Gerald R. Ford Museum
Exhibits, Events, Education Center

303 Pearl Street, NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49504

616-254-0400 (tel)
616-254-0386 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Museum Facebook Page

Hours: 9:00am-5:00pm (Mon-Sat)
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm Sundays
(Closed New Year's, Thanksgiving, & Christmas Days)


Gerald R. Ford Library
Research, Events, Small Exhibits

1000 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

734-205-0555 (tel)
734-205-0571 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Library Facebook Page

Hours: 8:45am-4:45pm (Mon-Fri)
(Closed Federal Holidays)



James M. Cannon
Research Interviews and Notes, 1989-1994

Collection Finding Aid


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

The collection contains audiotapes and transcripts of Cannon’s interviews with President Gerald R. Ford, First Lady Betty Ford, White House and congressional staff members, administration officials, members of Congress, and Ford friends.  It also contains Cannon’s notes taken while reading transcripts of Trevor Armbrister’s 1977 interviews with President Ford and a few additional documents and notes.  The material was used in the writing of Cannon’s 1994 book Time and Chance:  Gerald Ford’s Appointment with History.

QUANTITY
1.2 linear feet (ca. 2,400 pages) and 121 audiocassettes

DONOR
James M. Cannon (accession numbers 2000-017, 2001-035, 2006-005, and 2006-006)

ACCESS
In general, interview transcripts and audiotapes are open if the interviewee is either deceased or has completed a release agreement.  Some other items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
James M. Cannon donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyrights to materials  created by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by William McNitt, Jan. 2008; revised Dec. 2008; revised Nov. 2010
[s:\bin\findaid\cannon, james - research interviews and notes.doc]


INTRODUCTION

James M. Cannon, who worked for many years as a journalist and aide to Nelson Rockefeller, joined the Ford White House staff as Executive Director of the Domestic Council in February 1975 and served until the end of the Ford administration.  Many years later he approached President Ford with a plan to write a book about the President’s life and career.  That project resulted in the publication of Time and Chance:  Gerald Ford’s Appointment with History (New York: HarperCollins, 1994), with a projected second volume.

This collection documents some of Mr. Cannon’s work in planning and researching the book.  It contains tapes and transcripts for interviews he conducted with President Ford and many others along with Cannon’s notes on other sources (especially the 1977 interviews with President Ford conducted by Trevor Armbrister).  It also includes some lengthy letters written to Cannon by Presidents Ford and Nixon.  For the Ford interviews, each folder contains both the rough transcripts created by Mr. Cannon and full transcripts created by the staff of the Ford Library.

The interviews conducted with President Ford by Mr. Cannon concern all phases of his life from his childhood through the Presidency and even touch on the 1980 presidential campaign.  Perhaps due to the fact that the book does not cover most of the Ford Presidency, these interviews deal only with a limited number of topics from the White House years – mostly the transition, the Nixon Pardon, and some aspects of the 1976 presidential campaign.  There is extensive discussion on many earlier aspects of Ford’s life and career, however.  The interviews concern his parents, his stepfather, elementary school, high school, University of Michigan, Yale University, his girlfriend Phyllis Brown, his work as an attorney, his World War II experiences, the 1948 congressional campaign, work on the House Appropriations Committee, the Fords’ homes in Grand Rapids and Washington, the Warren Commission, election as Minority Leader, the attempt to impeach Supreme Court Justice William O. Douglas, Watergate and the Nixon impeachment, and the resignation of Spiro Agnew as Vice President and the appointment of Ford to replace him.  Any individual interview many discuss a number of these topics in no special order, so it may be necessary to examine portions of several different interviews to see all of the information on any one topic.

Cannon’s research notes on other sources are ones that he took while researching Time and Chance.  One major resource that he used was the 3641 pages of interviews with Ford conducted by Trevor Armbrister in 1977 to assist with the writing of President Ford’s memoir A Time to Heal.  Although Cannon’s notes include frequent short quotations from the Armbrister interviews, they serve primarily as an index to them.  Therefore these notes contain nowhere near the level of detail that appears in the complete Armbrister-Ford interviews (which are not included in this collection).  Other Cannon notes concern both additional sources and notes to himself about plans for researching and writing the book.

The Library staff has opened Cannon’s research notes, Cannon rough interview transcripts, Cannon’s interview audiotapes, and the Library-created complete transcripts of the Gerald Ford interviews.  Many audiotapes are still closed to research (see list in Appendix A).  The Library staff hopes to begin reviewing, transcribing and opening other tapes as time permits.

 

November 2010 Opening of Interviews
The Library staff finished transcription and editing work on 29 additional interviews in November 2010.  Four of the newly opened interviews focus in part or in whole on President Ford’s early life or personal relationships: Phyllis Brown, Philip Buchen, John Hersey, and Bill & Peggy Whyte.  Four focus in part of in whole on his Congressional career: Robert Hartmann, Mildred Leonard, John Rhodes, and Gordon Vander Till.

Many interviews focus on the period from October 1973 to December 1974 including Gerald Ford’s nomination and confirmation as Vice President, Watergate, Nixon impeachment, Nixon Pardon, and Nelson Rockefeller’s nomination and confirmation as Vice President.  Quite a few of these interviews are with members of Congress: Carl Albert, Howard Cannon, Hamilton Fish, Barry Goldwater, Mike Mansfield, and Charles Wiggins.  Others are with White House staff members: Philip Buchen, Alexander Haig, Robert Hartmann, and William Seidman.

A few of the interviews have other fairly specific focuses:  Michael Deaver (1976 Reagan campaign), Andrew Goodpaster (Chief of Staff system), Richard Helms (CIA), Edward Levi (Department of Justice), Arthur Quern (Domestic Council), and Peter Rodman (Henry Kissinger/National Security Council).

Related Materials (January 2008)
In addition to this collection, the Ford Library has both the James Cannon Files (part of President Ford’s donation of working files of White House staff members) and the James Cannon Papers (donated to the Library by Mr. Cannon).  Both collections focus primarily on Mr. Cannon’s role as Assistant to the President for Domestic Affairs and Executive Director of the Domestic Council from 1975 to 1977.  Neither collection contains materials directly related to his book on President Ford.

Although President Ford made available to Mr. Cannon the extensive transcripts from the 1977 interviews used in the writing of his memoir A Time to Heal, those transcripts are not currently open to research.


Series Descriptions

Box 1 - Transcripts of Cannon Interviews with Gerald Ford and Family and Related Research Materials, 1989-94.  (0.4 linear feet)
Interview transcripts, research notes, and letters from Presidents Ford and Nixon.  Cannon accumulated the material while conducting research for the writing of his 1994 book Time and Chance:  Gerald Ford’s Appointment with History.  The Cannon interview transcripts are rough transcripts created by Cannon for interviews that he conducted with President Ford, Mrs. Ford, and other members of the family.  The Ford Library has compared many of the Cannon transcripts to the tapes in order to produce more complete transcripts, which also appear in the folders.
The series is arranged alphabetically.

Box 2 - Cannon Notes and Excerpts from Trevor Armbrister’s Interviews with Gerald Ford, 1989-94.  (0.4 linear feet)
Cannon made these notes while reading the transcripts of Trevor Armbrister’s interviews with President Ford.  Although these Cannon notes are open to research, the full Armbrister interview transcripts are in an unprocessed collection that is not yet open to research.
Arranged numerically by Armbrister interview page numbers.

Box 3 - Transcripts of Cannon Interviews with Ford Associates and Others, 1989-93.  (0.4 linear feet)
Interview transcripts made by the Ford Library for Cannon’s interviews with Gerald Ford’s White House and congressional staff members, administration officials, members of Congress, and Ford friends.
Arranged alphabetically.

Audiotapes of Cannon’s Interviews, 1989-1993.  (121 audiotapes)
Audiotapes of Cannon’s interviews with President Ford, members of the Ford family, staff members, congressional colleagues, and friends.
Arranged alphabetically.


Container List

Box 1 - Transcripts of Cannon Interviews with Gerald Ford and Family and Related Research Materials
Ford Book - Continuing Inventory of Research Material (Bibliography)
Ford Book - Files of Sources and Subjects (including Subject Index to Interviews), January 18, 1992
Ford Book - Files of Sources and Subjects (including Subject Index to Interviews), September 15, 1994
Ford Book - Notes on Sources, 1990
Ford, Betty - Interview, April 30, 1990 (re Dorothy Gardner Ford and Gerald Ford Sr., her courtship by Gerald R. Ford, Philip Buchen, Bunny Buchen, 1948 congressional campaign, the early years in Washington, and family life)
Ford, Betty - Interview, July 20, 1990 (re Dorothy Gardner Ford and Gerald Ford Sr., house in Alexandria, decision to retire to California, and growing up in Grand Rapids)
Ford, Betty - Notes on her 1977 Trevor Armbrister Interview
Ford, Betty - Notes on her Book "The Times of My Life"
Ford, Betty - Quote on Marriage
Ford, Gerald - Index to Interviews Up to April 29, 1990
Ford, Gerald - Interview, September 1, 1989 (re planning for the book, economics, American-Soviet relations, selection as Vice President in 1973, transition to the presidency, veto strategy, 1976 presidential campaign, Nixon pardon)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 24, 1990 (re high school football, coach Cliff Gettings, friend Art Brown, Leslie King and parents’ divorce and child support battles, University of Michigan, coach Harry Kipke, coaching and law school at Yale University, Phyllis Brown, practicing law in Grand Rapids, Frank McKay, Republican Home Front organization)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 25, 1990 (re elementary school, Dorothy Gardner Ford and Gerald Ford Sr., growing up in Grand Rapids, Boy Scouts, South High School, 1948 congressional campaign, Bartel Jonkman, Earl Michener, John Tabor, House Appropriations Committee and intelligence subcommittee, Federal budget)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 26, 1990 (re personal traits such as tolerance or his temper; South High School; retirement plans in 1972; Spiro Agnew’s resignation as Vice President; Melvin Laird and the nomination as Vice President; Andrew Goodpaster; vice presidency and staff members Robert Hartmann, John Marsh, Philip Buchen and L. William Seidman; Watergate; Henry Kissinger; Brent Scowcroft; Bryce Harlow; Al Haig; Nixon pardon, USS Monterey in World War II)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 27, 1990 (re Nixon resignation, swearing-in as President, Henry Kissinger, Al Haig, Andrew Goodpaster, appointment of Nelson Rockefeller as Vice President, selection of Robert Dole as 1976 campaign running mate, economics, Alan Greenspan, Arthur Burns, end of the Vietnamese War, Graham Martin, James Schlesinger, decision to run for President in 1976, campaign debate statement on Eastern Europe)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 29, 1990 (re Ford speeches, the Ronald Reagan challenge for the Republican nomination, decision to drop Nelson Rockefeller from the ticket, campaign debate statement on Eastern Europe, election loss, 1980 presidential campaign)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 30, 1990 (re courtship of Betty, 1948 congressional campaign, Jack Stiles, Bartel Jonkman, Frank McKay, apartments in Washington and building the house in Alexandria, Ford-Reagan discussions at the 1980 Republican Convention)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, November 30, 1990 (re Nelson Rockefeller nomination as Vice President, selection of Bob Dole as 1976 campaign running mate, Winston Churchill, parents’ divorce, his temper, Leslie King, Watergate, Nixon-Ford transition, Nixon pardon, post presidential career)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 22, 1992 (re interest in the law and work as an attorney, Phyllis Brown, 1948 congressional election and early days in Congress, Earl Michener, House Appropriations Committee, defense appropriations, Warren Commission, coaching at Yale University, working at Yellowstone National Park, service in the Navy during World War II, Vietnamese War, Bill and Hillary Clinton)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 23, 1992 (re House Appropriations Committee, defense appropriations and intelligence subcommittee, Ford homes in Grand Rapids and Washington/Alexandria, Richard Nixon, Dwight Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Warren Commission, campaign for the 1960 nomination as Vice President)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 24, 1992 (re House of Representatives, deaths of Dorothy Gardner Ford and Gerald Ford Sr., Cuban Missile Crisis, campaign for chair of the House Republican Conference against Charles Hoeven, 1964 presidential campaign, Warren Commission, Minority Leader campaign against Charles Halleck, 1968 presidential campaign, Richard Nixon, attempt to impeach Justice William O. Douglas, trip to China in 1972, revenue sharing legislation, plans to retire from the House, selection as Vice President in 1973)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 25, 1992 (re golf, favorite books as a child, work while at the University of Michigan, House of Representatives, House Appropriations Committee, Nixon resignation, Bob Griffin, Alexander Haig, administration shake-up in November 1975, Donald Rumsfeld, James Schlesinger, Henry Kissinger, executive-legislative relations, post presidential career)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 21, 1993 (re the book project, Betty Ford Center, Phyllis Brown, Nixon pardon)
Ford, Gerald - Interview, April 22, 1993 (re Minority Leader contest against Charles Halleck, attempt to impeach Justice William O. Douglas, Watergate, Nixon impeachment, Wight Patman, Nixon resignation, Nixon pardon, fall of South Vietnam, economics, Tip O’Neill, 1976 presidential campaign, Ronald Reagan, Bill and Hillary Clinton, discussion of regrets from throughout his life)
Ford, Gerald - Letter Containing Reflections on His Reaction to Learning that He Would Become President, April 22, 1993
Ford, Gerald - Telephone Conversation (discussion of people to interview for the book), February 6, 1990
Ford, Gerald - Telephone Conversation, May 5, 1993 (re Tom Austin, Tom Hamilton, Phyllis Brown)
Ford, Gerald - Telephone Conversation, June 14, 1993
Ford, Janet - Telephone Conversation, July 28, 1992 (re Dorothy Gardner Ford)
Ford, Michael - Notes on Conversation, February 9, 1991 (re the Ford family)
Nixon, Richard - Correspondence Concerning the 1973 Vice Presidential Nomination, April-June 1991
Transfers to Diskette Collection

Box 2 - Cannon Notes and Excerpts from Trevor Armbrister’s Interviews with Gerald Ford
Pages 1-200
Pages 201-400
Pages 401-500
Pages 501-600
Pages 601-700
Pages 701-800
Pages 801-900
Pages 901-1000
Pages 1001-1100
Pages 1101-1200
Pages 1201-1300
Pages 1301-1400
Pages 1401-1500
Pages 1501-1600
Pages 1601-1700
Pages 1701-1800
Pages 1801-1900
Pages 1901-2000
Pages 2001-2100
Pages 2101-2200
Pages 2201-2300
Pages 2301-2400
Pages 2401-2500
Pages 2501-2600
Pages 2601-2700
Pages 2701-2800
Pages 2801-2900
Pages 2901-3000
Pages 3001-3100
Pages 3101-3200
Pages 3201-3300
Pages 3301-3400
Pages 3401-3500
Pages 3501-3600
Pages 3601-3641
Index - Governing in the White House
Index - House Experience

Box 3 - Transcripts of Cannon Interviews with Ford Associates and Others
(folders with titles struck through are closed pending completion of transcripts and release agreements)
Albert, Carl - Interview, July 24, 1990
Bailey, Doug - Interview, January 30, 1990
Baker, Russ - Interview, August 26, 1989
Barrett, Robert - Interview, November 8, 1990
Beall, George - Interview, March 12, 1990
Becker, Benton - Interview, July 9-10, 1991
Becker, Benton - Telephone Conversation, May 19, 1992

Brown, Phyllis - Interview, April 28, 1990
Brown, Phyllis - Telephone Interview, January 9, 1992
Buchen, Philip - Interview, February 15, 1990
Buchen, Philip - Telephone Interview, July 19, 1992
Bull, Steve - Interview, March 5, 1991
Burlingame, Ed - Interview, May 23, 1991
Burlingame, Ed - Interview, June 21, 1992
Burlingame, Ed - Interview, November 11, 1992
Butler, Patrick - Interview, January 19, 1990
Callaway, Howard - Interview, August 1, 1990
Calkins, Jack - Interview, May or June 1992

Cannon, Howard - Interview, August 6, 1991
Cannon, James - Car Tape, December 11-12, 1991
Cannon, James - Notes on Vice Presidential Clippings, Undated
Cheney, Richard - Interview, November 21, 1991
Deaver, Michael - Interview, October 30, 1990
Dolan, Eamon - Interview, April 15, 1993
Dunn, Mike - Interview, January 17, 1991

Fish, Hamilton - Interview, July 10, 1991
Friedersdorf, Max - Interview, February 14, 1991
Garment, Leonard - Interview, September 12, 1990
Garment, Leonard - Interview, September 24, 1990
Garment, Leonard - Interview, March 14, 1991

Goldwater, Barry - Interview Summary, May 4, 1990 (Interview not taped)
Goodpaster, Andrew - Interview, January 16, 1991
Griffin, Robert - Interview, June 28, 1990
Haig, Alexander - Interview, December 20, 1990
Haig, Alexander - Interview, August 24, 1993
Hartmann, Robert - Interview, June 19, 1991
Helms, Richard - Interview, May 26, 1992
Hersey, John - Telephone Interview, December 20, 1991
Jones, Jerry - Interview, August 31, 1991
Kennerly, David - Interview, November 8, 1990
Kissinger, Henry - Interview, April 12, 1991
Laird, Melvin - Interview, June 5, 1991

Leonard, Mildred - Interview, May 15, 1992
Levi, Edward - Interview, December 10, 1991
McConahey, Stephen - Interview, December 10, 1991
Mansfield, Michael J. "Mike" - Interview, May 13, 1991
Marsh, John O. - Interview, June 28, 1991
Marsh, John O. - Interview, August 19, 1993
Marsh, John O. - Telephone Conversation, June 28, 1991
Marsh, John O. - Chron, November 8, 1991
Marsh, John O. - Character, January 27, 1993
Mathews, David - Interview, September 6, 1991
Mikva, Abner - Interview, July 24, 1991
Martin, Mathew - Interview, May 7, 1993
Moore, Powell - Interview, December 22, 1991
Nelson, John, November 22, 1991
O’Neill, Paul - Interview, March 7, 1990
Parsons, Richard - Interview, November 14, 1991
Price, Ray - Interview, December 6, 1990

Quern, Arthur - Interview, December 9, 1991
Rhodes, John - Interview, December 4, 1990
Robinson, James D. III - Interview, January 3, 1991
Rodino, Peter - Interview, September 28, 1990
Rodman, Peter - Interview, March 27, 1991
Rourke, Russell - Oral Memoir, January 25, 1991
Rumsfeld, Donald - Interview, December 9, 1991
Rumsfeld, Joyce - Interview, December 10, 1991
Russell, Walt - Interview, June 29, 1992
Scowcroft, Brent - Interview, August 13, 1991
Sears, John - Interview, February 8, 1990

Seidman, William - Interview, October 2, 1989
Spencer, Stuart - Interview, November 7, 1990
Thompson, Fred - Interview, January 1991

Vander Till, Gordon - Telephone Interview, May 19, 1992
Whyte, William and Peggy - Interview, February 26, 1991
Wiggins, Charles - Interview, November 12, 1991
Zarb, Frank - Interview, January 7, 1991
Zeifman, Jerry - Interview, November 6, 1991

Audiotapes of Cannon’s Interviews
(folders with titles struck through are closed pending completion of transcripts and release agreements)
Albert, Carl - Interview, July 24, 1990
Bailey, Doug - Interview, January 30, 1990
Baker, Russ - Interview, August 26, 1989
Barrett, Robert - Interview, November 8, 1990  (1 of 2)
Barrett, Robert - Interview, November 8, 1990  (2 of 2)
Beall, George - Interview, March 12, 1990
Becker, Benton - Interview, July 9-10, 1991  (1 of 2)
Becker, Benton - Interview, July 9-10, 1991  (2 of 2)
Becker, Benton - Telephone Conversation, May 19, 1992

Brown, Phyllis - Interview, April 28, 1990
Brown, Phyllis - Telephone Conversation, January 9, 1992
Buchen, Philip - Interview, February15, 1990
Buchen, Philip – Telephone Interview, July 19, 1992
Bull, Steve - Interview, March 5, 1991
Burlingame, Ed - Interview, May 23, 1991
Burlingame, Ed - Interview, June 24, 1992
Burlingame, Ed - Interview, November 11, 1992
Butler, Patrick - Interview, January 19, 1990
Callaway, Howard - Interview, August 1, 1990
Calkins, Jack - Interview, May or June 1992

Cannon, Howard - Interview, August 6, 1991
Cannon, James - Car Tape, December 1991
Cannon, James - Notes on Vice Presidential Clippings
Cheney, Richard - Interview, November 26, 1991
Deaver, Mike - Interview, October30, 1990
Dolan, Eamon - Interview, April 15, 1993
Dunn, Mike - Interview, January 17, 1991

Fish, Hamilton - Interview, July 10, 1991
Ford, Betty, April 30, 1990
Ford, Betty, July 20, 1990

Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, September1, 1989
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 24, 1990  (Day 1, side 1-2)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 24, 1990  (Day 1, side 2-2)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 25, 1990  (Day 2, side 1-2)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 25, 1990  (Day 2, side 2-2)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 26, 1990  (Day 3, side 1-3)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 26, 1990  (Day 3, side 2-3)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 26, 1990  (Day 3, side 3-3)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 27, 1990  (Day 4, side 1-2)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 27, 1990  (Day 4, side 2-2)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 29, 1990  (Day 5)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 30, 1990  Day 6, side 1-2)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 30, 1990  Day 6, side 2-2)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, November 13, 1990
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 22, 1992  (92-1)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 22, 1992  (92-2)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 23, 1992  (92-3)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 23, 1992  (92-4) – French TV
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 24, 1992  (92-5)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 25, 1992  (92-3)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 22, 1993  (1-2)
Ford, Gerald R. - Interview, April 22, 1993  (2-2)
Ford, Gerald R. - Telephone Conversation, February 6, 1990
Ford, Gerald R. - Telephone Conversation, July 6, 1992
Ford, Gerald R. - Telephone Conversation, May 5, 1993
Ford, Gerald R. - Telephone Conversation, June 14, 1992 (inaudible)

Ford, James - Interview, July 2, 1990
Ford, Janet - Interview, February 27, 1991
Ford, Mike - Interview, February 8, 1991
Ford, Richard - Interview, July 2, 1990
Ford, Susan - Interview, September7, 1991
Ford, Tom - Interview, February 27, 1991
Ford, Tom - Telephone Conversation, July 28, 1992
Friedersdorf, Max - Interview, February 14, 1991
Garment, Leonard - Interview, September 12, 1990
Garment, Leonard - Interview, September 24, 1990
Garment, Leonard - Interview, March 14, 1991

Goldwater, Barry - Interview Summary (conversation not taped), May 4, 1990
Goodpaster, Andrew - Interview, January 16, 1991
Griffin, Robert - Interview, June 28, 1990
Haig, Alexander - Interview, December 20, 1990
Haig, Alexander - Interview, August 24, 1993
Hartmann, Robert - Interview, June 19, 1991  (1 of 2)
Hartmann, Robert - Interview, June 19, 1991  (2 of 2)
Helms, Richard - Interview, May 26, 1992
Hersey, John - Telephone Interview, December 20, 1991
Jones, Jerry - Interview, August 31, 1991  (1 of 2)
Jones, Jerry - Interview, August 31, 1991  (2 of 2)
Kennerly, David - Interview, November 8, 1990  (1 of 2)
Kennerly, David - Interview, November 8, 1990  (2 of 2)
Kissinger, Henry - Interview, April 12, 1991
Laird, Melvin - Interview, June 5, 1991

Leonard, Mildred - Interview, May 15, 1992
Levi, Edward - Interview, December 10, 1991
McConahey, Stephen - Interview, December 10, 1991
Mansfield, Mike - Interview, May 31, 1991
Marsh, John O. - Interview, June 28, 1991  (1 of 2)
Marsh, John O. - Interview, June 28, 1991  (2 of 2)
Marsh, John O. - Interview, August 19, 1993
Marsh, John O. - Telephone Conversation, June 28, 1991
Marsh, John O. - Chron, November 8, 1991
Marsh, John O. - Character, January 27, 1993
Mathews, David - Interview, September 6, 1991
Mikva, Abner - Interview, July 24, 1991
Martin, Mathew - Interview, May 7, 1993
Moore, Powell - Interview, December 22, 1991
Nelson, John, November 22, 1991
O’Neill, Paul - Interview, March 7, 1990  (1 of 2)
O’Neill, Paul - Interview, March 7, 1990  (2 of 2)
Parsons, Richard - Interview, November 14, 1991
Price, Ray - Interview, December 6, 1990

Quern, Arthur - Interview, December 9, 1991
Rhodes, John - Interview, December 4, 1990
Robinson, James D. III - Interview, January 3, 1991
Rodino, Peter - Interview, September 28, 1990  (1 of 2)
Rodino, Peter - Interview, September 28, 1990  (2 of 2)
Rodman, Peter – Interview, March 27, 1991
Rourke, Russell – Oral Memoir, January 25, 1991
Rumsfeld, Donald - Interview, December 9, 1991  (1 of 2)
Rumsfeld, Donald – Interview, December 9, 1991  (2 of 2)
Rumsfeld, Joyce - Interview, December 10, 1991
Russell, Walt - Interview, June 29, 1992
Scowcroft, Brent - Interview, August 13, 1991
Sears, John - Interview, February 8, 1990

Seidman, William - Interview, October 3, 1989
Spencer, Stuart - Interview, November 7, 1990
Thompson, Fred - Interview, January 1991

VanderTill, Gordon – Telephone Interview, May 19, 1992
Whyte, Bill & Peggy - Interview, February 6, 1991
Wiggins, Charles - Interview, November 12, 1991
Zarb, Frank - Interview, January 7, 1991
Zeifman, Jerry - Interview, November 6, 1991