Gerald R. Ford Museum
Exhibits, Events, Education Center

303 Pearl Street, NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49504

616-254-0400 (tel)
616-254-0386 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Museum Facebook Page

Hours: 9:00am-5:00pm (Daily)
(Closed New Year's, Thanksgiving, & Christmas Days)



Gerald R. Ford Library
Research, Events, Small Exhibits

1000 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

734-205-0555 (tel)
734-205-0571 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Library Facebook Page

Hours: 8:45am-4:45pm (M-F)
(Closed Federal Holidays)




The National Security Advisor Files
September 2005

The National Security Adviser files of the Ford administration are part of the presidential papers donated to the U.S. Government by Gerald Ford in December 1976. Four dozen subcollections comprise these files, and they are described below. They originated in the White House office suite of National Security Adviser Henry Kissinger and his successor Brent Scowcroft; in the Old Executive Office Building offices of some National Security Council (NSC) staff; and in a White House ground floor records storage area run by the NSC Staff Secretary.

Many subcollections are declassified and open to research, either in whole or in part. Others remain closed, awaiting review for possible declassification. This review is on-going, and the current status of each sub-collection is indicated below.

The reference desk may be reached by telephone (734) 205-0555 or email ford .library@nara.gov. Research room hours are 8:45 am to 4:45 pm , Monday through Friday except Federal holidays. View detailed inventories of all Library collections. In addition, Library staff can mail or email search reports from PRESNET, a powerful internal database. PRESNET holds folder-level titles, index terms, and estimated page counts for approximately 90% of open collections.

The NSC’s institutional records from the Ford era are not included in the list below. They are not part of the Ford Presidential Papers. Such records, which had remained in the White House until the Clinton administration, are, under law, technically part of the Clinton Presidential Records. The National Archives shipped these records to the Ford Library in June 2004, and Library staff is preparing them for future release under the Presidential Records Act of 1978.

BACKCHANNEL MESSAGES, 1974-1977 ( 4 feet)
The file series “Martin Channel,” for especially sensitive communications between the White House and Ambassador Graham Martin in Saigon , is open. The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

KISSINGER REPORTS ON USSR, CHINA, AND MIDDLE EAST DISCUSSIONS, 1974-1976 (2 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. It includes memoranda of conversations, discussion summaries, and related material reporting to President Ford on Secretary Kissinger’s overseas meetings with Soviet, Chinese, and Middle Eastern officials. Also includes memoranda of conversations from President Ford’s meetings with Soviet leaders at Vladivostok and Helsinki , and Chinese leaders at Beijing .

KISSINGER-SCOWCROFT WEST WING OFFICE FILES, 1974-1977 ( 16 feet)
Vietnam War files are open. The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

 LEGISLATIVE INTERDEPARTMENTAL GROUP FILES, 1971-1974 (1976) ( one foot)
The LIG, which was most active 1971-1972, coordinated the efforts of key agencies to deal with Congress on foreign affairs and defense matters. Only Vietnam War files are open The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

MEMORANDA OF CONVERSATIONS, 1973-1977 ( 8 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. The National Security Adviser’s staff created, from handwritten notes, over 1,000 transcript-like records of President Ford’s conversations with foreign government officials, senior U.S. national security officials, and occasional others. The collection includes similar records for some of President Nixon’s conversations in 1973, as well.

MICROFILM APERTURE CARDS: Documents filed in PA and WHCF, 1974-1977 (3 feet)
Closed pending declassification review.

  NSC DOCUMENT TRACKING SYSTEM: Printouts of tracking logs, 1974-1977 (6 feet)
Closed pending declassification review.

 NSC EAST-ASIA AND PACIFIC AFFAIRS STAFF: Files, (1969) 1973-1976 (17 feet)
Micronesia , Mariana Islands , and Vietnam War-related folders are open. The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

 NSC EUROPE, CANADA, AND OCEAN AFFAIRS STAFF: Files, 1974-1977 ( 31 feet)
Folders titled “Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe ” are open. The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

 NSC INFORMATION LIAISON WITH COMMISSIONS AND COMMITTEES: Files, 1974-1977 ( 16 feet)
Vietnam War files are open. The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

 NSC INSTITUTIONAL FILES: Selected documents arranged by log number, 1974-1977 ( 26 feet)
Micronesia , Mariana Islands , and Vietnam War files are open. The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

NSC INTERNATIONAL ECONOMIC AFFAIRS STAFF: Files, (1973) 1975-1976 ( 6 feet)
Vietnam War and some energy issues files are open.The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

 NSC LATIN AMERICAN AFFAIRS STAFF: Files, 1974-1977 (6 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. It comprises the working files of NSC staff Stephen Low, David Lazar, and Jon Howe.

NSC MEETING MINUTES, 1974-1977 ( one linear foot)
The subcollection is processed and open. It includes detailed minutes, agendas, and/or background material for the 39 meetings of the NSC during the Ford administration. Topics include, for example, SALT, Middle East , southern Africa , Vietnam , the Mayaguez incident, defense policy, Panama Canal negotiations, and the intelligence community.
NOTE: All declassified minutes are posted on our website at <www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov/library/document/nscmin/nscmin.htm>.

NSC MIDDLE EAST and SOUTH ASIAN AFFAIRS STAFF: Files, 1974-1977 (34 feet)
Closed pending declassification review.

NSC PLANNING AND COORDINATION STAFF: Files, 1972-1975 (2 feet)
Only Vietnam War files are open. The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

NSC PRESS AND CONGRESSIONAL LIAISON STAFF: Files, 1973-1976 (3 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. These files of Leslie Janka and Margaret Vanderhye primarily concern press guidance given daily to the White House press secretary, 1973-1976, a background subject file for mostly 1976, and memoranda of conversations and briefing papers from several Presidential-Congressional meetings.

NSC PROGRAM ANALYSIS STAFF: Files, 1969-1977 (26 feet)
Only Micronesia files and a folder on naval force requirements are open. The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

NSC STAFF SECRETARY: Files, 1974-1977 (4 feet)
Closed pending declassification review.

NSC VIETNAM INFORMATION GROUP: Intelligence and other reports, 1967-1975 (5 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. It primarily includes State Department and CIA cables concerning the Vietnam War; relations with the Saigon government; South Vietnam’s political climate, opposition groups, religious and ethnic groups, labor unions, corruption, and censorship; peace negotiations; North Vietnam’s military and economy; and events in Laos and Cambodia.

NATIONAL SECURITY STUDY MEMORANDA AND DECISION MEMORANDA, 1974-77 ( 1 ft)
The subcollecion is processed and open. A Study Memorandum initiated a formal study of a U.S. national security concern. NSSM 238, for example, initiated a study of U.S. policy toward the Persian Gulf region. A Decision Memorandum, by contrast, articulated the basic tenets of U.S. national security policy on a given topic or area. NSDM 314, for example, addressed worldwide population growth. Over half of the NSSMs and NSDMs of the Ford administration have been declassified.
NOTE: All declassified NSSMs and NSDMs are available on the Ford Library website at <www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov/library/document/nsdmnssm/nsdmnssm.htm>.

“OUTSIDE THE SYSTEM” CHRONOLOGICAL FILES, 1974-1977 (2 feet)
The subcollecion is processed and open. It consists of memoranda, briefing papers, reports, correspondence, notes, and messages that were not logged into the NSC computer control number tracking system, many of which had a very high sensitivity for content or timeliness. The documents cover a wide range of topics, including nuclear test ban and arms control treaty negotiations, arms sales, military assistance to Israel , the Middle East peace process, Angola , U.S. relations with the Soviet Union and Cuba , and reorganization of the intelligence community.

 PRESIDENTIAL AGENCY FILES, 1974-1977 (8 feet)
Closed pending declassification review.

PRESIDENTIAL BRIEFING MATERIAL FOR VIP VISITS, 1974-1977 (9 feet)
Closed pending declassification review.

PRESIDENTIAL CORRESPONDENCE WITH FOREIGN LEADERS, 1974-1977 ( 2 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. Included are letters and telegrams exchanged between President Ford and leaders of 64 nations. Content ranges from routine courtesies to matters of substance.

PRESIDENTIAL COUNTRY FILES FOR AFRICA, 1974-1977 ( 3 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. It includes cables between U.S. embassies and the Secretary of State, memos of the National Security Adviser and NSC staff, and comparable material. Arranged primarily by country, with some topical folders.

PRESIDENTIAL COUNTRY FILES FOREAST ASIA and the PACIFIC, 1974-1977 (8 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. It includes cables between U.S. embassies and the Secretary of State, memos of the National Security Adviser and NSC staff, and comparable material. Arranged primarily by country, with some topical folders.

PRESIDENTIAL COUNTRY FILES FOR EUROPE and CANADA, 1974-1977 ( 9 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. It includes cables between U.S. embassies and the Secretary of State, memos of the National Security Adviser and NSC staff, and comparable material. Arranged primarily by country, with some topical folders.

PRESIDENTIAL COUNTRY FILES FOR LATIN AMERICA, 1974-1977 (3 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. It includes cables between U.S. embassies and the Secretary of State, memos of the National Security Adviser and NSC staff, and comparable material. Arranged primarily by country, with some topical folders.

PRESIDENTIAL COUNTRY FILES FORMIDDLE EAST and SOUTH ASIA, 1974-1977 (14 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. It includes cables between U.S. embassies and the Secretary of State, memos of the National Security Adviser and NSC staff, and comparable material. Arranged primarily by country, with some topical folders.

PRESIDENTIAL NAME FILE, 1974-1977 ( one foot)
The subcollection is processed and open. It includes a miscellaneous correspondence on foreign affairs and security matters, received from people outside the U.S. government; and internal memos on personnel and other administrative matters.

PRESIDENTIAL SUBJECT FILE, 1974-1977 (10 feet)
There are open files on foreign assistance and military sales programs worldwide, PL-480, Indochina refugees, and Vietnam War MIAs. The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

PRESIDENTIAL TRANSITION FILE, 1974 (less than one foot)
The subcollection is processed and open. It includes messages to heads of state giving notice of the Nixon-Ford transition; planning for the messages; talking points for the new president’s first meetings with foreign ambassadors; briefing papers for the new president summarizing foreign relations issues; summaries of world reaction; and a briefing book detailing US-USSR exchanges August 9 – November 5, 1974 .

SAIGON EMBASSY FILES KEPT BY AMBASSADOR GRAHAM MARTIN: Copies made for the NSC, 1963-1975 (1976) (4 feet)
The subcollection is processed and open. Most of the material dates from the Nixon and Ford administrations, but there are earlier materials, including a file on the Diem coup in 1963. A chronological run of Backchannel cables between Ambassadors Bunker and Martin in Saigon and national security adviser Kissinger comprise most of the collection. Also included is briefing material for and reports about meetings with South Vietnamese officials, military situation and intelligence reports, and drafts of proposed peace agreements.

SCOWCROFT DAILY WORK FILES, 1974-1977 (31 feet)
Closed pending declassification review.

STAFF ASSISTANT JOHN K. MATHENY FILES, 1975-1976 ( 4 feet)
Mayaguez Performance Evaluation” files are open. The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

STAFF ASSISTANT ROBERT McFARLANE FILES, 1974-1977 (3 ft)
Closed pending declassification review.

STAFF ASSISTANT PETER RODMAN FILES, 1974-1977 ( less than one foot)
The subcollection is processed and open. It includes a chronological file and a fragmentary subject file. They concern Rodman’s handling of letters addressed to Kissinger and Scowcroft, reminders to them about matters requiring their attention, and some research or other special projects. Notable items include a Kissinger-Asad ( Syria ) memorandum of conversation, and maps associated with Sinai Accord negotiations.

TEMPORARY PARALLEL FILE OF ITEMS OPENED FROM UNPROCESSED FILE SERIES (1972) 1974-1977 ( 1 foot)
This artificial collection is composed of miscellaneous items that have been opened from otherwise unprocessed portions of the National Security Adviser Files. Library staff make occasional additions.

TRIP BRIEFING BOOKS AND CABLES OF BRENT SCOWCROFT, 1974-1977 ( 2 feet)
Closed pending declassification review.

TRIP BRIEFING BOOKS AND CABLES OF HENRY KISSINGER, 1974-1977 ( 13 feet)
Material is processed and open for the period June 6-13, 1976 , concerning events worldwide, especially in Lebanon , while Secretary Kissinger attended the OAS meeting in Santiago , Chile . The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

TRIP BRIEFING BOOKS AND CABLES OF PRESIDENT FORD, 1974-1977 ( 9 feet)
Two folders re Iceland are open. The subcollection is otherwise closed pending declassification review.

WHITE HOUSE SITUATION ROOM. EVENING REPORTS FROM NSC STAFF, 1974-1977 ( 2 feet)
Closed pending declassification review.

WHITE HOUSE SITUATION ROOM. FORMER PRESIDENT NIXON’S BRIEFINGS, 1974-1977 ( less than one foot)
Closed pending declassification review.

WHITE HOUSE SITUATION ROOM. LOGS OF PRESIDENTIAL ACTIVITIES AND WORLD EVENTS, 1974-1977 ( less than one foot)
Closed pending declassification review.

WHITE HOUSE SITUATION ROOM. NOON AND EVENING NOTES, 1974-1977 ( two feet)
Closed pending declassification review.

WHITE HOUSE SITUATION ROOM. PRESIDENTIAL DAILY BRIEFINGS, 1974-1977 ( 3 feet)
Closed pending declassification review.

WHITE HOUSE SITUATION ROOM. SCOWCROFT’S MORNING NEWSPAPER SUMMARIES, 1976-1977 ( 1 linear foot)
The subcollection is processed and open. In 1976, the Situation Room staff prepared these daily summaries of foreign affairs and security articles appearing in the New York Times, Washington Post, and Baltimore Sun.