COLLECTION FINDING AID



BYRON M. RED CAVANEY PAPERS, (1972) 1974-76

Director, White House Advance Office;
Special Assistant to the President




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Materials concerning the operation of the White House Advance Office and its logistical planning for foreign and domestic Presidential trips.

QUANTITY
19.9 linear feet (ca. 43,700 pages)

DONOR
Byron M. Red Cavaney (accession 87-NLF-020)

ACCESS
File units are available as review-on-request. Researchers wishing to view files should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Librarys review-for-access queue. Even after the completion of this review some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Byron M. Red Cavaney donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by John J. OConnell, August 2015
[s:\bin\findaid\cavaneypapers.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Byron M. Red Cavaney


February 26, 1943 - Born, Kansas City, Missouri

1964 - A.B. in history and economics, University of Southern California

1964-1969 - U.S. Navy

1969-1973 - Branch manager and assistant vice president for commercial loan development at the Security Pacific National Bank of Los Angeles

1969-1971 - Postgraduate coursework in finance at California State University at Long Beach

1972-1973 - Member, Advance Detail for the Republican National Committee (on leave of absence from Security Pacific National Bank)

February 1973 - Staff assistant, White House Advance Office

December 19, 1974 - Named Director of the White House Advance Office, succeeding William Henkel, Jr.

June 14, 1976 - Named Special Assistant to the President

1977-1981 - Vice-president of marketing for Ericson Yachts

1981-1983 - Deputy Assistant, White House Office of Public Liaison

1985 - Director of invitation and ticket control, Reagan-Bush Inauguration

1986-1994 - President and CEO, American Paper Institute; President and CEO, American Forest and Paper Association

1994-1997 - President and CEO, American Plastics Council

1997-present - President and CEO of American Petroleum Institute


INTRODUCTION

The Byron M. “Red” Cavaney Papers document the work of the White House Advance Office. As head of the White House Advance Office, Mr. Cavaney oversaw the planning for President Ford’s domestic and international trips. In this role he also selected volunteers to assist with the trips. 

The files typically predate the official Presidential visits by two or three weeks as staff assistants met with local or foreign officials to negotiate agendas, secure living arrangements and transportation, and diagram site locations for entry and exit routes.

The International Trip Files focus on President Ford’s foreign trips from October 1974 through June 1976 to Asia, Europe, and two Economic Summit meetings. Included in the background materials are State Department briefing books on the destination country and an overview of cultural etiquette. 

The Domestic Trip Files focus primarily on the Ford administration but trip files from the Nixon administration are also included in the collection. The background material is especially voluminous and varied for each Presidential trip with information about cultural sites, hotels, convention centers, airports, local schools, and universities. The Bicentennial celebrations in Washington, D.C., New York City, and Philadelphia are well documented, as is the 1976 Presidential campaign with material on the Ronald Reagan primary challenge and the Republican National Convention in Kansas City.

The collection also contains material on the administrative aspects of the White House Advance Office, including its use of volunteers.  

Related Materials (March 2015)
Related materials are located in a number of other fully processed, partly processed, and unprocessed collections. The Trip or “TR” category of the White House Central Files is a fully processed collection of correspondence, schedules, and summaries for foreign and domestic trips. Similarly, the President’s Daily Diary offers a schedule of the President’s actions and the people he met during his trips. The National Security Advisor Security Files contains substantial material pertaining to foreign trips. The Peter Sorum Papers provide details into multiple domestic trips and the Europe trip of July and August 1975. On the purely domestic front, the Jerry H. Jones Files provide material on 1976 campaign trips. Researchers can identify the file locations of related open materials from PRESNET search reports. The personal papers of Byron Cavaney, Robin Martin, and Frank Ursomarso, and the White House office files of Warren Hendriks, William Nicholson and Warren Rustand, and Terrence O’Donnell provide additional insight into advance and scheduling operations.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

General File, 1974‑76.  (Boxes 1‑4, 3.4 linear feet)
This series contains correspondence, pre-advance schedules, Advance Office manuals and forms, resumes, contact lists, maps, diagrams, brochures, aircraft manifests, and travel summary reports for domestic and international Presidential trips.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Personnel File, 1974‑76. (Box 5, 1.0 linear feet)
This series contains lists and resumes of Advance office staff and volunteers, in addition to administrative material related to personnel.

Arranged in two sections: General Material and Advance Office Staff / Volunteer Candidates. Both sections are arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

International Trips File, (1972) 1974‑76.  (Boxes 6‑10, 4.5 linear feet)
This series contains memorandums, correspondence, schedules, lists, maps, diagrams, press releases, and press clippings on topics ranging from passport numbers to recommendations, action items, and discussions surrounding diplomatic scheduling, security, and protocol concerns. The materials address the Presidents trips to Asia, Europe, and the Rambouillet and Puerto Rico Economic Summit meetings.

Arranged chronologically by trip date.

View container list for this series

Domestic Trips File, 1974‑76. (Boxes 10‑20, 11.0 linear feet)
This series contains memorandums, correspondence, schedules, lists, maps, diagrams, brochures, press releases, and press clippings pertaining to logistical and other planning aspects of domestic trips. Major topics include the Bicentennial Celebrations and 1976 Presidential campaign.

Arranged chronologically by trip date.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - General File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Advance Office - Advancemen, 1975
  • Advance Office - Budget, 1975
  • Advance Office - Correspondence, 1975
  • Advance Office - Chronological, 1975 (1)
  • Advance Office - Chronological, 1975 (2)
  • Advance Office - Chronological, 1975 (3)
  • Advance Office - Employment Requests, 1976
  • Advance Office - Incoming, 1976
  • Advance Office - Memorandums, 1975
  • Advance Office - Newsletters, 1975
  • Advance Office - Organizational, 1975 (1)
  • Advance Office - Organizational, 1975 (2)
  • Advance Office - Personnel, 1975 (1)
  • Advance Office - Personnel, 1975 (2)
  • Advance Office - Pro / Con Letters and Replies, 1975
  • Advance Office - Volunteers, 1975
  • Advance Office Manual (1), 1971
  • Advance Office Manual (2), 1971
  • Advance Office Manual (3), 1971
  • Advance Office Manual (4), 1971
  • Advance Office Manual - Department of State, Schedule, 05/75
  • Advance Office Manual - Ford Administration (1)
  • Advance Office Manual - Ford Administration (2)
  • Advance Office Manual - Ford Administration (3)

Box 2 - General File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Advance Office Manual - Ford Administration (4)
  • Advance Office Manual - Schedule Proposal, 1976 (1)
  • Advance Office Manual - Schedule Proposal, 1976 (2)
  • American Political Report, 1976
  • Brezhnev Visit, 06/73 (1)
  • Brezhnev Visit, 06/73 (2)
  • Budget - Political and Governmental, 1976
  • Campaign Issues
  • Cheney Farewell, 12/17/76
  • Cheney Memos
  • Chron File, 1976 (1)
  • Chron File, 1976 (2)
  • Convention '76
  • Draft of Middle East / USSR Trip
  • The Ford Presidency: A Portrait of the First Two Years
  • Foreign Manual Master Copy (1)
  • Foreign Manual Master Copy (2)
  • General Organization
  • In - Town Events, 1976 (1)
  • In - Town Events, 1976 (2)
  • In - Town Events, 1976 - 77
  • International Advance
  • Invitations, 1976
  • News Clippings and Political Cartoons
  • News and Comment (1)

Box 3 - General File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • News and Comment (2)
  • News and Comment (3)
  • News and Comment (4)
  • News and Comment (5)
  • Personal File, 1975 (1)
  • Personal File, 1975 (2)
  • Personal File, 1976 (1)
  • Personal File, 1976 (2)
  • Personal File, 1976 (3)
  • President Ford Committee
  • Press Advance Manual
  • Recruitment of Volunteers
  • Republican National Convention, 1976 (1)
  • Republican National Convention, 1976 (2)
  • Staff Checklist

Box 4 - General File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • The White House Correspondence Manual, 1971 (1)
  • The White House Correspondence Manual, 1971 (2)

Box 5 - Personnel File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
    General Material:
  • Assignments
  • Advancemen Availability
  • Advancemen Lists
  • Campaign '76
  • Correspondence
  • Convention Volunteers
  • Europe, Advancemen Assignments
  • International Advances
  • Permission Letters
  • Talking Points
    Advance Office Staff / Volunteer Candidates:
  • Abbey, Sanford R.
  • Adams, Corry R.
  • Austin, Richard G.
  • Bass, William M.
  • Baumgarten, Eric
  • Bugg, James
  • Bunnell, George
  • Caldwell, Hugh Jr.
  • Capriellian, Edward
  • Carroccio, A. Thomas
  • Cavaney, Byron M. (Red)
  • Child, Herb
  • Clarey, Don A.
  • Cluff, Happy
  • Cohen, Robert
  • Coleman, Sam
  • Cook, Joanne
  • Cumming, R. Malcolm
  • Dailey, William
  • De Gooyer, John G.
  • Dewey, Clower
  • Eastin, Keith
  • Eastland, Larry L.
  • Emde, Carl Fritz
  • Farley, Michael R.
  • Fisher, Michael
  • Franklin, Humes Jr.
  • Galbraith, James
  • Gallagher, Robert E. Jr.
  • Ganier, Al
  • Genzmer, George
  • Kenn, George
  • Gildea, John
  • Goodwin, Gerry
  • Goodwin, Robert
  • Grabow, Dennis G.
  • Grossman, James
  • Harvey, Amy
  • Horanburg, Richard C.
  • Jackson, Michael
  • Jones, Thomas S.
  • Jones, Wilbur
  • Kempton, Robert
  • Kent, J. Laurence
  • Kindt, John
  • King, Reed
  • King, William
  • Knapp, Spencer
  • Kramer, William A.
  • Kretschmer, Keith
  • Lanni, Terry
  • Layfield, Martelle Jr.
  • Levis, John
  • Lewis, Jim
  • Lilly, Frank
  • Lynch, William
  • Lyons, David
  • Luther, Homer
  • Magadini, John
  • McGrady, William
  • Melchior, Thomas
  • Melesco, David
  • Mendel, J.C.
  • Moeller, Michael
  • Morris, William
  • Murphy, Michael
  • Murphy, William
  • Nash, James
  • Newell, Gregory J.
  • Papanilolas, G.S.
  • Patton, Edward Scott
  • Pico, Tristan
  • Pierson, Wigmore
  • Poole, Van
  • Popovich, J. Kristoffer
  • Pratt, Peter E.
  • Proctor, Mark
  • Rainville, Roger H.
  • Rappoport, Ronald A.
  • Rasmussen, John
  • Redfern, Ed
  • Reed, Dana
  • Remington, James
  • Shlaes, John
  • Shuttee, David
  • Siegmund, Robert E.
  • Dallas, Simmons
  • Slane, Dan
  • Smith, Fred
  • Sorum, Pete
  • Spaulding, Peter
  • Spence, James
  • Stephens, Don
  • Stern, Andrew M.
  • Stuckey, Charles
  • Thompson, Tony
  • Thompson, Blair
  • Tyler, Taylor (Tim)
  • Ursomarso, Frank A.
  • Vallender, Charles
  • Van Orman, Chandler
  • Warner, Glen
  • Wegmiller, Don
  • Wennekamp, Richard L.
  • Wentworth, Andrew
  • Wertin, John
  • Whitburn, Jerry
  • White, Ray
  • Whitehouse, Bob
  • Whitesell, Barney B.
  • Wilkes, James M.
  • Willard, Greg
  • Wilsey, Alfred
  • Woodward, Arlan

Box 6 - International Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 2/72 - President Nixon's Visit to People’s Republic of China
  • 10/21/74 - Mexico
  • 11/17 - 24/74 - Japan, South Korea, Soviet Union
  • 11/17 - 24/74 - Japan (1)
  • 11/17 - 24/74 - Japan (2)
  • 11/17 - 24/74 - President's Visit to Tokyo
  • 11/17 - 24/74 - Welcome Dinner
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Belgium, Spain, Austria, Italy, Vatican City (1)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Belgium, Spain, Austria, Italy, Vatican City (2)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Belgium, Spain, Austria, Italy, Vatican City (3)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Press Notes
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Brussels (1)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Brussels (2)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Brussels (3)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Brussels (4)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Madrid (1)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Madrid (2)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Sulzburg (1)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Sulzburg (2)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 – Rome / Vatican City (1)

Box 7 - International Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 5/28 - 6/3/75 - Rome, Vatican City (2)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - East Germany, Poland, Finland, Romania, Yugoslavia (1)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - East Germany, Poland, Finland, Romania, Yugoslavia (2)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - East Germany, Poland, Finland, Romania, Yugoslavia (3)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 – Press Notes
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Presidential Messages, Press Releases
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Diagrams
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - "Notes and Comments"
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Maps
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Seating Plan
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Bonn, Warsaw, Belgrade (1)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Bonn, Warsaw, Belgrade (2)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Bonn (1)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Bonn (2)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Bonn (3)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - President's Trip to Warsaw
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Warsaw (1)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Warsaw (2)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Belgrade
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Bucharest
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - American Embassy in Bucharest
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 – Presidential Schedule for Bucharest

Box 8 - International Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 – Talking Points (1)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 – Talking Points (2)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Alpine Resort of Sinaia Romania
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - President's Trip to Helsinki
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Helsinki (1)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Helsinki (2)
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Memorandums / Helsinki
  • 7/26 - 8/4/75 - Postage Stamps from Yugoslavia
  • 11/14 - 17/75 - France
  • 11/14 - 17/75 - Diagrams
  • 11/14 - 17/75 - "The President"
  • 11/14 - 17/75 - Hotel George V
  • 11/14 - 17/75 - Welcome Kit
  • 11/14 - 17/75 - Press Notes
  • 11/14 - 17/75 - President's Trip to Paris (1)
  • 11/14 - 17/75 - President's Trip to Paris (2)
  • 11/14 - 17/75 - President's Trip to Paris, (3)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - People's Republic of China, Indonesia, Philippines, Pre-Advance Schedule (1)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - People's Republic of China, Indonesia, Philippines, Pre-Advance Schedule (2)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - People's Republic of China, Indonesia, Philippines (1)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - People's Republic of China, Indonesia, Philippines (2)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Press Notes
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Post Report / Memorandums
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Trip Organization (1)

Box 9 - International Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Trip Organization (2)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Trip Organization (3)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Fact Book (1)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Fact Book (2)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Fact Book (3)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Peking (1)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Peking (2)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Peking (3)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - President's Visit to Jakarta
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Jakarta (1)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Jakarta (2)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Manila (1)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Manila (2)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Manila (3)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Manila (4)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Manila (5)
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Tokyo
  • 11/29 - 12/8/75 - Hawaii
  • 6/27 - 28/76 – Pre-Advance Schedule
  • 6/27 - 28/76 – Presidential Schedule
  • 6/27 - 28/76 - Puerto Rico (1)

Box 10 - International Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 6/27 - 28/76 - Puerto Rico (2)
  • 6/27 - 28/76 - Puerto Rico (3)
  • 6/27 - 28/76 - Action File
  • 6/27 - 28/76 - Biographies
  • 6/27 - 28/76 - International Conference
  • 6/27 - 28/76 - Press Kit
  • 6/27 - 28/76 - Press Release

Box 11 - Domestic Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 8/19/74 - Chicago, Illinois
  • 8/30/74 - Columbus, Ohio
  • 9/7/74 - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • 9/12/74 - Pinehurst, North Carolina
  • 9/18/74 - United Nations Assembly
  • 10/9/74 - Detroit, Michigan
  • 10/29/74 - Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • 10/30/74 - Campaign Swing
  • 10/31 - 11/2/74 - DEX Traffic
  • 10/31 - 11/2/74 - Iowa, California, Oregon, Utah, Colorado, Kansas
  • 10/31/74 - Los Angeles, California
  • 11/1/74 - California, Oregon
  • 11/1/74 - Fresno, California

Box 12 - Domestic Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 11/1/74 - Portland, Oregon
  • 11/2/74 - Kansas, Colorado
  • 11/2/74 - Grand Junction, Colorado
  • 11/2/74 - Wichita, Kansas
  • 11/2/74 - Salt Lake City, Utah

Box 13 - Domestic Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 12/10/74 - New York City, New York
  • 1/15/75 - Presidential Messages, State of the Union Address
  • 1/25/75 - Proposed Schedule for April
  • 1/26/75 - Washington, D.C. Red Mass
  • 2/3 - 4/75 - Atlanta, Georgia
  • 2/10 - 11/75 - Houston, Texas / Topeka, Kansas
  • 2/13/75 - Wedding Ceremony
  • 2/13/75 - New York City, New York
  • 2/17/75 - Alexandria, Virginia
  • 2/25/75 - Women's Forum on National Security
  • 2/25 - 26/75 - Florida
  • 3/17/75 - Notre Dame
  • 3/19/75 - The 1925 F Street Club
  • 3/22/75 - Gridiron Dinner
  • 3/29/75 - Palm Springs, California (1)
  • 3/29/75 - Palm Springs, California (2)
  • 4/15 - 16/75 - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania / Washington, D.C.
  • 4/18 - 19/75 – Massachusetts / New Hampshire (1)
  • 4/18 - 19/75 – Massachusetts / New Hampshire (2)
  • 4/23/75 - New Orleans, Louisiana
  • 4/25/75 - Yale University
  • 4/28/75 - Constitution Hall
  • 4/30/75 - New York City, New York
  • 5/1/75 - Commerce Department
  • 5/3/75 - Winchester, Virginia
  • 5/3/75 - "USS Nimitz"
  • 5/10/75 - Lake of the Woods Country Club
  • 5/16/75 - Washington, D.C. Iranian Embassy
  • 5/18/75 - University of Pennsylvania
  • 5/20/75 - Charlotte, North Carolina
  • 6/13/75 - Department of the Interior
  • 6/14/75 - West Point
  • 6/14/75 - Fort Benning, Georgia
  • 6/17/75 - Business Conference
  • 6/23/75 - "La Boheme"
  • 6/28/75 - NAACP
  • 7/3/75 - Cincinnati, Ohio / Cleveland, Ohio
  • 7/4/75 - Fort McHenry, Maryland
  • 7/10/75 - Bethesda, Maryland
  • 7/14/75 - Federal Reserve Board
  • 7/15/75 - Soyuz Launch

Box 14 - Domestic Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 7/11 - 13/75 – Michigan, Illinois (1)
  • 7/11 - 13/75 – Michigan, Illinois (2)
  • 7/16/75 - Approved Schedule Events
  • 8/8/75 - HEW Auditorium
  • 8/10 - 25/75 - Vail, Colorado
  • 8/10/75 - Forth Smith, Arkansas
  • 8/18/75 - Rifle, Colorado
  • 8/18/75 - Des Moines, Iowa
  • 8/18/75 - Vail, Colorado
  • 8/18 - 19/75 - Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • 8/19/75 - Pekin, Illinois / Peoria, Illinois
  • 8/24/75 - Libby Dam, Montana
  • 8/24/75 - Chicago, Illinois
  • 8/25/75 - Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • 8/30/75 – Maine, Rhode Island
  • 9/2/75 - IMF Annual Meeting
  • 9/4/75 - Seattle, Washington
  • 9/4/75 - Portland, Oregon
  • 9/4/75 - Sacramento, California (1)
  • 9/4/75 - Sacramento, California (2)
  • 9/10/75 - Fundraising Reception
  • 9/11/75 - New Hampshire
  • 9/12/75 - St. Louis, Missouri
  • 9/12/75 - Kansas City, Missouri
  • 9/13/75 - Dallas, Texas
  • 9/13/75 - Midland, Texas
  • 9/15/75 - Reception Hosted by Katherine Graham
  • 9/16/75 - Air Force Salute to Congress
  • 9/19/75 - Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  • 9/19 - 20/75 - Los Angeles, California
  • 9/20/75 - Pepperdine University
  • 9/20 - 22/75 - Pebble Beach, California
  • 9/21/75 - Stanford University
  • 9/21/75 - Orange County "NALU"
  • 9/22/75 - San Francisco, California
  • 9/30/75 – Dedication of J. Edgar Hoover FBI Building

Box 15 - Domestic Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 9/30 - 10/1/75 - Chicago, Illinois
  • 10/1/75 - Omaha, Nebraska
  • 10/2/75 - Japanese State Dinner
  • 10/4/75 - Elkins, West Virginia
  • 10/4/75 - Newark, New Jersey
  • 10/7/75 - Knoxville, Tennessee
  • 10/7/75 - Kentucky (Cancelled)
  • 10/7/75 - American Society of Oral Surgeons
  • 10/9/75 – Navy’s 200th Birthday Celebration
  • 10/10/75 - Detroit, Michigan
  • 10/14/75 - Hartford, Connecticut
  • 10/14/75 – Alexander Calder Sculpture
  • 10/20/75 - Mayflower Hotel (Cancelled)
  • 10/24/75 - Columbia, South Carolina
  • 10/24/75 - Gainesville, Florida
  • 10/29/75 - Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • 10/29/75 - Los Angeles, California
  • 10/30/75 - San Francisco, California
  • 10/30/75 - Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • 11/2/75 - Jacksonville, Florida (Anwar Sadat)
  • 11/2/75 - Massachusetts
  • 11/6 - 7/75 - New York City, New York
  • 11/9/75 - "Meet the Press"
  • 11/11/75 - Iwo Jima Memorial
  • 11/11/75 - Charleston, West Virginia
  • 11/12/75 - Daniel Boorstin
  • 11/14/75 - Atlanta, Georgia
  • 11/14/75 - Raleigh, North Carolina
  • 11/14/75 - North Carolina; Georgia
  • 12/30/75 - Vail, Colorado
  • 1/5/76 - St. Louis, Missouri
  • 1/31/76 - Williamsburg, Virginia
  • 1/31/76 - Dearborn, Michigan
  • 2/7 - 8/76 - New Hampshire (1)
  • 2/7 - 8/76 - New Hampshire (2)
  • 2/7/76 - Concord, New Hampshire
  • 2/7/76 - Nashua, New Hampshire
  • 2/8/76 - Durham, New Hampshire
  • 2/13/76 - Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
  • 2/13 - 14/76 - Florida
  • 2/14/76 - St. Petersburg, Florida
  • 2/14/76 - Miami, Florida
  • 2/14/76 - Ft. Myers, Florida
  • 2/14/76 - Orlando, Florida
  • 2/18/76 - Dover, New Hampshire
  • 2/19/76 - Keene, New Hampshire

Box 16 - Domestic Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 2/28/76 - Miami, Florida
  • 2/28/76 - Palm Beach, Florida
  • 2/28 - 29/76 - Florida
  • 2/28 - 29/76 - Sarasota, Florida
  • 2/29/76 - Tampa, Florida
  • 3/5/76 - Springfield, Illinois
  • 3/5 - 6/76 - Peoria, Illinois
  • 3/6/76 - Champaign, Illinois
  • 3/6/76 - Marion, Illinois
  • 3/11 - 12/76 - Rockford, Illinois
  • 3/12/76 - Suburban Chicago, Illinois
  • 3/12/76 - Chicago, Illinois
  • 3/13/76 - Greensboro, North Carolina
  • 3/13/76 - Wilkesboro, North Carolina
  • 3/19 - 20/76 - New York City, New York
  • 3/20/76 - Charlotte, North Carolina
  • 3/20/76 - Ashville, North Carolina
  • 3/20/76 - Tri-County Area, North Carolina
  • 3/20/76 - Hickory, North Carolina
  • 3/26/76 - San Francisco, California
  • 3/27/76 - Los Angeles, California
  • 3/27/76 - Fresno, California
  • 3/27/76 - La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • 4/2/76 - Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • 4/2 - 3/76 - West Bend, Wisconsin
  • 4/3/76 - Winnebago, Wisconsin
  • 4/3/76 - Green Bay, Wisconsin
  • 4/6/76 – Dedication of LBJ Memorial Grove
  • 4/9/76 - San Antonio, Texas
  • 4/9 - 10/76 - Dallas, Texas
  • 4/10/76 - El Paso, Texas
  • 4/10/76 - Amarillo, Texas
  • 4/22 - 23/76 - Indianapolis, Indiana
  • 4/23/76 - Evansville, Indiana
  • 4/23/76 - Atlanta, Georgia
  • 4/27/76 - Shreveport, Louisiana
  • 4/27 - 28/76 - Tyler, Texas
  • 4/28/76 - Fort Worth, Texas
  • 4/28 - 29/76 - Houston, Texas

Box 17 - Domestic Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 4/29/76 - Waco, Texas
  • 4/29 - 30/76 - Dallas, Texas
  • 4/30/76 - Lubbock, Texas
  • 4/30/76 - Abilene, Texas
  • 5/2 - 3/76 - Ft. Wayne Indiana
  • 5/3/76 - Indianapolis, Indiana
  • 5/3/76 - Birmingham, Alabama
  • 5/7/76 - Omaha / Lincoln, Nebraska
  • 5/7 - 8/76 - Independence, Missouri
  • 5/12/76 - Michigan
  • 5/14/76 - East Tennessee
  • 5/14/76 - Memphis, Tennessee
  • 5/14/76 - Louisville, Kentucky
  • 5/14 - 15/76 - Flint, Michigan
  • 5/15/76 - "The Presidential Express"
  • 5/15 - 16/76 - Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • 5/16/76 - Saginaw, Michigan
  • 5/22/76 - Medford, Oregon (1)
  • 5/22/76 - Medford, Oregon (2)
  • 5/22 - 23/76 - Portland, Oregon
  • 5/23/76 - Pendleton, Oregon
  • 5/23 - 24/76 - Orange County, California
  • 5/24/76 - Las Vegas, Nevada
  • 5/24/76 - San Diego, California
  • 5/24 - 25/76 - Los Angeles, California
  • 5/25/76 - San Jose, California
  • 5/25/76 - Contra Costra, California
  • 5/26/76 - Columbus, Ohio
  • 6/6/76 - Patterson, New Jersey
  • 6/6/76 - Cleveland, Ohio
  • 6/6 - 7/76 - Cincinnati, Ohio
  • 6/7/76 - Ohio Motorcade
  • 6/10/76 - Springfield, Missouri
  • 6/15/76 - Norfolk, Virginia
  • 6/18/76 - Des Moines, Iowa (Cancelled)
  • 6/22/76 - Indianapolis, Indiana

Box 18 - Domestic Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 7/1/76 – Dedication of Air and Space Museum
  • 7/2/76 - National Archives
  • 7/3/76 - Kennedy Center’s Honor America
  • 7/4/76 - Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
  • 7/4/76 - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • 7/4/76 - New York Harbor, New York (1)
  • 7/4/76 - New York Harbor, New York (2)
  • 7/5/76 - Monticello, Virginia
  • 7/10/76 - Plattsburg, New York
  • 7/10/76 - Newport, Rhode Island
  • 7/13/76 - All-Star Game (1)
  • 7/13/76 - All-Star Game (2)
  • 7/17/76 - Hartford, Connecticut
  • 8/15 - 20/76 – Republican National Convention
  • 8/15/76 - Municipal Airport Arrival
  • 8/15/76 - Crown Center Arrival Rally
  • 8/16/76 - Rep. Rhodes Reception
  • 8/16/76 - Presidential Trips (1)
  • 8/16/76 - Presidential Trips (2)
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Outside Rallies
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - National Association of Social Workers (1)
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - National Association of Social Workers (2)
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget Overall
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget Administration
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, airport arrivals
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, arena
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, miscellaneous
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, salaries
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, volunteers
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, Advanceman Master
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, Advanceman Entertainment
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, Advanceman Housing
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, Advanceman Per Diem
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, Advanceman Transportation
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, Advanceman Travel
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Budget, Advanceman Tolls, Parking, Gas
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Advancemen
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Advertising
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Demonstration
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Background Material
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Caucus Team Schedules
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Background
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention Finance
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Delegation Arrivals
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Delegation Accommodations
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - DEX in / DEX out
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Diagrams
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - First Family Schedule
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Forms / Photos / Expense
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Housing
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Miami Convention Material
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Personal Finances
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Presidential Schedule
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Presidential Candidates
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Rally Supplies
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Seating Diagrams
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - White House / PFC Staff
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Personal Income
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Vail
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Volunteers
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Pete Sorum
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Frank Ursomnarso
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Daily Meeting File / Open
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Convention, President Ford Committee
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - "Women for President Ford"
  • 8/16 - 19/76 - Union Station

Box 19 - Domestic Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 8/16 - 19/76 – President Ford Committee Directory
  • 8/17/76 - Illinois Caucus Visit
  • 8/17/76 - West Virginia Visit
  • 8/17/76 - Dinner
  • 8/18/76 - Unity Luncheon
  • 8/18/76 - Alameda Plaza Visit
  • 8/19/76 - Arena Visit
  • 8/20/76 - RNC Breakfast
  • 8/20/76 - Airport Departure
  • 8/20 - 29/76 - Vail, Colorado
  • 8/29/76 - Ellsworth Air Force Base South Dakota
  • 8/29/76 - Yellowstone National Park
  • 9/15/76 - Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • 9/23/76 - Presidential Debate
  • 9/24/76 - Mobile, Alabama
  • 9/25 - 26/76 - New Orleans, Louisiana (1)
  • 9/25 - 26/76 - New Orleans, Louisiana (2)
  • 9/26/76 - Mississippi
  • 9/26 - 27/76 - Miami, Florida
  • 10/4 - 7/76 - San Francisco, California
  • 10/7 - 8/76 - Los Angeles, California (1)
  • 10/7 - 8/76 - Los Angeles, California (2)
  • 10/8/76 - San Fernando Valley / Glendale, California
  • 10/8 - 9/76 - Lawton, California
  • 10/9/76 - Dallas, Texas (1)
  • 10/9/76 - Dallas, Texas (2)
  • 10/12 - 13/76 - New York City, New York
  • 10/13/76 - Upstate New York
  • 10/13/76 - New Jersey
  • 10/15/76 - Iowa State University

Box 20 - Domestic Trips File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 10/15 - 16/76 - "Honest Abe" (1)
  • 10/15 - 16/76 - "Honest Abe" (2)
  • 10/16/76 - St. Louis, Missouri
  • 10/21/76 - "Al Smith Dinner"
  • 10/22/76 – Presidential Debate
  • 10/22 - 23/76 - Richmond, Virginia, State Capitol
  • 10/23/76 - North Carolina State Fair
  • 10/23/76 – South Carolina / Notre Dame Football Game
  • 10/23 - 24/76 - Pasadena, California
  • 10/24 - 25/76 - Television Address
  • 10/25/76 - Seattle, Washington
  • 10/25/76 - Portland, Oregon
  • 10/25 - 26/76 - Pittsburg, Pennsylvania
  • 10/26 - 27/76 - Chicago, Illinois
  • 10/27/76 - Southwest New Jersey
  • 10/27 - 28/76 - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • 10/28/76 - Indianapolis, Indiana
  • 10/28/76 - Cincinnati, Ohio
  • 10/28 - 29/76 - Cleveland, Ohio
  • 10/29/76 - Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • 10/29/76 - St. Louis, Missouri
  • 10/30/76 - Houston, Texas
  • 10/30/76 - North Philly
  • 10/30/76 - Syracuse, New York
  • 10/30/76 - Buffalo, New York
  • 10/30/76 - Rochester, New York
  • 10/31 - 11/1/76 - Buffalo, New York
  • 10/31 - 11/1/76 - Long Island, New York
  • 10/31 - 11/1/76 - Canton / Akron, Ohio
  • 11/1/76 - Presidential Schedule
  • 11/1/76 - Manifests, Flights
  • 11/1/76 – Presidential Schedule
  • 11/1/76 - Seating Arrangement
  • 11/1/76 - Diagrams
  • 11/1/76 - Columbus, Ohio
  • 11/1/76 - Detroit, Michigan
  • 11/1 - 2/76 - "Homecoming"
  • 11/7 - 15/76 - Palm Springs, California (1)
  • 11/7 - 15/76 - Palm Springs, California (2)
  • 11/20 - 21/76 - Rochester, New York
  • 12/19/76 - Ann Arbor, Michigan