Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



MELVIN MEDEMA:

CORRESPONDENCE WITH GERALD FORD, 1949-77


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

The collection contains correspondence between civil engineer Melvin Medema of Grand Rapids and Congressman Gerald Ford from throughout Ford’s congressional career. The letters discuss in some detail such topics as health issues, military appropriations, grain sent to India, Hoover Commission, Taft-Hartley Act amendments, government spending, Vietnam War, and busing. Two Ford form letters from the Vice Presidential and Presidential years are also included.

QUANTITY
0.05 linear feet (21 pages)

DONOR
David Medema (accession number 2008-NLF-009)

ACCESS
Open.

COPYRIGHT
David Medema donated to the United States of America copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections and President Ford did likewise in his deed of gift. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by William H. McNitt, December 2008
[s:\bin\findaid\medema, melvin - correspondence.doc]