Gerald R. Ford Museum
Exhibits, Events, Education Center

303 Pearl Street, NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49504

616-254-0400 (tel)
616-254-0386 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Museum Facebook Page

Hours: 9:00am-5:00pm (Mon-Sat)
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm Sundays
(Closed New Year's, Thanksgiving, & Christmas Days)


Gerald R. Ford Library
Research, Events, Small Exhibits

1000 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

734-205-0555 (tel)
734-205-0571 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Library Facebook Page

Hours: 8:45am-4:45pm (Mon-Fri)
(Closed Federal Holidays)



White House Press Releases, 1974-77

Collection Finding Aid


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

A chronological set of press releases issued by either the White House Press Release Unit or the Press Secretary's office covering all aspects of the Ford White House.  Included are transcripts of speeches, briefings, and press conferences; schedules; biographies; proposed legislation; press pool reports; etc.

QUANTITY
22.8 linear feet (ca. 45,600 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77-111, 78-6, 78-23, and 83-22)

ACCESS
Open.

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by William McNitt, May 1983; revised November 2011


INTRODUCTION

The White House Press Release Collection contains both the press releases published and distributed by the White House Press Release Unit and most of the press releases issued informally by the Press Secretary's office.  The collection originally included only press releases distributed by the Press Release Unit, but a partial set of press releases collected by the National Archives have been interfiled.  Most of those added were fairly routine releases of information which the Press Office distributed.  Such items were usually just photocopied and released without ever being sent to the Press Release unit for publication. In all more than 10,000 press releases appear in this collection.

Related Materials (May 1983)
A keyword index to presidential speeches, announcements, interviews, press conferences, and messages whose text were issued as press releases can be found in the collection "White House Press Release Unit: Key phrase and word index to Presidential statements."

Other related materials include both the files and papers of Press Secretary Ron Nessen.  Included in the Nessen files are drafts of some of the press releases, the text of all Presidential news conferences, and all of Nessen's daily press briefings.  The text of President Ford's speeches statements and press conferences are also available in the Ford volumes of the publication Public Papers of the Presidents.


Series Descriptions

Boxes 1-35                Press Releases, 1974-77.  (14.0 linear feet)
Press releases distributed by either the Press Release Unit or the Press Office including presidential messages; presidential press conferences; some vice presidential messages; executive orders; speeches; communiques; announcements of appointments to the staff; biographical sketches; toasts and exchanges between the President and guests; statements by the President, his Cabinet or staff; fact sheets; media pool reports; and some correspondence, especially staff letters of resignation. Arranged chronologically.

Boxes 36-57                Duplicate Press Releases, 1974-77.  (8.8 linear feet)
A partial duplicate set of press releases. Arranged chronologically.


Container List

The entire series is currently being digitized. Please click on the folder titles to view listings of PDF files of the documents.

Box 1              Press Releases

Box 2               Press Releases

Box 3               Press Releases

Box 4               Press Releases

Box 5               Press Releases

Box 6               Press Releases

Box 7               Press Releases

Box 8               Press Releases

Box 9               Press Releases

Box 10             Press Releases

Box 11             Press Releases

Box 12             Press Releases

Box 13             Press Releases

Box 14             Press Releases

Box 15             Press Releases

Box 16             Press Releases

  • September 19, 1975 – October 10, 1975

Box 17             Press Releases

  • October 11, 1975 – November 12, 1975

Box 18             Press Releases

  • November 13, 1975 – December 5, 1975

Box 19             Press Releases

  • December 6, 1975 – January 12, 1976

Box 20             Press Releases

  • January 13, 1976 – February 6, 1976

Box 21             Press Releases

  • February 7-19, 1976

Box 22             Press Releases

  • February 20, 1976 – March 10, 1976

Box 23             Press Releases

  • March 11, 1976 - April 2, 1976

Box 24             Press Releases

  • April 3-23, 1976

Box 25             Press Releases

  • April 24, 1976 – May 9, 1976

Box 26             Press Releases

  • May 10-30, 1976

Box 27             Press Releases

  • May 31, 1976 – June 22, 1976

Box 28             Press Releases

  • June 23, 1976 – July 16, 1976

Box 29             Press Releases

  • July 17, 1976 – August 18, 1976

Box 30             Press Releases

  • August 19, 1976– September 16, 1976

Box 31             Press Releases

  • September 17, 1976 – October 1, 1976

Box 32             Press Releases

  • October 2-17, 1976

Box 33             Press Releases

  • October 18-30, 1976

Box 34             Press Releases

  • October 31, 1976 – January 3, 1977

Box 35             Press Releases

  • January 4-20, 1977

Box 36             Duplicate Press Releases

  • August 9, 1974 – September 8, 1974

Box 37             Duplicate Press Releases

  • September 9, 1974 – October 9, 1974

Box 38             Duplicate Press Releases

  • October 10, 1974 – November 3, 1974

Box 39             Duplicate Press Releases

  • November 4, 1974 – December 13, 1974

Box 40             Duplicate Press Releases

  • December 14, 1974 – January 23, 1975

Box 41             Duplicate Press Releases

  • January 24, 1975 – March 4, 1975

Box 42             Duplicate Press Releases

  • March 5, 1975 – April 16, 1975

Box 43             Duplicate Press Releases

  • April 17, 1975 – May 13, 1975

Box 44             Duplicate Press Releases

  • May 14, 1975 – June 6, 1975

Box 45             Duplicate Press Releases

  • June 7, 1975 - July 2, 1975

Box 46             Duplicate Press Releases

  • July 3-27, 1975

Box 47             Duplicate Press Releases

  • July 28, 1975 – September 11, 1975

Box 48             Duplicate Press Releases

  • September 12, 1975 – October 22, 1975

Box 49             Duplicate Press Releases

  • October 23, 1975 – December 14, 1975

Box 50             Duplicate Press Releases

  • December 15, 1975 – February 18, 1976

Box 51             Duplicate Press Releases

  • February 19, 1976 – March 22, 1976

Box 52             Duplicate Press Releases

  • March 23, 1976 – April 28, 1976

Box 53             Duplicate Press Releases

  • April 29, 1976 – June 3, 1976

Box 54             Duplicate Press Releases

  • June 4, 1976 – July 26, 1976

Box 55             Duplicate Press Releases

  • July 27, 1976 – September 27, 1976

Box 56             Duplicate Press Releases

  • September 28, 1976 – October 25, 1976

Box 57             Duplicate Press Releases

  • October 26, 1976 – January 20, 1977