25/1975, Hardware Industry Conference
  • 8/27/1975, Woody Hayes - Taped Message

Box D6 - White House Speech File

  • 8/30/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Newport, RH
  • 8/30/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Portland, MA
  • 8/30/1975, AFL-CIO Labor Speech in Augusta, ME
  • 9/4/1975, White House Conference, Seattle, WA
  • 9/4/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Seattle, WA
  • 9/4/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Portland, OR
  • 9/4/1975, Portland Youth Bicentennial Rally
  • 9/5/1975, California Host Breakfast
  • 9/5/1975, Joint Session of the California State Legislature
  • 9/8/1975, Republican National Convention Reception
  • 9/10/1975, Capitol Hill Club Reception
  • 9/11/1975, New Hampshire Trip
  • 9/12/1975, National Federation of Republican Women
  • 9/12/1975, GOP Reception, St. Louis, MO
  • 9/13/1975, Petroleum Museum Opening
  • 9/13/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Kansas City, MO
  • 9/13/1975, Southern Methodist University Bicentennial
  • 9/15/1975, Carroll Kilpatrick Dinner, Host Katherine Graham
  • 9/16/1975, Air Force Association Salute to the Congress
  • 9/19/1975, Oklahoma State Fair
  • 9/19/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Oklahoma City, OK
  • 9/20/1975, Firestone Fieldhouse Dedication at Pepperdine University
  • 9/21/1975, National Association of Life Insurance Underwriters Convention
  • 9/21/1975, Stanford University Law School Dedication
  • 9/22/1975, AFL-CIO Construction Trades Meeting
  • 9/30/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Chicago, IL
  • 10/1/1975, White House Conference, Omaha, NE
  • 10/4/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Newark, NJ
  • 10/7/1975, American Society of Oral Surgeons
  • 10/7/1975, White House Conference, Knoxville, TN
  • 10/10/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Detroit, MI
  • 10/14/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Hartford, CT
  • 10/15/1975, National Association of Food Chains' Executives
  • 10/17/1975, Thomas Kleppe (Secretary of the Interior) Swearing-in
  • 10/28/1975, Roderick M. Hills (Chairman of the Securities and Exchange Commission) Exchange
  • 10/29/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Los Angeles, CA
  • 10/30/1975, GOP Fundraiser, San Francisco, CA
  • 10/30/1975, GOP Fundraiser/Uihlein Hall Performing Arts Center, Milwaukee, WI
  • 11/5/1975, American Business Press Reception
  • 11/7/1975, New England Society of Newspaper Editors
  • 11/7/1975, Century Club Reception
  • 11/7/1975, GOP Reception, Logan International Airport, Boston, MA
  • 11/11/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Charleston, WV
  • 11/12/1975, Daniel Boorstin (Librarian of Congress) Swearing-in
  • 11/14/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Raleigh, NC

Box D7 - White House Speech File

  • 11/14/1975, GOP Fundraiser, Atlanta, GA
  • 11/14/1975, North Carolina Central University
  • 11/1/1975, Speech - Dr. William Lukash
  • 11/20/1975, Donald Rumsfeld (Secretary of Defense) Swearing-in
  • 11/20/1975, 30-30 Club - Taped Message
  • 11/24/1975, Judicial Dinner
  • 11/29/1975, Alaska Trip (Eielson Air Force Base and Senator Ted Stevens' 52nd Birthday Party)
  • 12/15/1975, Christmas Party for White House Staff
  • 12/18/1975, Christmas Tree Lighting at Annual Christmas Pageant of Peace
  • 12/19/1975, Christmas Party for White House Press Corps
  • 1/5/1976, American Farm Bureau Federation Convention
  • 1/1/1976, Swimming Pool Contractors Convention - Robert Hartmann
  • 1/7/1976, Farewell Remarks - Henry Kissinger
  • 1/1/1976, State of the Union (1)
  • 1/1/1976, State of the Union (2)
  • 3/6/1976, Small Businessmen and Farmers Luncheon
  • 3/9/1976, Veterans of Foreign Wars
  • 3/16/1976, Kent County Republican Lincoln Day Dinner, MI
  • 3/17/1976, Society of the Friendly Sons of St. Patrick - Robert Hartmann
  • 3/23/1976, North Carolina Loss - Handwritten Notes Only
  • 3/25/1976, Circus, Saints and Sinners Club
  • 3/25/1976, Radio-TV Correspondents Dinner
  • 4/3/1976, Gridiron Club (1)
  • 4/3/1976, Gridiron Club (2)
  • 4/21/1976, Daughters of the American Revolution
  • 4/26/1976, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
  • 4/27/1976, Defense Speech, TX

Box D8 - White House Speech File

  • 4/1/1976, Photographers' Banquet - Taped Message
  • 5/1/1976, White House Correspondents' Association
  • 7/3/1976, Honor America at the Kennedy Center
  • 7/4/1976, U.S.S. Forrestal Bell-ringing Ceremony
  • 7/16/1976, Indian American Leaders
  • 7/17/1976, Connecticut State Republican Convention, Hartford, CT
  • 8/5/1976, Jesse Owens' Medal of Freedom Presentation and Olympic Athletes
  • 8/10/1976, Republican National Convention, Presidential Nomination Acceptance Speech (1)
  • 8/10/1976, Republican National Convention, Presidential Nomination Acceptance Speech (2)
  • 8/10/1976, Republican National Convention, Presidential Nomination Acceptance Speech (3)
  • 8/20/1976, Republican National Convention Breakfast
  • 9/15/1976, University of Michigan
  • 10/13/1976, Iowa State University
  • 10/21/1976, Alfred E. Smith Memorial Dinner
  • 12/7/1976, Circus, Saints and Sinners Club - Taped Message
  • 12/13/1976, Christmas Party for White House Press Corps
  • 1/5/1977, Cabinet Farewell Dinner Songs
  • 1/12/1977, State of the Union

Box E1 - White House Subject File

  • Behind the Lines Television Program (WNET) "Press Jesters" Segment  
  • Transcript, 2/12/1975
  • Bicentennial Essay Contest Winners, 10/29/1976
  • Calendar - 1976
  • Correspondence, 1973-1977 (1)
  • Correspondence, 1973-1977 (2)
  • Correspondence, 1973-1977 (3)
  • Correspondence, Letters for Ford, October 1975 - January 1976
  • Defense Department FY 1977 Budget
  • Detailed Guest and Staff Schedules
    - December 1974 - September 1975
    - October 1975 - April 1976

Box E2 - White House Subject File

  • Detailed Guest and Staff Schedules
    - May - October, 1976
  • Fact Sheets - Air Force One and The Sequoia
  • Ford - Biographical Material
  • Ford - Non-pronounceable Word List
  • Ford, Betty
  • Hay-Adams Hotel Pamphlets
  • Humor - Ford Administration
  • Humor of President Ford as Selected from Recent Speeches
  • Humorous Quotes - Public Mail
  • Job Postings and Contacts
  • Marine One Welcome Card
  • Pool Reports
  • Presidential Image
  • Reference Information for White House Communications
  • Reagan, Ronald - Speech Text with Error Report, 3/19/1976
  • Siller, Ray
  • Social Entertainment
  • Speechwriters
    - Editorial Staff Writings

Box E3 - White House Subject File

  • Speechwriters [Continued]
    - Observations on Recent Ford Speeches, 12/12/1974 - 6/18/1975
    - Observations on Recent Ford Speeches, 7/8/1975 - 6/16/1976
    - Penny, Donald
    - Speech Critique
    - Speech Notes (1)
    - Speech Notes (2)
    - Speech Notes (3)
    - St. Patrick's Day Jokes
  • Staff Regulations
  • Stationery - Kennedy Center Ticket Holder
  • Stationery - White House Notepad Paper
  • Travel Expense Invoices
  • Trip - President's Briefing Book, California, 3/26/1976

Box E4 - White House Subject File

  • United States National Viewpoint Statement on the Environment - EXPO '74 Booklet
  • White House Pamphlets - "The White House" and "The President's House"
  • White House Press Briefing Transcripts (1)
  • White House Press Briefing Transcripts (2)
  • White House Press Briefing Transcripts (3)

Box F1 - Interviews and Public Appearances

  • Interviews
    - 8/18/1971 - McNaught Syndicate
    - 5/12/1972 - The Reasoner Report
    - 1974 - J. David Truby
    - 6/15/1976 - Exetasis
    - 11/4/1981 - IBM Management Focus
    - 11/10/1981 - New Jersey Bell Journal
    - 12/11/1981 - Business Research Publications, Inc.
    - 4/28/1982 - Late Night with Letterman
    - 10/26/1982 - David Letterman Show
    - 11/18/1983 - Good Morning America
    - 3/6/1984 - Good Morning America
  • Public Appearances
    - 11/17/1971 - Toastmasters Club, Indianapolis
    - 9/2/1972 - American Psychological Association Symposium on Humor
    - 5/24/1973 - Orlando-Winter Park Realty Association
    - 7/4-7/7/1973 - Society of American Magicians
    - 10/22/1973 - Sales and Marketing Executives Association
    - 10/30/1973 - International Newsletter Conference
    - 11/14-11/15/1973 - Ambassador College
    - 12/3/1973 - Thomas Built Buses, Inc.
    - 4/10/1974 - Woman’s Club of White Plains Luncheon
    - 8/1/1974 - International Platform Association Convention
    - 5/12/1977 - “Laugh While It’s Still Free”, Effective Speechwriting Institute
    - 5/16/1977 - "An Out Looks Back In", Newsletter Association of America (NAA) Annual Meeting
    - 10/2/1978 - “Laugh While It’s Still Free”, Rockwell International Commercial Telecommunications Group Annual Management Conference
    - 11/29/1978 - “The Business of Laughter - The Laughter of Business”, American Iron and Steel Institute
    - 4/4/1979 - “Humor and Interpersonal Relationships”, American Orthopsychiatric Association, Inc.
    - 4/16/1979 - “The Business of Humor . . . The Humor of Business”, National Association of Manufacturers (NAM) Institute on Industrial Relations
    - 11/29/1979 - “The Business of Humor . . .The Humor of Business”, AT&T Bell System Speakers’ Conference
    - 12/6/1979 - Capital Press Women
    - 3/5/1980 - Washington Press Club Humor Panel
    - 4/25/1980 - New Jersey Bell Volunteer Recognition Dinner
    - 10/30/1980 - New England Telephone Public Speakers Conference
    - 11/13/1980 - Bendix Corporation Meeting
    - 12/29/1980 - “The Business of Humor . . . The Humor of Business”, American Business Communication Association 45th Annual National Convention
    - 2/4-2/6/1981 - Pryor Corporation
    - 3/23/1981 - National Press Club Author’s Rap Session
    - 5/5/1981 - Dutch Treat Club
    - 5/21/1981 - Capital Speakers Club
    - 9/9/1981 - International Association of Business Communicators Speechwriting Luncheon
    - 9/24/1981 - Henrico Doctors’ Day Doctors’ Day Banquet

Box F2 - Interviews and Public Appearances

  • Public Appearances [Continued]
    - 12/2/1981 - “Say Goodnight Gracie: A Look at Humor”, Smithsonian Institution Resident Associate Program
    - 4/21/1982 - J. Walter Thompson “Thompson Night”
    - 8/4/1982 - Association of College and University Telecommunications Administrators Banquet
    - 8/27-8/30/1982 - International Conference on Humor
    - 11/4/1982 - Dallas Woman’s Club
    - 11/11/1982 - Men’s Dinner Club of Oklahoma City
    - 11/12/1982 - National Association of Farm Broadcasters Annual Convention
    - 12/10/1982 - “Humor of Business and the Business of Humor”, Brown Shoe Company’s Manufacturing Executives and Managers Conference
    - 1/12/1983 - “Laugh While It’s Free”, Tuckahoe Woman’s Club
    - 1/28/1983 - Schenley Affiliated Brands Corporation National Sales Conference
    - 2/9/1983 - “A Speech Consultant Talks About Humor”, National Capital Speakers Association (NCSA)
    - 4/12/1983 - Monmouth-Ocean County Dental Society Staff Appreciation Night
    - 5/2/1983 - “Laugh While It’s Still Free”, Roller Skating Rink Operators Association
    - 7/31/1984 - National Speakers Association
    - 10/16/1984 - Bartlesville Town Hall, Bartlesville, Oklahoma
    - 10/1/1985 - Miller Brewing Company Corporate Affairs Conference
    - 10/9/1985 - Miller Center Forum on the Ford Presidency, White Burkett Miller Center of Public Affairs
    - 11/8/1985 - “Using Humor to Communicate”, Washington Area State Relations Group
    - 9/17-9/18/1986 - “A History of Humor and the Presidency”, Gerald R. Ford Foundation Humor and the Presidency Symposium - (1)
    - 9/17-9/18/1986 - “A History of Humor and the Presidency”, Gerald R. Ford Foundation Humor and the Presidency Symposium - (2)
    - 9/17-9/18/1986 - “A History of Humor and the Presidency”, Gerald R. Ford Foundation Humor and the Presidency Symposium - (3)
    - 10/16/1986 - Society of the Plastics Industry, Inc.
    - 11/10/1986 - Public Relations Society of America Meeting
    - 12/9/1986 - American Textile Manufacturers Institute Annual Wool Meeting
    - 5/12/1987 - International Management Club of the Blue Water Area, Port Huron, Michigan
    - 9/14/1987 - “The Business of Humor, the Humor of Business”, Defense Credit Union Council Annual Convention
    - 10/19/1987 - “The Business of Humor, the Humor of Business”, American Die Casting Institute, Inc. Annual Meeting
    - 9/28/1988 - “The Power of Humor in Communications”, IABC Synergy Three Symposium
    - 7/22/1989 - American Bankers Association Annual Personal Economic Program
    - 6/17/1992 - Inner Circle Talk
    - 3/28/1995 - “The Business of Humor - The Humor of Business”, International Subacute Healthcare Association, Inc. Annual Convention
    - 4/27-4/29/2000 - “Magic and Me, Fifty Years Ago”, Magic Collectors Association
    - 7/8/2001 - “Laugh While It’s Still Free”, 20th Annual Humor Conference

Box G1 - Publications

  • Articles and Columns
    - "10 Rules for Better Comedy"
    - 50 Plus, "50 Plus Funnybone" /" Fun & Games" 1980-83
    - American Legion Magazine, "Parting Shots" / "Orben's World" 1984-86
    - American Way, "Quip Trip" 1983-86
    - “The Baby’s Dictionary”
    - “Bob Orben -- America's Joke Factory," Gene Conally
    - Capitol Hill, "Party Lines"
    - Chicago Sun, Kup's Column
    - The Conjurers' Magazine
    - Genii
    - “The Indian Rope Trick Exposed”
    - Investment Dealer's Digest, "The Bawl Street Journal" (1)
    - Investment Dealer's Digest, "The Bawl Street Journal" (2)
    - Investment Dealer's Digest, "The Bawl Street Journal" (3)
    - Investment Dealer's Digest, "The Bawl Street Journal" (4)
    - Investment Dealer's Digest, "The Bawl Street Journal" (5)

Box G2 - Publications

  • Articles and Columns [Continued]
    - The Linking Ring
    - Magic is Fun
    - Meetings and Conventions, "Start 'Em Laughing" 1971-82 (1)
    - Meetings and Conventions, "Start 'Em Laughing" 1971-83 (2)
    - McCall's, "Whatever Happened to Mother-In-Law Jokes"
    - Newsweek, "Hot Lines" (1)
    - Newsweek, "Hot Lines" (2)
    - Newsweek, "Hot Lines" (3)
    - Newsweek, "Hot Lines" (4)
    - Newsweek, "Hot Lines" (5)
    - “Orben’s Million Dollar Paper Tear”
    - Sharing Ideas
    - “A Time of Crisis, Read my Quips”

Box G3 - Publications

  • Books
    - Booth, John - Wonders of Magic
    - Budler, Bob - You Can Do It!
    - Byrne, Robert - The Other 637 Best Things Anybody Ever Said
    - Carpenter, Liz - Start with a Laugh: An Insider's Guide to Roasts, Toasts, Eulogies, and Other Speeches
    - Carpenter, Liz, Hail to the Comic Relief
    - Dunn, Jerry - Tricks of the Trade

Box G4 - Publications

  • Books [Continued]
    - Fireman, Judy - TV Book: The Ultimate Television Book
    - Helizer, Melvin - Comedy Techniques for Writers & Performers
    - Helizer, Melvin - Comedy Writing Secrets: How to Think Funny, Write Funny, Act Funny, and Get Paid for It
    - Klein, Allen - Quotations to Cheer You Up When the World is Getting You Down
    - Liebman, Glenn - Political Shorts: 1,001 of the Funniest Political One-Liners

Box G5 - Publications

  • Books [Continued]
    - Mitchell, Greg - Cats, Chocolate, Clowns, and Other Amusing, Interesting and Useful Subjects Covered by Newsletters
    - Mott, Robert L. - Radio Live! Television Live!
    - Orben, Robert - 2100 Laughs for All Occasions
    - Orben, Robert - 2400 Jokes to Brighten Your Speeches
    - Orben, Robert - 2500 Jokes to Start ‘Em Laughing
    - Orben, Robert - The Ad-Libber’s Handbook: 2000 New Laughs for Speakers

Box G6 - Publications

  • Books [Continued]
    - Orben, Robert - The Encyclopedia of One-Liner Comedy
    - Orben, Robert - The Joke Teller’s Handbook or 1,999 Bellylaughs
    - Orben, Robert - Speaker’s Handbook of Humor
    - Peter, Laurence, J. - Peter's Quotations: Ideas for Out Time

Box G7 - Publications

  • Books [Continued]
    - Preston, Charles - The Wall Street Journal Book of Wit
    - Rowes, Barbara - The Book of Quotes
    - Safire, William and Leonard Safir - Leadership: A Treasury of Great Quotations for Everybody Who Aspires to Be a Leader
    - Shafer, Ronald G. - Minor Memos
    - Tarver, Jerry - Professional Speech Writing
    - Wade, Bruce - 1001 Very Clean Jokes for Every Occasion

Box G8 - Publications

  • Books [Continued]
    - Wilde, Larry - The Merriest Book of Christmas Humor
    - Yoho, Dave - Have a Great Year Every Year: A Four-Point Program for Maximizing Your Performance

Box G9 - Publications

  • The Comedy Center, Inc.
    - Current Comedy volume 1 (11/1958-10/1969)
    - Current Comedy volume 2 (11/1959-10/1960)
    - Current Comedy volume 3 (11/1960-10/1961)
    - Current Comedy volume 5 (11/1962-10/1963)
    - Current Comedy volume 6 (11/1963-10/1964)
    - Current Comedy volume 7 (11/1964-10/1965)
    - Current Comedy volume 8 (11/1965-10/1966)
    - Current Comedy volume 9 (11/1966-9/1967)
    - Current Comedy volume 10 (10/1967-4/1968)
    - Current Comedy 1971-89 (1)

Box G10 - Publications

  • The Comedy Center, Inc. [Continued]
    - Current Comedy 1971-89 (2)
    - Current Comedy 1971-89 (3)
    - Current Comedy 1971-89 (4)
    - Current Comedy 1971-89 (5)
    - Current Comedy 1971-89 (6)
    - Current Comedy 1971-89 (7)

Box G11 - Publications

  • The Comedy Center, Inc. [Continued]
    - Current Comedy with Clippings
    - Orben Comedy Fliers 4/1971-9/1973 (1)
    - Orben Comedy Fliers 4/1971-9/1973 (2)
    - Orben Comedy Letter 4/1971-9/1972
    - 2/19/1981, How to Spice up those Dull Speeches
    - 6/5/1981, The Care and Heeding of Speechwriter
    - 8/19/1981, Starting Your Speech a Winner
    - 12/2/1981, The Odds on Getting a Laugh (used for 2400 Jokes to Brighten Your Speeches)
    - 2/18/1982, A Look at Laughter (used for 2100 laughs for all occasions
    - 6/2/1982, The First Two Minutes of Your Speech
    - 9/21/1982, Controlling Your Audience
    - 2/3/1983, Preparing for Your Speech
    - 6/15/1983, Handling Stage Fright Part One
    - 6/28/1983, Handling Stage Fright Part Two
    - 10/5/1983, Rehearsing Your Speech
    - 2/15/1984, Preparing the Roast
    - 6/21/1984, Serving the Roast
    - 8/15/1984, Delivering the Roast
    - 12/5/1984, Lessons I learned from Lowell Thomas
    - 2/6/1985, After the Applause has Ended
    - 5/8/1985, Seven Don'ts If You Want to Get Laughs
    - 8/7/1985, Where do Stories Come From?
    - 11/6/1985, Why Humor? Part One
    - 12/6/1985, Why Humor? Part Two
    - 4/2/1986, Advice - and How to Ignore it
    - 4/2/1986, Money Makes the Words Go 'Round
    - 3/5/1987, Assessing Your Audience Part One

Box G12 - Publications

  • The Comedy Center, Inc. [Continued]
    - 6/3/1987, The Cutting Edge of Humor
    - 8/5/1987, Assessing your Audience Part Two
    - 10/6/1987, Assessing your Audience Part Three
    - 11/2/1987, Once Around the Writer's Block Part One
    - 3/2/1988, Once Around the Writer's Block Part Two
    - 4/6/1988, How to Use Humor When You're Afraid to Use Humor
    - 9/23/1988, The Uses and Limits of Humor Part One
    - 10/19/1988, The Uses and Limits of Humor Part Two
    - 11/1/1988, The Uses and Limits of Humor Part Three
    - 12/1/1988 , The Uses and Limits of Humor Part Four
    - 1/5/1989, How to Succeed in Humor By Really Trying
    - 1/19/1989, Mistakes
    - 11/13/1989, The Hard Work of Humor
    - 1990, Kinder, Gentler Comedy
  • Books Parallel
    - Helizer, Melvin - Comedy Techniques for Writers & Performers
    - Helizer, Melvin - Comedy Writing Secrets: How to Think Funny, Write Funny, Act Funny, and Get Paid for It
    - Liebman, Glenn - Political Shorts: 1,001 of the Funniest Political One-Liners
    - Mitchell, Greg - Cats, Chocolate, Clowns, and Other Amusing, Interesting and Useful Subjects Covered by Newsletters
    - Peter, Laurence, J. - Peter's Quotations: Ideas for Out Time
    - Tarver, Jerry - Professional Speech Writing
    - Wade, Bruce - 1001 Very Clean Jokes for Every Occasion

Box H1 - Correspondence

  • Block, Herb
  • Buchwald, Art
  • Campos, Violet Warren
  • Cheney, Dick
  • Ford, Gerald
  • Frewin, Tony
  • Gerald R. Ford Foundation (1)
  • Gerald R. Ford Foundation (2)
  • Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum
  • Goldwater, Barry
  • Haig, Al
  • Hulke, Malcolm
  • Lester, Jerry
  • Monkhouse, Bob
  • Ray, Frankie
  • Republican Congressional Committee
  • Smith, Ethel
  • Tarcher, Jeremy and Shari
  • Tyler, Lynn (Brigham Young University)
  • Valee, Rudy
  • Variety
  • Wall Street Journal
  • White House
  • Wilson, Earl

Box H2 - Correspondence

  • A-C
  • D-J
  • K-M
  • N-R
  • S-W

Box I1 - General Subject File

  • Alfalfa Club, 2002
  • Awards
    - 11/17/1979 – National Capitol District 36 Toastmasters International Award
    - 11/17/1979 – Acropolis 1979 Zero Base Gobbledygook Award
    - 9/23/1992 – 1992 World Humor Award
    - 3/23/1996 – The Academy of Magical Arts Literary Fellowship
    - 4/7/2005 – Fifth Annual Award for Contributions to Society through Humor, The Art Gliner Center for Humor Studies
  • Bergen, Edgar
  • Birthday Cards
  • Fan Letters, 1976-1987
  • Ford, Gerald R.
    - Awards and Events
    - Birthday
    - General
    - Selected Speech Humor
  • Gerald R. Ford Foundation
  • Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library (1)
  • Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library (2)
  • Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum (1)
  • Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum (2)

Box I2 - General Subject File

  • Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum (3)
  • Graves, Sybil
  • Griffith, Joe, 6/18/1977
  • Humor
  • The Humor Project - Joel Goodman
  • Janus, Samuel
  • Nixon, Richard
  • Publishing Opportunities
    - Hall Syndicate, 1964
    - I've Got My Back to Wall Street (The Beginner's Guide to the Stuck Market), 1970
    - "You Can Go Home Again", 1977
  • Reprints
    - Carolina Telephone, 4/1986
    - Chief Executive Magazine / Leaders Magazine, 1/1978
    - IBM, 1983
    - The Linking Ring, 2002
    - National Association of Manufacturers Enterprise Magazine, 11/1981
    - National Association of Manufacturers Enterprise Magazine, 7/1979
    - National Association of Manufacturers Enterprise Magazine, 2/1978
    - Readers Digest (1)

Box I3 - General Subject File

  • Reprints [Continued]
    - Readers Digest (2)
    - Readers Digest (3)
    - Readers Digest (4)
    - Readers Digest (5)
    - Readers Digest (6)
    - Readers Digest (7)
    - Readers Digest (8)
    - Readers Digest (9)
    - Toastmasters Magazine
    - The World and I, 2/1987
  • Transportation, Department of - Report on Speechwriters Division
  • Turkish Embassy Humor Publication
  • Van Dyke, Dick

Box J1 - Clippings, Magazines, and Scrapbooks

  • Clippings
    - Pre-White House (1)
    - Pre-White House (2)
    - Ford Administration (1)
    - Ford Administration (2)
    - Ford Administration (3)
    - Post White House (1)
    - Post White House (2)
    - Post White House (3)

Box J2 - Clippings, Magazines, and Scrapbooks

  • Clippings [Continued]
    - Post White House (4)
    - Post White House (5)
    - Post White House (6)
    - Post White House (7)
    - Post White House (8)
  • Loose Scrapbook Material (1)
  • Loose Scrapbook Material (2)
  • Loose Scrapbook Material (3)

Box J3 - Clippings, Magazines, and Scrapbooks

  • News & Comment: The President's Daily News Summary:
    - March 1976
    - April 1976
    - July 1976
    - August 1976 (1)
    - August 1976 (2)
    - August 1976 (3)
    - September 1976 (1)
    - September 1976 (2)

Box J4 - Clippings, Magazines, and Scrapbooks

  • News & Comment: The President's Daily News Summary:
    - September 1976 (3)
    - September 1976 (4)
    - September 1976 (5)
    - September 1976 (6)
    - October 1976 (1)
    - October 1976 (2)

Box J5 - Clippings, Magazines, and Scrapbooks

  • News & Comment: The President's Daily News Summary:
    - October 1976 (3)
    - October 1976 (4)
    - October 1976 (5)
    - October 1976 (6)
    - October 1976 (7)
    - October 1976 (8)
    - October 1976 (9)

Box J6 - Clippings, Magazines, and Scrapbooks

  • News & Comment: The President's Daily News Summary:
    - November 1976 (1)
    - November 1976 (2)
    - November 1976 (3)
    - November 1976 (4)
    - November 1976 (5)
    - December 1976 (1)
    - December 1976 (2)

Box J7 - Clippings, Magazines, and Scrapbooks

  • News & Comment: The President's Daily News Summary:
    - December 1976 (3)
    - December 1976 (4)
    - December 1976 (5)
    - January 1977

Box J8 - Clippings, Magazines, and Scrapbooks

  • Scrapbook (1)
  • Scrapbook (2)
  • Scrapbook (3)

The following containers (L1 - L13) hold index cards that were withdrawn from files listed above. The cards were removed to improve preservation. A withdrawal sheet appears at the original file location. All cards are open to research. The list indicates the series (printed in bold) and folder (listed below the series title) where the items were withdrawn from.

Box L1 - Television File

  • Red Buttons - 1963
  • Red Buttons - 1963 (TV and Cleveland)
  • Red Buttons - 1963 (Puerto Rico)
  • Red Buttons - 1964 (6/30/1964)
  • Red Buttons - 1964 (Hasidic Night Patrols)
  • Red Buttons - 1969
  • Dick Gregory

Box L2 - Television File

  • Dick Gregory

Box L2 - Television File

  • Dick Gregory

Box L3 - Television File

  • Dick Gregory

Box L4 - Television File

  • Dick Gregory (unpublished)

Box L5 - Television File

  • Dick Gregory (unpublished)

Box L6 - Television File

  • Dick Gregory (unpublished)
  • Dick Gregory - Comedy Material - 1962

Box L7 - Television File

  • Dick Gregory - Comedy Material - 1962
  • Dick Gregory - Comedy Writing - 1965-67
  • Red Skelton - 1964-65

Box L8 - Television File

  • Red Skelton - 1964-65 [Continued]
  • Red Skelton - 1965-66

Box L9 - Television File

  • Red Skelton - 1965-66
  • Red Skelton - 1966-67
  • Red Skelton - 1967-68

Box L10 - Television File

  • Red Skelton - 1967-68
  • Red Skelton - 1968-69

Box L11 - Television File

  • Red Skelton - 1968-69
  • Red Skelton - 1969-70

Box L11 [Continued] - Political File

  • Ford, Gerald - Gridiron Dinner 1968
  • Goldwater - #1-#32

Box L12 - Political File

  • Goldwater - #33-#75
  • Lufkin, Daniel
  • Republican Congressional Committee - 1970

Box L13 - Political File

  • Republican Congressional Committee - 1970

Box L13 [Continued]- White House Speech File

  • 3/17/1975 - Radio-TV Correspondents Dinner
  • 3/22/1975 (1) - Gridiron Club - Ford
  • 3/22/1975 (2) - Gridiron Club - Ford

Box L13 [Continued] - White House Subject File

  • Speechwriters - Speech Notes (1)

Box L14 - White House Subject File

  • Publications - Hot Lines