COLLECTION FINDING AID



PHILOMENA SPARANO JUREY PAPERS, 1961-89

White House Correspondent and Editor-in-Chief, Voice of America




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Materials concerning Philomena Jureys work covering the White House for Voice of America (VOA). The collection contains materials related to many of the key moments of the Ford, Carter and Reagan administrations, including the dtente summits of the 1970s and the Reagan-Gorbachev meetings of the mid-1980s.

QUANTITY
11.3 linear feet (ca. 20,800 pages)

DONOR
Philomena Sparano Jurey (accession 97-NLF-023)

ACCESS
File units are available as review-on-request. Researchers wishing to view files should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Librarys review-for-access queue. Even after the completion of this review some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Philomena Jurey donated to the United States of America her copyrights in all of her unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by John J. OConnell, September 2015
[s:\bin\findaid\jureypapers.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Philomena Sparano Jurey


November 28, 1927 - Born, New Castle, Pennsylvania

1949 - B.A. in Journalism, University of Missouri

1949-50 - Reporter, The Southwest Times, Pulaski, VA

1950-52 - Reporter, The Roanoke Times, Roanoke, VA

1952-58 - Reporter, The Vindicator, Youngstown, OH

1958-61 - Secretary, The London Daily Telegraph, Washington Bureau

1961-89 - Voice of America:
Newswriter (1965); Copy-Editor (1965-66); Coverage-Editor (1966-69); Duty Editor (1969-71); State Department Correspondent (1971-72); Deputy Chief, News Division (1972- 74); White House Correspondent (1974-88); Editor-in-Chief (1988-89)

1995 - Author of Basement Seat to History: Tales of Covering Presidents Nixon, Ford, Carter and Reagan for the Voice of America.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Chronological File, 1969‑87.  (Boxes 1‑19, 8.3 linear feet)
This series contains correspondent reports, letters, press clippings, VOA press releases, and magazine articles. Major topics include the Vladivostok Summit, SALT II Treaty, Reykjavik Summit, Camp David Accords, Iran-Hostage crisis, Ottawa Economic Summit, and Bitburg controversy.

Arranged chronologically and thereunder alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Trip Reference File, 1974‑87. (Boxes 20‑22, 1.3 linear feet)
This series contains travel handbooks outlining the itinerary for major foreign Presidential trips, including summit meetings, as well as an overview of the host country.

Arranged chronologically by trip date.

View container list for this series

General File, 1961‑89. (Boxes 23‑26, 1.7 linear feet)
This series contains letters, thank you cards, press clippings, and magazine articles from VOAs radio listeners. Topics include VOA programming, dtente summits, economic summits, Camp David Accords, Iran-Hostage crisis, and Bitburg controversy.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1969 - 1970 - Nixon, Supreme Court Decision, General
  • 1970 - Mrs. Nixon, Trip to Peru
  • 1971 - 72 -Nixon, Secretary of State William Rogers' Trips and Other
  • 1972 - Nixon, Soviet Union (1)
  • 1972 - Nixon, Soviet Union (2)
  • 1973 - Nixon, Vietnam Agreement, Signing in Paris

Box 2 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 4/24/74 - Nixon, Bio and Foreign Aid
  • 6/74 - Nixon, Mideast (1)
  • 6/74 - Nixon, Mideast (2)
  • 6/74 - Nixon, Mideast (3)
  • 8/74 - Nixon, Watergate and Resignation
  • 9/74 - Ford, Pardons Nixon and Testifies in Congress

Box 3 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 11/74 - Ford, Far East Trip (1)
  • 11/74 - Ford, Far East Trip (2)
  • 11/74 - Ford, Vladivostok (1)
  • 11/74 - Ford, Vladivostok (2)
  • 9/74 - 12/74 - Ford, Not Logged
  • 1974 - 75 - Ford, Early Days
  • 1975 - Ford, Correspondent Report

Box 4 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1975 - Ford, General, Correspondent Report
  • 1975 - Ford, Highlights, Correspondent Report
  • 1975 - Ford, Pre-China Trip Material
  • 1975 - Ford, Trip to China
  • 1975 - Ford, Trip to Helsinki, Europe

Box 5 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1975 - Ford, Trip to Indonesia, Philippines, Hawaii
  • 10/1/75 - 11/2/76 - Ford / Carter (1)
  • 10/1/75 - 11/2/76 - Ford / Carter (2)
  • 1975 - 76 - Ford, General, Loose Material (1)
  • 1975 - 76 - Ford, General, Loose Material (2)
  • 1976 - Ford, Campaign Highlights

Box 6 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1976 - Ford / Carter (1)
  • 1976 - Ford / Carter (2)
  • 1976 - Ford / Carter (3)
  • 1976 - Ford / Carter, Pre-Christmas
  • 1976 - Ford / Carter, Duplicates (1)
  • 1976 - Ford / Carter, Duplicates (2)

Box 7 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1976 - Ford, "The Ford Presidency"
  • 1976 - Ford, Puerto Rico Economic Summit
  • 11/3/76 - 6/13/77 and 6/17 - 12/3/77 - Ford / Carter (1)
  • 11/3/76 - 6/13/77 and 6/17 - 12/3/77 - Ford / Carter (2)
  • 1/77 - Carter, Pre-Inaugural
  • 5/77 - Carter, Trip to London, New Castle, Geneva

Box 8 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1977 - Carter, Not Logged (1)
  • 1977 - Carter, Not Logged (2)
  • 1977 - Carter, Not Logged (3)
  • 12/29/77 - 1/6/78 - Carter, Trip to Poland, Iran, India, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, France, Belgium (1)
  • 12/29/77 - 1/6/78 - Carter, Trip to Poland, Iran, India, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, France, Belgium (2)
  • 12/29/77 - 1/6/78 - Carter, Trip to Poland, Iran, India, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, France, Belgium (3)

Box 9 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 12/29/77 - 1/6/78 - Carter, Trip to Poland, Iran, India, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, France, Belgium (4)
  • 1977 - 85 - Ford, Additional Material
  • 3/78 - Carter, Trip to Latin America and Africa (1)
  • 3/78 - Carter, Trip to Latin America and Africa (2)
  • 6/78 - Carter, Trip to Germany
  • 9/78 - Carter, Camp David (1)
  • 9/78 - Carter, Camp David (2)
  • 9/78 - Carter, Camp David (3)

Box 10 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1978 - Carter, General Messages (1)
  • 1978 - Carter, General Messages (2)
  • 1978 - 80 - Carter, Bios
  • 1/79 - Carter, Guadeloupe Summit
  • 1/79 - 2/5/79 - Carter, Visit of Vice Premier Deng Xiaoping
  • 3/79 - Carter, Mideast Trip and Signing (1)

Box 11 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 3/79 - Carter, Mideast Trip and Signing (2)
  • 6/79 - Carter, Brezhnev Vienna Summit SALT II
  • 6/79 - Carter, Vienna Summit SALT II
  • 7/79 - Carter, Domestic Summit
  • 1979 - 80 - Carter, Iran Hostage Crisis (1)
  • 1979 - 80 - Carter, Iran Hostage Crisis (2)

Box 12 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 6/80 - Carter, Trip to Europe (1)
  • 6/80 - Carter, Trip to Europe (2)
  • 1980 - Carter, Campaign (1)
  • 1980 - Carter, Campaign (2)
  • 1980 - Carter, Campaign Final Days (1)
  • 1980 - Carter, Campaign Final Days (2)

Box 13 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1980 - Carter, Material Not Logged (1)
  • 1980 - Carter, Material Not Logged (2)
  • 1980 - Carter, Soviet Union, Afghanistan, Olympic, Cuban Refugees, Mount St. Helen
  • 1980 - Reagan, Campaign
  • 1980 - 81 - Carter / Reagan, Iran Hostages (1)
  • 1980 - 81 - Carter / Reagan, Iran Hostages (2)
  • 1/4 - 20/81 - Carter, Final Days (1)

Box 14 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1/4 - 20/81 - Carter, Final Days (2)
  • 3/81 - Reagan, Assassination Attempt (1)
  • 3/81 - Reagan, Assassination Attempt (2)
  • 3/81 - Reagan, Assassination Attempt (3)
  • 7/81 - Reagan, Ottawa Economic Summit
  • 1981 - Reagan, Highlights (1)

Box 15 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1981 - Reagan, Highlights (2)
  • 1982 - Reagan, Versailles Summit (1)
  • 1982 - Reagan, Versailles Summit (2)
  • 1982 - Reagan
  • 1982 - Reagan, Jamaica / Barbados
  • 1982 - Reagan, Trip to Latin America (1)

Box 16 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1982 - Reagan, Trip to Latin America (2)
  • 11/83 - Reagan, Japan, South Korea
  • 1983 - Reagan, General Material
  • 1983 - Reagan, Grenada Invasion
  • 1983 - Reagan, Williamsburg Economic Summit
  • 1984 - Reagan, Campaign (1)
  • 1984 - Reagan, Campaign (2)

Box 17 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1984 - Reagan, General, Loose Pages
  • 1984 - 89 - Reagan, Bios
  • 3/85 - Reagan, Quebec City, "Shamrock Summit"
  • 5/85 - Reagan, Bitburg, Europe (1)
  • 5/85 - Reagan, Bitburg, Europe (2)
  • 5/85 - Reagan, Bitburg, Europe (3)
  • 11/85 - Reagan / Gorbachev, Geneva Summit
  • 1985 - Reagan, Cancer

Box 18 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1985 - Reagan, Correspondent Report (1)
  • 1985 - Reagan, Correspondent Report (2)
  • 1985 - Reagan, Highligts
  • 1986 - Reagan, Highlights, Correspondent Report (1)
  • 1986 - Reagan, Highlights, Correspondent Report (2)

Box 19 - Chronological File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1986 - Reagan / Gorbachev, Higlights
  • 1986 - 87 - Reagan, Hostages and Iran-Contra
  • 1987 - Reagan, Material not Logged
  • 12/87 - Reagan / Gorbachev, Washington Summit

Box 20 - Trip Reference File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 11/74 - Ford, Soviet Union
  • 5/77 - 12/77 – Europe, Poland, Great Britain
  • 12/77 - 1/78 – Iran, India
  • 1/78 - France, Belgium
  • 3/78 - Venezuela
  • 3/78 - 4/78 – Brazil, Nigeria
  • 7/78 - 6/79 – West Germany, Israel, Austria
  • 6/19 - 25/80 – Vatican, Yugoslavia

Box 21 - Trip Reference File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 6/25 - 26/80 – Spain
  • 3/81 - 4/82 – Canada, Jamaica, Barbados
  • 6/82 – France, Vatican, Italy, Great Britain
  • 6/82 - 12/82 - France, Vatican, Italy, Great Britain, Brazil, Colombia
  • 12/82 - 5/83 – Costa Rica, Williamsburg Virginia

Box 22 - Trip Reference File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 11/83 - 5/84 – Japan, South Korea, Peoples Republic of China
  • 3/85 - 5/85 – Canada, West Germany, Spain, France
  • 5/85 - 11/85 – Spain, Switzerland
  • 2/86 - 12/87 – Grenada, Iceland, Washington, D.C.

Box 23 - General File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Additional Profiles and Feature Type Material, 1978 - 88
  • Audiocassettes, 1975 – 85
  • For Your Use and Information - White House Press Releases Re-President's Trips, 1974 - 76
  • Letters from Listeners, 1980 - 88 (1)
  • Letters from Listeners, 1980 - 88 (2)
  • Letters from Listeners, 1980 - 88 (3)

Box 24 - General File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Letters from Listeners, 1980 - 88 (4)
  • Letters from Listeners, 1980 - 88 (5)
  • Letters from Listeners, 1980 - 88 (6)
  • Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, 1971 - 89 (1)
  • Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, 1971 - 89 (2)

Box 25 - General File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Philomena Jurey - Editor - In - Chief, 1988 - 89
  • Philomena Jurey VOA, 1963 - 88 (1)
  • Philomena Jurey VOA, 1963 - 88 (2)
  • Philomena Jurey VOA, 1963 - 88 (3)

Box 26 - General File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Philomena Jurey VOA, 1963 - 88 (4)
  • Philomena Jurey VOA, 1963 - 88 (5)
  • Presidents and VOA, 1961 - 88
  • VOA Coverage of China Pro-Democracy Movement and Tiananmen Square, 1989
  • White House and VOA, 1974 - 87