Gerald R. Ford Museum
Exhibits, Events, Education Center

303 Pearl Street, NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49504

616-254-0400 (tel)
616-254-0386 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Museum Facebook Page

Hours: 9:00am-5:00pm (Mon-Sat)
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm Sundays
(Closed New Year's, Thanksgiving, & Christmas Days)


Gerald R. Ford Library
Research, Events, Small Exhibits

1000 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

734-205-0555 (tel)
734-205-0571 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Library Facebook Page

Hours: 8:45am-4:45pm (Mon-Fri)
(Closed Federal Holidays)



National Security Adviser.
NSC East Asian and Pacific Affairs Staff:
Files, 1969-1977

Collection Finding Aid


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Materials of Richard Solomon and his staff concerning U.S. relations with and events in specific countries in the Far East and Pacific Ocean; trips there by American officials; visits to the U.S. by Asian and Pacific leaders; U.S. territories in the Pacific; and meetings of the National Security Council, Washington Special Actions Group, and Senior Review Group.

QUANTITY
16.8 linear feet (ca. 33,600 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-118)

ACCESS
Open, but some materials continue to be national security classified and restricted.  Access is governed by the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, and National Archives and Records Administration regulations (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyright to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Helmi Raaska, August 1997; revised March 2010; revised and expanded by Geir Gundersen, December 2011.
[s:\bin\findaid\nsc\NSC East Asian and Pacific Affairs Staff]


INTRODUCTION

The “NSC East Asian and Pacific Affairs Staff Files” is a subcollection of the National Security Adviser Files.  The provenance of the Ford Library’s National Security Adviser Files is described in Appendix A.

The NSC East Asia and Pacific staff provided foreign policy support to the President, Vice President, and National Security Adviser on bilateral and multilateral relations in the region.  This included, for example, the preparation of briefing materials, talking papers, schedule proposals, Qs and As, and courtesy messages.  The staff also served as points of contact for the Legislative branch, American businesses, inter-American organizations, and the general public.  It often assisted with Congressional and constituent services. 

The NSC East Asia and Pacific staff was headed by NSC Senior Staff Member Richard H. Solomon, a renowned China expert.  Solomon joined the NSC in August 1971 and carried over from the Nixon administration when Gerald Ford became President in August 1974.  Solomon left the NSC in July 1976 and was replaced by William H. Gleysteen, Jr.  Other staff members included Thomas J. Barnes, John A. Froebe, Jr., Kenneth Quinn, W. Richard Smyser, and William L. Stearman.

Scope and Content
The collection is comprised of eleven series.  Many contain materials from the Nixon administration, and the subject content of numerous series overlaps.  The materials tend to duplicate materials found in other collections (such as those listed under Related Materials), but some of the internal memoranda and supporting materials used in creating final versions of documents prepared for the President and Vice President may not be found elsewhere.

The Country File contains strong materials on the normalization of relations with the People’s Republic of China; the Vietnam War within the realm of South Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos; and the United Nations Command and US military presence in Korea.  

The Indochina Chronological File primarily focuses on the fall of South Vietnam and evacuation from Saigon, and the Mayaguez Incident, in which communist Cambodia seized a U.S. merchant vessel in international waters.

 The Subject File contains materials on the Vietnam War and U.S. relations with many of the countries in the region.  Of particular interest are memoranda of conversations from Secretary of State Henry Kissinger’s and President Gerald Ford’s meetings with foreign leaders, and several National Security Study Memoranda (NSSMs) regarding U.S. policy and security objectives in the region.

The Trip File contains material on trips made by Alexander Haig, Secretary of State Henry Kissinger, President Gerald Ford, and Vice President Nelson Rockefeller to such places as Australia, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Paris Peace Talks, People’s Republic of China, the Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, and Southeast Asia.

The Visits File contains material for head of state visits from Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Indonesia, and Australia.  Also included is a private visit by the Australian Prime Minister during the Nixon administration. 

The Meetings File contains materials from meetings of the Washington Special Actions Group (WSAG), Senior Review Group (SRG), and National Security Council (NSC).  The primary topics are the evacuation from Saigon and the Mayaguez Incident, but there are also materials on North and South Korea, including the Korean Tree Incident, Philippine base negotiations, Taiwan, Thailand, and “US Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Area.”

The materials in the Mayaguez File focus on the General Accounting Office (GAO) postmortem report on the Mayaguez Incident.  The President directed the Secretaries of State and Defense and Director of Central Intelligence to provide the GAO with detailed chronologies, copies of each verbal and written order, and observations or suggestions on the improvement of NSC machinery.

The Philippine Base Negotiations File contains detailed material from the 1976 U.S.-Philippine negotiations which ultimately led to a new U.S.-Philippine Facilities Agreement.

The Working Files on Guam, Micronesia, and Korea series contains materials on the NSC Under Secretaries Committee study on Guam and its proposal for negotiating a new political relationship; the future status of the Trust Territories of the Pacific; Ambassador William Kintner’s report on “U.S. Policy Interests in the Asian-Pacific Area;” the UN Command in Korea; the military situation on the Korean Peninsula; and the status of the Korean Northwest Islands.   

The Richard Solomon Subject File pertains primarily to the People’s Republic of China, including Secretary of State Kissinger’s 1974 trip to the PRC, seabed exploration in the China Sea, and the PRC and U.S. Liaison Offices.  There is also information on the Interagency Group on Research and Education in Foreign Affairs.

The Richard Solomon Chronological File contains materials created in whole or in part by Solomon on the People’s Republic of China.  The materials cover all aspects of U.S. relations with the PRC and include many analytical items reflective of Richard Solomon’s expertise on Chinese affairs.

Related Materials (December 2011)
The most closely related materials are in the National Security Adviser’s Presidential Country Files for East Asia and the Pacific, Trip Briefing Books and Cables of President Ford, Presidential Briefing Materials for VIP Visits, Presidential Correspondence with Foreign Leaders, Kissinger-Scowcroft West Wing Office Files, Kissinger Reports to the President on USSR, China, and Middle East Discussions, Trip Briefing Books and Cables of  Henry Kissinger, and U.S. National Security Council Institutional Files.  Several categories of the White House Central Files Subject File, especially country files, also contain related materials.  Researchers can identify the file locations of additional materials relating to East Asia and the Pacific or to specific countries from PRESNET search reports, which are available upon request.


Series Descriptions

Boxes 1-12         Country File, 1969-76.  (4.6 linear feet)
Memoranda, memoranda of conversations, briefing papers, reports, cables, and correspondence on U.S. diplomatic relations with countries of the Far East, in particular Australia, Cambodia, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Laos, People’s Republic of China, Republic of China (Taiwan), and Vietnam.  Substantive topics include the Vietnam War, U.S. and refugee evacuation from South Vietnam, the Mayaguez Incident, the United Nations Command in Korea, normalization of relations with the People’s Republic of China, U.S. policy and security interests in the region, and military assistance.         
Arranged alphabetically by name of country.

Boxes 12-14         Indochina Chronological File, February-June 1975.  (1 linear  foot)
Memoranda, briefing papers, intelligence reports, cables, statements, and correspondence regarding the fall of South Vietnam and the evacuation of Saigon, the Mayaguez Incident, South Vietnam and Cambodia under communist rule, and refugees.
Arranged chronologically.

Boxes 14-16         Subject File, 1969-76.  (0.8 linear foot)
Memoranda, memoranda of conversations, briefing papers, correspondence, and biographies on a variety of topics including foreign aid, human rights, International Commission of Control and Supervision in Vietnam, military exercises, POWs/MIAs, U.S. policy and security objectives in the region, U.S. bilateral relations with most countries in the region, and the Vietnam War.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Boxes 17-20         Trip File, 1972-76.  (1.6 linear feet)
Memoranda, memoranda of conversations, briefing papers, reports, cables, correspondence, press releases, biographies, and newspaper clippings regarding trips by Alexander Haig, Secretary of State Henry Kissinger, President Gerald Ford, and Vice President Nelson Rockefeller.  Included are Haig’s 1972 and 1973 trips to Southeast Asia; Kissinger’s trips to the Paris Peace Talks and in 1973 to the People’s Republic of China; Ford’s 1974 trip to Japan, South Korea, and the Soviet Union, and his 1975 trip to the Philippines and Indonesia; and Rockefeller’s 1976 trip to Australia, New Zealand, Malaysia, and Singapore.
Arranged chronologically by date of trip.

Boxes 21-23         Visits File, 1973-76.  (1.2 linear feet)
Memoranda, memoranda of conversations, briefing papers, reports, cables, correspondence, press releases, and biographies for head of state visits from Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Indonesia, and Australia.  Also included is a private visit by Prime Minister GoughWhitlam of Australia during the Nixon administration.  The materials address U.S. bilateral relations with each country and multilateral issues within the region.
Arranged chronologically by date of visit.

Boxes 24-27         Meetings File, 1973-76.  (1.6 linear feet)
Memoranda, briefing papers, agendas, memoranda of conversations, meeting minutes, and notes from meetings of the Washington Special Actions Group (WSAG), Senior Review Group (SRG), and National Security Council (NSC).  Topics include South Vietnam, Cambodia, North and South Korea, the Korean Tree Incident, Thailand, Taiwan, the evacuation of Saigon, the Mayaguez Incident, Philippine base negotiations, and “U.S. Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Area.”
Arranged chronologically by date of meeting.

Boxes 28-30         Mayaguez File, 1975-76.  (1.2 linear feet)
Memoranda, briefing papers, chronologies, reports, memoranda of conversations, summaries, statements, meeting minutes, and cables compiled and created during a Mayaguez postmortem study conducted by the General Accounting Office (GAO) at the request of the President.  Included is the final report to the President.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Boxes 31-33         Philippine Base Negotiations Subject File, 1976.  (1.2 linear feet)
Memoranda, briefing papers, cables, meeting minutes, memoranda of conversations, reports, and treaty drafts from negotiations between the U.S. and Philippines for a new U.S.-Philippine Facilities Agreement.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Boxes 34-37         Working Files on Guam, Micronesia, and Korea (with a copy of the Kintner report), 1973-77.  (1.6 linear feet)
Memoranda, reports, briefing papers, and cables regarding Guam, the Trust Territories of the Pacific, and Korea.  Particular topics include the NSC Under Secretaries Committee study on Guam; the future status of the Trust Territories of the Pacific, in particular the Marianas and Micronesia; the UN Command in Korea; the military situation on the Korean Peninsula; the status of the Korean Northwest Islands; and Ambassador William Kintner’s report on “U.S. Policy Interests in the Asian-Pacific Area.”    
Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Boxes 38-40         Richard Solomon Subject File, 1974-76.  (1 linear foot)
Memoranda, briefing papers, cables, memoranda of conversations, reports, correspondence, Qs & As, and notes pertaining primarily to the People’s Republic of China.  Materials address Secretary of State Kissinger’s 1974 trip to the PRC, seabed exploration in the China Sea, and interactions with the Liaison Offices of both the PRC and U.S.  There is also information on the Interagency Group on Research and Education in Foreign Affairs.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Boxes 40-42         Richard Solomon Chronological File, 1974-76.  (1 linear foot)
Logs, memoranda, briefing papers, cables, memoranda of conversations, reports, correspondence, and Qs & As on the People’s Republic of China created in whole or in part by Senior Staff member Richard Solomon.  The materials cover all aspects of U.S. relations with the PRC and include many analytical items about the political scene in China.  Also included are Solomon’s comments on declassification requests received by the NSC for documents on the Far East and Pacific, in particular China, and his handwritten and typed logs listing the documents in this file.
Arranged chronologically.


Container List

Box 1              Country File
Australia (1)-(3)
Australia - NSSM 204 (1)-(4)
Burma
Cambodia
Cambodia - Biographical Data on Khmer Personalities (1)-(2)
Cambodia - Institutional (1)-(2)

Box 2              Country File
Cambodia - NSSM 99 (1)-(2)
Cambodia - NSSM 152 (1)-(5)
China, Republic of (1)-(2)

Box 3              Country File
China, Republic of (3)-(5)
China, Republic of – Taipei’s Nuclear Program
Indonesia (1)-(4)
Indonesia - NSSM 205 (1)-(2)
Japan (1)-(3)

Box 4              Country File
Japan (4)-(5)
Japan - NSSM 172 (1)-(9)

Box 5              Country File
Japan - NSSM 210
Korea (1)-(8)
Korea - NSDM 48

Box 6              Country File
Laos (1)-(6)
Malaysia
Mongolia
People’s Republic of China (1)-(4)

Box 7              Country File
People’s Republic of China (5)-(14)

Box 8              Country File
People’s Republic of China (15)-(16)
People’s Republic of China - Exchanges [exchange programs] (1)-(7)
People’s Republic of China - Korea (1)

Box 9              Country File
People’s Republic of China - Korea (2)-(6)
People’s Republic of China - National Council for US-China Trade (1)-(2)
People’s Republic of China - Oil
People’s Republic of China - Soviet Union (1)-(4)

Box 10            Country File
People’s Republic of China - Trade - Air [empty]
People’s Republic of China - Trade - Claims/Blocked Assets
People’s Republic of China - Trade - General (1)-(3)
People’s Republic of China - Trade - TCK/Wheat
People’s Republic of China - United Nations
Philippines
Philippines - NSSM 155
Philippines - NSSM 180
Singapore
Singapore - NSSM 218
Thailand
Thailand - NSSM 240

Box 11            Country File
Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands
Vietnam (1)-(13)

Box 12            Country File
Vietnam - Evacuation (SouthVietnam)
Vietnam - NSSM 213 (1)-(4)
                         Indochina Chronological File
February 1, 1975 - March 12, 1975

Box 13            Indochina Chronological File
March 13, 1975 - May 19, 1975

Box 14            Indochina Chronological File
May 20, 1975 - June 3, 1975
                         Subject File
Foreign Aid (1)-(2)
General
Human Rights
Intelligence Memoranda
International Commission of Control and Supervision in Viet Nam (1)-(2)
Kissinger Memcons (1)-(4)

Box 15            Subject File
Kissinger Memcons (5)-(6)
Lon Nol (1)-(2) [Cambodia]
Military Exercises (1)-(3)
NSDMs (1)-(2)
NSSMs
NSSM 171 [U.S. Strategy for Asia] (1)-(2)
NSSM 235 [U.S. Interests and Security Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Area] (1)-(2)

Box 16            Subject File
NSSM 235 [U.S. Interests and Security Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Area] (3)-(8)
POW-MIA (1)-(2)
President Ford Memcons (1)-(4)
United Nations General Assembly - EA Bilaterals, September 1974 (1)-(2)

Box 17            Trip File
Haig Trip to Southeast Asia, December 1972
Kissinger Trip to Hanoi and Thailand, February 1973
Haig Trip to Southeast Asia, April 1973 (1)-(5)
Kissinger Trip to Paris, May 1973
Kissinger Trip to Paris, June 1973
Kissinger Trip to PRC, November 1973 (1)-(6)

Box 18            Trip File
President Ford’s Trip to Seoul, November 1974 (1)-(3)
President Ford’s Trip to Tokyo, November 1974 (1)-(4)
President Ford’s Trip to the U.S.S.R., November 1974
President Ford’s Trip to the Philippines and Indonesia, December 1975 (1)-(5)

Box 19            Trip File
President Ford’s Trip to the Philippines and Indonesia, December 1975 (6)-(17)

Box 20            Trip File
Vice President’s Trip to East Asia, March - April 1976 (1)-(13)

Box 21            Visits File
Prime Minister E. Gough Whitlam of Australia, July 30, 1973 (1)-(2) [private visit]
Prime Minister Kakuei Tanaka of Japan, July 31 - August 1, 1973 (1)-(3)
Prime Minister Norman E. Kirk of New Zealand, September 26-29, 1973 (1)-(2)
Prime Minister Lee of Singapore, May 8, 1975 (1)-(3)
Prime Minister Suharto of Indonesia, July 5, 1975 (1)-(2)

Box 22            Visits File
Prime Minister Suharto of Indonesia, July 5, 1975 (3)-(4)
Prime Minister Miki of Japan, August 6-7, 1975 (1)-(9)
Emperor and Empress of Japan, October 2-4, 1975 (1)-(2)

Box 23            Visits File
Emperor and Empress of Japan, October 2-4, 1975 (3)-(6)
Prime Minister Miki of Japan, June 29-30, 1976 (1)-(4)
Prime Minister Fraser of Australia, July 27-29, 1976 (1)-(6)

Box 24            Meetings File
WSAG, November 29, 1973 [South Vietnam]
WSAG Working Group, December 4, 1973 [North Korea]
WSAG, December 6, 1973 - Not Held [North Korea]
WSAG, January 25, 1974 [Indochina]
WSAG, Proposed Thai WSAG [January 30, 1974]
SRG, February 15, 1974, Korea (1)-(2)
WSAG, July 17, 1974, Indochina
SRG, November 11, 1974, Japan (NSSM 210) (1)-(2)
WSAG, January 7, 1975, Indochina (1)-(3)
WSAG, February 27, 1975, Cambodia

Box 25            Meetings File
WSAG, March 20, 1975, South Vietnam and Cambodia
WSAG, March 27, 1975, Indochina
WSAG, April 2, 1975, Indochina and Cambodia
NSC, April 9, 1975, Indochina (1)-(3)
WSAG, April 17, 1975, Evacuation
WSAG, April 19, 1975, Evacuation (1)-(4)
WSAG, April 20, 1975, Evacuation

Box 26            Meetings File
WSAG, April 21, 1975, Evacuation
WSAG, April 22, 1975, Evacuation
WSAG, April 23, 1975, Evacuation
NSC, April 24, 1975, Evacuation
WSAG, April 26, 1975, Evacuation
NSC, April 28, 1975, Evacuation
WSAG, April 28, 1975, Evacuation
WSAG, April 29, 1975, Evacuation
NSC, May 12, 1975, Mayaguez
NSC, May 13, 1975, Mayaguez (10:22 a.m.)
NSC, May 13, 1975, Mayaguez (10:40 p.m.) (1)-(2)
NSC, May 14, 1975, Mayaguez (1)-(3)
NSC, May 15, 1975, Mayaguez

Box 27            Meetings File
WSAG, May 17, 1975, Indochina [cancelled]?
WSAG, June 27, 1975, Indochina [cancelled]?
SRG, October 17, 1975, Thailand (1)-(3)
SRG, February 27, 1976, U.S. Troop Reductions on Taiwan, Copy I
SRG, February 27, 1976, U.S. Troop Reductions on Taiwan, Copy II
SRG, February 27, 1976, U.S. Equipment Captured in Indochina
SRG, June 4, 1976, U.S. Interests and Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Area (NSSM 235) (1)-(2)
WSAG, August 18, 1976, Korean Incident
WSAG, August 19, 1976, Korean Incident
NSC, October 14, 1976, Philippine Base Negotiations and Military Assistance to Zaire

Box 28            Mayaguez File
Central Intelligence Agency - General
Central Intelligence Agency - Report to the President, May 20, 1975
Central Intelligence Agency - Report to the President, May 23, 1975
Central Intelligence Agency - Report to the President, August 13, 1975
Congressional/GAO Investigations - GAO Report (1)-(2)
Congressional/GAO Investigations - Memoranda (1)-(2)
Defense Intelligence Agency
Department of Defense - CINCPAC (1)-(3)
Department of Defense - General
Department of Defense - Joint Chiefs of Staff - Cables (1)-(2)
Department of Defense - Joint Chiefs of Staff - General

Box 29            Mayaguez File
Department of Defense - Joint Chiefs of Staff - Report to the President, May 20, 1975 (1)-(5)
Department of State - General (1)-(2)
Department of State - Telegrams and Cables (1)-(2)
Draft Report to the President, Undated (1)-(3)
Draft Report to the President, June 23, 1975
Draft Report to the President, October 16, 1975 (1)

Box 30            Mayaguez File
Draft Report to the President, October 16, 1975 (2)
Drafts of the Chronology (1)-(3)
Handwritten Notes
Mayaguez - General
National Security Agency
NSC Meeting, May 12, 1975
NSC Meeting, May 13, 1975
NSC Meeting, May 14, 1975
NSC Meeting, May 15, 1975
NSC Memoranda
NSC Memoranda re Report to the President
Press Wire Stories
White House Situation Room Cables, May 12-13, 1975
White House Situation Room Cables, May 14, 1975
White House Situation Room Cables, May 15, 1975 (1)-(2)
White House Situation Room Cables, July 19, 1975
White House Situation Room - Updates
White House Statements

Box 31            Philippine Base Negotiations Subject File
Back Channel Communications
Background Information for Meeting with Habib re Philippine Base Negotiations (1)-(2)
Breakthrough in Philippine Base Negotiations
Briefing for the President on Philippine Base Negotiations
Briefing Memorandum - The Secretary’s Meeting with Foreign Secretary Romulo, 4/12/76 (1)-(2)
Meeting Minutes
Memorandum of Conversations (1)-(2)
Military Bases Agreement
Military Bases Agreement - Analysis of Initial Philippine Draft
Military Bases Agreement - Articles Agreed Upon and New U.S. Proposals (1)-(3)
Negotiation of the United States-Philippine Military Bases Agreement of 1947 - Research Project No. 319, February 1953 (1)-(3)
News Stories
Next Steps in the Philippine Base Negotiations
Philippine Base Negotiations (1)-(2)

Box 32            Philippine Base Negotiations Subject File
Philippine Base Negotiations - Administration Position
Philippine Base Negotiations - Articles - Preamble
Philippine Base Negotiations - Articles I, II, III (Definitions, Authorization to Use Facilities, Terms of Use)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Articles III, IV, V (Command, Security, Administration)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Article VI (Access and Movement)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Articles X and XIX (Taxation and Sales and Services)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Articles XI and XX (Use of Public Services and United States Reserve Organizations
Philippine Base Negotiations - Article XIV (Criminal Jurisdiction)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Article XV (Claims)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Articles XVI and XVIII (Post Offices and Local Procurement)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Article XVII (Title to Non-Removable Structures)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Article XIX (Quid)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Article XXI (Grants to a Third Country)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Article XXII (Terms of Agreement)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Currency
Philippine Base Negotiations - Intelligence Sharing
Philippine Base Negotiations - Joint Commission
Philippine Base Negotiations - Key Issues (1)-(2)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Labor
Philippine Base Negotiations - Money Issue
Philippine Base Negotiations - Procedures for Visits of NPWS (Nuclear Powered Warships)
Philippine Base Negotiations - Special Considerations
Philippine Base Negotiations - Summaries/Assessments (1)-(2)
Philippine Base Negotiations - U.S. Obligation Under Mutual Defense Treaty

Box 33            Philippine Base Negotiations Subject File
Philippine Base Negotiations - Unresolved Issues
Questions of Interpretation of the United States-Philippine Military Bases Agreement, 1947-48 - Research Project No. 322, March 1953
Telegrams (1)-(8)
Topics for Meeting with Ko Koy
U.S./Republic of the Philippines Military Facilities Agreement - Drafts (1)-(5)

Box 34            Working Files on Guam, Micronesia, and Korea
Guam Study (Working File) (1)-(11)
Kintner Report - U.S. Policy in the Asian-Pacific Area, 1975 (1)-(5)

Box 35            Working Files on Guam, Micronesia, and Korea
Kintner Report - U.S. Policy in the Asian-Pacific Area, 1975 (6)-(14)
Korea - UN Command (Working File) (1)-(5)
Korean Military Situation (Working File) (1)-(3)

Box 36            Working Files on Guam, Micronesia, and Korea
Korean Northwest Islands (Working File)
Marianas (Working File) (1)-(8)
Micronesia Background Papers (Working File) (1)-(6)

Box 37            Working Files on Guam, Micronesia, and Korea
Micronesia Study (1)-(14)

Box 38            Richard Solomon Subject File
Briefing Items [empty]
Briefing Papers - Kissinger Trip to PRC, 11/74 (1)-(2)
Congressional Trip to PRC
Functions and Organizations of National Security Council Sub-Groups
Hoose, Harned Pettus (1)-(7)
Interagency Group on Research and Education in Foreign Affairs (1)-(3)

Box 39            Richard Solomon Subject File
Interagency Group on Research and Education in Foreign Affairs (4)-(6)
Invitations Accepted
Law of the Sea (The PRC Attitude Toward Seabed Exploration in the China Sea)
PRC (1)-(6)
PRC - Liaison Office (1)-(4)

Box 40            Richard Solomon Subject File
PRC - Press (General)
Presidential Talkers
Questions and Answers (1)-(2)
Status Report on NSSMs, May 1, 1976
Travel - Richard Solomon
United States Liaison Office (1)-(2)
                        Richard Solomon Chronological File
Handwritten Log, 1971-76
August 14, 1974 – October 2, 1974
October 28, 1974
November 14, 1974 – December 4, 1974
February 1975
April-May 1975
July 1-3, 1975
July 7-31, 1975
August 1975

Box 41            Richard Solomon Chronological File
September 1975 – November 1975
December 1975
February 1976
March 2-8, 1976
March 10-19, 1976
March 20, 1976
March 22-23, 1976
March 24-31, 1976
April 1-5, 1976
April 6-7, 1976
April 8-14, 1976
April 15, 1976
April 21-27, 1976
April 28-30, 1976

Box 42            Richard Solomon Chronological File
May 3, 1976
May 4, 1976
May 5, 1976
May 7-10, 1976
May 11, 1976
May 12-18, 1976
May 19, 1976
May 20, 1976
May 21, 1976
May 27-28, 1976
June 3-10, 1976
June 10-29, 1976
June 30, 1976