Gerald R. Ford Museum
Exhibits, Events, Education Center

303 Pearl Street, NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49504

616-254-0400 (tel)
616-254-0386 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Museum Facebook Page

Hours: 9:00am-5:00pm (Mon-Sat)
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm Sundays
(Closed New Year's, Thanksgiving, & Christmas Days)


Gerald R. Ford Library
Research, Events, Small Exhibits

1000 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

734-205-0555 (tel)
734-205-0571 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Library Facebook Page

Hours: 8:45am-4:45pm (Mon-Fri)
(Closed Federal Holidays)



National Security Adviser.
Trip Briefing Books and Cables of Henry Kissinger, 1974-76

Collection Finding Aid


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This rich collection has two distinct facets.  The first relates directly to Kissinger’s trips, including briefing materials for meetings with foreign leaders and reports to the President on those meetings.  The second relates to cable traffic, on myriad foreign affairs topics, exchanged during the trip between Kissinger and his travel staff on one hand, and State Department and White House officials on the other hand.

QUANTITY
18.4 linear feet (ca. 36,800 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-118)

ACCESS
Open, but some materials continue to be national security classified and restricted.  Access is governed by the donor’s deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, and National Archives and Records Administration regulations (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Helmi Raaska, February 2011


INTRODUCTION

The White House Situation Room: Noon and Evening Notes is one of many sub-collections that comprise the National Security Adviser Files. The provenance of the Ford National Security Adviser Files and an explanation of the designations “Presidential” and “Institutional” are provided in Appendix A.

Most of the files in this collection are for foreign trips, but files for travel to speaking engagements in the United States, consultations at the United Nations, and vacations are also included.  The materials relate to much more than each individual trip or country visited.  A researcher will find information about almost any international or domestic event concerning foreign policy or national security that occurred while Secretary Kissinger was traveling.  The subject content ranges from highly substantive foreign policy issues and crises to routine matters such as appointment schedules and travel logistics.  U.S.-Soviet relations, arms control negotiations, the Middle East, the civil war in Lebanon, U.S. participation in the United Nations and North Atlantic Treaty Organization, Africa (especially Southern Africa), international economic issues, Executive-Congressional relations, legislation, and the 1976 presidential campaign illustrate the range of topics covered in this collection.  Information on these topics is not concentrated and readily identifiable as it is in a subject file, but is included in the cable traffic as described below and in briefing books.

This collection, especially in the cable traffic, provides a valuable addition to the Library’s materials relating to U.S. policy concerning the processes to bring about majority rule in Rhodesia (now known as Zimbabwe), gain independence for Namibia, and end apartheid in South Africa.  Materials concerning Southern Africa are available in many trip files, but are especially concentrated in the files of the April 1976 trip to Africa, June 1976 trip to Europe and Puerto Rico, and December 1976 trip to Brussels and London.  In addition to the normal diplomatic cable traffic, the files include materials relating to Secretary Kissinger’s African policy speech given in Lusaka, Zambia, on April 27, 1976, and a briefing book for his meeting with South African Prime Minister Vorster in June 1976.

In addition to the Lusaka speech, cable traffic folders contain drafts and final texts for several other major speeches given by Secretary Kissinger.  These include various speeches defending Ford administration foreign policy; speeches presented at the World Food Conference, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, Conference on International Economic Cooperation, and Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development; and the Alastair Buchan Memorial Lecture given in London.  Materials relating to foreign policy speeches and the 1975 West Point commencement address given by President Ford are also available.

Cable traffic between Kissinger and the White House is in folders titled “HAKTO” and “TOHAK.”  The majority of the cables are addressed to/from Brent Scowcroft.  “HAKTO” communications include Kissinger’s detailed and candid reports of his meetings with foreign leaders.  The reports were cabled to Brent Scowcroft who had them typed in memo format for the President.  The President initialed and returned the reports to Scowcroft after he had read them, and they were filed as “HAK Messages for the President.”  “HAKTO” messages also conveyed general information on the progress of the trip, requested information as needed during the trip, and transmitted guidance and instructions for Scowcroft and National Security Council staff.  “TOHAK” messages often include an edited typed copy and a copy as sent from the White House Situation Room.  They informed Secretary Kissinger of the President’s and Scowcroft’s  daily activities, updated him on issues the NSC/WH staff were dealing with,  reported on media coverage of the Secretary’s trip, summarized newspaper reporting on current events, and forwarded sensitive intelligence reports received in the Situation Room.  Subject content of these messages is as described in the introductory paragraphs.

“SECTO” and “TOSEC’ folders contain telegrams to/from the travel party with State Department officials in Washington and foreign service officers stationed at various embassies.  The files include telegrams predating the trip which concern planning and arrangements as well as the cable traffic during the trip.  In addition to normal diplomatic cable traffic and the international and domestic issues as described above, the telegrams also concern administrative matters concerning the State Department and its personnel.

Briefing Books are available for the October-November 1974 trip to Europe, South Asia, and the Middle East (also a Briefing Memorandum in Support of the Secretary’s Trip to South Asia); October 1975 trip to China; January 1976 trip to Moscow, Brussels, and Madrid; June 1976 trip to Europe and the Economic Summit Meeting in Puerto Rico; and the December 1976 NATO meetings in Brussels.  A Briefing Memorandum in Support of the Secretary’s Trip to Europe (May 1975) is also available.  Additional briefing material and background information is sometimes incorporated in TOHAK and TOSEC cables.

Some trip files include a “Security Conditions” folder with an analysis of potential risks to Kissinger’s personal safety in the countries to be visited.  The files contain a “Summary of Developments in Your Absence” folder for trips while Secretary Kissinger was also the National Security Adviser.   This was a summary of developments in the various geographic regions prepared by NSC staff members for Kissinger to read upon his return to Washington.

Related Materials (February 2011)
Two closely related collections are Trip Briefing Books and Cables for President Ford and Trip Briefing Books and Cables for Brent Scowcroft.  Related materials are also available in many other collections, especially those received from the office of the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs.  Researchers can locate relevant materials via PRESNET search reports, which are provided upon request.  New information is entered into the PRESNET database as collections become available for research.  Researchers are encouraged to consult the Ford Library website for announcements of collection openings and to view online collections and documents.


Series Descriptions

Boxes 1-46                Kissinger Trip File, 1974-76.  (18.4 linear feet)
Trip files consisting of briefing books and materials prepared for Henry Kissinger’s meetings with foreign leaders, and cable traffic to/from the Secretary and his travel staff with White House and State Department officials.  Materials are primarily from foreign trips, but also include trips for speaking engagements in the United States, consultations at the United Nations, and vacation travel. Files contain substantive materials relating to U.S. relations with the countries visited as well as concurrent international and domestic issues impacting foreign policy and national security.  Major topics include U.S.-Soviet relations, SALT negotiations, Middle East peace negotiations, Africa, Southeast Asia, China, Europe, NATO, arms transfers, international economic issues, trade, United Nations, and the developing countries. . Arranged chronologically by date of trip, and thereunder alphabetically by folder title.  An exception to the alphabetical arrangement occurs with HAKTO/TOHAK and SECTO/TOSEC messages, which are filed consecutively, rather than in alphabetical sequence


Container List

Box 1               Kissinger Trip File
August 31 - September 4, 1974 - Caneel Bay, Virgin Islands
     HAKTO
     TOHAK
     SECTO
     TOSEC
     Summary of Developments in Your Absence
September-October, 1974 - United Nations
     General
September 23-24, 1974 - United Nations
     TOHAK
September 30 - October 3, 1974 - United Nations
     TOHAK (1)-(4)
October 8-13, 1974 - Middle East
     General (1)-(3)
     HAK Messages for the President

Box 2               Kissinger Trip File
October 8-13, 1974 - Middle East
     HAKTO (1)-(2)
     TOHAK (1)-(5)
     Memorandum of Conversation with King Hussein of Jordan, 10/12/74
     SECTO
     TOSEC
     Security Conditions
     Summary of Developments in Your Absence

Box 3               Kissinger Trip File
October 20 - November 9, 1974 - Europe, South Asia, and Middle East
     Briefing Book for Secretary’s Visit to the Middle East (1)-(4)
     General (1)-(5)
     HAK Messages for the President (1)-(2)
     HAKTO (1)-(2)

Box 4               Kissinger Trip File
October 20 - November 9, 1974 - Europe, South Asia, and Middle East
     HAKTO (3)-(5)
     TOHAK (1)-(6)

Box 5               Kissinger Trip File
October 20 – November 9, 1974 – Europe, South Asia, and Middle East
     TOHAK (7)-(17)

Box 6               Kissinger Trip File
October 20 – November 9, 1974 – Europe, South Asia, and Middle East
     TOHAK (18)-(19)
     Memorandum in Support of the Secretary’s Trip to South Asia (1-(4)
     SECTO (1)-(3)
     TOSEC
     Summary of Developments in Your Absence
November 25-29, 1974 – People’s Republic of China
December 10-13, 1974 - Brussels
     HAK Messages for the President

Box 7               Kissinger Trip File
December 10-13, 1974 - Brussels
     TOHAK
     SECTO
     TOSEC
     Talking Points for Briefing the President
December 26, 1974 - January 2, 1975 - Puerto Rico
     General
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)-(2)
     SECTO
     TOSEC (1)-(2)
     Summary of Developments in Your Absence
February 10-18, 1975 - Middle East and Europe
     General - Europe (1)-(2)
     General - Middle East (1)-(3)
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)

Box 8               Kissinger Trip File
February 10-18, 1975 - Middle East and Europe
     TOHAK (2)-(7)
     SECTO (1)-(4)
     TOSEC (1)-(6)
     Summary of Developments in Your Absence

Box 9               Kissinger Trip File
March 5-22, 1975 - London and Middle East
     General - Europe
     General - Middle East (1)-(2)
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO (1)-(5)
     TOHAK (1)-(3)

Box 10             Kissinger Trip File
March 5-22, 1975 – London and Middle East
     TOHAK (4)-(12)

Box 11             Kissinger Trip File
March 5-22, 1975 - London and Middle East
     TOHAK (13)
     SECTO (1)-(2)
     TOSEC
     Security Conditions
     Summary of Developments in Your Absence
April 4-7, 1975 - Palm Springs, California
     General
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)-(5)
     SECTO
     TOSEC
April 1975 - Latin America (1) [trip cancelled]

Box 12             Kissinger Trip File
April 1975 – Latin America (2) [trip cancelled]
May 18-23, 1975 - Europe
     Briefing Memorandum for Secretary
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)-(6)
     Secretary – Statement and Speech
     SECTO (1)-(2)

Box 13             Kissinger Trip File
May 18-23, 1975 - Europe
     TOSEC (1)-(2)
     State Department Telegrams - EXDIS
     State Department Telegrams - NODIS
     Summary of Developments in Your Absence
May 26 - June 3, 1975 - Europe
     General
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)-(5)

Box 14             Kissinger Trip File
May 26 - June 3, 1975 - Europe
     TOHAK (6)-(12)
     SECTO (1)-(2)
     TOSEC (1)-(2)
     Summary of Developments in Your Absence

Box 15             Kissinger Trip File
June 27 - July 4, 1975 - Caneel Bay, Virgin Islands
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)-(4)
     SECTO
     TOSEC (1)-(5
     Summary of Developments in Your Absence

Box 16             Kissinger Trip File
July 9-12, 1975 - Europe
     General
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)-(2)
     Secretary's Meeting with Gromyko (1)-(3)
     SECTO (1)-(3)
     TOSEC (1)-(6)

Box 17             Kissinger Trip File
July 9-12, 1975 – Europe
     TOSEC (7)-(8)
     Security Conditions
July 14-17, 1975 - Milwaukee, Wisconsin
     HAKTO
     TOHAK
     SECTO
     TOSEC
August 20 - September 3, 1975 - Middle East
     General
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO (1)-(3)
     TOHAK (1)-(3)

Box 18             Kissinger Trip File
August 20 – September 3, 1975 – Middle East
     TOHAK (4)-(8)
     Miscellaneous Cables - Alexandria (1)-(4)
     Miscellaneous Cables - Amman
     Miscellaneous Cables - Damascus
     Miscellaneous Cables - Ed
     Miscellaneous Cables - Jerusalem (1)

Box 19             Kissinger Trip File
August 20 - September 3, 1975 - Middle East
     Miscellaneous Cables – Jerusalem (2)
     Miscellaneous Cables - Jidda
     Miscellaneous Cables - London
     Miscellaneous Cables - Sana
     Miscellaneous Cables – Tel Aviv
     SECTO (1)-(7)
     TOSEC (1)-(10)
     Soviet Position on Sinai Agreements – Secretary’s Copy

Box 20             Kissinger Trip File
August 20 – September 3, 1975 – Middle East
     State Department Cables
     Summary of Developments in Your Absence
September 15-17, 1975 - Orlando, Florida and Cincinnati, Ohio
September 21-25, 1975 and September 28 - October 1, 1975 - United Nations
     CIA LDX
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (9/21-25/75) (1)-(2)
     TOHAK (9/28-10/1/75)
     SECTO (1)-(2)
     TOSEC (1)-(2)
October 14-15, 1975 - Ottawa
     General
     TOHAK
     SECTO
     TOSEC

Box 21             Kissinger Trip File
October 19-23, 1975 - People's Republic of China
     Briefing Book for China - Bilateral Issues (1)-(2)
     Briefing Book for China - Third Country Issues (1)-(2)
     Briefing Book for Tokyo Meetings (1)-(2)
     Cables - Peking
     Cables - Seoul
     Cables - Taipei
     Cables - Tokyo
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO (1)-(2)
     TOHAK (1)

Box 22             Kissinger Trip File
October 19-23, 1975 – People’s Republic of China
     TOHAK (2)-(4)
     SECTO (1)-(2)
     TOSEC (1)-(5)

Box 23             Kissinger Trip File
October 19-23, 1975 - People's Republic of China
     TOSEC (6)-(13)
October 30, 1975 - New York
     TOHAK
     TOSEC
November 3, 1975 - Jacksonville, Florida
     HAKTO
     Talking Points for the President
     TOSCO
     TOSEC
November 11-12, 1975 - Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
December 7-8, 1975 - Tokyo
     HAKTO

Box 24             Kissinger Trip File
December 7-8, 1975 - Tokyo
     TOHAK (1)-(2)
     SECTO
     TOSEC
December 10-17, 1975 - Europe (Brussels, London, Paris, Nuremberg)
     General
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)-(3)
     SECTO (1)-(7)

Box 25             Kissinger Trip File
December 10-17, 1975 - Europe (Brussels, London, Paris, Nuremberg)
     TOSEC (1)-(11)
December 26, 1975 - Jamaica
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)

Box 26             Kissinger Trip File
December 26, 1975 - Jamaica
     TOHAK (2)-(4)
     SECTO
     TOSEC (1)-(2)
January 20-25, 1976 - Moscow, Brussels, Madrid
     Briefing Book - Brussels (1)-(5)
     Briefing Book - Copenhagen
     Briefing Book – Madrid

Box 27             Kissinger Trip File
January 20-25, 1976 – Moscow, Brussels, Madrid
     Briefing Book - Moscow (1)-(4)
     Briefing Book - Other Arms Control Issues (1)-(5)
     General
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO

Box 28             Kissinger Trip File
January 20-25, 1976 - Moscow, Brussels, Madrid
     TOHAK (1)-(3)
     SECTO (1)-(3)
     TOSEC (1)-(5)

Box 29             Kissinger Trip File
January 20-25, 1976 – Moscow, Brussels, Madrid
     TOSEC (6)-(9)
February 2-4, 1976 - West Coast
     Briefing Book
     HAKTO
     TOHAK
     SECTO (1)-(3)
     TOSEC
February 7-15, 1976 – Boston, Massachusetts
          TOHAK

Box 30             Kissinger Trip File
February 7-15, 1976 - Boston, Massachusetts
     SECTO
     TOSEC (1)-(2)
February 16-25, 1976 - Latin America
     General (1)-(2)
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)-(3)
     SECTO (1)-(4)

Box 31             Kissinger Trip File
February 16-25, 1976 - Latin America
     TOSEC (1)-(8)
     Security Conditions
February 27 - March 2, 1976 - Palm Springs, California
     HAKTO
     TOHAK
     SECTO
     TOSEC
March 23, 1976 - Dallas, Texas
     HAK Speech
     TOHAK
     SECTO
     TOSEC

Box 32             Kissinger Trip File
April 17-20, 1976 - Palm Springs, California
     HAK Speech in Phoenix on April 16
     HAKTO
     TOHAK
     Memorandum for General Scowcroft
     TOSEC
April 23 – May, 1976 – Africa
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO (1)-(2)
     TOHAK (1)-(4)

Box 33             Kissinger Trip File
April 23 - May 7, 1976 - Africa
     TOHAK (5)
     Miscellaneous Cables (1)-(2)
     SECTO (1)-(10)
     TOSEC (1)

Box 34             Kissinger Trip File
April 23 - May 7, 1976 - Africa
     TOSEC (2)-(15)

Box 35             Kissinger Trip File
April 23 - May 7, 1976 - Africa
     TOSEC (16)-(18)
May 19-27, 1976 - Europe (Oslo, Bonn, Stockholm, Luxembourg)
     General
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO (1)-(2)
     TOHAK (1)-(7)

Box 36             Kissinger Trip File
May 19-27, 1976 - Europe (Oslo, Bonn, Stockholm, Luxembourg)
     SECTO (1)-(5)
     TOSEC (1)-(8)
     Security Conditions
June 5, 1976 – Latin America
     TOHAK
June 6-13, 1976 - Latin America
     General
     HAK Messages for the President

Box 37             Kissinger Trip File
June 6-13, 1976 - Latin America
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)-(2)
     SECTO (1)-(4)
     TOSEC (1)-(4)

Box 38             Kissinger Trip File
June 6-13, 1976 – Latin America
     TOSEC (5)-(7)
June 20-28, 1976 - Paris, Munich, London, San Juan, Puerto Rico
     Briefing Book - HAK European Trip and Puerto Rico Summit
     Briefing Book - HAK-Vorster Meeting (1)-(3)
     General (1)-(2)
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAK Speech - Alastair Buchan Memorial Lecture, 6/25/76
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)

Box 39             Kissinger Trip File
June 20-28, 1976 - Paris, Munich, London, San Juan, Puerto Rico
     TOHAK (2)
     SECTO (1)-(3)
     TOSEC (1)-(6)
July 21-25, 1976 - Seattle, Portland, Bohemian Grove, New Fame, Vermont
     HAK Speech - Seattle
     TOHAK
     SECTO (1)-(2)
     TOSEC

Box 40             Kissinger Trip File
August 4-11, 1976 - London, Tehran, Kabul, Islamabad, Deauville, The Hague
     General
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)-(3)
     SECTO (1)-(4)
     TOSEC (1)-(5)

Box 41             Kissinger Trip File
August 4-11, 1976 – London, Tehran, Kabul, Islamabad, Deauville, The Hague
     TOSEC (6)
September 3-7, 1976 - London, Zurich
     General
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO
     TOHAK (1)-(2)
     SECTO (1)-(2)
     TOSEC (1)-(3)
September 13-24, 1976 - South Africa, London
     General (1)-(3)

Box 42             Kissinger Trip File
September 13-24, 1976 – South Africa, London
     General (4)-(8)
     HAK Messages for the President
     HAKTO (1)-(2)
     TOHAK (1)-(8)

Box 43             Kissinger Trip File
September 13-24, 1976 - South Africa, London
     SECTO (1)-(8)
     TOSEC (1)-(8)

Box 44             Kissinger Trip File
September 13-24, 1976 - South Africa, London
     TOSEC (9)-(15)
September 29-30, 1976 - USUN [United Nations]
     TOHAK
     SECTO (1)-(2)
     TOSEC
October 6-9, 1976 - USUN [United Nations]
     TOHAK
     SECTO
     TOSEC
November 23 - December 2, 1976 - Acapulco, Mexico City
     General
     HAKTO
     TOHAK

Box 45             Kissinger Trip File
November 23 – December 2, 1976 – Acapulco, Mexico City
     SECTO
     TOSEC (1)-(4)
December 7-12, 1976 - Brussels, London
     Briefing Book - NATO - Agenda (1)-(5)
     Briefing Book - NATO - Background Papers (1)-(2)
     Briefing Book - NATO - Bilaterals/Biographies (1)-(2)

Box 46             Kissinger Trip File
December 7-12, 1976 – Brussels, London
     Briefing Book – NATO – Bilaterals/Biographies (3)-(5)
     General
     HAKTO
     TOHAK
     SECTO
     TOSEC (1)-(3)
December 25, 1976 - January 2, 1977 - Acapulco, Mexico
     HAKTO
     TOHAK
     TOSEC