COLLECTION FINDING AID



GERALD R. FORD PERSONAL FINANCIAL PAPERS, 1942-2004

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection contains material documenting Gerald R. Ford’s personal finances and financial activities in and out of government service. The bulk of the collection consists of itemized financial data on income and expenses.

QUANTITY
135.2 linear feet (ca. 270,400 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 81-21, 84-20, 91-NLF-007, 94-NLF-024, 95-NLF-009, 97-NLF-013, 98-NLF-038, 98-NLF-043, 99-NLF-020, 00-NLF-026, 01-NLF-014, 02-NLF-015, 02-NLF-033, 2002-NLF-040, 2003-NLF-015, 2004-NLF-027, 2005-NLF-040, 2005-NLF-026, 2006-NLF-058, 2007-NLF-032)

ACCESS
Closed.  This collection is temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).  Researchers may contact the Library for information about how to appeal the access restriction decision of individual documents.

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by John J. O'Connell, September 2017
[S:\BIN\Finding Aids & Guides\Ford, Gerald - Personal Financial Papers.docx]

 


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Personal Financial File, 1942-2004 (Boxes 1-138, 135.2 linear feet)
This series consists of balance ledger sheets, bank statements, checkbooks, tax forms, investment statements, loan settlement agreements, wage and income statements, last will and testament, trust records, property records, insurance records, personal receipts, charitable contributions, medical bills, household expenses, household staff files, and employee payroll records that document Gerald Ford’s financial activities in and out of government service. Scattered throughout the series are notes, memos, and correspondences from Ford.  Of particular strength are the financial materials related to the operation of Ford’s post-presidential office.  The series also includes financial matters relating to Betty Ford.


Arranged by accession number.