|
|
| ![]() |
Gerald R. Ford Library1000 Beal Avenue,
www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
ROBERT P. VISSER
Legal Counsel for the President Ford Committee:
Papers, 1972-78
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
Working papers of Robert Visser, Legal Counsel for the President Ford Committee (PFC) and material that he collected from other PFC offices for legal and historical reasons. Major topics include ballot security, campaign travel, delegate selection, federal and state election laws, the Federal Election Commission, campaign finance, insurance, campaign volunteers, Republican National Convention rules, and the creation of both the 1976 Presidential Campaign Liquidation Trust and Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
QUANTITY
8.9 linear feet (ca. 8,900 pages)
DONOR
Robert P. Visser (2003-NLF-018)
ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
Robert
P. Visser has donated
to the
Prepared by Stacy Davis, August 2004
[s:\bin\findaid\Visser, Robert - Papers.doc]
BIOGRAPHICAL
INFORMATION
Robert
Peter Visser
1958 Graduated
1963 The
1966
1966 - 1969 Associate
attorney at Mudge, Rose,
1969 - 1973 Associate
attorney at Mudge, Rose,
1972 Surrogate
Advance Team, Committee to Re-Elect the President
1973-1975 Attorney
at Howard, Prim, Rice, Nemerovski, Canady and Pollack
1975 1977 Partner
at Obion, Spivak, Maier and Visser
1975 - 1977 General
Counsel, President Ford Committee
1980 General
Counsel, Bush for President Committee
1977- Present Attorney
in the
INTRODUCTION
In August 1975, the
President Ford Committee (PFC) hired attorney Robert Visser
as General Counsel. In October, Visser hired Tim Ryan, a
The passage of
the Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of 1974 created an additional role
for Visser as General Counsel as compared to the role
of lawyers in previous presidential campaigns.
This legislation, signed into law by President Ford on October 15, 1974,
established the first spending limits for candidates in presidential primary
and general elections, provided for disclosure and reporting of campaign
contributions and expenditures, introduced public financing for general
election campaigns and matching funds to cover part of the costs of primary
campaigns, and created a Federal Election Commission (FEC) to develop
regulations, implement the law, and enforce its provisions.
Because of
delays in the appointment and confirmation of FEC members, the Commission did
not begin its work until just before initial efforts to organize the PFC
began. This meant that the PFC, like
several other 1976 campaign committees, had to begin the process of running a
campaign while frequently asking the FEC for guidance on procedures or filing
complaints about possible violations by other campaign committees. Visser and Ryan
handled these interactions with the FEC, while also working on more traditional
campaign committee attorney tasks such as lawsuits, delegate challenges,
contracts with consulting firms and staff members, coordinating the work of the
PFC state legal counsels, and ballot security. A more complete history of the
PFC and the changes to election laws is available in the Ford Librarys finding
aid for the Records of the President Ford Committee.
The Visser
Papers
This
collection consists of Robert Vissers personal
working papers and material that he collected from other offices for legal and
historical reasons. These
papers do not heavily document the strategic plan of the campaign, but rather
document the details of being an attorney for a
presidential election committee. For
example, there is correspondence throughout this collection between Visser, Tim Ryan, and other PFC employees with the Federal
Election Commission, Republican National Committee (RNC), White House staff,
general counsels of other political organizations, and outside law and
accounting firms regarding legal matters for the PFC. It also contains background material, state election law
summaries, and published copies of federal laws. There
are discussions of the implications of the Supreme
Court decision in Buckley v. Valeo, which invalidated
portions of the Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of 1974 and would lead
to the passage of the Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of 1976.
One major topic is the question of who should pay for presidential and advocate travel during an election campaign, and how should one separate official and political travel. For example, there is heavy documentation of a complaint filed by the Democratic National Committee (DNC) with the Federal Election Commission regarding a ruling that presidential travel before January 1, 1976 should be treated as party building rather than advancement of ones own candidacy. Money spent by the RNC for such travel would not be charged against allowable candidate expenditure levels set by federal election laws. In the complaint, the DNC sought to prove that President Fords travel since the formation of the PFC was directly and substantially related to his candidacy. Material includes a copy of the complaint, the PFC responses to the action, and background materials used by the PFC to counter this complaint.
The Visser Papers contain the official documents related to the creation and incorporation of the Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc. in December 1975 (the PFCs in-house advertising agency), including the Articles of Incorporation, Certification of Incorporation of Incorporation, bylaws, Board of Directors meeting minutes, Howard H. Calloways resignation as Director, annual report for Foreign and Domestic Non-Profit Corporations, and a Corporate Resolution (Bankers Trust, New York City). Vissers working papers contain correspondence, memos, drafts, and bank documents and document the development of the corporation, but do not heavily document the subsequent work of the company. This collection also contains material related to the proposed incorporation of the PFC as a nonprofit political committee, including drafts of the articles of incorporation and bylaws, memoranda and correspondence regarding the advantages, disadvantages, and tax implications of incorporating.
Material related to the 1976 Republican National Convention concerns the revision and adoption of convention rules by the RNC Rules Committee and the Convention Rules Committee, logistical arrangements, the delegate selection process, preliminary schedule, the Platform Committee, the Credentials Committee, the Rule 29 Committee (a committee authorized by the 1972 Republican National Convention to review and study the rules adopted by that convention). The question of amending Rule 18 (The Justice Amendment) is particularly well documented in this collection. If adopted this rule would require delegates to vote in accordance with results of binding state primaries or direct elections. Included are copies of the proposed amendment, memoranda, statement for and against the amendment.
Folders related to
The importance of volunteerism in
the 1976 campaign in light of new campaign funding limitations is evident in
this collection. There are several contact lists throughout this collection,
information related to the volunteer legal staff, and a copy of the Ford/Dole
Volunteer Campaign Manual, which was created to provide a resource for local
leaders on campaign procedures, activities, and legal guidelines. Also included is an analysis of the
performance of People for Ford, the volunteer arm of the President Ford
Committee formed during the general election to develop outreach efforts to
special voter groups. This report was written by Deputy Coordinator Tom Ruffin
and provides an analysis of the operation of the organization, problems
encountered, successes, failures, and offers suggestions for future elections. It also includes comments submitted from each
People For Ford desk: Blacks, Business and Professional Groups, Ethnics,
Jewish, Farm Desk, Labor Desk, Older Americans, Special Events, Veterans, and
National Volunteers.
This collection also documents what
happens to presidential election committees after the election is over. There are official documents and working
papers related to the development of the 1976 Presidential Campaign Liquidation
Trust, an agreement between the Republican National Committee and the trustees
of the President Ford Committee to fulfill requirements of the campaign laws,
and handle possible compliance actions or other possible contingent
liabilities. Included are the final
agreement (executed on
Finally, the Visser
Papers also include a Southern States Republican Conference briefing book
(attended by several members of PFC, including Visser),
the President Ford Committee Campaign Plan (8/29/1975), and material related to
Democratic opponents, voter groups, delegate selection, insurance matters,
building lease agreements, contracts, and various lawsuits.
Related
Materials (August 2004):
Other
materials that directly relate to legal matters and the 1976 Presidential
election can be found in the General Counsels Office Files in the President
Ford Committee Records, as well as other offices of the PFC. The Visser Papers
complement many topics that exist in the PFC records such as ballot security, federal and state
election campaign laws, relationship between the PFC and the Federal Election
Commission, campaign finance, the Republican National Convention, and Campaign
76 Media Communications, Inc.
The
files of Philip Buchen, Counsel to the President,
contain material on a number of campaign‑related legal questions,
including the Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of 1974 and 1976 and
White House interactions with the Federal Election Commission concerning
proposed rulings and regulations. Other
collections with material include the staff files and papers of Michael Raoul-Duval, the papers of Robert Teeter, and the staff
files of John Marsh, James A. Reichley , Edward Schmults, and Rogers Morton.
The
following White House Central Files Subject File categories are the most
prominent file locations for material relate to the campaign: FG
387 (Federal Election Commission), PL (Political Affairs), SP (Speeches), and
TR (Trips).
Series Descriptions
Boxes 1-23 General
Subject File, 1972-1978. (8.9
linear feet)
Memoranda,
correspondence, reports, clippings, publications, speeches, press releases,
leases, insurance forms, inventories, staff lists, briefing books, building
diagrams, brochures, and notes related to Robert Vissers
role as General Counsel for the President Ford Committee (PFC). Topics include ballot security, delegate
selection, federal and state election laws, communication with the Federal
Election Commission, campaign finance, insurance, claims against the PFC,
presidential and advocate campaign travel, and volunteers. Material related to the 1976 Republican
National Convention concern planning and the adoption of convention rules (in
particular Rule 18, The Justice Resolution).
Also there are documents related to the development of the 1976
Presidential Campaign Liquidation Trust and Campaign 76 Media Communications,
Inc.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
Container List
1976 Presidential
Campaign Liquidation Trust
1976 Presidential
Campaign Liquidation Trust Drafts (1)-(2)
1976 Presidential
Campaign Liquidation Trust PFC/RNC (1)-(3)
Advocates
American Business
Volunteers For President Ford
Ballot Security
(Project Integrity 1976) (1)-(2)
Ballot Security (Project Integrity 1976)
Manual
Ballot Security (Project Integrity 1976)
State Contested Election and Recount Statutes for State, Federal, and
Ballot Security
(Project Integrity 1976) Voting Methods Manual
Broadcast Media
Guide for Candidates
Business and
Professional Groups for President Ford,
Campaign
Miscellaneous (1)-(3)
Campaign 76 Media
Communications, Inc. Articles of Incorporation
Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
Annual Report for Foreign and Domestic Non-Profit Corporations
Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
Board of Directors Meeting Material,
Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
Board of Directors Meeting Minutes and Accompanying Documents,
Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
Board of Directors Meeting Minutes and Accompanying Documents,
Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
Board of Directors Unanimous Written Consent of
Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
Bylaws
Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
Case Regarding Gardner, Robert (Im Feeling Good About
America)
Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
Certificate of Incorporation
Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
Howard H. Callaway Resignation
Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
Corporate Resolution, Bankers Trust,
Campaign 76 Media Communications, Inc.
Working Papers (1)-(5)
Campaign Cost Allocation/President and
Advocate Travel (1) (4)
Campaign Cost Allocation/President and
Advocate Travel Mrs. Fords Trip to
Campaign Cost Allocation/President and
Advocate Travel Presidential Trips to
Campaign Plan,
Campaign Publications
Carter, Jimmy - Magazine
Cases: Salary Disputes of Ambraczyk,
Sands, and Petty
Chronological File, 01/1976
Clippings (1)-(4)
Clippings Time Magazine Special
Issue,
Conciliation Agreement (
Contact Lists By Issue
Contact Lists By State:
Contact Lists By State:
Contact Lists By State:
Contact Lists By State:
Contact Lists By State:
Contact Lists By State:
Contact Lists By State: States with No
Listed Contacts
Contact Lists
Contracts (1)-(2)
Contracts Market Opinion Research
Convention Coordinating Group (1)-(3)
Correspondence for Signature
Delegate Count Information
Delegate Count Information Old Counts
Delegate Selection (1)-(2)
Delegate Task Force (1)-(2)
Democrat Presidential Watch (1)-(3)
Document Retention Program
Election Campaign Laws Federal (1)-(5)
Election Campaign Laws State:
Election Campaign Laws State:
Election Campaign Laws State:
Election Campaign Laws State:
Election Campaign Laws State:
Election Campaign Laws State:
Election Campaign Laws State:
Election Campaign Laws State:
Election Campaign Laws State:
Election Campaign Laws State:
Election Campaign Laws State:
Election Night Reception
Endorsement Letters
Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
Equal Time
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Advisory
Opinion 1975-27 Accountants and Attorneys Fees (1)-(4)
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Advisory Opinion
1975-72 Allocation of Candidate and Committee Activities (1)-(3)
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Advisory
Opinions, 09/1975
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Analysis
of Federal and State Campaign Finance Law, 06/1975
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Compliance Actions (1)-(2)
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Compliance Procedures/Proposed Complaince Regulations
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Convention Regulations (1)-(2)
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Correspondence 1975 (1)-(2)
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Correspondence 1976 (1)-(3)
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Correspondence 1977 (1)-(2)
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Correspondence 1978
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Delegate
Selection/Advisory Opinion 1975-12 (1)-(5)
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Delegate
Selection/Advisory Opinion 1975-12 - Summary
Federal Election Commission (FEC) - Drafts
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Drafts
Advisory Opinion Request (AOR) 1975-72 (1)-(2)
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Drafts
Advisory Opinions
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Drafts
Guidelines in Connection with the 1976 Election Campaign
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Drafts
Presidential Primary Election Matching Fund
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Drafts
Title 2 Proposed Disclosure Regulations
Federal Election Commission (FEC) General (1)-(2)
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Independent
Committees
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Independent Expenditures (1)-(5)
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Independent Expenditures Memo State and Local Republican Parties
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Index of
Actions, 1975
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Interest
on Federal Funds
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Federal Election Commission (FEC) -
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Task
Force on Allocation of Campaign Costs (1)-(4)
Federal Election Commission (FEC) Federal
Election Campaign Act Amendments (1)-(2)
Finance Committee Accounting Manual (1)-(2)
Financial Operations
Ford Administration
Staff Roster
Ford Presidency from
an Ethnic Perspective
Fundraising
Agreement with Republican National Committee (Milbank Material)
Fundraising
Checklist
General Election
Expenditures
Georgia Guide for
GOP Forum, Journal
of the Republican Politics and Policy,
Hayes, Kathlene Possible Claim against the President Ford
Committee
Improper Suggestions
from Delegates
Insurance 1975
(1)-(4)
Insurance 1976 (1)-(4)
Insurance 1976 (5)
Insurance - 1977
Insurance Martin,
Edwin G. Claim
Insurance State
Inventory and Lease Agreements (1)-(6)
Insurance
Workmens Compensation (1)-(3)
Internal Revenue Service
(IRS) Ruling Request
Leftover Campaign
Funds (1)-(2)
Legal Memoranda
(1)-(2)
Meeting Briefing
Book, ca. 11/1975
Mongiovi, Arnita Claim
(v. Tower Construction Company) (1)-(2)
Mongiovi, Arnita Claim
(v. Whittaker, John)
Morton,
Names and Addresses
of State Chairmen and Volunteers (1)-(2)
National Associated Businessmen, Inc. (1)-(2)
National Republican Congressional Committee
President Ford Committee Agreement
Official Candidate Filings (1)-(2)
People For Ford
People For Ford
Tom Ruffin Report and Desk Reports (1)-(4)
Policy Statements
Political Action Committees
Political Activity by White House Staff
Political Finance: Reform and Reality,
05/1976
Practicing Law Institute (PLI) Seminar on Legal
Aspects of Running for Public Office, 01/22/1976-01/23/1976
President Ford General (1)-(3)
President Ford 76 Factbook,
President Ford Committee (PFC) Accounting
and Reporting Methods/Procedures (1)-(2)
President Ford Committee (PFC) Background
Material (1)-(2)
President Ford Committee (PFC) Delegate
Special
President Ford Committee (PFC) General
President Ford Committee (PFC) General
Correspondence
President Ford Committee (PFC) Incorporation
(1)-(3)
President Ford Committee (PFC) Lease
Agreement with Tower Construction Company Campaign Headquarters
President Ford Committee (PFC) Lease
Agreements (1)-(3)
President Ford Committee (PFC) Newsletters
(1)-(4)
President Ford Committee (PFC) Presidential
Account
President Ford Committee (PFC) Records
Inventory
President Ford Committee (PFC) Strategy
President Ford Committee (PFC) Violations
Presidential Travel (1)-(2)
Presidential Travel Advisory Opinion
1975-72 (1)-(4)
Presidential Travel Official (White House
Press Releases of Presidential Remarks and Press Conferences) (1)-(5)
Presidential Travel Party Head (White House
Press Releases of Presidential Remarks) (1)-(3)
Presidential /Republican National
Committee/Congressional Fundraising Letters (1)-(2)
Regional Coordinators
Republican National Committee (RNC)
Airplane for Vice Presidential Candidate
Republican National Committee (RNC) Carter
Compliance Actions, 09/1976
Republican National Committee (RNC)
Correspondence with State Committees Regarding Delegate Selection Process
(1)-(2)
Republican National Convention Budget and
Expenses
Republican National Convention Committee on
Arrangements
Republican National Convention Committee on
Resolutions (Platform)
Republican National Convention Conventions
Rules Committee
Republican National Convention Credentials
Committee
Republican National Convention General
Republican National Convention Logistics
Republican National Convention Meeting of
the Committee on Rules of the Republican National Committee (RNC) in
Republican National Convention Organization
Chart
Republican National Convention Preliminary
Schedule
Republican National Convention Program
Republican National Convention Proposed
Rules (Published),
Republican National Convention Rule 29
Committee
Republican National Convention Rules
(1)-(2)
Republican National Convention Rules
(3)-(4)
Republican National Convention Rules
Briefing Book (1)-(2)
Republican National Convention Rules
Ripon Society, Inc. v. Republican National Committee
Republican National Convention Rules Rule
16
Republican National Convention Rules Rule
18 (Justice Resolution) (1)-(4)
Republican National Convention Rules Rule
18 (Justice Resolution) Memorandum of Law
Republican National Convention Rules Rule
18 (Justice Resolution) State Election Laws
Republican National Convention Rules
Adopted (Published),
Schedule of Appointments (1)-(2)
Southern States Republican Conference
Briefing Book
Staff Lists (1)-(2)
State Campaign Chairmen Lists (1)-(3)
State Campaign Chairmen Meeting,
State Lists Book1: General
State Lists Book 2:
State Lists Book 2:
Strategy Meeting Briefing Book,
Use of White House for Candidate-Related
Activities
Virginia Briefing Book (1)-(3)
Virginia Challenge (Convention File) (1)-(5)
Volunteer Campaign Manual
Volunteer Legal Staff (1)-(4)
Windup Papers