Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



GRAND RAPIDS SOUTH HIGH SCHOOL PUBLICATIONS, 1927-31



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Introduction | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

The collection contains student publications, including yearbooks and literary magazines (also containing school news), of South High School in Grand Rapids, Michigan from the period 1927-1931. Gerald R. Ford, Jr. attended the school at that time and his picture or name appears in many of the publications.

QUANTITY
1.2 linear feet (ca. 2,400 pages)

DONOR
James McNitt, Kenneth Engen, Frank Stoll, and Dennis Hinklin (accession numbers 80-20, 80-22, 91-30, and 2005-19)

ACCESS
Open.

COPYRIGHT
James McNitt, Kenneth Engen and Dennis Hinklin donated to the United States of America their copyrights in all of their unpublished writings in National Archives collections. It is likely that the Grand Rapids Public School retain copyrights to these publications. 

Prepared by Leesa Tobin, March 1982; revised by William H. McNitt, March 2013
[s:\bin\findaid\grand rapids south high school - publications.doc]


INTRODUCTION

The collection includes multiple copies of the student yearbooks, The Pioneer, dating from 1927 to 1931, when Gerald R. Ford, Jr. was a student at the school (the building contained both a middle school and a high school so he was there for six years). He appears in each of the yearbooks.

Also included are many scattered issues of the student literary magazine, also entitled The Pioneer, dated 1929 to 1931. This publication provided a forum for students' short stories and also news articles relating to school activities and sports events. Ford's name appears several times in these magazines.

Related Materials (March 1982)
The Ford Scrapbooks contain related materials.


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - South High School Publications

  • The Pioneer (Magazine)
    • Vol. 15, No. 2, October 11, 1929
    • Vol. 15, No. 10, March 20, 1930
    • Vol. 15, No. 11, April 10, 1930
    • Vol. 15, No. 13, May 8, 1930
    • Vol. 15, No. 14, May 22, 1930
    • Vol. 16, No. 1, September 25, 1930 (2 copies)
    • Vol. 16, No. 2, October 16, 1930 (2 copies)
    • Vol. 16, No. 3, October 30, 1930
    • Vol. 16, No. 4, November 13, 1930
    • Vol. 16, No. 5, December 4, 1930
    • Vol. 16, No. 7, January 15, 1931
    • Vol. 16, No. 8, February 19, 1931
    • Vol. 16, No. 9, March 5, 1931
    • Vol. 16, No. 10, March 19, 1931
    • Vol. 16, No. 12, April 23, 1931
    • Vol. 16, No. 13, May 7, 1931
    • Vol. 16, No. 14, May 21, 1931
  • The Pioneer (Yearbook)
    • Vol. 11, 1927 (2 copies)

Box 2 - South High School Publications

  • The Pioneer (Yearbook)
    • Vol. 12, 1928 (2 copies)
    • Vol. 13, 1929
    • Vol. 14, 1930 (2 copies)

Box 3 - South High School Publications

  • The Pioneer (Yearbook)
    • Vol. 15, 1931 (5 copies)