COLLECTION FINDING AID



JONATHAN D. HOORNSTRA FILES, 1975

Director of Media Analysis;
Director of Special projects for the News Summary

Press Secretary's Office




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection contains material used by Jonathan D. Hoornstra in the course of his work on President Gerald Fords daily news summary staff.

QUANTITY
7.9 linear feet (ca. 15,800 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-91)

ACCESS
Open.  Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by John J. O'Connell, April 2017
[s:\bin\Finding Aids & Guides\Hoornstra, Jonathan - Files.docx]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Johnathan D. Hoornstra


May 17, 1943 - Born in Madison, Wisconsin

1961–1968 - Active Duty, U.S. Air Force

1968–1969 - Manager, Radio Shack  

1969–1972 - Mayor’s Office of Madison, Wisconsin/Volunteer for Republican Party of Dane County Wisconsin

February 1972 - News Summary Staff (Patrick J. Buchanan Office Staff)

September 1974 - News Summary Staff (Press Secretary Office)

April 15, 1975 - Director of Media Analysis (News Summary Staff)

July 10, 1975 - Director of Special Projects for the News Summary

November 11, 1975 - Resigned


INTRODUCTION

Jonathan D. Hoornstra joined the news summary staff in February 1972. The President’s daily news summary was an objective compilation of television and national wire services’ news reports covering foreign and domestic events. In the Nixon White House, the news summary was under the direction of the communications office. Mr. Hoornstra’s primary responsibility was to review 35-40 daily newspapers from across the United States for the purpose of selecting columns and editorials for the President to read and preparation for the President’s daily news summary.

Shortly after Ford became President, the news summary came under the direction of the press office and was later standardized and retitled, News and Comment. Additionally, Mr. Hoornstra was promoted to Director of Media Analysis and a few months later to Director of Special Projects for the News Summary. His assignment in these roles was to analyze trends in how the press characterized White House policy decision and programs. Mr. Hoornstra’s research enabled the press staff to determine whether news from the White House was being reported accurately, and, if not, who was at fault-the staff or press. He resigned in November 1975. 

The bulk of this collection consists of newspapers articles and the occasional magazine article clipped for use in Mr. Hoornstra’s work on the news summary. Although Mr. Hoornstra worked on the news summary from 1972 to 1975, the clippings in this collection begin in April 1975. Overall, the collection is useful for studying the development of the news summary and the many changes it went through in the months after Ford took office.

Related Materials (March 2017)
Materials related to the news summaries are also located in a number of other collections, including the James B. Shuman Files, Agnes Waldron Files and the White House Central Files Subject File categories PR 16-2 (Press Conferences) and PR 16-3 (Presidential News Analysis). President Ford's copies of the news summaries are among the files of the Office of the Staff Secretary.  



SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

General Subject File, 1975.  (Boxes 1-13, 5.7 linear feet)
This series consists of news clippings, magazine articles, notes, memos, media interviews, and Presidential schedules used by Jonathan Hoornstra in the course of his work for the news summary staff. The material documents a wide variety of topics, including the economy, defense, energy, foreign policy, intelligence investigations, the media, presidential trips, and the 1976 presidential campaign.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Opinion Editorials File, 1975. (Boxes 14-18, 2.2 linear feet)
This series consists of news clippings used by Jonathan Hoornstra in the course of his work for the news summary staff. These clippings document articles written by political commentators in newspapers across the country.

Arranged alphabetically by name of commentator.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - General Subject File

  • Abortion
  • Africa 
  • Aged
  • Airlines
  • American Indian
  • Amnesty
  • Asia
  • Autos
  • Baker, Howard
  • Bayh, Birch
  • Bentsen, Lloyd
  • Bicentennial
  • Black America
  • Budget Spending - Deficit
  • Business
  • Busing
  • Butz, Earl
  • Cabinet 
  • Callaway, Howard H.
  • Carey, Hugh
  • Carter, Jimmy
  • Child Care
  • China
  • Church, Frank
  • Cities / States
  • Coleman, William T.
  • Colleges and Universities 
  • Common Cause

Box 2 - General Subject File

  • Congress
  • Connally, John B.
  • Conservatives
  • Consumers
  • Crime
  • Cuba
  • Daley, Richard
  • Defense
  • Defense Budget
  • Defense Computers
  • Defense Contracts
  • Defense Weapons
  • Deficit
  • Democrats
  • Dominoes Theory
  • Drugs
  • Economy (1)

Box 3 - General Subject File

  • Economy (2)
  • Economy (3)
  • Education
  • Education / Economy
  • End of the War (Vietnam)
  • Energy (1)
  • Energy (2)
  • Energy - Nuclear
  • Energy – President

Box 4 - General Subject File

  • Environment
  • Environment Protection - President
  • Europe
  • European Security Conference
  • Farm
  • Federal Government
  • Federal Reserve
  • Food
  • Food Stamp Programs
  • Forbes, Malcolm D.
  • Ford, Betty  
  • Ford, Susan
  • Foreign Aid
  • Foreign Investment
  • Foreign Policy - Future
  • Foreign Policy - General
  • Freedom of Information
  • Fulbright, J. William
  • Future
  • Goldwater, Barry
  • GOP
  • Gun Control

Box 5 - General Subject File

  • Haig, Alexander
  • Harris, Fred
  • Hathaway, Stanley
  • Health
  • Highway Trust Fund
  • Housing
  • Humphrey, Hubert
  • Illegal Aliens
  • India
  • Intelligence Investigations (1)
  • Intelligence Investigations (2)
  • Intelligence Investigations (3)
  • Jobs

Box 6 - General Subject File

  • Kempton, Murray
  • Kennedy, Edward
  • Kissinger, Henry 
  • Labor
  • Latin America
  • Lofton, John
  • Malpractice
  • Mansfield, Mike
  • Mass Transit
  • Matthews, David 
  • Mayors - United States
  • McGovern, George
  • Meany, George
  • Media (1)
  • Media (2)
  • Media - Accuracy in Media Report
  • Media - Analysis, Notes
  • Media - Evans / Novak Political Reports
  • Media - The Media Report, May-July 1975

Box 7 - General Subject File

  • Media - Morning Notes - 5/1975
  • Media - Morning Notes - 6/1975
  • Media - Morning Notes - 7/1975
  • Media - Network Time Sheets
  • Media - Video Tape Reports
  • Medicine
  • Middle East
  • Miscellaneous articles
  • Moynihan, Daniel P.
  • Muskie, Edmund
  • Nader, Ralph
  • Nessen, Ron
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
  • Nuclear Power
  • Nuclear Treaty
  • Oil Embargo
  • Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)
  • Panama

Box 8 - General Subject File

  • Parochial Aid
  • Percy, Charles H.
  • Petro dollars
  • Political Issues - 1976
  • Politics (1)
  • Politics (2)
  • Portugal
  • Postal
  • Presidential - First Year (1)
  • Presidential - First Year (2)
  • Presidential - Interview with Andrew Sperling and George
  • Will, 7/21/1975
  • Presidential - Interview with Joseph Kraft, 7/21/1975
  • Presidential - Interview with New York Times, 7/23/1975
  • Presidential - Interview with Richard Wilson, 6/18/1975
  • Presidential - Japanese Prime Minister's visit to Washington,
  • D.C.
  • Presidential - Media Critics
  • Presidential - Media Reception, 6/25/1975
  • Presidential - Meetings with Columnists

Box 9 - General Subject File

  • Presidential - Meetings with Network News Executives,
  • 6/25/1975
  • Presidential - News Conference (1)
  • Presidential - News Conference (2)
  • Presidential - Polls
  • Presidential - Speech to Businessmen, 6/17/75
  • Presidential - Speeches on Crime
  • Presidential - Speeches at Fort Benning, Georgia, 6/14/75
  • Presidential - Speech to NAACP, 7/1/75
  • Presidential - Speeches on State of World
  • Presidential Campaign - 1976 (1)
  • Presidential Campaign - 1976 (2)
  • Presidential Campaign - 1976 (3)
  • Presidential Schedules
  • Presidential Trips - Charlotte North Carolina, 5/20/75
  • Presidential Trips - Cincinnati Ohio
  • Presidential Trips - Europe
  • Presidential Trips - Helsinki Summit (1)
  • Presidential Trips - Helsinki Summit (2)

Box 10 - General Subject File

  • Presidential Trips - New England, 8/30-31/75
  • Presidential Trips - Oklahoma / California
  • Presidential Trips - Reactions
  • Presidential Trips - St. Louis Missouri 
  • Presidential Trips - Seattle Washington, White House
  • Conference
  • Presidential Trips - Texas
  • Presidential Trips - Traverse City Michigan; Chicago Illinois,
  • 7/11-12/75
  • Presidential Trips - University of Pennsylvania, 5/18/75
  • Press - Daily Briefing Notes
  • Press - Editorial Profiles
  • Press - Editorial Reviews, 4/28-7/7/75
  • Public Opinion Polls
  • Public Opinion Polls - Gallup Poll
  • Public Opinion Polls - Harris Poll 
  • Public Opinion Polls - Minnesota Poll

Box 11 - General Subject File

  • Public Television
  • Radicals
  • Railroads
  • Reagan, Ronald
  • Rebates, Taxes
  • Recriminations - Vietnamese War Investigation
  • Refugees (1)
  • Refugees (2)
  • Regulatory Agencies
  • Religion
  • Republican Party (RNC)
  • Revenue Sharing
  • Rizzo, Frank
  • Rockefeller, Nelson
  • Rumsfeld, Donald
  • Sanford, Terry 
  • Schlesinger, James R.
  • Science
  • Shapp, Milton
  • Shriver, Sargent
  • Simon, William
  • Solzhenitsyn, Alexander
  • "Spectrum" Commentaries

Box 12 - General Subject File

  • State Governors
  • State of the World (SOTW)
  • Strategic Arms Limitation Talks (SALT)
  • Strip Mining Bill
  • Strip Mining Veto
  • Supreme Court
  • Taxes (1)
  • Taxes (2)
  • Third World
  • Trade
  • Transportation
  • Turkish Aid Ban
  • Udall, Morris K.
  • Unemployment
  • United Nations (UN)
  • United States Information Agency (USIA)
  • U.S. Mood
  • United States - USSR (1)

Box 13 - General Subject File

  • United States - USSR (2)
  • US - USSR - PRC
  • Veterans Administration (VA)
  • Veto
  • Vietnam - Evacuation
  • Vietnam - Secret Agreements (1)
  • Vietnam - Secret Agreements (2)
  • Wallace, George 
  • War Powers
  • Washington, D.C.
  • Welfare
  • White House - Congress
  • White House - Swimming Pool
  • White House Conference - Pacific Northwest
  • Zumwalt, Elmo (Admiral)

Box 14 - Opinion Editorials File

  • Abramson, Rudy
  • Alsop, Joseph
  • Ambrister, Trevor
  • Anderson, Bill
  • Anderson, Jack
  • Anderson, William
  • Angle, Martha
  • Antevil, Jeffrey
  • Apple, R.W.
  • Arnett, Judd
  • Baker, Russell
  • Barnes, Fred
  • Bartlett, Charles
  • Beale, Betty
  • Berger, Marilyn
  • Bergholz, Richard
  • Bishop, Jim
  • Black, Creed
  • Bonafede, Dom
  • Boyd, Robert
  • Braaten, David
  • Braden, Tom
  • Bradsher, Henry
  • Breslin, Jimmy
  • Broder, David A.
  • Broom, William
  • Brown, Les
  • Buchanan, Patrick J.

Box 15 - Opinion Editorials File

  • Buckley, William F.
  • Cahill, Jerome
  • Canham, Erwin
  • Cannon, Lou
  • Carter, Stan
  • Causey, Mike
  • Cheshire, Maxine
  • Childs, Marquis
  • Clymer, Adam
  • Cohn, Lee M. (Star - News)
  • Connaly, John B.
  • Cook, David T.
  • Cook, Don
  • Corddry, Charles
  • Cormier, Frank
  • Cousins, Norman (Saturday Review)
  • Cromley, Ray
  • Dale, Edwin
  • Dickenson, James
  • Dillin, John
  • Donovan, Robert J.
  • Drummond, Roscoe
  • Elegant, Robert S.
  • Evan, M. Stanton
  • Evans - Novak
  • Farney, Dennis
  • Franklin, Ben A.
  • Fried, Joseph
  • Friedman, Saul
  • Fritchey, Clayton
  • Furgeson, Ernest B.
  • Gannon, James P.
  • Gelb, Leslie
  • Germond, Jack
  • Getlein, Frank
  • Glaser, Vera
  • Gold, Vic

Box 16 - Opinion Editorials File

  • Goldman, Peter
  • Grady, Sandy
  • Greeley, Andrew
  • Greenberg, Paul
  • Greene, Jerry
  • Greenfield, Meg
  • Guidry, Vernon
  • Gwertzman, Bernard
  • Harsch, Joseph C.
  • Hart, Jeffrey
  • Hayakawa, S.I.
  • Healy, Paul 
  • Hearst, William Randolph, Jr.
  • Hempstone, Smith
  • Hoyt, Clark
  • Hunter, Marjorie
  • Irwin, Don
  • Jackson, Henry
  • Jackson, James O.
  • Jarret, Vernon
  • Kahn, Herman
  • Karnow, Stanley
  • Keatley, Robert
  • Kelly, Harry
  • Kempster, Murray
  • Kempster, Norman
  • Kilpatrick, Carroll
  • Kilpatrick, James J.
  • Kirk, Donald
  • Knap, Ted
  • Kohler, Saul
  • Kohlmeier, Louis M.
  • Kraft, Joseph
  • Kristol, Irving
  • Kumpa, Peter J. (Baltimore Sun)
  • La Velle, Mike
  • Laskey, Victor
  • Latham, Aaron
  • Lejeune, Anthony
  • Lerner, Max

Box 17 - Opinion Editorials File

  • Levi, Edward H.
  • Lewis, Anthony
  • Lewis, Flora
  • Lisagor, Peter
  • Livingston, J.A.
  • Lofton, John D.
  • Loh, Jules
  • Lydon, Christopher
  • MacLean, John
  • Marder, Murrey
  • Marshall, S.L.A.
  • McCartney, James
  • McGrory, Mary
  • Means, Marianne
  • Miller, Loye
  • Moyers, Bill
  • Mullaney, Thomas E.
  • Murphy, Reg
  • Naughton, James M.
  • Nelson, Jack
  • Nolan, Martin
  • Noyes, Crosby
  • Oishi, Gene
  • O'Leary, Jeremiah
  • O'Rourke, Lawrence
  • Osborne, John
  • Phillips, Kevin P.
  • Raspberry, William
  • Rather, Dan
  • Reston, James
  • Riesel, Victor
  • Roberts, Chalmers M.
  • Roche, John P.
  • Rowan, Carl
  • Rowen, Hobart
  • Royster, Vermont
  • Rusher, William A.
  • Safire, William S.
  • Schlafly, Phyllis
  • Schorr, Daniel
  • Schram, Martin
  • Sevareid, Eric
  • Shabecoff, Philip
  • Shannon, William V.
  • Sidney, Hugh
  • Silk, Leonard
  • Snow, Crocker Jr.

Box 18 - Opinion Editorials File

  • Sperling, Godfrey
  • Starr, Frank
  • Stephens, Ray
  • Strout, Richard
  • Sulzberger, C.L.
  • Szulc, Tad
  • Taylor, Henry
  • terHorst, Jerald
  • Thimmesch, Nick
  • Thomas, Helen
  • Tiede, Tom
  • Trewhitt, Hnery
  • Tully, Andrew 
  • Van Horne, Harriet
  • Van Riper, Frank
  • Volz, Joseph
  • von Hoffman, Nicholas
  • Wechshler, James
  • Weisman, Joel
  • Wicker, Tom
  • Widener, Alice
  • Wiedrich, Bob
  • Wieghart, James
  • Wilkins, Roy
  • Will, George
  • Wills, Garry
  • Wilson, David B. (Boston Globe)
  • Wilson, George
  • Wilson, Richard
  • Winters, Bruce
  • Witcover, Jules
  • Wood, Ann
  • Yost, Charles
  • Zorza, Victor