Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



NATIONAL SECURITY ADVISOR.

BRENT SCOWCROFT'S MORNING NEWSPAPER SUMMARIES, 1976-77



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Introduction | Series Descriptions | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Reports prepared by the White House Situation Room staff for National Security Adviser Brent Scowcroft summarizing newspaper coverage of foreign affairs/national security issues and events. The newspapers covered are the Washington Post, New York Times, and Baltimore Sun. The reports cover only January 1976-January 1977.

QUANTITY
1.1 linear feet (ca. 2,200 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77-118)

ACCESS
Open.

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by William McNitt, February 1998; Revised March 2000
[s:\bin\findaid\nsc\white house situation room. scowcroft's morning newspaper summaries.doc]


Provenance of the National Security Adviser Files


INTRODUCTION

The White House Situation Room: Brent Scowcroft’s Morning Newspaper Summaries is one of many subcollections that comprise the National Security Adviser Files. The provenance and nature of the National Security Adviser Files as a whole are described in Appendix A. 

In January 1976, for reasons not apparent, the staff of the White House Situation Room began preparing reports for National Security Adviser Brent Scowcroft summarizing newspaper coverage of foreign affairs/national security issues and events. They summarized articles from the Washington Post, New York Times, and Baltimore Sun (with occasional articles from the Washington Star) in short paragraphs followed by the page number on which the full story appeared. The Situation Room staff produced this news summary six days a week, Monday through Saturday, until the end of the administration. Each report runs from 3 to 10 pages.

The news summaries contain only information from the newspapers and do not reflect any private policy discussions within the Ford administration. They serve as an index to media coverage and provide a quick overview of foreign affairs and national security issues and events between January 1976 and January 1977. Included are stories on overseas crises, politics in other countries, military developments, and the activities of the CIA. Occasional stories on domestic politics also appear.

The Situation Room staff apparently maintained this set of news summaries, as it consists almost exclusively of photocopies. Presumably National Security Adviser Brent Scowcroft received the originals. Occasional news summaries are missing from this set, especially during the last few months of the administration. It is not known whether this is due to the failure of the Situation Room staff to photocopy some reports or if they just did not compile a news summary on some days. 

Related Materials (February 1998)
No other issues of these Situation Room news summaries have been found in other collections. Issues of the President’s Daily News Summary appear in the Presidential News Summary collection and also in the files of news summary editors James Shuman and Agnes Waldron.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Brent Scowcroft’s Morning Newspaper Summaries, 1976-77.  (Boxes 1‑3, 1.1 linear feet)
Memoranda from the White House Situation Room containing brief descriptions of foreign affairs/national security stories in the Washington Post, New York Times, and Baltimore Sun.

Arranged chronologically.


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Brent Scowcroft’s Morning Newspaper Summaries

  • January 1976 - May 11, 1976

Box 2 - Brent Scowcroft’s Morning Newspaper Summaries

  • May 12, 1976 - September 1976

Box 3 - Brent Scowcroft’s Morning Newspaper Summaries

  • October 1976 - January 1977