COLLECTION FINDING AID



GERALD AND BETTY FORD SPECIAL MATERIALS, (1841, 1851) 1941-2007


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Collection of letters, photographs, scrapbook materials, and books that were set apart by Gerald Ford, Betty Ford or their staff and deemed to have special value.  Most of the materials were given to the Fords by world leaders, other presidents, politicians, celebrities, prominent individuals, and personal friends.

QUANTITY
39.75 linear feet (ca. 79,500 pages)

DONOR
The Ford Family Trust (2012-NLF-006), Betty Ford (2007-NLF-015, 2008-NLF-060), Gerald Ford (2007-NLF-005)

ACCESS
Open in part. Researchers wishing to view this collection should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.  Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald and Betty Ford donated to the United States of America their copyrights in all of their unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Stacy Davis, September 2015, Revised November 2016
[S:\BIN\Finding Aids & Guides\Ford, Gerald and Betty Special Materials]



INTRODUCTION

This collection contains letters, photographs, and books that were set apart by Gerald Ford, Betty Ford or their staff and deemed to have special value. The bulk of the collection was donated by The Ford Family Trust (the estate of Betty Ford) following her death, but some materials were received during Mrs. Ford’s lifetime.

            The two most significant series in this collection are the files of special letters written to Gerald Ford and Betty Ford.  These letters were written by personal friends, politicians, celebrities, foreign leaders, and other prominent individuals.  They cover a wide range of topics and vary between short administrative responses regarding upcoming events, thank you notes, birthday messages, and holiday cards and substantive letters regarding personal, political, national, and international issues. Letters addressed to both President and Mrs. Ford are located in the Gerald R. Ford Special Letters series.

            The criteria used for inclusion in the special letters files are not clear, and may have varied over the years. In some cases, letters contain a handwritten note (sometimes from President or Mrs. Ford) indicating that the letter should be added to the special letters file. The Ford staff housed the letters in binders or portfolios by year for easy viewing. Inclusion was not comprehensive as there are additional letters from some correspondents in other holdings of the Ford Library.

            Gerald Ford’s staff created an annual chronological index to his special letters file.  Letters addressed only to Betty Ford were not included on these lists, and between 1950 and 1974 the Ford staff also created separate indices for photographs given to the Fords.  It has been determined that the lists are not completely accurate in that some letters are not included on the lists and a few correspondents are misidentified.  Also, some letters included on the lists were not donated to the Ford Library.

            The collection includes two additional series of correspondence.  The first consists of letters written to President Ford after he lost the 1976 presidential election.  Correspondents include members of Congress, other politicians and government officials, celebrities, former constituents from Michigan and personal friends.  The letters are stamped “The President Has Seen” and were originally housed in four volumes.  They express regret, support, encouragement, and appreciation for Ford’s service to the country.  The other series consists of condolence letters written to Betty Ford following the death of her husband, Gerald Ford.  The correspondents include political leaders, celebrities and personal friends.

            Two sets of scrapbook materials are included in the collection.  First, materials related to White House state dinners and other social events were placed in scrapbook albums most likely by White House staff.  The other is material collected in an album to memorialize President Richard Nixon’s second inauguration on January 20, 1973 and the work of the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies, of which Gerald Ford was a member.

            Finally, this collection contains two series of books from Gerald Ford’s library in his offices and residences in Rancho Mirage, California and Vail Colorado.  The criteria for choosing these books are unknown.  Most have been signed/inscribed by the author, contributor, subject of the book, or by the person who gave the book to Ford.  Many of the books include Gerald Ford’s personal bookplates or he annotated that it was his “personal copy.” 
            Photographs included in this collection have been transferred to the Library’s Audiovisual Department and are currently unprocessed.  Please contact the audiovisual staff for further information.

 

Related Materials (November 2010)

Artifacts originally donated with this material have been transferred to artifact collection of the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum, and a small amount of ephemera was transferred to the Gerald R. Ford Personal Papers collection.

Correspondence with Gerald and Betty Ford from throughout their careers can be found in numerous other collections within the Ford Library’s holdings.  These include letters from individuals that appear in this collection.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Gerald Ford Special Letters, 1956-2006 (Boxes A1-A10, 4.3 linear feet)
This series consists of  letters and cards written to Betty Ford by personal friends, politicians, celebrities, foreign leaders, and other prominent individuals.  They cover a wide range of topics and vary between short administrative responses regarding upcoming events, thank you notes, birthday messages, holiday cards and more substantive letters. The letters were segregated into this series by Mrs. Ford or members of her staff.  Letters addressed to both President and Mrs. Ford are located in the Gerald R. Ford Special Letters series.

Arranged alphabetically by correspondent.

View container list for this series

Betty Ford Special Letters, 1941-2007 (Boxes B1-B4, 1.75 linear feet)
This series consists of  letters and cards written to Betty Ford by personal friends, politicians, celebrities, foreign leaders, and other prominent individuals.  They cover a wide range of topics and vary between short administrative responses regarding upcoming events, thank you notes, birthday messages, holiday cards and more substantive letters. The letters were segregated into this series by Mrs. Ford or members of her staff.  Letters addressed to both President and Mrs. Ford are located in the Gerald R. Ford Special Letters series.

Arranged alphabetically by correspondent.

View container list for this series

Letters Written to Gerald R. Ford Following the 1976 Presidential Election, 1976 (Boxes C1-C4, 1.75 linear feet)
This series consists of letters from members of Congress, other politicians and government officials, celebrities, former constituents from Michigan and personal friends that were sent to President Gerald Ford or his staff after Ford's loss in the 1976 presidential election. The letters are stamped “The President Has Seen” and express regret, support, encouragement, and appreciation for Ford’s service to the country.

Arranged numerically according to a numbering scheme developed by Belin and thereunder chronologically.

View container list for this series

Condolence Letters Written to Betty Ford, 2006-2007 (Box D1, 0.4 linear feet)
This series consists of  letters and written to Betty Ford following the death of her husband, Gerald Ford. 

Arranged alphabetically by correspondent.

View container list for this series

Gerald R. Ford Office Index to Special Letters and Photographs Received by Gerald Ford, 1950-2006 (Box E1, 0.4 linear feet)
This series consists of annual lists created by Gerald Ford’s staff documenting “special” letters received by Gerald Ford, or both Gerald and Betty Ford, over the course of his career.  Letters addressed only to Betty Ford were not included on these lists. Between 1950 and 1974 the Ford staff also created separate lists of photographs given to the Fords.  The index is not completely accurate. Some letters on the lists were not included in the donation to the Ford Library, additional donated letters are not included on the lists, and some correspondents are misidentified.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Selected Books from Gerald Ford's Personal Library in Rancho Mirage, California, 1841-2003 (Boxes F1-F12, 11.1 linear feet)
This series consists of  a selection of books from Gerald Ford’s Reading Library in his office and residence in Rancho Mirage, California that were donated to the Library.  Most of the books have been signed/inscribed by the author, contributor, subject of the book, or by the person who gave the book to Ford.  Many of the books include Gerald Ford’s personal bookplates or annotation that it was his “personal copy.”  Correspondence found tucked into some of the books was transferred to the Gerald Ford Special Letters series.

Arranged alphabetically by author, thereunder by book title.

View container list for this series

Scrapbooks Related to White House Social Events, 1974-1977 (Boxes G1-G4, 1.75 linear feet)
This series consists of invitations, seating charts, entertainment programs, guest lists, and news clippings related to state dinners and other social events hosted by President Gerald Ford and/or First Lady Betty Ford that were originally housed in scrapbooks. These scrapbooks were most likely assembled by White House staff.

Arranged chronologically by date of event.

View container list for this series

1973 Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies Album, 1972-1973 (Box H1, 0.25 linear feet)
This series consists of  material collected in an album to memorialize President Richard Nixon’s second inauguration on January 20, 1973 and the work of the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies, of which Gerald Ford was a member.  It includes invitations, printed images of President Nixon and Vice President Spiro Agnew, President’s platform seating diagram, an Inauguration Ceremonies program, tickets, Inauguration luncheon program, an automobile police pass, news clippings, legislation, and copies of correspondence and a press release from the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies. 

Arranged in order that material appeared in the album.

View container list for this series

Books from Gerald Ford's Personal Library in Vail, Colorado, (Boxes I1-I23, 18.2 linear feet)
This series consists of  collection of books that were kept in President Gerald Ford’s office in Vail, Colorado.  Many of the books have been signed/inscribed by the author, contributor, subject of the book, or by the person who gave the book to President and/or Mrs. Ford.  Many of the books include Gerald Ford’s personal bookplates.  Correspondence and other material found tucked in the books are stored next to the books.

Arranged alphabetically by author, thereunder by book title. Oversized books appear at the end of the series and are arranged alphabetically by author, thereunder by book title.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box A1 - Gerald R. Ford Special Letters

  • Abbott, George
  • Abdullah II and Rania (King and Queen of Jordan)
  • Agnew, Spiro T. Ted
  • Albert, Carl
  • Albright, Madeleine K.
  • Andreotti, Giulio
  • Andrews, Julie
  • Ann-Margret and Roger Smith
  • Annan, Kofi A.
  • Annenberg, Lee
  • Annenberg, Walter
  • Annenberg, Walter and Lee
  • Astaire, Fred
  • Austad, Mark E.
  • Ayala, Felix Cantu, Maria Elena A. de Cantu, and others (Mexico)
  • Aznar, Jose Maria (President of Spain)
  • Baker, Howard H., Jr.
  • Baker, James A. III
  • Balladur, Edouard
  • Bandar bin Sultan bin Abdulaziz (Ambassador from Saudi Arabia)
  • Barak, Ehud (Prime Minister of Israel)
  • Basma bint Talal (Princess of Jordan) and Captain Timoor Daghistani
  • Bennett, Tony
  • Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev and Aishwarya Rajya Laxmi Devi Shah (King and Queen of Nepal)
  • Black, Shirley Temple
  • Blaik, Earl H. Red
  • Blair, Tony
  • Blount, Winton M. Red
  • Boggs, Lindy (Mrs. Hale Boggs)
  • Brown, Harold
  • Buchen, Phil
  • Bunker, Ellsworth
  • Burger, Warren E.
  • Burke, Arleigh
  • Burnett, Carol
  • Burnett, Carol and Joe Hamilton
  • Bush, Barbara
  • Bush, Barbara and Millie
  • Bush, George H.W. (1)
  • Bush, George H.W. (2)

Box A2 - Gerald R. Ford Special Letters

  • Bush, George H.W. (3)
  • Bush, George H.W. (4)
  • Bush, George H.W. and Barbara
  • Bush, George H.W. and Jimmy Carter
  • Bush, George W.
  • Bush, George W. and Laura
  • Bush, Laura
  • Butz, Earl L.
  • Callaghan, James (1)
  • Callaghan, James (2)
  • Callaghan, James (3)
  • Callaghan, James and Audrey
  • Campbell, Ben Nighthorse
  • Carter, Jimmy (1)
  • Carter, Jimmy (2)
  • Carter, Jimmy (3)

Box A3 - Gerald R. Ford Special Letters

  • Carter, Jimmy (4)
  • Carter, Jimmy and Gerald Ford
  • Carter, Jimmy and Rosalynn
  • Carter, Rosalynn
  • Castaneda, Jorge (Secretary of Foreign Affairs for Mexico)
  • Cernan, Eugene A.
  • Chan Lien (Chairman of the Kuomintang, Republic of China)
  • Chan Lien and Mrs. Chan
  • Chen Shui-bian (President of Republic of China)
  • Cheney, Richard B. Dick
  • Cheney, Richard B. Dick and Lynne
  • Christopher, Warren
  • Clifford, Clark M.
  • Clinton, Bill (1)
  • Clinton, Bill (2)
  • Clinton, Bill and Hillary
  • Clinton, Bill, Hillary Rodham Clinton and Chelsea Clinton
  • Clinton, Hillary Rodham
  • Cohen, William S. (Secretary of Defense)
  • Coleman, William T., Jr.
  • Connally, John B.
  • Constantine II and Anne-Marie (former King and Queen of Greece)
  • Coolidge, John
  • Cox, Tricia Nixon
  • Cox, Tricia Nixon, Edward and Christopher
  • Cramer, Ernst
  • Cronkite, Walter
  • Curtain, Phyllis
  • Damson, Donald S.
  • Daniel, Margaret Truman
  • Davis, Sammy, Jr. and Altovoise
  • De Muth, Christopher C.
  • De Welson, Felix
  • Deukmejian, George
  • Diana (Princess of Wales)
  • Diller, Phyllis (1)
  • Diller, Phyllis (2)

Box A4 - Gerald R. Ford Special Letters

  • Diller, Phyllis (3)
  • Diller, Phyllis (4)
  • Diller, Phyllis (5)
  • Dirksen, Louella (Mrs. Everett M. Dirksen)
  • Dobrynin, Anatoly
  • Dole, Bob
  • Dole, Bob and Elizabeth
  • Dougherty, Russell E., General, USAF
  • Douglas, Cathy (Mrs. William O. Douglas)
  • Douglas, Kirk
  • Duderstadt, James J.
  • Dukakis, Michael S.
  • Eaton, Cyrus S.
  • Eisenhower, Dwight David
  • Eisenhower, Dwight David, II
  • Eisenhower, Julie Nixon
  • Eisenhower, Julie Nixon and David (Dwight David Eisenhower II)
  • Eisenhower, Mamie Doud
  • Elizabeth II and Phillip (Queen and Prince Consort of Great Britain)
  • Enders, Thomas O.
  • Engler, John (Governor of Michigan)
  • Fahd bin Abdulaziz (Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia)
  • Fairbanks, Douglas
  • Fernandez, Leonel
  • Fitzgerald, Ella
  • Ford, Henry, II
  • Fossett, Steve
  • Fowler, Henry H. Joe
  • Francisco, Gregory Alan and Lauren Ann
  • Fukuda, Takeo
  • Garagiola, Joe
  • Garza Laguera, Eugenio and Eva Gonda de Garza
  • Giatas, Ted
  • Gingrich, Newt
  • Gingrich, Newt and Callista
  • Gingrich, Newt and Marianne

Box A5 - Gerald R. Ford Special Letters

  • Giscard dEstaing, Valery
  • Giscard dEstaing, Valery and Anne-Aymone
  • Giuliani, Rudolph W.
  • Goldwater, Barry
  • Gore, Al
  • Gore, Tipper
  • Graham, Billy
  • Graham, Billy and Ruth
  • Graham, Martha
  • Grant, Cary
  • Green, Edith
  • Greenspan, Alan
  • Greenspan, Alan and Andrea Mitchell
  • Griffin, Merv
  • Griffin, Richard Allen Rick and family
  • Grimsson, Olafur Ragnar (President of Iceland)
  • Grimsson, Olafur Ragnar and Dorrit Moussaieff
  • Grimsson, Olafur Ragnar and Gudrun Katrin Porbergsdottir
  • Growald, Dick (1)
  • Growald, Dick (2)
  • Growald, Dick (3)
  • Growald, Dick (4)
  • Hagel, Chuck
  • Haig, Alexander M. Al Jr.
  • Haig, Alexander M. Al Jr. and Pat
  • Harris, Julie
  • Hassan bin Talel, El (Prince of Jordan)
  • Hassan bin Talel, El and Sarvath El Hassan (Prince and Princess of Jordan)
  • Hathaway, William D. Bill
  • Havel, Vaclav

Box A6 - Gerald R. Ford Special Letters

  • Hayes, Helen
  • Hayes, Woody
  • Hesburgh, Theodore M. (Rev.)
  • Hills, Carla
  • Holtz, Lou
  • Hope, Bob
  • Hope, Bob and Dolores
  • Hope, Dolores
  • Howe, Geoffrey (Lord Howe of Aberavon)
  • Humphrey, Hubert H.
  • Hurd, Douglas
  • Hussein (King of Jordan)
  • Hussein and Noor (King and Queen of Jordan)
  • Iakovos, Archbishop
  • Iglesias, Julio and Miranda Rijnsburger and family
  • Jagan, Cheddi
  • Javits, Jacob
  • Jay, Margaret (Baroness of Paddington)
  • Johnson, Lady Bird (1)
  • Johnson, Lady Bird (2)
  • Johnson, Lady Bird (3)
  • Johnson, Luci Baines (see also Luci Johnson Nugent)
  • Johnson, Lyndon B.
  • Juan Carlos (King of Spain)
  • Kaifu, Toshiki
  • Kasuri, Khurshid M.
  • Kaunda, Kenneth David
  • Kawar, Karim (Ambassador from Jordan)
  • Kelley, Clarence
  • Kennedy, Caroline (Schlossberg)
  • Kennedy, David M. (Secretary of the Treasury)
  • Kennedy, Edward M. Ted
  • Kennedy, Ethel (Mrs. Robert F. Kennedy)
  • Kennedy, John F.
  • Kennedy, Rose Fitzgerald

Box A7 - Gerald R. Ford Special Letters

  • Kennerly, David Hume
  • Kim Dae-jung
  • Kim Dae-jung and Mrs. Kim (President of the Republic of Korea)
  • Kim Young-sam and Mrs. Kim (President of the Republic of Korea)
  • Kissinger, Henry A.
  • Kissinger, Henry A. and Nancy
  • Klaus, Vaclav
  • Koch, Edward I.
  • Kohl, Helmut
  • Kronman, Anthony T.
  • Leahy, Patrick J.
  • Lee Kuan Yew
  • Lee Teng-hui
  • Lee Teng-hui and Mrs. Lee (President of the Republic of China)
  • Levi, Edward H.
  • Levi, John G.
  • Lindbergh, Anne Morrow (Mrs. Charles Lindbergh)
  • Lovell, James and Bill Anders
  • Luce, Claire Boothe
  • Lujan, Manuel, Jr.
  • McAllister, Thomas F.
  • McCloskey, Paul N., Jr.
  • McCloskey, Pete
  • McCormack, John W.
  • McCracken, Paul W.
  • McFarlane, Robert Carl
  • McGovern, George
  • McGrory, Mary
  • McNamara, Robert S.
  • Majors, Norma
  • Manley, Michael
  • Mansfield, Mike
  • Marshall, Cecelia
  • Martin, Mary
  • Matthews, Chris and Kathleen
  • Mays, Willie
  • Merman, Ethel
  • Miller, Clarence E.
  • Minnelli, Liza
  • Mitchell, Andrea
  • Mitchell, John
  • Mondale, Walter F.
  • Montroll, Charles S. (Includes inscription by Eleanor Roosevelt)
  • Moore, Sara Jane Sally
  • Moorer, T. H.
  • Morgenstern, Gil
  • Moussa, Amre
  • Moynihan, Daniel Patrick
  • Mulroney, Brian
  • Mulroney, Brian and Mila Mulroney
  • Murphy, George
  • Murphy, Thomas A.
  • Newman, Paul
  • Nicholson, Jim and Mrs.
  • Nicklaus, Jack
  • Nixon, Pat
  • Nixon, Richard M. (1)

Box A8 - Gerald R. Ford Special Letters

  • Nixon, Richard M. (2)
  • Nixon, Richard M. (3)
  • Nixon, Richard M. (4)
  • Nixon, Richard M. (5)
  • Nixon, Richard M. (6)
  • Nixon, Richard M. (7)
  • Nixon, Richard M. and Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush
  • Noor (Queen of Jordan)
  • Nugent, Luci Johnson (see also Luci Baines Johnson)
  • ONeill, Thomas P. Tip
  • Olmert, Ehud
  • Onassis, Jacqueline Kennedy
  • Orlando, Tony
  • Packwood, Bob
  • Pahlavi, Farah (Shahbanu of Iran)
  • Pahlavi, Mohammad Reza (Shah of Iran)
  • Pahlavi, Reza
  • Pahlavi, Reza, and Yasmine and Family (Iran)
  • Paki, Evan J.
  • Palmer, Arnold
  • Panetta, Leon E.
  • Paracchini, Germano Luigi
  • Pavarotti, Luciano
  • Perkins, Carol (Mrs. R. Marlin Perkins)
  • Peres, Shimon
  • Pinochet, Augusto
  • Powell, Charles (Lord Powell of Bayswater)
  • Powell, Colin L., General
  • Powell, Lewis F., Jr.
  • Presidential Airlift Group
  • Quayle, Dan
  • Quayle, Dan and Marilyn (and family)

Box A9 - Gerald R. Ford Special Letters

  • Rabin, Leah
  • Reagan, Nancy (1)
  • Reagan, Nancy (2)
  • Reagan, Ronald (1)
  • Reagan, Ronald (2)
  • Reagan, Ronald and Nancy
  • Renwick, Robin
  • Richardson, Elliot L.
  • Rickover, H.G., Admiral
  • Rivers, Joan (Rosenberg)
  • Rockefeller, David
  • Rockefeller, Happy
  • Rockefeller, Nelson A.
  • Rockefeller, Nelson A., Jr.
  • Rodriguez Echeverria, Miguel Angel
  • Rodriguez Saez, Angel I.
  • Rogers, Adele (Mrs. William P. Rogers)
  • Rogers, William P.
  • Roh Moo-hyun and Mrs. Roh (President of the Republic of Korea)
  • Rostow, Eugene
  • Rubenstein, John and Judi
  • Rumsfeld, Donald
  • Rumsfeld, Donald and Joyce
  • Rutherford, Betty (Mrs. Johnny Rutherford)
  • Sadat, Jehan
  • Sadat, Mohamed Anwar El
  • Salah, Abdullah A. and Mrs.
  • Salinas De Gortari, Carlos
  • Saxe-Coburg, Simeon
  • Schmidt, Helmut (1)
  • Schmidt, Helmut (2)
  • Schmidt, Helmut and Loki
  • Schuller, Robert H.
  • Sen, Ronen and Kalpana (Ambassador from India)
  • Shearing, Ellie and George
  • Shore, Dinah
  • Shultz, George P.
  • Simon, William
  • Simpson, Alan K.

Box A10 - Gerald R. Ford Special Letters

  • Sinatra, Barbara
  • Sinatra, Frank (Francis Albert)
  • Six, Audrey Meadows
  • Smith, William French Bill
  • Spivak, Lawrence
  • Stafford, Thomas P.
  • Stavis, Roger (Includes Civil War letter)
  • Stevens, John Paul
  • Stewart, James Jimmy
  • Stewart, James Jimmy and Martha Orr Miller
  • Stockdale, James Jim, Vice Admiral
  • Swigert, Jack
  • Symington, Stuart
  • Taravella, J.P.
  • Taylor, Elizabeth
  • terHorst, Jerald F.
  • Thatcher, Margaret
  • Thatcher, Margaret and Denis Thatcher
  • Timmons, William E.
  • Trudeau, Pierre Elliott
  • Truman, Bess W.
  • Ubaidullah Bin Sayeed Jalalabadi (Bangladesh)
  • Vance, Cyrus
  • Vinson, Carl
  • Volcker, Paul A.
  • Von Devere, Trish (Mrs. George C. Scott)
  • Von Trapp, Maria
  • Vorontsov, Yuli M.
  • Wade, William (Lord of Chorlton)
  • Wagner, James
  • Walters, Barbara
  • Wayne, John
  • Weill, Sanford I. Sandy
  • Westmoreland, William C.
  • Whitman, Christine
  • Williams, Edward Bennett
  • Wilson, Pete
  • Wright, James C. Jim, Jr.
  • Yang Jiechi, and Mrs. (Ambassador from the Peoples Republic of China)
  • Zawawi, Omal Al, Dr.
  • Zedillo Ponce de Leon, Ernesto

Box B1 - Betty Ford Special Letters

  • Adams, Ansel
  • Agnew, Judy (Mrs. Spiro T. Agnew)
  • Andrews, Julie
  • Annenberg, Walter
  • Annenberg, Walter and Lee
  • Armstrong, Anne (Mrs. Tobin Armstrong)
  • Bailey, Pearl
  • Baldwin, Faith
  • Barkwell, Bertha (Mrs. John O. Barkwell)
  • Basham, W. Ralph
  • Bellson, Dee-Dee (daughter of Peal Bailey)
  • Bhutto, Nusrat (wife of Prime Minister of Pakistan)
  • Blass, Bill
  • Bloomer, M.
  • Bloomer, William Bill
  • Bloomer, William Bill and Betty
  • Bloomer, Robert Bob
  • Bono, Mary
  • Boxer, Barbara
  • Broomfield, William S.
  • Bryan, Marilyn (Mrs. Albert Vickers Bryan, Jr.)
  • Buchwald, Art
  • Buckley, William F., Jr.
  • Burger, Warren E.
  • Burnett, Carol
  • Bush, Barbara
  • Bush, George H. W.
  • Bush, George H. W. and Barbara
  • Bush, George W.
  • Bush, George W. and Laura
  • Calder, Alexander Sandy
  • Califano, Joseph A. Jr.
  • Callaghan, Audrey
  • Carter, Jimmy
  • Carter, Jimmy and Rosalynn
  • Carter, Rosalynn
  • Casey, Hazel (Mrs. Bob Casey)
  • Cash, Johnny
  • Chancellor, John
  • Cheney, Richard B. Dick
  • Cheney, Richard B. Dick and Lynne
  • Christman, Shirley (Mrs. George G. Christman)
  • Clay, Marion (Mrs. Harvey E. Clay)
  • Clinton, Bill
  • Clinton, Bill and Hillary Rodham Clinton, Al Gore, Tipper Gore
  • Clinton, Hillary Rodham
  • Conte, Silvio O.
  • Cox, Anne Finch (Mrs. Howard E. Cox)
  • Cox, Tricia Nixon
  • Crow, Margaret (Mrs. Trammell Crow)
  • Curran, Effie L.
  • Curry, Ann

Box B2 - Betty Ford Special Letters

  • Daddah, Mariem
  • Daniel, Margaret Truman
  • Daniels, Faith
  • Davis, Barbara
  • Davis, Sammy, Jr.
  • Deukmejian, Gloria (Mrs. George Deukmejian)
  • Diller, Phyllis
  • Dirksen, Louella (Mrs. Everett Dirksen)
  • Dobrynin, Anatoly F.
  • Dole, Elizabeth
  • Dols, William L. Bill
  • Douglas, Anne (Mrs. Kirk Douglas)
  • Douglas, Mike
  • Dukakis, Kitty
  • Duke, Robin (Mrs. Angier Biddle Duke)
  • Eisenhower, Dwight David, II
  • Eisenhower, Julie Nixon
  • Eisenhower, Mamie Doud
  • Ensenat, Donald Burnham
  • Epstein, Eleni
  • Esch, Olga
  • Fabiola (Queen of Belgium)
  • Fairbanks, Douglas, Jr.
  • Ferrer, Jos
  • FitzRoy, Fortune (Duchess of Grafton)
  • Fonteyn de Arias, Margot
  • Ford, Dorothy
  • Ford, Gerald R.
  • Gabor, Eva (Jameson)
  • Getty, J. Paul
  • Gina (Princess of Liechtenstein)
  • Gingrich, Newt and Callista
  • Giscard dEstaing, Anne-Aymone (Mrs. Valery Giscard dEstaing)
  • Giscard dEstaing, Valery and Anne-Aymone
  • Godwin, Arthur
  • Godwin, Grace T.
  • Godwin, Hortense
  • Graham, Martha
  • Grant, Cary
  • Greenspan, Alan and Andrea Mitchell
  • Greenwood, Lucile (Mrs. Charles E. Greenwood)
  • Griffin, Merv
  • Grigg, Margy
  • Grimsson, Olafur Ragnar and Dorrit Moussaieff
  • Haig, Alexander M. Al, Jr. and Pat
  • Hartman, David
  • Hatfield, Mark O
  • Hayakawa, S. I.
  • Hayes, Helen
  • Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Hills, Carla Anderson
  • Hirohito (Emperor of Japan)
  • Hope, Bob
  • Hope, Dolores
  • Hutchinson, Louise
  • Hussein (King of Jordan)
  • Hyde, Vic
  • James, Sonny

Box B3 - Betty Ford Special Letters

  • Jenner, Bruce
  • Jillian, Ann
  • Johnson, Lady Bird
  • Johnson, Luci Baines (Nugent)
  • Johnson, Luci Baines and Lynda Johnson Robb
  • Kai-shek, Madame Chiang
  • Keating, Frank
  • Kelly, Sue
  • Kennedy, Edward M. Ted
  • Kennedy, Joan Bennett
  • Kennedy, Rose Fitzgerald
  • Khama, Ruth (wife of President of Botswana)
  • King, Billie Jean
  • Kissinger, Henry A.
  • Kissinger, Henry A. and Nancy
  • Kohl, Helmut
  • Lamm, Dottie
  • Lawrence, Steve
  • Lear, Norman
  • Lindland, Louise (Mrs. Richard Lindland)
  • Linkletter, Art
  • Littler, Gene, Shirley, Curt and Suzanne
  • Lodge, Francesca Braggiotti
  • Lodge, Francesca Braggiotti (Mrs. John Lodge)
  • Lodge, Henry Cabot
  • Lodge, Henry Cabot
  • Longworth, Alice Roosevelt
  • Lunden, Joan
  • MacDougall, Nanette Fabray
  • MacGraw, Ali
  • MacGregor, Barbara and Chuck
  • MacRae, Gordon
  • McCain, Cindy Hensley
  • McCall-Judson, Alan and Betty
  • McKuen, Rod
  • Mancini, Henry (family of)
  • Marriott, Alice (Mrs. John Willard Marriott)
  • Mazoon bint Ahmed Ali al-Mashani (Oman)
  • Menuhin, Yehudi
  • Michel, Robert H.
  • Milliken, Helen
  • Minnelli, Liza
  • Moore, Mary Tyler
  • Mulroney, Brian
  • Naylor, Eleanor [?]
  • Naylor, Jean (Mrs. Norman C. Naylor)
  • Naylor, Mother
  • Nixon, Pat
  • Nixon, Richard M.
  • Norblad, Elizabeth (Mrs. Walter Norblad)
  • Oakar, Mary Rose
  • Onassis, Jacqueline (Kennedy)
  • Pahlavi, Farah
  • Pahlavi, Reza and Yasmine (and family)
  • Peale, Ruth Stafford
  • Powell, Alma J.
  • Presidential Airlift Group
  • Price, Charles H. Charlie, II
  • Quayle, Dan and Marilyn
  • Quayle, Marilyn
  • Reagan, Nancy
  • Reagan, Ronald
  • Rivers, Joan
  • Rockefeller, Happy
  • Rockefeller, Mary (Mrs. Laurence S. Rockefeller)
  • Rockefeller, Nelson A.
  • Rodgers, Joe M.
  • Rogan, James E.
  • Rogers, Charles, Buddy

Box B4 - Betty Ford Special Letters

  • Romero, Cesar
  • Rosenberg, Melissa (daughter of Joan Rivers)
  • Rowlands, Gina
  • Rubinstein, Arthur
  • Rumsfeld, Donald and Joyce
  • Runyon, Beatrijs K.
  • Ruppe, Loret
  • Sadat, Jehan
  • Sage, Lillian
  • Sawyer, Diane
  • Scheel, Mildred
  • Scouten, Rex
  • Scowcroft, Brent
  • Sharbutt, Bill
  • Shouse, Jouett
  • Shriver, Eunice K.
  • Shriver, Maria
  • Shore, Dinah
  • Shore, Dinah (family of)
  • Sidey, Hugh
  • Sills, Beverly
  • Simpson, Adele
  • Sinatra, Barbara
  • Smiley, Verne (enclosing a letter from Bob Bloomer, 1/24/1954)
  • Snyder, John W.
  • Stewart, James Jimmy
  • Stiles, Phoebe
  • Strauss, Robert A.
  • Sullivan, Louis W.
  • Taylor, Elizabeth
  • Tharp, Twyla
  • Turner, Billie (Mrs. Richard C. Turner)
  • United States Secret Service
  • Vereen, Ben
  • Von Furstenberg, Diane
  • Von Trapp, Maria
  • Walters, Barbara
  • Walters, Barbara and Jacqueline
  • Warner, Tammy (Mrs. George S. Warner)
  • Wellstone, Paul David
  • Westra, Betty
  • Whaling, Louise (Mrs. Montgomary Whaling)
  • Wheatley, John I.
  • Wheatley, Elizabeth Natalie Nat (Mrs. John I. Wheatley)
  • Whyte, Peg
  • Wilson, Gayle
  • Wilson, Pete
  • Wolders, Merle Oberon
  • Wyler, William
  • Yamaguchi, Kayo
  • Zahedi, Ardeshi
  • Zawawi, Omar
  • Undated Birthday Greetings
  • Unknown or Incomplete Correspondent Names (1)
  • Unknown or Incomplete Correspondent Names (2)

Box C1 - Letters Written to Gerald R. Ford Following the 1976 Presidential Election

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Abdnor, Jim
  • Adams, Ansel
  • Adams, Don W.
  • Adams, George J.
  • Adler, Garrell A.
  • Aiken, George D.
  • Alexander, Bill
  • Allen, James B.
  • Anderson, Dana
  • Annunzio, Frank
  • Archbishop Iakovos (Demetrius Koukouvis)
  • Armstrong, Anne
  • Aspinall, Wayne N.
  • Baadke, H.W.
  • Bailey, Douglas I.
  • Baker, Howard
  • Baker, James A. III
  • Baker, Rick
  • Baker, Susan
  • Bartlett, James R.
  • Baseman, Robert L.
  • Baum, William Cardinal
  • Bauman, Robert E.
  • Becker, Frank J.
  • Beeman, Richard E.
  • Bell, Marian
  • Benham, Dorothy
  • Benjamin, Luther
  • Bennett, Charles E.
  • Bennett, Olivia
  • Bentley, Helen Delich
  • Ber, James F.
  • Bernardin, Joseph L.
  • Bevill, Tom
  • Biaggi, Mario
  • Blatt, Sol Jr.
  • Bluhdorn, Charles G.
  • Bolack, Tom
  • Bolling, Richard
  • Bollinger, Donald
  • Boone, Pat
  • Borman, Frank
  • Bradshaw, Terry and Jojo
  • Braendle, Lorena M.
  • Brewer, S. Wallace
  • Bredesen, Kenneth N.
  • Brigstock, Duane T.
  • Britt, Kitty and Ted
  • Brock, Margaret (Mrs. George C. Brock)
  • Brokaw, Norman
  • Broomfield, William S.
  • Brown, Garry
  • Brown, L. Dean
  • Bruder, Karl and Ruth
  • Bryant, William R., Jr.
  • Buckley, James L.
  • Buechner, John William
  • Burch, Dean
  • Burgener, Clair W.
  • Burger, Warren S.
  • Burlison, Bill D.
  • Burnett, Carol
  • Burns, Arthur F.
  • Burns, Robert B.
  • Busterud, John
  • Bylan, Hyman Joseph
  • Byrd, Harry F., Jr.
  • Byrd, Robert C.
  • Calahan, David M.
  • Caldwell, Charles E.
  • Callaway, Howard H. Bo
  • Calkins, John T.
  • Campbell, Bracey
  • Campbell, J. Strouse
  • Cannon, Cherie
  • Carey, Timothy John and Betty
  • Carmichael, Gilbert E.
  • Cartier, Morgan E., Jr.
  • Caso, Ralph G.
  • Chaille, William Jackson
  • Chappell, Bill
  • Chase, Louise H. (Mrs. Lewis L. Chase)
  • Chenoweth, J. Edgar
  • Child, Ellen and Harold L. Hal
  • Clark, Thomas J.
  • Clay, Lucius D. Jr.
  • Cochran, Thad
  • Collins, James M.
  • Conable, Barber B., Jr.
  • Connable, Alfred B.
  • Connors, Jimmy and Marjorie Wallace
  • Conrad, Charles F. Chuck
  • Considine, Frank W.
  • Conte, Silvio O.
  • Cooke, Terence (Cardinal)
  • Courtright, Cindy
  • Cox, Donald B.
  • Crane, Philip M.

Box C2 - Letters Written to Gerald R. Ford Following the 1976 Presidential Election

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Criswell, W. A.
  • Curtis, Carl T.
  • Dalton, John N.
  • Danforth, John C.
  • Daniel, Dan
  • Davidson, Charlie
  • Davidson, Ralph P.
  • Davis, Sammy Jr.
  • Dawson, Donald S.
  • Dawson, Harry S.
  • DeJonge Maury
  • de la Garza, E. (Kika)
  • Dennis, David W.
  • Denver, John and Annie
  • Derounian, Steven B.
  • Dickerson, Nancy
  • Dingell, John D.
  • Dixon, John W.
  • Docs, William L.
  • Dodd, Christopher J.
  • Dole, Bob
  • Domenici, Peter V.
  • Dominick, Peter H. and Nancy
  • Donovan, Louise L.
  • Douglas, Kirk
  • Downey, Thomas J.
  • Dragon, Toni and Daryl (The Captain and Tennille)
  • Duncan, Roger Dean
  • Du Pont, Pierre S. IV
  • DuBridge, Lee A.
  • Dudley, Guilford, Jr.
  • Eisenhower, John S. D.
  • Elder, Lee and Rose
  • Ellis, Holmes
  • Elson, Edward L. R.
  • Emerson, Henry E.
  • Engelhard, Jane (Mrs. Charles W. Engelhard)
  • Erlenborn, John N.
  • Fairbanks, Douglas Jr.
  • Ferre, Luis A.
  • Fezzey, Robert W.
  • Finkbeiner, Carleton S.
  • Fish, Hamilton, Jr.
  • FitzGerald, William H. G.
  • Fong, Hiram L.
  • Ford, Glenn and Cynthia
  • Ford, James F.
  • Ford, Johnny
  • Foster, Edgar M.
  • Fountain, L.H.
  • Frahm, Anne
  • Francis, James B., Jr.
  • Frelinghuysen, Peter H. B.
  • French, Henry M.
  • Frenzel, Bill
  • Gabor, Eva
  • Gardner, Robert K.
  • Garlock, Lyle S. and Daisy
  • George, Mary
  • Getterman, Louis T., Jr.
  • Gibbs, June
  • Gilman, Benjamin A.
  • Glass, Joe
  • Gleason, Jackie and Marilyn
  • Goldwater, Barry
  • Gonzalez, Henry B.
  • Good, Brad [?]
  • Gradison, Bill
  • Grady, John J.
  • Gramshammer, Sheika
  • Graves, Peter
  • Gray, Jim and Eleanor
  • Green, Edith
  • Grey, Joel
  • Grunwald, Henry Anatole
  • Guck, Dorothy
  • Guttersen, Laird
  • Hackerman, Norman
  • Haggar, E. R.
  • Hall, Chester
  • Halverson, Richard C.
  • Hansen, Julia Butler
  • Harsha, William H.
  • Hatch, Orrin
  • Hatfield, Mark O.
  • Hauk, A. Andrew
  • Hayes, James A.
  • Heller, Walter W.
  • Henrickson, George A.
  • Henry, Leonard D.
  • Hesburgh, Theodore M. (Rev.)
  • Hessler, E.A. et al
  • Hillis, Elwood H.
  • Hooper, Perry O.
  • Horton, Frank
  • Hruby, Jack A.
  • Hubbard, Carroll
  • Humes, John P.
  • Hungate, William L.
  • Hutton, Tom
  • Hyde, Henry J.

Box C3 - Letters Written to Gerald R. Ford Following the 1976 Presidential Election

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Innis, Roy
  • Jeffords, James M.
  • Jensen, Jerrold S.
  • Johnson, Albert W.
  • Johnson, Harold T. (Bizz)
  • Johnson, James P.
  • Jones, Walter B.
  • Jordan, James J.
  • Kennedy, Walter P.
  • Ketchum, William M.
  • Kilmer, Ruth Mahder
  • King, Cyril E.
  • [King, Patricia]
  • King, Robert L.
  • Kintner, William R.
  • Kirkpatrick, M. S. (Mr. and Mrs.)
  • Kirtley, Jerry E.
  • Klein, George
  • Kleindeist, Richard G.
  • Krash, Abe
  • Krock, Thomas A. P.
  • Kuhn, Bowie K.
  • Kwekel, John and Gloria
  • Lackey, Bee
  • Laub, William M.
  • Laxalt, Paul
  • Leahy, Patrick J.
  • Leidlein, John and Elene
  • Lent, Norman F.
  • Lesher, Richard L.
  • Lichtman, Joanne and Gary
  • Linowitz, Sol M.
  • Lodge, John Davis
  • Longley, James B.
  • Lucey, Patrick J.
  • Maki, Hideshi
  • Mardikian, George M.
  • Marriott, J. Willard
  • Martin, John B.
  • Martin, Robert B. Brad
  • Mathews, David
  • Mays, Willie
  • McCabe, Thomas Bayard
  • McClory, Robert
  • McGovern, George
  • McKee, Richard L.
  • McLendon, W. L. Mac
  • Meade, Henry J.
  • Mehle, Roger W.
  • Meredith, Ellis E.
  • Merrill, R. K. (Mrs.) Scotti
  • Michel, Robert H.
  • Miller, Clarence E.
  • Mitchell, Clarence
  • Mitchell, Donald J.
  • Mitchell, James A.
  • Mola, Richard A.
  • Moore, Fred M.
  • Morton, Rogers C. B.
  • Mullen, William G.
  • Murphy, Thomas A.
  • Nassikas, John N.
  • Natcher, William H.
  • Nelson, Ancher
  • Newman, Don M.
  • Norblad, Susan and Al
  • Norcross, David F.
  • OBrien, George M. and Mary Lou
  • OBrien, Leo W.
  • Pantlind Hotel Breakfast Club
  • Pappas, Tom
  • Pasadena Republican Campaign Headquarters
  • Patterson, Ellmore C. Pat
  • Peck, Joan
  • Perk, Ralph J.
  • Peterson, Elly
  • Peterson, Russell W.
  • Pickering, Charles
  • Poage, W. R. Bob
  • Pruet, Chesley
  • Quie, Albert H.
  • Quillen, Cecile (Mrs. James H. Quillen)
  • Quillen, James H.
  • Quinn, Nancy
  • Rabinowitz, Stanley
  • Rasmussen, Robert M.
  • Regan, John E.
  • Rezneck, Daniel A.
  • Reigle, Donald W., Jr.
  • Rinaldo, Matthew J.
  • Roberts, Ray
  • Robinson, J. Kenneth
  • Robson, John E.
  • Rodino, Peter W., Jr.
  • Rogers, Ginger
  • Rogers, Wayne M.
  • Rollings, C. Dana
  • Romero-Barcel, Carlos
  • Rosenau, Gary and Anita
  • Roskam, Pauline and Donald O.
  • Roth, William V., Jr.
  • Rubin, Seymour J.
  • Salinger, Pierre
  • Saltonstall, Leverett

Box C4 - Letters Written to Gerald R. Ford Following the 1976 Presidential Election

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Sanders, Donald G.
  • Sandor, George
  • Seiberling, John F.
  • Scherle, William J.
  • Schneebeli, Herman T.
  • Schrote, John E.
  • Schroteubaer, Al and Miriam [?]
  • Schweigert, Thomas F.
  • Schwengel, Fred
  • Scott, John W.
  • Scripsema, Jacob
  • Seybold, Leo
  • Shafer, Ray
  • Shepard, Montgomery
  • Shriver, Garner E.
  • Simon, William E.
  • Skubitz, Joe
  • Smith, Cleburne
  • Smith, Elton R.
  • Smith, Henry P. III
  • Smucker, Paul
  • Somers, Bernard V.
  • Spence, Floyd (staff of)
  • Spoelhof, William
  • Spoelstra, Watson
  • Springer, William L.
  • St. George, Katherine
  • Stafford, Robert T.
  • Staggers, Harley O.
  • Stahr, Tom
  • Stanton, J. William
  • Stanwyck, Barbara
  • Stassen, Harold E.
  • Steelman, Alan
  • Steiger, Sam
  • Steiger, William A.
  • Stein, Herbert
  • Stevens, John Paul
  • Stevens, Ray E., Jr.
  • Stratton, Samuel S.
  • Suttle, Steven S.
  • Tabor, John
  • Taft, Robert, Jr.
  • Taylor, Roy A.
  • Taylor, Waller II
  • Teague, Olin E.
  • Thomas, Helen
  • Thomas, R. David Dave
  • Thornton, Ray
  • Thurmond, Strom
  • Timmons, William E.
  • Todd, Paul H.
  • Train, Russell E.
  • Tuck, William M.
  • Udall, Morris K.
  • Uhlmann, Michael M.
  • Vasu, C. Mark
  • Verity, C. William Jr.
  • Veysey, Victor V.
  • Waggonner, Joe D., Jr.
  • Walker, Jack D.
  • Wallace, George C.
  • Walters, Barbara
  • Warner, Larry L.
  • Wearin, Otha D.
  • Webb, Clarence and Maxine
  • Weicker, Lowell P., Jr.
  • West, Millard F. Jr.
  • Weston, E. M.
  • Westover, Louis W.
  • Whalen, Charles W. Jr.
  • Whalley, J. Irving
  • White, John
  • White, Richard C.
  • Whitehurst, G. William
  • Whitten, Jamie L.
  • Whittier, Wilson D. and Jean
  • Wilson, Bob
  • Wiltse, Dorr N., Sr.
  • Wischer, Irene S.
  • Woolford, C. Milton
  • Wydler, John W.
  • Yarborough, Ralph W.
  • Yates, Ruth E.
  • Young, Milt
  • Zanuck, Virginia and Darryl
  • Zarb, Frank G.
  • Zeoli, Marilyn and Billy
Box D1 - Condolence Letters Written to Betty Ford
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Albright, Madeline
  • Allen, Etty (Mrs. George Allen)
  • Brokaw, Norman R.
  • Broomfield, William S. and Jane
  • Brown, Charles J. Bud and Joyce
  • Buchen, Roderick
  • Burnett, Carol
  • Bush, George H.W.
  • Bush, George W.
  • Carter, Jimmy
  • Channing, Carol
  • Chenault, Kenneth I.
  • Coleman, Mary Sue
  • Diller, Phyllis
  • Dole, Elizabeth
  • Douglas, Kirk and Anne
  • DuPont, Pete
  • Eastwood, Clint
  • Ehlers, Vernon J.
  • Eisenhower, Julie Nixon
  • Estevez, Luis
  • Gifford, Frank
  • Gifford, Kathie Lee
  • Giscard dEstaing, Valery
  • Giuliani, Rudolph W.
  • Graham, Billy
  • Greenaugh, Beverly Sills
  • Hartman, David
  • Hassan bin Talal, El
  • Hills, Carla Anderson
  • Irwin, Hale and Sally
  • King, Billie Jean
  • Kinstler, Everett Raymond
  • Kissinger, Henry A.
  • Lunden, Joan
  • Marriott, J. Willard, Jr.
  • Meredith, Don and Susan
  • Olson, Merlin and Carol
  • Rodgers, Joe M.
  • Sadat, Jehan
  • Schmidt, Helmut
  • Schwarzenegger, Arnold and Maria Shriver
  • Scranton, Bill
  • Shriver, Maria
  • Sinatra, Barbara
  • Stadler, Craig
  • Stevens, John Paul
  • Swan, Guy C. III (Major General)
  • Tennille, Toni and Daryl Dragon
  • Thatcher, Margaret
  • Van Andel, David
  • Ward, Margaret (Mrs. Willis F. Ward)
  • Weill, Joan
  • Wolper, David L.

Box E1 - Gerald R. Ford Office Index to Special Letters and Photographs Received by Gerald Ford

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Gerald Ford Letters, 1950-1973
  • Gerald Ford Letters, 1974-1981
  • Gerald Ford Letters, 1982-1987
  • Gerald Ford Letters, 1988-2006

Box F1 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • The Armand Hammer Collection.
  • The Bill of Rights and Beyond (Inscribed by Warren Burger)
  • Emperor Hirohitos Visit to U.S. (text in Japanese)
  • Nomination of Gerald Ford to be Vice President of the United States; 93rd Congress, 1st Session
  • Original Acta Constitutiva de la Federacion (Copy of the Mexican Constitution of 1824 given by President Enrique O. Santana and Co-President of the Mexican Delegation Luis D. Rodriquez)
  • The White House Gardens: A History and Pictoral Record (It is #42 of limited edition)
  • Adams, John. Letters of John Adams, Volumes I and II, first edition (Inscribed by Charles Francis Adams, 1910-99, sixth generation)
  • Adams, Abigail. Letters of Mrs. Adams, Volume II (Volume I not present.)
  • Ambrose, Stephen. Nixon (Inscribed)

Box F2 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Belin, David. November 22, 1963: You Are the Jury (Inscribed)
  • Blaik, Earl Red. The Red Blaik Story (Inscribed)
  • Boorstein, Daniel J. The Americans: The Colonial Experience (Inscribed by George Bush)
  • Bork, Robert. The Tempting of America (Inscribed)
  • Bradley, Omar and Clay Blair. A General's Life (Inscribed by Kitty Bradley)
  • Bryant, Paul W. Bear: The Hard Life and Good Times of Alabamas Coach Bryant (Inscribed)
  • Buchwald, Art. I Am Not a Crook (Inscribed)
  • Buchwald, Art. Leaving Home (Inscribed)
  • Burns, Arthur. The United States and Germany: A Vital Partnership (Inscribed)
  • Bush, George. All the Best, George Bush (Inscribed)
  • Bush, George. Looking Forward (Signed by both Bush and Gerald Ford)

Box F3 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Bush, George and Brent Scowcroft. A World Transformed (Inscribed)
  • Byrd, Harry, Jr. Defying the Odds (Inscribed)
  • Carter, Jimmy. Our Endangered Values (Inscribed)
  • Carter, Jimmy. The Georgia Governor's Mansion (Inscribed by President and Mrs. Carter to Betty Ford)
  • Carter, Jimmy & Rosalynn. Everything to Gain (Inscribed by both to Betty Ford)
  • Considine, Bob. The Remarkable Life of Dr. Armand Hammer (Inscribed by Armand Hammer)
  • Cooper, James Fenimore. Notions of the Americans: Picked up by a Traveling Bachelor.
  • Daniels, Jonathan. The Man of Independence (Inscribed by the author and signed by Harry S. Truman)
  • Eisenhower, David. Eisenhower: At War (Inscribed)
  • Eisenhower, Dwight. Crusade in Europe (Signed and is #993 of a limited edition)

Box F4 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • El-Sadat, Anwar. In Search of Identity (Inscribed in Arabic)
  • Ford, Gerald. The Public Papers of the Presidents: Gerald R. Ford, 1974
  • Ford, Gerald. The Public Papers of the Presidents: Gerald R. Ford, 1975, Book II
  • Ford, Gerald. The Public Papers of the Presidents: Gerald R. Ford, 1976, Book I
  • Ford, Gerald. The Public Papers of the Presidents: Gerald R. Ford, 1976, Book III
  • Ford, Gerald. The War Powers Resolution (Betty Ford's copy, inscribed by GRF)
  • Ford, Gerald. The Thirty-Eighth President (Published/ceremonial copy of remarks on taking oath of office)

Box F5 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Gellman, Irwin. The Contender (Inscribed)
  • Gingrich, Newt. Lessons Learned the Hard Way (Inscribed)
  • Glazer, Nathan. Affirmative Discrimination: Ethnic Inequality and Public Policy (Inscribed)
  • Glazer, Nathan and Daniel P. Moynihan (editors). Ethnicity (Inscribed by both editors and Orlando Patterson)
  • Glimcher, Arnold B. Louise Nevelson (Inscribed by both Nevelson and Glimcher to Mrs. Ford)
  • Haig, Alexander, Jr. Caveat (Inscribed)
  • Hedley, Donovan (editor-in-chief). Time, Sept. 26, 1789 (Bound copy of commemorative issue for bicentennial, Vol. 107, No. 21)
  • Helm, William. Harry Truman (Both Truman and Gerald Ford signed the book)
  • House of Representatives. Rules and Orders to be Observed in the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts (Inscribed by Richard A. Lowrock, great-grandson of Alexander Day, original owner of book)
  • Isaacson, Walter. Kissinger
  • Johnson, Lady Bird. A White House Diary (Inscribed to Betty Ford)
  • Kennedy, Caroline. Profiles in Courage for Our Time (Inscribed)
  • Kennedy, John. Profiles in Courage (Inscribed by Caroline Kennedy)

Box F6 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Kissinger, Henry. Crisis (Inscribed)
  • Kissinger, Henry. Diplomacy (Inscribed)
  • Kissinger, Henry. Does America Need a Foreign Policy? (Inscribed)
  • Kissinger, Henry. The White House Years (Inscribed)
  • Kissinger, Henry. Years of Renewal (Inscribed)
  • Kissinger, Henry. Years of Upheaval (Inscribed)
  • Korhonen, Keiko. Urho Kekkonen (Inscribed)
  • Kryk, John. Natural Enemies (Inscribed by Father McHugh)
  • Lang, Jack. Letters in American History (Inscribed)
  • MacNeil, Neil. The President's Medal (Inscribed)

Box F7 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Mantle, Merlyn and Mickey Jr., David and Dan. A Hero All His Life (Inscribed)
  • Middleton, Harry. A Life Well Lived
  • Moynihan, Daniel. Loyalties (Inscribed)
  • Nessen, Ron. It Sure Looks Different from the Inside (Inscribed and it is marked throughout in pen by GRF)
  • O'Neill, Tip with William Novak. Man of the House (Inscribed)
  • Ostendorf, Lloyd. Abraham Lincoln (Inscribed)
  • Plimpton, George. Mad Ducks and Bears, Football Revisited (Inscribed)
  • Plimpton, George. Paper Lion (Inscribed)
  • Porter, Roger. Presidential Decision Making (Inscribed)
  • Post, Robert. A Centennial Exhibition (Inscribed by S. Dillon Ripley)
  • Potter, E. B. Nimitz (Inscribed)

Box F8 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Rose, Charlie. History of the United States House of Representatives (Inscribed by Milton Friedman and is House Document No. 103-324; 103rd Congress, 2nd Session)
  • Ryan, Nolan & Harvey Frommer. Throwing Heat (Inscribed by Nolan Ryan)
  • Sanford, Terry. A Danger of Democracy (Inscribed)
  • Sharp, U.S.G. & W. C. Westmoreland. Report on the War in Vietnam; as of 30 June 1968 (Inscribed by Westmoreland)
  • terHorst, Jerald. Gerald Ford and the Future of the Presidency (Inscribed to Betty Ford.)
  • The Harry S. Truman Good Neighbor Award Foundation. Captain Harry
  • Truman, Harry S. Mr. Citizen (Signed, and is #615 of a limited edition)
  • United States, Warren Commission. Hearings Before the President's Commission on Assassination of President Kennedy Volume I IV (the report volume is not included)

Box F9 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • United States, Warren Commission. Hearings Before the President's Commission on Assassination of President Kennedy Volume V XVI

Box F10 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • United States, Warren Commission. Hearings Before the President's Commission on Assassination of President Kennedy Volume XVII XXIV

Box F11 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • United States, Warren Commission. Hearings Before the President's Commission on Assassination of President Kennedy Volume XXV, XXVI (Vol. XXV inscribed by GRF to person with illegible last name)
  • Vestal, Bud. Jerry Ford, Up Close (Inscribed)

Box F12 - Selected Books from Gerald Fords Library in Rancho Mirage, California

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Vrzalik, Larry F. and Michael Minor. From the President's Pen (Special edition, #42. Signed by authors and Senator Ralph W. Yarborough who wrote introduction)
  • Yew, Lee Kuan. The Singapore Story (Inscribed)

Box G1 - Scrapbooks Related to White House Social Events

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1974-1977 Ford Administration Schedule of Events by the Social Entertainments Office
  • 8/9/1974 Swearing In of Gerald R. Ford as 38th President of the United States
  • 8/16/1974 Dinner for King Hussein I and Queen Alia of Jordan
  • 8/22/1974 Congressional Dinner
  • 8/23/1974 Vice Presidential Staff Reception
  • 8/28/1974 Dinner for Cabinet, Senior White House Staff, Vice President-designate
  • 9/11/1974 Labor Leaders Luncheon
  • 9/12/1974 Dinner for Prime Minister and Mrs. Yitzhak Rabin of Israel
  • 9/16/1974 Republican National Committee (RNC) Breakfast
  • 9/17/1974 Budget Discussion Dinner (Senators)
  • 9/19/1974 Congressional Breakfast
  • 9/23/1974 Budget Discussion Dinner (House of Representatives)
  • 9/24/1974 Reception for Congressional Staff Members
  • 9/25/1974 Dinner for the President and Mrs. Giovanni Leone of Italy
  • 9/26/1974 Congressional Breakfast
  • 9/27/1974 Economic Summit Reception
  • 10/2/1974 Congressional Dinner
  • 10/3/1974 Dinner for Congressional Retirees
  • 10/5/1974 Diplomatic Reception
  • 10/8/1974 Dinner for First Secretary and Mrs. Edward Gierek of Poland
  • 10/23/1974 Dinner for General and Mrs. Alexander Haig
  • 11/12/1974 Dinner for Chancellor Bruno Kreisky of Austria
  • 11/28/1974 Brunch for the 30-30 Club
  • 12/1974 Christmas at the White House
  • 12/2/1974 Brunch Given By Betty Ford for Get Well Volunteers
  • 12/4/1974 Dinner for Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau of Canada
  • 12/5/1974 Dinner for Chancellor Helmut Schmidt of the Federal Republic of Germany
  • 12/11/1974 Christmas Party for Diplomatic Children
  • 12/13/1974 Christmas Party for Residence Staff and Families
  • 12/15/1974 Dinner for the President and Mrs. Giscard dEstaing of France in Martinique
  • 12/17/1974 Congressional Ball
  • 12/19/1974 Christmas Party for White House Press Corps
  • 12/20/1974 Candlelight Tour for White House Staff and Families
  • 1/1975 Stag Events
  • 1/11/1975 Luncheon
  • 1/13/1975 Betty Fords Portrait Unveiling
  • 1/24/1975 Retirement Party for Samuel L. Fox
  • 1/30/1975 Dinner for Prime Minister and Mrs. Harold Wilson of Great Britain

Box G2 - Scrapbooks Related to White House Social Events

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 2/1975 Stag Events
  • 2/5/1975 Dinner for Prime Minister Bhutto and Mrs. Bhutto of Pakistan
  • 2/20/1975 Dinner in Honor of the Governors and Their Wives
  • 3/1975 State Dinners at the White House
  • 3/19/1975 Luncheon for Prime Minister Dzemal Bijedic of Yugoslavia
  • 3/21/1975 Dinner for Participants in the Coal-Related Industries Meeting
  • 3/31/1975 Easter Egg Roll
  • 4/8/1975 Reception for the National Alliance of Businessmen
  • 4/19/1975 Dinner for President and Mrs. Kenneth Kaunda of Zambia
  • 4/29/1975 Dinner for King Hussein I of Jordan
  • 5/1/1975 Dinner for Prime Minister Hedi Nouira of Tunisia
  • 5/5/1975 Luncheon for Senate Ladies
  • 5/8/1975 Dinner for Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew and Mrs. Lee of Singapore
  • 5/10/1975 Reception for Delegates to the Organization of American States (OAS) General Assembly
  • 5/14/1975 Dinner for Prime Minister Johannes den Uyl of the Netherlands
  • 5/15/1975 Dinner for the Shah and Shahbanu of Iran
  • 5/20/1975 Congressional Dinner
  • 5/22/1975 Luncheon for President Leopold Sedar Senghor of Senegal
  • 5/31/1975 Holton-Arms Senior Prom (Susan Ford)
  • 6/11/1975 Dinner for Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin of Israel
  • 6/12/1975 Tea for Mrs. Rabin, Wife of the Prime Minister of Israel, Hosted by Betty Ford
  • 6/16/1975 Dinner for President and Mrs. Walter Scheel of the Federal Republic of Germany
  • 6/18/1975 Congressional Working Breakfast
  • 6/18/1975 Brown Bag Picnic Lunch Hosted by Betty Ford
  • 6/25/1975 Tea in Honor of Mary Edith Wilroys Retirement, Hosted by Betty Ford
  • 7/5/1975 Luncheon for President Suharto of Indonesia
  • 7/5/1975 Luncheon for Mrs. Suharto, wife of the President of Indonesia, hosted by Betty Ford
  • 7/5/1975 Susan Fords 18th Birthday Party
  • 7/9/1975 Luncheon for the Shahbanu of Iran, hosted by Betty Ford
  • 8/1975 Nancy Lammerding Ruwe Leaving as White House Social Secretary
  • 8/5/1975 Dinner for Prime Minister Takeo Miki of Japan
  • 8/6/1975 Tea for Mrs. Miki, Wife of the Prime Minister of Japan, Hosted by Betty Ford
  • 8/8/1975 Tea for Mrs. Velasco, Wife of the President of Peru, Hosted by Betty Ford
  • 8/9/1975 Luncheon for the Apollo-Soyuz Astronauts
  • 8/9/1975 Dinner for the Fords First Anniversary in the White House
  • 9/25/1975 Dinner for President Alfonso Lopez and Mrs. Lopez of Colombia

Box G3 - Scrapbooks Related to White House Social Events

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 10/2/1975 Dinner for the Emperor and Empress of Japan
  • 10/3/1975 Luncheon for Chancellor Helmut Schmidt of the Federal Republic of Germany
  • 10/3/1975 Appointment of Maria Downs as White House Social Secretary
  • 10/7/1975 Reception for U.S.-U.S.S.R. Trade and Economic Council
  • 10/27/1975 Dinner for the President and Mrs. Anwar al-Sadat of Egypt
  • 11/6/1975 Cabinet Dinner
  • 11/12/1975 Dinner for Prime Minister Gaston Thorn of Luxembourg
  • 11/19/1975 Tea for Mrs. Imelda Marcos, Wife of the Philippine President, Hosted by Betty Ford
  • 11/20/1975 Dinner for Older Americans
  • 11/24/1975 Dinner for the Federal Judiciary
  • 12/1975 Christmas at the White House
  • 12/16/1975 Diplomatic Childrens Christmas Party
  • 12/17/1975 Congressional Christmas Ball
  • 12/19/1975 Christmas Party for the White House Press Corps
  • 12/22/1975 Candlelight Tour for White House Staff and Families
  • 1/20/1976 Budget Briefing Luncheon for Bipartisan Governors and Mayors
  • 1/27/1976 Dinner for the Prime Minister and Mrs. Yitzhak Rabin of Israel
  • 1/28/1976 Tea for Mrs. Rabin, Wife of the Prime Minister of Israel, Hosted by Betty Ford
  • 2/15/1976 Professional Athletes Prayer Brunch
  • 2/23/1976 Dinner for the Governors
  • 3/17/1976 Dinner for Prime Minister and Mrs. Liam Cosgrave of Ireland
  • 3/22/1976 Luncheon for the Committee for the Preservation of the White House, Hosted by Betty Ford
  • 3/30/1976 Dinner for King Hussein I and Queen Alia of Jordan
  • 4/1/1976 Presentation of the Medal of Freedom to Arthur Rubinstein and Reception
  • 4/6/1976 Reception for the National Alliance of Businessmen
  • 4/7/1976 Luncheon for Newspaper Executives
  • 5/3/1976 Senate Ladies Luncheon Hosted by Betty Ford
  • 5/5/1976 Luncheon for the Jaycees Class of 1949
  • 5/8/1976 Luncheon and Bridal Shower for Margaret Anderson, Hosted by Susan Ford
  • 5/11/1976 Luncheon for Queen Margrethe and Prince Henrik of Denmark
  • 5/17/1976 Dinner for President and Mrs. Giscard dEstaing of France
  • 6/2/1976 Dinner for the King and Queen of Spain
  • 6/9/1976 Birthday Dinner for Happy Rockefeller on the Sequoia
  • 6/11/1976 Dance for Presidential Appointees
  • 6/16/1976 Dinner for Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau of Canada on the Sequoia
  • 6/21/1976 Political Working Dinner
  • 6/25/1976 Luncheon for West Virginia Delegates-At-Large
  • 6/30/1976 Luncheon for Prime Minister Takeo Miki of Japan

Box G4 - Scrapbooks Related to White House Social Events

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 7/7/1976 Dinner for Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Phillip of Great Britain
  • 7/15/1976 Dinner for Chancellor and Mrs. Helmut Schmidt of the Federal Republic of Germany
  • 7/20/1976 Bicentennial Concert and Reception
  • 7/27/1976 Dinner for Prime Minister and Mrs. Malcolm Fraser of Australia
  • 7/31/1976 Luncheon for Phi Delta Phi Yale Law School Fraternity
  • 8/3/1976 Dinner for President Urho Kekkonen of Finland
  • 9/1/1976 Dinner for Steering Committee of the President Ford Committee
  • 9/7/1976 Italian Bicentennial Gift Presentation
  • 9/21/1976 Dinner for President of Liberia and Mrs. Tolbert
  • 10/14/1976 Dinner for Martha Graham upon Receiving Medal of Freedom
  • 12/1976 Christmas at the White House
  • 12/6/1976 Dinner for Prime Minister Giulio Andreotti of Italy
  • 12/9/1976 Congressional Christmas Ball
  • 12/11/1976 Dinner for the JCS, Service Secretaries, and United Commanders
  • 12/14/1976 Diplomatic Childrens Christmas Party
  • 12/15/1976 Christmas Party for the White House Press Corps
  • 12/17/1976 Christmas Party for White House Staff
  • 12/21/1976 Candlelight Tour for White House Staff and Families
  • 1/7/1977 Dinner for the Chowder and Marching Society and S.O.S. Members
  • 1/11/1977 Luncheon and Ceremony for the Presentation of the Medal of Freedom

Box H1 - 1973 Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies Album

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1973 Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies Album

Box I1 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • H.R.H. Crown Prince Fahd Bin Abdul Aziz
  • Oman in Colour, (Inscribed by unknown individual)
  • The Journal of Oman Studies, Volume 1 1975 (Inscribed by unidentified individual)
  • The Journal of Oman Studies, Volume 2 1976 (Inscribed by unidentified individual)
  • The Scientific Results of the Oman Flora and Fauna Survey 1975
  • The Treasury of San Marco Venice
  • The Walker Cup: Pine Valley Golf Club
  • Twenty Years of the Jerry Ford Invitational (signed by GRF)
  • Vail-Beaver Creek Magazine, Winter/Spring 2001 (President and Mrs. Ford on cover)
  • Ablah, George and Virginia Ablah. The Ablah G-II Sculpture Collection
  • Ainsworth, Katherine. The McCallum Saga: The Story of the Founding of Palm Springs (Inscribed by Mimi Rudulph)
  • Allen, Kevin. Mr. & Mrs. Hockey: A Tribute to the Sport's Greatest Couple (Inscribed by Gordie and Colleen Howe)
  • American Heritage Magazine. The Inaugural Story
  • Architect of the Capitol. Art in the United States Capitol (Inscribed by George M. White)
  • Ashman, Chuck and Pamela Trescott. Outrage: The Abuse of Diplomatic Immunity
  • Ashton, Dore and Guido Ballo (editors). Antonio Sant' Elia
  • Athearn, Robert G. The Coloradans (Inscribed to Betty Ford)

Box I2 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Atwood, Margaret. Cat's Eye
  • Auker, Elden. Sleeper Cars and Flannel Uniforms: A Lifetime of Memories from Striking out the Babe to Teeing it up with the President (Inscribed)
  • Baggott, Kenneth B. Marius of the Populares
  • Bailey, Pearl. The Raw Pearl (Inscribed to GRF and Betty Ford)
  • Baker, Russell. Growing Up
  • Baker, Stephen. How to Play Golf in the Low 120's.
  • Ballesteros, Severiano and Dudley Doust. Seve: The Young Champion
  • Barnes, Cheryl Shaw. Alexander, the Old Town Mouse (Inscribed to GRF and Betty Ford)
  • Barnes, Peter W. and Cheryl Shaw Barnes. Woodrow, the White House Mouse (Inscribed by Cheryl Shaw Barnes to GRF and Betty Ford)
  • Barr, Robert Q. The Amazing J. Z. Briggs
  • Barrow, Joe Louis, Jr. and Barbara Munder. Joe Louis: 50 Years an American Hero (Signed)
  • Beard, Henry, (editor). Mulligan's Laws: A Lifetime of Golfing Wisdom From the Genius Who Invented the Do-Over by Thomas Mulligan, Fourth Earl of Murphy
  • Bell, James B. and Richard I. Abrams. In Search of Liberty: The Story of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island
  • Bierman, Harold, Jr. Strategic Financial Planning (Inscribed)
  • Blount, Winton M. "Red". Doing It My Way (Inscribed)
  • Bowman, Bob, (editor). The Lufkin that Was: A Centennial Album, 1882-1982 (Inscribed)
  • Buckley, William F., Jr. Right Reason

Box I3 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Burning Tree Club. Burning Tree Club: The Fifth Decade 1963 1972 (Signed by Bob Clark, club president, copy number #463)
  • Burroughs, John. Our Vacation Days of 1918
  • Bush, Barbara. Millie's Book (Post-it "To GRF from Happy" stuck on first page)
  • Butterfield, L.H., Friedlaender, Marc and Mary-Jo Kline (editors). The Book of Abigail and John: Selected Letters of the Adams Family 1762-1784
  • Carpenter, Liz. Ruffles and Flourishes (Inscribed to Betty Ford)
  • Carroll, James. Constantine's Sword: The Church and the Jew: A History
  • Cerf, Christopher and Victor Navasky. The Experts Speak: The Definitive Compendium of Authoritative Misinformation
  • Clotworthy, William G. Homes and Libraries of the Presidents (Inscribed)
  • Cohon, George. To Russia with Fries (Inscribed)
  • Cooke, Alistair. Alistair Cooke's America (Inscribed by Fred J. Heck)

Box I4 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art. A Catalogue of the Collection of American Paintings in the Corcoran Gallery of Art Washington D.C., Vol. 1 (Inscribed by Roy Slade to GRF and Betty Ford)
  • Costello, Mark. Big If
  • Crile, George. Charlie Wilson's War: The Extraordinary Story of the Largest Covert Operation in History
  • Crimmins, James C. Je suis Lafitte
  • Crouch, Steve. Steinbeck Country (Inscribed, signed by Betty Ford)
  • Darlow, Michael and Richard Fawkes. The Last Corner of Arabia
  • Davis, William H. and Golf Digest. 100 Greatest Golf Courses - And Then Some
  • DeVos, Rich. Compassionate Capitalism: People Helping People Help Themselves
  • Dietz, Terry. Republicans and Vietnam, 1961-1968. (Inscribed)
  • Donovan, Hedley. Roosevelt to Reagan: A Reporter's Encounters with Nine Presidents
  • Drew, Elizabeth. Politics and Money: The New Road to Corruption (Inscribed)

Box I5 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Earnest, Adele. The Art of the Decoy: American Bird Carvings (Inscribed)
  • Epstein, Joseph. Narcissus Leaves the Pool: Familiar Essays
  • Erdman, Paul. The Panic of '89
  • Ervin, Howard Guy, III. Robert the Bruce
  • Fetridge, William Harrison. With Warm Regards (Inscribed)
  • Forbes, Patrick. The Story of the Maison Mot & Chandon
  • Ford, Gerald R. The War Powers Resolution: A Constitutional Crisis? (Signed)
  • Ford, Gerald R. and John Corriveau. Greater Grand Rapids: The City that Works
  • Fulghum, Robert. It Was on Fire When I Lay Down On It
  • Gallwey, Timothy and Bob Kriegel. Inner Skiing
  • Gerard, Bernard and M. Rose-Rosette. Martinique
  • Giles, Christine, Hayt, Elizabeth and Katherine Plake Hough. Duane Hanson: Virtual Reality
  • Giscard d'Estaing, Valery. Le Pouvoir et la Vie (Inscribed)
  • Gordon, Lois and Alan Gordon. American Chronicle: Six Decades in American Life 1920 - 1980
  • Gros, Marcel. Feisal of Arabia: The Ten Years of a Reign

Box I6 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Hafner, German. Art of Crete, Mycenae, and Greece
  • Hammond, Inc. Hammond Medallion World Atlas (Signed and dated by Betty Ford)
  • Hannah, John A. A Memoir (Inscribed)
  • Harding, G. Lankester. The Antiquities of Jordan
  • Harms, Richard H. Kent Country Club: the First One Hundred Years (Signed by Gerald Ford)
  • Harris, David. Our War: What We did in Vietnam and What it did to Us (Inscribed by Peter Sacol [?])
  • Hartmann, Robert T. Palace Politics: An Inside Account of the Ford Years
  • Hartwell, Max and Jaqui Lane. Champions of Enterprise: Australian Entrepreneurship 1788-1990 (Inscribed by John Reid [?])
  • Hasan, Asma Gull. American Muslims: The New Generation

Box I7 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Hausner, Gideon. Justice in Jerusalem (Inscribed)
  • Heflin, Tom. Quiet Places (Inscribed)
  • Henry Ford Museum Staff. Greenfield Village and the Henry Ford Museum (Inscribed by Frank Caddy)
  • Herriot, James. All Creatures Great and Small (Inscribed to the Fords by the Keatons)
  • Hyde, A. Sidney. Birds of Colorado's Gunnison Country (Signed)
  • Iacocca, Lee. Iacocca: An Autobiography
  • James, Joe. Kill it Before it Moves! How Not to Play Golf in Several Humorous Lessons
  • Janus, Christopher G. The Search for Peking Man (Inscribed)
  • Johnson, Paul. Modern Times: The World from the Twenties to the Nineties
  • Johnson, Spencer. The Precious Present (Inscribed by Penny and Jim Galbraith)

Box I8 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Keen, Sam. Fire in the Belly: On Being a Man (Inscribed by Steve Ford)
  • Kelly, Brian. Grand Rapids: Night After Night (Inscribed)
  • Kennedy, Patricia Burlin. Bailey Bymyside: Golden Lessons for Life (Signed by the author and inscribed by Steve Ford to Gerald Ford and Betty Ford)
  • Ketcham, Hank. Dennis the Menace: His First 40 Years (Inscribed to Gerald and Betty Ford)
  • Kidd, Billy and Bill Grout. Billy Kidd's Ski Racing Book (Inscribed to Gerald and Betty Ford)
  • Killy, Jean-Claude. Situation Skiing (Inscribed)
  • Kinstler, Everett Raymond. Painting Faces, Figures, and Landscapes (Inscribed to Gerald and Betty Ford)
  • Kinstler, Everett Raymond. Painting Portraits: New Revised Edition
  • Kleppen, Halvor. Skikongen (Inscribed by unidentified individual)
  • Knowler, Donald. The Falconer of Central Park (Inscribed to Betty Ford by Jean and Jay Sharbutt)
  • Koch, Adrienne, and William Peden (editors). The Selected Writings of John and John Quincy Adams (Inscribed by Cyril Clemens)
  • Kollek, Teddy and Moshe Pearlman. Jerusalem Sacred City of Mankind: A History of Forty Centuries (Inscribed)
  • Kostis, Peter. The Inside Path to Better Golf
  • Kuralt, Charles. A Life on the Road

Box I9 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Kurzweil, Ray. The Age of Spiritual Machines: When Computers Exceed Human Intelligence
  • Laederer, Benjamin (editor). Cinq Siecles de Peinture Au Musee D'Art et D'Histoire de Geneve
  • Lasorda, Tommy and David Fisher. The Artful Dodger (Inscribed)
  • Lentz, Arthur G. (editor). 1960 United States Olympic Book
  • Lief, Alfred. Harvey Firestone: Free Man of Enterprise
  • Lipton, James. An Exaltation of Larks: The Ultimate Edition More than 1000 Terms (Inscribed by Trammell)
  • Loehr, Dr. James E. and Peter J. McLaughlin. Mentally Tough: The Principles of Winning at Sports Applied to Winning in Business (Inscribed)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art. The Armand Hammer Collection (Inscribed to Gerald and Betty Ford by Armand Hammer)
  • Lowe, Janet. Warren Buffet Speaks: Wit and Wisdom from the World's Greatest Investor (Inscribed by George Graziadio)
  • MacCambridge, Michael, ed. ESPN Sports Century
  • Madej, Bruce. Michigan: Champions of the West
  • Manchester, William. The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Visions of Glory 1874-1932
  • Marwil, Jonathan L. A History of Ann Arbor

Box I10 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Maurer, Jrg-Peter and Gisela Maurer. Petra: Early Monuments in the Cliffs of Jordan
  • McDougal, Stan (editor). The World's Greatest Golf Jokes
  • Meyer, Jack A. (editor). Meeting Human Needs: Toward a New Public Philosophy
  • Meyers, Charlie. Colorado Ski Country (Inscribed)
  • Michener, James A. Alaska
  • Milland, Ray. Wide-Eyed In Babylon
  • Mills, John Brent. Runnymede
  • Ministry of Information, Jordan. Jordan
  • Minshall, Herbert L. Window on the Sea (Signed by the author, editor, and commissioner)
  • Monnett, John H. A Rocky Mountain Christmas: Yuletide Stories of the West
  • Morris, Robert. Our Globe Under Siege III (Inscribed by Joe Connelly, map removed)
  • Morton, Jack. The Poor Man's Philosopher (Inscribed to Gerald and Betty Ford)
  • Murray, Jim. Jim Murray: An Autobiography
  • Murray, Jim. Jim Murray: An Autobiography (Inscribed)
  • National Archives and Records Service. The American Image: Photographs from the National Archives, 1860-1960
  • Nicklaus, Jack. Jack Nicklaus: The Full Swing (Inscribed)
  • Novak, Michael and Jana Novak. Tell Me Why: A Father Answers His Daughter's Questions About God

Box I11 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Ogilvie, Lloyd John. God's Best for My Life: Daily Inspiration for a Deeper Walk with God (Inscribed by Mike and Gayle Ford)
  • Olson, Gordon L. A Grand Rapids Sampler (Signed, copy 90 out of 100)
  • Olson, Gordon L. Grand Rapids: A City Renewed
  • Pedretti, Carlo (editor). Leonardo: Studies for the Last Supper from the Royal Library at Windsor Castle
  • Prather, Thomas. Geology of the Gunnison Country (Signed, copy 11 out of 250)
  • Pressfield, Steven. The Legend of Bagger Vance: Golf and the Game of Life (Inscribed by Steve Ford)
  • Prugh, George S. and Robert England. Solferino
  • Quimby, Ian M. G. (editor). Winterthur Portfolio 10 (Inscribed by R. Philip Hanes, Jr.)
  • Rachlin, Harvey (editor). The Money Encyclopedia (Inscribed)
  • Rand, Ayn. Atlas Shrugged
  • Ratermann, Dale. The Big Ten: A Century of Excellence
  • Rbuffat, Gaston. The Mont Blanc Massif: the 100 Finest Routes (Inscribed by Cheryl and Henri, Yves and Anuyk)

Box I12 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Reilly, Robert T. The Omaha Experience
  • Rhodes, John J. The Futile System: How to Unchain Congress and Make the System Work Again (Inscribed)
  • Ripley, Alexandra. Scarlett: The Sequel to Margaret Mitchell's Gone With the Wind
  • Roberts, Clifford. The Story of the Augusta National Golf Club
  • Roberts, Clifford. The Story of the Augusta National Golf Club
  • Rodengen, Jeffrey L. The Legend of Litton Industries (Inscribed)
  • Ross, Heather Colyer. Bedouin Jewelry in Saudi Arabia
  • Safire, William. Full Disclosure (Inscribed by Annie Grier and Greg Willard)
  • Sanders, Lawrence. The Tenth Commandment
  • Schaeffer, Edith. Affliction
  • Schechter, Harold. Nevermore

Box I13 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Seeley, Mary Evans. Season's Greetings from the White House (Inscribed to Gerald and Betty Ford by the LaBarre Family)
  • Seuss, Dr. You're Only Old Once!
  • Shore, Sammy. The Warm-Up: The Autobiography of a Number Two Man (Inscribed to Gerald and Betty Ford)
  • Shuvalova, Irina. ШИШКИН [Shishkan] (Inscribed to Gerald and Betty Ford by Ramsey [?])
  • Singular, Stephen. Relentless: Bill Daniels and the Triumph of Cable TV
  • Smith, Annick. Big Bluestem: Journey into the Tall Grass (Inscribed)
  • Smith, Douglas LaRue. Winged Foot Story: The Gold, the People, the Friendly Trees (Inscribed)
  • Smith, Felix. China Pilot: Flying for Chiang and Chennault
  • Smith, Phyllis. A Look at Boulder: From Settlement to City (Inscribed to Betty Ford)
  • South Asian Ceramic Society. Khmer Ceramics 9th-14th Century
  • Sports Illustrated. The Wonderful World of Sport
  • Sproul, R.C. Stronger Than Steel: The Wayne Alderson Story (Inscribed by Wayne Alderson)
  • Stanton, Larry. Glory Days of Baja (Inscribed)

Box I14 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Stoddard, George D. (editor). Living History of the World: 1966 Yearbook
  • Stone, Irving. Depths of Glory: A Biographical Novel of Camille Pissarro
  • Thomas, Lewis. The Fragile Species
  • Thompson, B. Dolores. Jamestown & Chautauqua County: An Illustrated History (Inscribed)
  • Time Life Books. The End and the Myth
  • Toland, John. Captured By History: One Man's Vision of our Tumultuous Century
  • Trovati, Armando. Stenmark with Elan (Inscribed by the author, Uro Aljancic, Ingemar Stenmark, and Patrick Lang)
  • United States Capitol Historical Society. We, the People: The Story of the United States Capitol
  • Vandenbusche, Duane. The Gunnison Country (Signed, #11/500)
  • Viola, Herman J. The National Archives of the United States
  • Ward-Thomas, Pat, and Charles Price. The World Atlas of Golf
  • Weidenaar, Reynold H. Weidenaar: Our Changing Landscape (Signed by Bill Z [?] and Marilyn, signed by author, Handbound #623)
  • Weidenaar, Reynold H. Weidenaar: Our Changing Landscape (Signed, Handbound, #31)
  • White, Edwin Lee. Ten Thousand Tons by Christmas (Inscribed)

Box I15 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Wilson, R.L. The Colt Heritage (Inscribed)
  • Winks, Donald L., and Charles M. Denton. Maximilian!
  • Wise, Robert L. The Pastors' Barracks (Inscribed by Paul and Sally Johnston)
  • Woodward, Bob. The Agenda: Inside the Clinton White House
  • Wright, William. The Washington Game: The Social Arena in the Capital and How it Works (Signed by Nancy M. Howe)

Box I16 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado [Oversized]

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Historical Relics Unearthed in New China
  • Memory Book of Gerald R. Ford (Inscribed by Claudia)
  • The Rocky Mountains: A Photographic Celebration
  • Aldana, Guillermo. Piedra de Luz: Magical Sites in Precolumbian Mexico
  • Bateman, Robert. The Art of Robert Bateman (Inscribed)
  • Broder, Patricia Janis. Bronzes of the American West (Inscribed)

Box I17 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado [Oversized]

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Cameron, Robert. Above Washington
  • Chen, Ray. Jamaica (Inscribed by Edward Seaga, Prime Minister to Gerald and Betty Ford)
  • Cheney, Lynne. America: A Patriotic Primer (Inscribed, personal note to the Fords)
  • Cheney, Lynne. America: A Patriotic Primer (Inscribed)
  • Cheney, Lynne. America: A Patriotic Primer (Inscribed)

Box I18 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado [Oversized]

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Drury, Allen. Egypt: The Eternal Smile
  • Evans, Walker. Walker Evans: First and Last
  • Fielder, John. Colorado's Hidden Valleys (Inscribed by Gordon Sawll)
  • Fuentes, Carlos and Michael Calderwood. Mexico: A Higher Vision
  • Gulick, Bill. Snake River Country (Inscribed by Harmon [?] and Ralph Harding)

Box I19 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado [Oversized]

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Guzmn, Rafael Lpez, Medina, Lzaro Gila, Cullar, Ignacio Henares, and Guillermo Tovar de Teresa. Arquitectura y Carpinteria Mudejar en Nueva Espaa
  • Helumet Frioker. O What A Beautiful Morning.... (Inscribed to Gerald and Betty Ford)
  • Higashiyama Kaii Gallery. Kaii Higashiyama
  • La Pierre, Yvette. America's Monuments, Memorials, and Historic Sites (Inscribed by Michael Demarkler)
  • Leifer, Neil. Sports! (Inscribed by Red Smith [?])

Box I20 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado [Oversized]

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Les Veterans of Foreign Wars of the USA, Benjamin Franklin Post 605. Livre D'or du Bi-Centenaire de L'Independance des Etats Unis D'Amerique 1776-1976 (Numero 001")
  • Luppi, Andrea and Corrado Pizzinelli. The Republic of China
  • Muench, David and David Sumner. Colorado
  • P.RI.MA Visual Division, Bolla
  • Patrick, Sam J. The Presidents: Washington to Bush

Box I21 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado [Oversized]

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Rand McNally. The Great Geographical Atlas (Inscribed by Ed Shannon of Santa Fe International Corp.
  • Rand McNally. The New International Atlas
  • Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation. Ronald Reagan: An American Hero (Inscribed by Fred Ryan [?])

Box I22 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado [Oversized]

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Rossi, Paul A. and David C. Hunt. The Art of the Old West (Inscribed)
  • Shepherd, David. An Artist in Conservation (Inscribed)
  • Sidey, Hugh. Portrait of a President (Inscribed to Gerald and Betty Ford by Fred Ward)
  • Sloane, Eric. I Remember America (Inscribed)

Box I23 - Books from Gerald Fords Library in Vail, Colorado [Oversized]

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Smolan, Rick and Andy Park. A Day in the Life of Australia (Inscribed by unidentified individual)
  • Sutton, Ann and Myron Sutton. Yellowstone: A Century of the Wilderness Idea
  • Time-Life Books. Photography Year: 1976 Edition
  • Wall, Steve and Harvey Arden. Wisdomkeepers: Meetings with Native American Spiritual Elders