Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



RICHARD A. FORD:

FORD PAINT AND VARNISH COMPANY SCRAPBOOK, 1929-1962 (1970)


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

From 1929 to 1962, Gerald Ford, Sr., and his sons, Thomas G. Ford and Richard A. Ford compiled a scrapbook documenting the operation of their business firm, the Ford Paint and Varnish Company. Ford Sr. opened the factory in October 1929, three weeks prior to the stock market crash and the beginning of the Great Depression. The enterprise struggled, survived, and flourished until it was sold in 1970. The scrapbook primarily includes newspaper clippings, advertisements, and memoranda from the company to its customers, but also contains product brochures, correspondence, photos, and customer testimonials. The newspaper clippings especially provide much information about the development and scope of the company and its products.

QUANTITY
1 volume (488 pages)

DONOR
Richard A. Ford (accession number 2002-NLF-045)

ACCESS
Open.

COPYRIGHT
Richard A. Ford gives and assigns to the United States of America all copyrights which he has in such of the Materials as are unpublished. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.

Prepared by Donna Lehman, July 2002
[s:bin\findaid\ford, richard - scrapbook]