Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



C. WILLIAM KONTOS PAPERS, 1976-82

Special Representative of the President and Director,
United States Sinai Support Mission



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Introduction | Series Descriptions | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

The papers consist of nine speeches delivered by Kontos, thirteen reports to Congress and five general reports covering the history, formation, role and status of the Sinai Support Mission (SSM) and its overseas arm, the Sinai Field Mission (SFM), and the use of sensor technology as a peacekeeping tool.

QUANTITY
0.4 linear feet (ca. 800 pages)

DONOR
C. William Kontos (accession numbers 82-74)

ACCESS
Open.

COPYRIGHT
C. William Kontos donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Barbara White, September 1982
[s:\bin\findaid\kontos, c. william - files.doc]


INTRODUCTION

C. William Kontos was named first Director of the United States Sinai Support Mission on January 15, 1976. This independent body was formed by joint resolution of Congress to organize, coordinate and provide overall management of an American early-warning system in the Sinai, and to maintain the UN buffer zone between Egyptian and Israeli forces. Kontos, as the Director of the Mission, was designated a Special Representative of the President and reported to him through his Assistant for National Security Affairs. The President was required by Congress to submit a status report at least every six months.

The papers consist of photocopies of nine speeches delivered by Kontos and copies of the thirteen Reports to Congress and five general reports. The speeches cover the history, formation, role and status of the Sinai Support Mission (SSM) and its overseas arm, the Sinai Field Mission (SFM), and the use of technology as a peace keeping tool, with SSM tactical early warning system using sensor technology as an example.

The congressional reports span April 30, 1976 to May 25, 1982. The Mission's peacekeeping operation ended April 25, 1982, when Israel completed its withdrawal from the Sinai and Egyptian sovereignty was re-established. The general reports include Department of State publications on the SSM, the Egyptian-Israeli Peace Treaty and a Foreign Service Post Report.

Grouped by speeches, congressional reports, and general reports and arranged chronologically thereunder.

Related Materials (September 1982)
Related materials can be found in White House Central Files Subject File categories FG 418 (Sinai Support Mission), CO 71 (Israel), CO 159 (Israel), and ND 18/CO 7 (Wars - Middle East. Scattered materials on the Sinai accord also appear in the staff files of the Congressional Relations Office and elsewhere.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Speeches, 1976-79.  (Box 1, 0.1 linear feet)
The speeches cover the history, formation, role and status of the Sinai Support Mission and its overseas arm, the Sinai Field Mission, and the use of technology as a peacekeeping tool, with the SSM tactical early warning system using sensor technology as an example.

Arranged chronologically.

Reports to Congress, 1976-82.  (Box 1, 0.2 linear feet)
Thirteen reports to Congress on the work of the Sinai Support Mission.

Arranged chronologically.

General Reports, 1978-80. (Box 1, 0.1 linear feet)
The general reports include Department of State publications on the Sinai Support Mission, the Egyptian-Israeli peace treaty, and a foreign service post report.

Arranged chronologically.


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Speeches

  • 5/1/76 - American Foreign Policy and Our Permanent Interests
  • 6/4/76 - The U.S. Peacekeeping Role in the Sinai
  • 7/4/76 - Remarks for Ribbon-Cutting Ceremony at Sinai Field Mission
  • 8/25/76 - Remarks to the Policy Planning Staff on the Role of the Sinai Support Mission
  • 9/15/76 - Remarks to Open Forum on the Role and Status of the Sinai Support Mission
  • 10/7/76 - Notes on Arms Control Prospects for Middle East Confrontation States
  • 7/9-22/78 - Use of Technology in Peacekeeping: Lessons From The U.S. Sinai Field Mission
  • 7/15-28/79 - Use of Technology in Peacekeeping: Lessons From the U.S. Sinai Field Mission
  • 11/6-8/79 - Use of Technology in Peacekeeping: Lessons From the U.S. Sinai Field Mission

Box 1 (Continued) - Reports to Congress

  • Reports to Congress, 4/76 - 5/82

Box 1 (Continued) - General Reports

  • 4/78 - Between Egypt and Israel: The Establishment of the U.S. Sinai Field Mission
  • 4/79 - The Egyptian-Israeli Peace Treaty
  • 6/80 - Watch in the Sinai
  • 8/80 - U.S. Sinai Field Mission - Post Report
  • Undated - Peace in the Sinai