Gerald R. Ford Museum
Exhibits, Events, Education Center

303 Pearl Street, NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49504

616-254-0400 (tel)
616-254-0386 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Museum Facebook Page

Hours: 9:00am-5:00pm (Mon-Sat)
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm Sundays
(Closed New Year's, Thanksgiving, & Christmas Days)


Gerald R. Ford Library
Research, Events, Small Exhibits

1000 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

734-205-0555 (tel)
734-205-0571 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Library Facebook Page

Hours: 8:45am-4:45pm (Mon-Fri)
(Closed Federal Holidays)



WARREN K. HENDRIKS, JR.
Director, Office of Presidential Spokesmen:
Files , (1974) 1975-76

Collection Finding Aid


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Material concerning White House efforts to identify administration spokesmen to fill key speaking invitations that the President could not accept.  The bulk of the collection dates from 1976.

QUANTITY
3.2 linear feet (ca. 6,400 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-94)

ACCESS
Open.  Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Samantha Ashby, January 2011
 [s:\bin\findaid\hendriks, warren - files.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

Warren K. Hendricks, Jr.

October 14, 1941 - Born, Chicago, Illinois

1963 - B.A. in Economics, Ripon College; Member of Sigma Chi

1963-69 - Infantry captain, U.S. Army

1968 - Assistant Ceremonies Officer, Washington D.C. - Social Aide to the President, Johnson and Nixon Administrations

1969 - Military Aide to the Chairman of the 1969 Inaugural Committee, J. Willard Marriott

1970-73 - Assistant to Secretary Robert H. Finch, Department of Health, Education and Welfare

1972 - Executive Assistant to the Chairman of the Inaugural Committee, J. Willard Marriott

1973-74 - Assistant Director, Domestic Council

1974 - Deputy to the Director of the Domestic Council

1975 - Associate Director, Domestic Council

January-October 1976 - Director, Presidential Spokesmen’s Office

Unknown dates - Worked for the Aon Corporation

2001-? - Executive Vice President, DHR International, Chicago, Illinois

2007-08 - Director, National Surrogate Operations for John McCain 2008

2010 - President and CEO, The Hendriks Group, Boston, MA

 


INTRODUCTION

Beginning in January 1976, Hendriks served as Director of the Presidential Spokesmen’s Office.  This office handled event invitations that the President had to decline, but which were considered important enough that the administration should be represented at the event.  The office coordinated the schedules of administration spokesmen such as Cabinet officers and agency heads and arranged for them to speak on behalf of the President.

Hendrik’s files consist of correspondence including original invitations, copies of Scheduling and Advance Office Director William Nicholson’s responses declining the invitations on behalf of the President, and letters concerning possible alternative speakers.  The collection also contains Presidential briefing papers, memoranda, the President’s schedule, memoranda concerning proposed additions to the schedule, weekly and monthly planning calendars, spokesmen activity and primary spokesmen schedules, and Ford Convention Film schedules.  Much of the material in these files bears the name Libby Goltra, secretary to William Nicholson, who apparently handled much of the day-to-day work for the Presidential Spokesmen’s Office.

This collection is not a complete record of Hendriks’ work at the White House, because none of the material concerns his earlier work on the staffs of Nixon White House Counsellor Robert H. Finch or the Domestic Council.

Related Materials (January 2011)
The collections received from other staff members in the Scheduling and Advance Office are all closely related, as are portions of White House Central Files categories IV (Invitations) and PR (Public Relations).


Series Descriptions

Boxes 1-5            Subject File, 1975-76.  (1.8 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, calendars, schedules, briefing papers, and political advertising materials.  The material concerns the scheduling of presidential spokesmen and also includes much on the President’s schedule.  The bulk of the file dates from 1976. Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Boxes 5-8            State File, 1975-76.  (1.4 linear feet)
Memoranda, correspondence, and schedules regarding Presidential spokesmen activity.  The bulk of the file dates from 1976. Arranged alphabetically by state.


Container List

Box 1               Subject File
Campaign Jewelry and Buttons
Convention Film (1)-(2)
Planning Calendar - Monthly, January-August 1976 (1)-(8)
Planning Calendar - Weekly, January-August 1976 (1)-(5)
President Ford Committee (PFC) Advocates
President’s Calendar - Proposed Additions, November 1975-January 1976 (1)

Box 2               Subject File
President’s Calendar - Proposed Additions, January-August 1976 (2)-(18)
President’s Schedule January-February 1976 (1)

Box 3               Subject File
President’s Schedule, March-August 1976 (2)-(4)
Presidential Briefing Papers January-February 1975 (1)-(17)

Box 4               Subject File
Presidential Briefing Papers February-May 1975 (1)-(21)
Presidential Spokesmen Activity, January-February 1976 (1)-(2)

Box 5               Subject File
Presidential Spokesmen Activity, February-July 1976 (3)-(5)
Primary Spokesmen Schedules
TV Markets (1)-(2)
State File
Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
California, January-November 1976 (1)-(8)
Colorado

Box 6               State File
Connecticut
Washington, D.C., July-September 1976 (1)-(5)
Florida, February-August 1976 (1)-(5)
Georgia
Idaho
Illinois, June-October 1976 (1)-(5)
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland, July-October 1976 (1)-(2)

Box 7               State File
Massachusetts, June-December 1976 (1)-(2)
Michigan, July-September 1976 (1)-(2)
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Jersey, August-October 1976 (1)-(2)
New Hampshire
New York, February-November 1976 (1)-(8)

Box 8                    State File
North Carolina, July-December 1976 (1)-(2)
Ohio, July-December 1976 (1)-(2)
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas, July-October 1976 (1)-(2)
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia