SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
Memoranda of the National Security Adviser and National Security Council staff, cable traffic between the State Department and U.S. embassies, and comparable material concerning U.S. relations with European countries and Canada. Arranged by name of country, with separate sequences for NSC documents and State Department telegrams. A few folders in the first box concern broader groupings of countries within the context of Europe.
QUANTITY
8.8 linear feet (ca. 17,600 pages)
DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-118)
ACCESS
Open, but some materials continue to be national security classified and restricted. Access is governed by the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, and National Archives and Records Administration regulations (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.
Prepared by Geir Gundersen, January 2003
[S:\bin\findaid\presidential country files for europe and canada.doc]
INTRODUCTION
The Presidential Country Files for Europe and Canada is one of many subcollections that comprise the National Security Adviser Files.
The Presidential Country Files described here concern U.S. relations with European countries and Canada, and address regional issues as well as issues specific to individual countries. Materials in the first several folders concern Europe in general, while the remainder of the collection is arranged by country name, with separate sequences for National Security Council documents and State Department telegrams. The Country Files include folders for the Azores and Vatican City, but not Cyprus, Greece, and Turkey, which are located in the Presidential Country Files for the Middle East and South Asia.
Scope and Content of the Materials
Presidential Country Files include materials prepared for and by the National Security Adviser and National Security Council staff. Memoranda, reports, briefing papers, schedule proposals, correspondence, and telegrams make up the bulk of the collection.
The materials filed under “Europe” address a variety of topics, including United States relations with Eastern Europe; Senator Jacob Javits’ trip to Europe; the purchase of F-16 fighter planes by Belgium, Denmark, the Netherlands, and Norway; President Ford’s farewell telephone calls to European leaders; and General Alexander M. Haig’s role as Supreme Allied Commander, Europe (SACEUR).
Several significant foreign policy events are covered in these files. Among these are the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (CSCE), particularly the negotiations leading up to the conference, and the economic summit meetings at Rambouillet and Puerto Rico, especially pre-summit planning and negotiations. Another major topic is arms control negotiations within the context of the Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty (SALT), Mutually Balanced Force Reductions (MBBR), and Peaceful Nuclear Explosions (PNE). General topics covered throughout the collection include trade, arms transfers, mutual defense agreements, NATO, maritime affairs, and meetings between American and European leaders.
A number of countries are worthy of specific mention for materials on additional topics. The folders on the Soviet Union contain materials on US and Soviet defense spending, US grain sales, science and technology agreements, and Soviet emigration. Materials on the economic, financial and energy challenges facing Europe are found throughout the folders on France, Germany, and the United Kingdom. The folders on Italy and Portugal contain substantive materials on the electoral gains and growing influence of the Communist Party within each country’s coalition government. The materials on Spain document the end of the dictatorship of Generalissimo Francisco Franco and Spain’s transition to democracy. The folders on Switzerland contain materials on a number of international negotiations; in particular those leading toward black rule in Zimbabwe. The materials on Canada are important for their information on the multifaceted relationship between the United States and its close neighbor.
Materials concerning President Ford’s trips to Europe are also available. The President visited the Soviet Union in 1974, and Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Romania, Spain, and Yugoslavia in 1975.
State Department telegrams provide an interesting look at communications between officials in Washington and staff at embassies throughout the region. They are valuable for on the scene, current reporting and analyses of conversations and events. The content of the messages covers many topics, and subject access is provided through PRESNET search reports.
Related Materials
(December 2002)
Materials relating to Europe are available in various White House Central Files Subject File categories, especially the CO: Countries categories. WHCF Subject File category TR: Trips has case files for the President’s European trips in 1974 and 1975.
Materials on the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (CSCE) are located in the NSC Staff Files for Europe, Canada, and Ocean Affairs.
