Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



GERALD R. FORD MATERIALS

PHOTOCOPIED FROM OTHER PRESIDENTIAL LIBRARIES



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Introduction | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Photocopies from the Truman, Eisenhower, and Johnson libraries and the Nixon Presidential Materials Project of documents and cross-references filed under "Ford, Gerald R." in selected collections, and transcripts of selected telephone conversations concerning the formation of the Warren Commission from the Johnson Library.

QUANTITY
Less than one linear foot (ca. 600 pages)

DONOR
Truman, Eisenhower, and Johnson libraries and Nixon Project (accession numbers 81-28, 84-23, 94-14, 94-21, and 97-8)

ACCESS
Open except where the original document is itself closed at the Truman, Eisenhower, or Johnson Library.

COPYRIGHT
Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Further copyright information may be available at the libraries.

Prepared by David Horrocks, December 1985 (Revised by Helmi Raaska, March 1994; William McNitt, May 2000)
[s:\bin\findaid\ford, gerald - reproductions from other presidential libraries.doc]


INTRODUCTION

This collection consists of memoranda, letters, and occasional other items by and about Gerald Ford, 1949-71, especially his contacts with the White House staffs of Presidents Truman, Eisenhower, Johnson, and Nixon. The major portion is from the Johnson administration. A notable segment of the Johnson Library materials is a transcript of selected telephone conversations between President Johnson and various individuals concerning the formation of the Warren Commission. Cassette recordings of the conversations are available in the Ford Library's audiovisual department. The collection also includes correspondence from the post-White House years of the three presidents.

Staff at the libraries provided most of the photocopies after they searched for documents filed under "Ford, Gerald R." in selected collections. The archivists did not attempt an exhaustive search for all materials related to Mr. Ford. Many of the Johnson Library items are only cross-references to more complete document cases in the Johnson White House Central Files. In response to the President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection Act of 1992, the Johnson Library produced a compilation of recordings and transcripts of telephone conversations and supplied a copy to the Ford Library. The Ford Library received a few pages of post-presidential correspondence from the Eisenhower Library as the result of a request made by a researcher.

The materials are arranged according to library of origin.


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1

  • Truman Library
  • Eisenhower Library - Items from White House Central Files
  • Eisenhower Library - Post-Presidential Papers
  • Johnson Library - Confidential Files Name File
  • Johnson Library - Congressional Favors File
  • Johnson Library - Diary Cards (presidential appointments)
  • Johnson Library - Macy Files
  • Johnson Library - O'Brien Files
  • Johnson Library - Panzer Files
  • Johnson Library - Post-Presidential Name File
  • Johnson Library - Selected Telephone Conversations Concerning the Special Committee to Investigate the Assassination of President Kennedy (Warren Commission)
  • Johnson Library - White House Central Files Name File (1)-(3)
  • Johnson Library - White House Famous Names File
  • Johnson Library - White House Social Files Name File
  • Johnson Library - Wilson Files (1)-(2)
  • Nixon Presidential Materials Project