Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



NATIONAL SECURITY ADVISOR.

STAFF ASSISTANT JOHN K. MATHENY FILES, 1975-77



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Material concerning his work as an assistant to Robert C. McFarlane, primarily in the area of NSC interactions with the congressional select committees on intelligence and Ford administration efforts to reform the intelligence community. Some materials on other topics appear, including a significant file on the administration’s self-evaluation of the handling of the Mayaguez incident.

Most of this collection is unprocessed and closed to research. The container list shows what is currently open.

QUANTITY
4.4 linear feet (ca. 8,000 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77-118 and 78-68)

ACCESS
Only a portion of this collection has been processed and opened to research. The rest of the collection is still unprocessed and closed. In the processed portions, some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford has donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by William McNitt, August 1996; Revised March 2000
[s:\bin\findaid\nsc\staff assistant john k. matheny files.doc]


Provenance of the National Security Adviser Files


CONTAINER LIST

Note: Only the folders listed below are currently open to research. All other folders and boxes are still unprocessed.

Box 8 - Subject File

  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - CIA Reports Submitted to the U.S. Intelligence Board
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Memoranda, 6/75-10/75
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Tab 1 - Kissinger Report to the President
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Tab A - Draft Presidential Memoranda to Colby and Schlesinger
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Tabs B & C - Presidential Memoranda Requesting a Performance Evaluation
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Tabs D & E - Colby and Schlesinger Observations and Suggestions
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 1 - Presidential Orders Given at NSC Meetings
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 2 - Minutes of NSC Meetings (1)
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 2 - Minutes of NSC Meetings (2)
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 3 - Intelligence Community Chronologies
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 4 - Intelligence Community Orders
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 5 - State Department Chronology
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annexes 6 & 7 - State Department Orders and Recommendations
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 8 - Defense Department After Action Report and Orders (1)
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 8 - Defense Department After Action Report and Orders (2)
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 8 - Defense Department After Action Report and Orders (3)

Box 9 - Subject File

  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 8 - Defense Department After Action Report and Orders (4)
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 8 - Defense Department After Action Report and Orders (5)
  • Mayaguez Performance Evaluation - Annex 8 - Defense Department After Action Report and Orders (6)