Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



LEGISLATIVE INTERDEPARTMENTAL GROUP FILES, (1976) 1971-1974




CONTENTS

Summary Description | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Materials on the activities of the Legislative Interdepartmental Group (LIG), which coordinated congressional liaison activities on foreign affairs and defense matters for the White House, NSC, CIA, and the Departments of State, Justice, and Defense. The files for many LIG meetings contain both briefing papers and minutes or a record of decisions. The bulk of the collection dates from 1971 and 1972, with fewer meetings and less documentation for later periods.

SOME OF THIS COLLECTION IS UNPROCESSED AND CLOSED TO RESEARCH. THE CONTAINER LIST SHOWS WHAT IS CURRENTLY OPEN.

QUANTITY
1.2 linear feet (ca. 6,000 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 82-63)

ACCESS
Only a portion of this collection has been processed and opened to research. The rest of the collection is still unprocessed and closed. In the processed portions, some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by William McNitt, January 1997; Revised, March 2000
[s:\bin\findaid\nsc\legislative interdepartmental group.doc]


Provenance of the National Security Adviser Files


CONTAINER LIST

Note: Only the folders listed below are currently open to research.
All other folders and boxes are still unprocessed.

Box 1 - Meetings File

  • April 20, 1971
  • April 21, 1971
  • May 5, 1971 (1)
  • May 5, 1971 (2)
  • May 27, 1971 (1)
  • May 27, 1971 (2)
  • June 9, 1971
  • July 20, 1971 (1)
  • July 20, 1971 (2)
  • August 17, 1971 (1)
  • August 17, 1971 (2)
  • August 17, 1971 (3)

Box 2 - Meetings File

  • October 25-26, 1971
  • November 1, 1971
  • November 24, 1971 (1)
  • November 24, 1971 (2)
  • November 24, 1971 (3)
  • November 24, 1971 (4)
  • March 10, 1972
  • April 25, 1972
  • July 7, 1972

Box 3 - Meetings File

  • September 13, 1972 (1)
  • September 13, 1972 (2)
  • August 31, 1973
  • November 9, 1973
  • January 14, 1974
  • August 19, 1974
  • December 3, 1974
  • December 9, 1974
  • February 7, 1975
  • April 14, 1975