Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



NATIONAL SECURITY ADVISOR. BACKCHANNEL MESSAGES, 1974-77


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Cable messages between the White House and foreign service posts transmitted outside of normal State Department channels. They are usually between Henry Kissinger or Brent Scowcroft and U.S. ambassadors (or, occasionally, to other officials visiting those posts). Included are some “hotline” communications between President Ford or Secretary Kissinger and foreign heads of state. Subject matter ranges from routine travel arrangements to high-level foreign policy issues.

MOST OF THIS COLLECTION IS UNPROCESSED AND CLOSED TO RESEARCH. THE CONTAINER LIST SHOWS WHAT IS CURRENTLY OPEN.

QUANTITY
4.0 linear feet (ca. 8000 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (Accession 77-118)

ACCESS
Only a portion of this collection has been processed and opened to research. The rest of the collection is still unprocessed and closed. In the processed portions, some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Karen B. Holzhausen, November 1997; revised March 2000
[s:\bin\findaid\nsc\backchannel messages.doc]


Provenance of the National Security Adviser Files


CONTAINER LIST
Note: Only the folders listed below are currently open to research. All other folders and boxes are still unprocessed.

Box 3 - Martin Channel

  • September 1974 - Incoming
  • September 1974 - Outgoing
  • October 1974 - Incoming
  • October 1974 - Outgoing
  • November 1974 - Incoming
  • November 1974 - Outgoing
  • December 1974 - Outgoing
  • January 1975 - Incoming
  • January 1975 - Outgoing
  • February 1975 - Incoming
  • February 1975 - Outgoing
  • March 1975 - Incoming
  • March 1975 - Outgoing
  • April 1975 - Incoming (1)
  • April 1975 - Incoming (2)
  • April 1975 - Incoming (3)
  • April 1975 - Outgoing (1)
  • April 1975 - Outgoing (2)
  • April 1975 - Outgoing (3)
  • May 1975 - Outgoing