Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



JANE DANNENHAUER FILES, (1953) August 1974 – December 1974

Staff Assistant;
Counsel to the President



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

The bulk of the Dannenhauer collection remains closed to research. This open segment contains the FBI’s public release/sanitized version of records compiled in connection with its background investigation of Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller for the position of Vice President, including summary material from applicant-type investigations of Rockefeller conducted in 1950, 1953 and 1969. Included are interview reports and summaries, memoranda, correspondence, legal documents, financial statements and news clippings.

QUANTITY
1.6 linear feet (4,010 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77-121, 77-122, 78-12)

ACCESS
Open. In 1992, the FBI released this redacted version under the Freedom for Information Act. A copy is open to research at the Ford Library. The Ford White House’s full text version remains closed, as does the remainder of the Dannenhauer Files.

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Nancy Mirshah, December 2000
[s:\bin\findaid\dannenhauer, jane - files.doc]


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Presidential Files-Rockefeller, Nelson (FBI Redacted Version)

  • Volume 1, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller
  • Volume 2, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller
  • Volume 3, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller

Box 2 - Presidential Files-Rockefeller, Nelson (FBI Redacted Version)

  • Volume 4, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller
  • Volume 5, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller
  • Volume 6, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller 
  • Volume 7, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller

Box 3 - Presidential Files-Rockefeller, Nelson (FBI Redacted Version)

  • Volume 8, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller
  • Volume 9, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller
  • Volume 10, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller
  • Volume 11, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller

Box 4 - Presidential Files-Rockefeller, Nelson (FBI Redacted Version)

  • Volume 12, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller
  • Volume 13, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller
  • Volume 14, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller
  • Volume 15, FBI Background Investigation of Vice-President-designate Rockefeller