Federal government official with the Council of Economic Advisers, Department of Labor, Department of Housing and Urban Development, Council on Wage and Price Stability, and Office of U.S. Trade Representative:
Papers , 1969-92
Collection Finding Aid
- Summary Description
- Biographical Information
- Introduction
- Related Materials Note
- Series Descriptions
- Container List
The collection contains materials from economist Moskow’s work as a senior official in several departments and agencies during the Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, and George H.W. Bush administrations. They concern such topics as collective bargaining, labor disputes, employment, economic policies, wage and price policies, and U.S. trade.
QUANTITY
7.2 linear feet (ca. 14,400 pages)
DONOR
Michael H. Moskow (accession numbers 2009-NLF-003, 2009-NLF-026, and 2009-NLF-033)
ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
Michael H. Moskow donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.
Prepared by Christian C. Goos, February 2011
Michael H. Moskow
Jan. 7, 1938 - Born Paterson, NJ to Jacob and Sylvia (Edelstein) Moskow
1959 - AB in Economics, Lafayette College
1959-60 - 1st Lieutenant, U.S. Army
1962 - MA in Economics, University of Pennsylvania
1965 - Ph.D. in Economics, University of Pennsylvania
1963-67 - Assistant Professor of Management and Instructor in Economics, Drexel Institute of Technology
1967-69 - Associate Professor of Economics, Temple University, Philadelphia, PA
1969-71 - Senior Staff Economist, U.S. Council Economics Advisers
1970-72 - Executive Director, Construction Industry Collective Bargaining Committee
1971-73 - Deputy Under Secretary, then Assistant Secretary for Policy, Evaluation and Research, Department of Labor
1973-75 - Assistant Secretary for Policy Development and Research, Department of Housing and Urban Development
1975-76 - Director, Council on Wage and Price Stability
1976-77 - Under Secretary, Department of Labor
1977-91 - Senior management positions at three Chicago companies: Esmark, Dart & Kraft, and Premark International
1991-93 - Deputy U.S. Trade Representative
1993-94 - Faculty member, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University
1994-2007 - President & CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
2008-Present - Vice-Chairman and Senior Fellow on the Global Economy at the Chicago Council on Global Affairs
The Moskow Papers contain materials from his positions in Federal departments and agencies during the Nixon, Ford and George H.W. Bush administrations. Among the agencies in which he worked were the Council of Economic Advisers (CEA), Department of Labor, Department of Housing and Urban Development, and Council on Wage and Price Stability. The papers focus on such matters as labor, collective bargaining, employment policy, and international trade.
Approximately three-quarters of the collection consist of a subject file that Moskow kept continuously throughout his work in the Nixon and Ford Administrations. The majority of this material pertains to his work in the Department of Labor and the Council on Wage and Price Stability, but small amounts from his other positions also appears.
The remainder of the collection consists of a small chronological file kept during his time as staff economist for the Council of Economic Advisers and a speech file covering his work as Director of the Council on Wage and Price Stability and Under Secretary of Labor.
Related Materials (February 2011)
Materials in the Ford Library related to wage and price stability and other economic issues can be found in the Arthur Burns Papers and the L. William Seidman Files.
For information pertaining to the CEA see the U.S. Council of Economic Advisers Records. Although some of these records extend back into the later years of the Nixon administration, none cover the years of Moskow’s service with the CEA. The University of Michigan’s Bentley Historical Library (located next door to the Ford Library) holds the papers of Paul McCracken, who was Chairman of the CEA during the years of Moskow’s service there.
Other material related to labor can be found in the White House Central File Subject File category LA (Labor management).
Boxes 1-13 Subject File, 1969-92 (5.2 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, public statements, notes, newspaper clippings, and press releases. The majority of this material pertains to Moskow’s work in the Department of Labor and the Council on Wage and Price Stability, and covers such matters as emergency strike dispute legislation, stabilization of wages and prices in the construction industry, temporary suspension of the Davis-Bacon Act in February 1971, and Phase II of President Nixon’s wage and price policy. Also included is a small amount of material from his work as assistant professor at Temple University, reports and printed material from his work in the Department of Housing and Urban Development, personal biographical material, and a small amount of material relating to his work as Deputy U.S. Trade Representative in the 1990s. Arranged alphabetically.
Box 14 Council of Economic Advisers Chronological File, 1969-70 (0.4 linear feet)
Copies of outgoing letters and memoranda written by Moskow during his appointment as senior staff economist for the Council of Economic Advisers. Arranged chronologically.
Boxes 15-18 Speech File, 1970-76 (1.6 linear feet).
Notes, memoranda, speech drafts, speech and interview transcripts, and travel itinerary mostly pertaining to Moskow’s time as Director of the Council on Wage and Price Stability and Under Secretary of Labor. Some speeches also appear in his Subject File. Arranged chronologically by date of speech.
Box 1 - Subject File
Cabinet Committee on Economic Policy
Collective Bargaining - Public Employment (Permissions)
Collective Bargaining in Public Employment Readings (1)-(3)
Collective Negotiations for Teachers Revision
Construction Industry Stabilization Committee - Membership (Back Material) (1)-(2)
Correspondence - Personal (Congratulatory Letters - Council on Wage and Price Stability)
Box 2 - Subject File
Council on Wage and Price Stability (1)-(8)
Box 3 - Subject File
Council on Wage and Price Stability (9)-(11)
Davis - Bacon (1)-(2)
Davis - Bacon (Suspension) (1)-(5)
Box 4 - Subject File
Davis - Bacon Back Up Material
Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) (1)-(5)
Department of Labor (DOL) Briefing Folder (1)-(2)
Box 5 - Subject File
Domestic Affairs Council - Housing Goals (1)-(2)
Emergency Disputes (Academic Letters)
Emergency Disputes (1)-(9)
Box 6 - Subject File
Emergency Strike Disputes (1)-(7)
Executive Order 11588 (Historical Material) (1)-(5)
Box 7 - Subject File
Fiedler Report Employment and Unemployment (1)-(2)
Eyes Only
HRI - Legislative Strategy (1)-(3)
“Labor Unions in Banking” - July 16, 1970 (1)-(2)
Manpower Policy
Box 8 - Subject File
Michael Moskow’s Memos (1)-(8)
Moskow - VITA
Moskow, Michael H. - Personal - Basic Books
Moskow, Michael H. - Personal - Biographical Sketch (1)-(2)
Box 9 - Subject File
Moskow, Michael H. - Personal - Biographical Forms
Moskow, Michael H. - Personal - Miscellaneous Material
Moskow, Michael H. - Personal - News Articles (1)-(6)
Box 10 - Subject File
Moskow, Michael H. - Personal - Prentice Hall (1)-(3)
Notes
Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSHA) (1)-(8)
Box 11 - Subject File
Phase II (1)-(3)
Press Release - Department of Labor - February 8, 1972
Koster’s Memos (1)-(4)
Random House (1)-(2)
Box 12 - Subject File
Regulations and Purchasing Review Board - Working Committee
Speech Material
Speech Notes
Speeches (1)-(4)
Travel - Department of Labor (DOL)
Box 13 - Subject File
Travel - Personal 1973-74 (1)-(4)
United States Trade Relations (1)-(2)
Box 14 - Council of Economic Advisers Chronological File
August 1-31, 1969
September 1-30, 1969
October 1-31, 1969
November 1-30, 1969
December 1-31, 1969 (1)-(2)
January 1-31, 1970
February 1-28, 1970
March 1-31, 1970
April 1-30, 1970
May 1-31, 1970
June 1-30, 1970
July 1, 1970 (1)-(2)
Box 15 - Speech File
February 9, 1970 - New York University
December 29 -27, 1973 - IRAA Nomination Committee –American Economic Association; New York City, NY
May 10, 1974 - Loeb, Fellowship Lecture; Harvard University, Massachusetts
January 28 - 29, 1975 - AAAS Symposium - Policy Analysis & Urban Life, New York City, NY
March 20, 1975 - AACSB- Embassy Row Hotel, Washington D.C.
May 28, 1975 - Sheraton Park - Solar Energy Industries Association, Inc.
June 24, 1975 - Growing County Powers: Threat to Cities? - Honolulu, Hawaii
August 6 - 8, 1975 - Travel - Rand, Los Angeles, CA
September 3, 1975 –Temple University
October 2, 1975 - New Manpower Researchers Conference, National Lawyers Club, Washington D.C
October 16, 1975 - Collective Bargaining Comm. In Construction - Washington D.C.
October 20, 1975 - American Soc. For Personnel Admin. (ASPA) - Washington D.C.
October 29, 1975 - Union Carbide Corporation, New York City, NY
October 31, 1975 - National Association of Manufacturers, New York City, NY/ Atlanta, GA
November 2-7, 1975 - Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, New Orleans, LA
November 3, 1975 - Covington & Burling, Sheraton - Carlton, Washington D.C.
November 6, 1975 - Inflation Impact Statement Workshop Room 450 OEOB - Washington D.C
Box 16 - Speech File
November 7, 1975 - The Washington Forum, Inc., Palm Beach, FL
November 11-12, 1975 - Building Research Advisory Board (BRAB) Washington D.C.
November 17, 1975 - Meeting with Leonard Woodcock
November 19, 1975 - Grocery Manufacturers of America, Washington D.C.
November 20, 1975 - Rubber Manufacturers Assoc. L’Enfant Plaza Hotel, Washington D.C.
December 4, 1975 - National Association of Manufacturers - New York, NY
December 5, 1975 - Argonsky TV Taping
December 10, 1975 - The Washington Journalism Center, Washington D.C.
December 11, 1975 - Producers’ Council, Inc.
December 17, 1975 - National Economist Club, Washington Hilton Hotel, Washington D.C.
December 29 - 30, 1975 - American Economic Association; Allied Social Science Association, Dallas, TX
January 7, 1976 - Washington Industrial Round Table International Club, Washington D.C.
January 14, 1976 - The Food Group/ National Broiler Council, Sheraton-Carlton, Washington D.C.
January 22, 1976 - Business Week Editors Round Table, New York City, NY
January 28, 1976 - Urban Consortium for Technology Initiatives- U.S. Conference of Mayors - Washington D.C.
February 3, 1976 - Meeting with President Ford
Box 17 - Speech File
February 5, 1976 - The Conference Board, New York City, NY
February 5-6, 1976 - University of California - Los Angeles, NV
February 9, 1976 - Industrial College of the Armed Forces, Washington D.C.
February 18-22, 1976 - Miami, FL
February 24, 1976 - National Environment Development Association National Conference on EEE Issues - Washington D.C.
Feb. 25, 1976 - Press Conference on Steel
March 2, 1976 - Committee for Economic Development, Sheraton - Carlton Hotel, Washington D.C.
March 5-6, 1976 - Labor Policy Association, Williamsburg, VA
March 8, 1976 - TV Show - Robert McNeil Report - WETA, Re: Postal Service
March 10, 1976 - National Press Club Newsmakers Breakfast
March 16, 1976 - Coal Press Conference
March 17, 1976 - Redwood Capital Management, Inc. (The Government Corporation), Baltimore, MD
March 22, 1976 - American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business - George Washington University, Washington D.C.
March 26, 1976 - Federation of American Hospitals
April 1, 1976 - American Enterprise Institute Round Table, Madison Hotel (Dolly Madison Room), Washington D.C
April 3-10, 1976 - OECD Working Party on Industrial Relations, Paris, France
Box 18 - Speech File
April 3-11, 1976 - OECD Meeting, Paris and London
April 19, 1976 - CSC - Bureau of International - Governmental Personnel Programs
April 28, 1976 - Steel Study Meeting
April 28, 1976 - Farleigh Dickinson University - Madison, NJ (Cancelled)
May 1, 1976 - White House Correspondents Assn. Dinner by McGraw Hill, Washington Hilton Hotel, Washington D.C.
May 5, 1976 - National Association of Manufacturers (NAM), Washington D.C.
May 12, 1976 - Brookings - Impact of Rising Medical Costs
May 13, 1976 - Meeting (David Miller - Businessmen) Union Club, Cleveland, OH
September 27, 1976 - Under Secretaries Group Luncheon