Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



JAMES D. HALDAMAN PHOTOGRAPHS AND PAPERS, 1980-81

Official Photographer, Community Events Committee, Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum Dedication Committee



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Series Descriptions | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection consists of textual and audiovisual materials related to the planning and execution of community events held in conjunction with the dedication of the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum in September 1981. The textual materials, which consist of press releases, schedules, correspondence, agendas, and minutes, document the work of the Gerald R. Ford Museum Dedication Committee’s Community Events Committee headed by Peter Secchia. These events celebrated the opening of the Ford Museum, and included a lecture series, fireworks, and the dedication ceremony, among others. There is also a significant amount of material in the collection related to the week-long “Celebration on the Grand” in Grand Rapids, MI, which took place at the same time as the dedication.

QUANTITY
1 linear inch (ca. 150 pages), 1136 contact images, 1178 negatives, 18 slides, and 2 prints

DONOR
James D. Haldaman (accession number 2005-NLF-046)

ACCESS
Textual materials are open. Photographs are currently unprocessed and unavailable for research. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
James D. Haldaman donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Related Materials (January 2012)
Several collections document the Ford Presidential Museum including: Gerald R. Ford Commemorative Committee: Records, 1977-84; Gerald R. Ford Museum Re-dedication Committee: Records, 1996-97; Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum Dedication Committee, Inc.: Financial Records, 1981-82. These collections are currently unprocessed and unavailable for research.

Prepared by J.P. Schmidt, June 2012
[S:\BIN\FINDAID\Haldaman_Photographs_Papers]


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Committee Files, 1980-81.  (Box 1, 1 linear inch)

Arranged chronologically.

Event Images, 1981. (Box AV, 1136 contact images, 1178 negatives, 18 slides, and 2 prints)

Unprocessed, unavailable for research.