Core
Collections
of
the
1976
Presidential
Campaign
July 2007
In 1976 President Ford and former California governor Ronald
Reagan contended for the Republican Party's presidential nomination. The
outcome remained uncertain even as their contest reached the floor of the
convention. Ford
won, chose Senator Robert Dole of Kansas as his running mate, and began the
presidential election campaign trailing the Carter-Mondale ticket by 29 points
in the polls. The final popular and electoral votes were exceedingly
close, with the television networks projecting Jimmy Carter as the winner
only in the small hours of the morning after election day.
The Ford Library has extensive archival materials on both the nomination
and general election campaigns. Core collections are summarized below,
but many additional collections also hold valuable pertinent material. Research
room hours are 8:45 am to 4:45 pm, Monday through Friday except Federal holidays.
Telephone (734) 205-0555. E-mail ford.library@nara.gov
View
detailed inventories of the archival collections summarized below by clicking
on the collection titles. In addition, the website offers a rich selection
of 1976 campaign
documents on-line, including the Ford campaign’s strategy book,
its preliminary media plan, the Republican Party platform, and a gallery
of memos that illustrate a presidential campaign seen from the inside.
CHENEY,
RICHARD: Files, 1974-1977
Cheney was Assistant to the President ("Chief of Staff"). Boxes
14-16 contain weekly progress reports from President Ford Committee chairmen
Howard "Bo" Callaway and Rogers Morton, July 1975-July 1976. Boxes
16-19 contain a campaign subject file including letters from Republican leaders
giving campaign advice and handwritten notes from Cheney to the President,
some of which concern telephone calls to convention delegates.
DOWNTON,
DOROTHY: Files, (1972) 1974-1977
Downton was Personal Secretary to the President. Her files include a copy
of the general election campaign strategy book, a preliminary media plan,
an early assessment of PFC operations, and other campaign material.
MORTON,
ROGERS C.B.: Files, (1975) 1976
Morton was a White House adviser who became chairman of the President Ford
Committee. This collection focuses on the earliest phase of the nomination
contest.
PRESIDENT
FORD COMMITTEE: Records, 1975-1978
The PFC conducted Ford's nomination and presidential election campaigns,
and its records span 350 linear feet of shelving. Strengths of this
collection include campaign law, finances, advertising, implementation
of strategy state-by-state, volunteer operations, and the collection and
interpretation of polling data.
PRESIDENTIAL
HANDWRITING FILE, 1974-1977
In this collection of memos and other documents annotated by the President,
boxes 36-39 concern political affairs, especially the campaign.
RAOUL-DUVAL,
MICHAEL: Papers and Files,
1974-1977
Duval was Special Counsel to the President. In the Duval “Papers,” boxes
12-31 concern the 1976 campaign, including such topics as the California
primary, drafting the Republican platform, drafting the general election
strategy, and preparations for the Ford-Carter debates. In the Duval “Files,” boxes
26-29 have additional material on the drafting of the platform and more.
REICHLEY, A. JAMES: Files,
1976 and Research
Interviews 1977-1981
Reichley was a White House consultant working in Cheney's office. The
Reichley "Files" include strategic analyses and long-range
observations on the campaign. The separate Reichley “Interviews” collection
includes summaries and notes from his research interviews with numerous 1976
Ford-Dole and 1980 Reagan-Bush campaign figures.
TEETER,
ROBERT: Papers, (1967) 1972-1977
This large collection spans Teeter’s career as a leading survey research
professional and a key campaign strategist for Republican presidential and
other candidates. With specific regard to the 1976 campaign, this collection
includes extensive primary and general election internal polling data, interpretative
and summary memos, reports, graphs, and post-election analysis.
VISSER,
ROBERT P.: Papers, 1972-1978
Visser was chief legal counsel for the President Ford Committee. Major
topics include ballot security, campaign travel, delegate selection, federal
and state election laws, the Federal Election Commission, campaign finance,
insurance, campaign volunteers, Republican National Convention rules, the
1976 Presidential Campaign Liquidation Trust, and Campaign ’76 Media
Communications, Inc. Closely related materials appear in the White
House files of Barry Roth.
WAGNER, BRUCE S.:
Papers, 1975-1976
Wagner was executive vice president and chief operating officer of Campaign ’76
Media Communications, Inc., the advertising arm of the President Ford Committee
during the 1976 presidential campaign. The collection concerns political
advertising during the 1976 primary elections.
WHITE HOUSE CENTRAL
FILES, 1974-1977
This vast, shared filing system for White House staff contains many thousands
of pages on the nomination and election campaigns. File categories
PL-Political Affairs, SP-Speeches, and TR-Trips are the most prominent
file locations for campaign material.
WHITE
HOUSE SPECIAL FILES UNIT: Files, 1974-1977
Boxes 1-3 contain memos and briefing materials used by the President in preparation
for his debates with Governor Carter.
AUDIOVISUAL
COLLECTIONS
The White House videotaped, off the air, many copyrighted network news broadcasts
about the campaign and election. White House photographers created
a rich, uncopyrighted daily record of the Ford presidency in both public
events and closed-door meetings. Other White House staff made copyright-free
audiotapes of all presidential speeches and press conferences, the press
secretary's daily briefings, and occasional other remarks. The President
Ford Committee has left an extensive collection of campaign advertising.