|
|
Gerald R. Ford Library
1000 Beal Avenue,
www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
H. GUYFORD STEVER
Scientist, university and
government administrator, and
consultant to government and
industry:
Papers, (1930) 1936-90
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
Papers documenting Stever's
academic and governmental career, professional affiliations, and private sector
consulting in the fields of aviation, aeronautics, outer space, engineering,
and technology development. Included is
material on such topics as engineering education, professional aeronautical and
engineering societies, ballistic missile defense, transfer of technology to
developing countries, Air Force science, and the
QUANTITY
96 linear feet (ca. 192,000 pages)
DONOR
H. Guyford Stever (accession number 90-NLF-036)
ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
H.
Guyford Stever has donated
to the
Prepared by Jennifer Sternaman, March 1993; Revised 4/94, 6/96 JAS
[s:\bin\findaid\stever, guy - papers.doc]
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
H. Guyford Stever
1938 A.B.,
Physics,
1941 Ph.D. Physics, California Institute of Technology
1941-42 Member, Staff Radiation Lab, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1942-45 Scientific Liaison Officer, National
Defense Research Council,
1945-46 Guided Missiles Commission, Joint Chiefs of Staff
1946-55 Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Assistant Professor, Associate Professor)
1955-56 Chief Scientist, United States Air Force
1956-65 Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Professor, Associate Dean of Engineering, Department Chair)
1965-72 President,
1972-76 Director, National Science Foundation
1976-77 Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
1977-Present Science Consultant (e.g. National Research Council, National Academy of Engineering), Corporate Director (e.g. TRW, Scherring Plough)
INTRODUCTION
H. Guyford Stever rose to a prominent position in the scientific and engineering community through his work in aeronautical research, including development of guided missiles and space craft as well as basic flight research. He gained a reputation as an able administrator and served on many important government committees related to science and technology issues of national concern.The Stever Papers cover his career, 1936-90, and reflect his varied interests.
Overall, the Stever Papers will help researchers understand the components -- academic, industrial, professional, and governmental -- of the engineering field during the 1950s and 60s. They will also show what it took to attain a level of prominence in engineering during that era, and illustrate some of the nationally important science issues from the 1950s through 1990. Stever worked in the academic, industrial, and government sectors concurrently, as the papers taken as whole will reflect. The paragraphs below briefly describe Stever's activities in each, and the nature of the documentation therein.
Academic
Stever
enjoyed a long and distinguished career in academia, affiliated with the
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and
The materials he collected while President of Carnegie Mellon University document his activities with professional organizations such as the American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), other universities, social events, social clubs, and his work with corporations. The collection does not contain his official university files, which are housed at the Carnegie Mellon University Archives.
Stever left academia in 1972 and has not since officially associated with any academic institution. He did, however, work in many capacities (including president) with a group called the Universities Research Association (URA). There is a separate series of materials from Stever's most active years with this group. The URA, as part of its activities, contracts to design and operate large scale scientific projects.
Stever has also maintained an interest in science education in general, particularly at the college level. He continues to serve as an advisor and consultant for universities and other organizations studying this issue. The Stever Papers contain materials that reflect this interest.
Industry
By 1950, Stever was acting as a technical advisor to corporations such as Goodyear Tire and United Aircraft, providing technical advice on aerospace projects and serving as an expert on the condition of the aerospace and aeronautical industry. The heaviest documentation of his corporate consulting work covers from 1960 to 1968. This material, found in the MIT series, runs the gamut from detailed narratives about specific projects to routine forms, letters, and expense accounts. Additional corporate consulting materials are scattered through the rest of the collection, usually filed under the corporation name.
After 1968, Stever's corporate involvement became more policy/administration oriented, and the materials reflect the change. They contain meeting material, reports on projects, departmental information, and sometimes, information about overall company goals. Also included are routine correspondence, memoranda, and notes on expenses.
Finally, researchers will not find any but routine material related to Stever's continuing work on the boards of directors of T.R.W., Scherring Plough, or Goodyear, even though he has worked extensively with these companies.
Government
Throughout his 50-year career, Stever has provided the government with scientific and technical advice at several different levels. He has worked with national and international organizations with loose ties to the government, as well as directly for government agencies.
Stever started working for the government as a technical advisor to the military in areas of defense research. In 1947 he became a member of the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) to the Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force, a group that provided scientific and technical expertise for Air Force projects. The materials related to the SAB deal largely with administrative matters and evaluation of selected Air Force science projects.
Other early government jobs
documented in the papers include Stever's year as
Chief Scientist of the Air Force (1955-56), a one-year position reserved for
leading young scientists; committees related to space science and the creation
of NASA; his advisory role with Air Force Systems Command (1964-67); the
Defense Science Board (1961-1969); and the House of Representatives Committee
on Science and Aeronautics (1959-72).
Unfortunately, the collection has little material prior to 1947 documenting,
for example, his advisory role as Science Liaison Officer in
In 1972, Stever became director of the National Science Foundation (NSF), a government agency promoting and supporting the progress of science and engineering. In this capacity Stever also served as an unofficial science advisor to Presidents Nixon and Ford. In 1976, Stever left the NSF to direct, for a short time, the newly created Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), an office that he had helped create. In both positions Stever had considerable influence over the scientific community, and through his advisory role with the Nixon and Ford administrations, helped to direct the nation's science policy. For the most part, however, the NSF and OSTP files document his outside personal, professional, and social activities, rather than his official responsibilities at the agencies. He apparently left his official files with the agencies.
Stever
left the OSTP in 1977 but continued to be very active as an advisor to the
government on various commissions, panels, and other advisory groups. Stever's papers
document his work with many of these groups.
One such group was the National Research Council (NRC), an organization
within the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) formed to facilitate scientific
research and to study national and international problems in research. Stever served on
many NRC committees covering such topics as energy, pesticides, transportation,
public safety, engineering, and international research cooperation with
Stever was also a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), another division of the NAS. The NAE is comprised of engineering leaders and sponsors engineering programs of national importance, fosters engineering research, and provides engineering advice to the federal government. Many of the materials relating to the NAE show the process by which one becomes a member of the group.
Stever worked in an advisory capacity for NASA, Department of Energy, and the Office of Technology Assessment, participating on recent (1985 to 1990) committees examining space science and ballistic missile defense. Included are materials about the nation's space policies, NASA directions, the redesign of the space shuttle's solid rocket booster, human exploration of space (an offshoot of Vice-President Dan Quayle's task force on space), the Strategic Defense Initiative ("Star Wars"), and the nation's energy interests. In addition, he was part of the science advisory arm of the Carter/Reagan transition team.
Summary
The first series contains transcripts from a 1987 oral history interview with Stever conducted by Michael Gorn, an historian with the Office of Air Force History. The rest of the collection is divided into separate series for each of the major phases of Stever's career (e.g. MIT, Carnegie Mellon, NSF/OSTP, etc.). Each series contains subject files, meaning that researchers may need to consult several series if they are interested in Stever's long-term interests or affiliations. The most substantive and complete part of the collection is the material dating from his 1977 retirement from the White House. Unlike other times in his professional career, Stever was not transferring materials to a larger institutional archives, so the series contains nearly everything that Stever used in his work. However, these materials are somewhat unwieldy, being gathered into one large subject series with only a few of the larger caches of material separated into smaller series. This arrangement seems to best reflect the nature of the past 13 years, with Stever delving into diverse activities often concurrently.
The collection has an uneven level of documentation, because for many areas of his career official files exist in other repositories, such as a university archives, the National Archives, or science agencies. In addition, substantive materials are mixed with routine documents. There is very little here about Stever's personal life or his childhood.
Related
Materials (12/1992):
Official files relating to Stever's work for MIT and Carnegie Mellon can be found in the respective university archives and those concerning his role as Science Advisor are at the National Archives. At the time of this writing, the National Science Foundation still holds many of the files documenting his role as director. Material related to government committee work for various agencies may also be found at the National Archives and at the agencies. Materials related to Stever's role in the OSTP can be found at the Gerald R. Ford Library in the files of Glenn Schleede, White House Central Files, Subject File FG 6-9, and James Cannon. The Nixon Materials Project may hold additional material documenting his role as Science Advisor and the Office of Science and Technology. The Gerald Ford Library holds material related to aeronautics and outer space throughout the open collections.
March 1994 Accretion
In March 1994, Guyford Stever delivered to the Ford Library approximately 25 feet of additional material. The bulk of the accretion covers the period 1989-1993, and primarily documents his recent consulting activities. These new papers are not available to research, pending archival processing.
Series Descriptions
1 Oral History, 1987. (.5 linear feet)
Transcripts, Guyford Stever interview by Michael Gorn, February 1987. Gorn, an historian with the Office of Air Force History, interviewed Stever as part of a monograph he was writing on long-range science studies from 1944 to 1986. The interview covers Stever's education and selected professional experiences, particularly defense related projects. Among the topics discussed are the M.I.T. radiation lab, the "London Mission" of the Office of Scientific Research and Development, project "Toward New Horizons," the early guided missile program, U.S. Air Force Scientific Advisory Board, how science and technology affected the air war over Europe, and Stever's tenure as Chief Scientist of the U.S. Air Force. Stever also reflects on his university and public experiences, including important issues on which he advised the Nixon and Ford administrations.
2-6 Colgate University/California Institute of Technology, 1930-44. (2 linear feet)
Notes,
exams, assignments, and reports from his undergraduate courses at
Unfortunately, the materials were not separated by college or level of study. Researchers will get a sense of what Stever studied, but will find it difficult to trace his educational development.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
7-34 Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1946-65. (11.2 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, notes, teaching materials, meeting minutes, student papers, reviews, speech material, articles, expense accounts, and various financial data documenting aspects of Stever's work while he was at M.I.T. Teaching materials, student papers, and routine and miscellaneous departmental material dominate the series. However, there are also documents from Stever's corporate and government consulting work and from various professional activities.
The
consulting materials are heavily oriented toward tracking Stever's
expenses, but some reflect aerospace industry concerns (projects, corporate
directions) from the fifties and sixties.
There is scattered information on companies' finances, but not enough to
give researchers an overall sense of any company's development. Materials collected from work Stever did for government committees sometimes reflects
national long-range science and technology policies, and show feasibility,
strengths, and weaknesses of proposed government projects. Examples include the Defense Science Board,
Navy Aerodynamics Laboratory, and Senate Select Committee on Space and Astronautics
(testimony about changing NACA to NASA).
Almost 2 feet of material document the activities of the
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
35-38 Scientific Advisory Board, 1955-64. (1.6 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, minutes, and reports collected while Stever served on the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of the U.S. Air Force. The materials concern the work of the SAB in tracking and evaluating new technology for the Air Force, mostly related to aerospace research.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
39-40 Chief
Scientist of the
Speech transcripts, correspondence, articles, and reports. This series consists primarily of speeches Stever delivered as Chief Scientist. Many of the speeches describe developments in aerospace and defense research.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
41-81
In
1965, Stever was appointed President of Carnegie Tech
(Carnegie Institute of Technology), and served there until 1972. This material primarily reflects his
activities in professional engineering societies, social functions associated
with the university, social clubs, and with corporate affiliations. A small, but interesting cache of material
documents student protests and demonstrations at other universities. During Stever's
tenure, Carnegie Tech merged with the Mellon Institute to become
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
82-114 National Science Foundation/Office of Science and Technology Policy, 1972-77. (11.6 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, speeches, biographies, reports, press releases, minutes, articles, passports, membership cards, publications, and clippings. Some materials concern Stever's official duties at the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) while he headed those agencies, but the bulk concerns other personal and professional interests and organizations to which he belonged at the time. Documentation on the NSF is relatively slim and consists, for the most part, of newsletters, interviews, articles and clippings. His OSTP materials are somewhat more extensive and include a chronological file of memoranda and correspondence, case files on speeches, and a file on his nomination and confirmation, in addition to the document types available on the NSF. Other materials concern his activities with professional organizations (such as the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, the National Academy of Engineering, or the National Academy of Sciences), social clubs (such as the Bohemian Grove and the Cosmos Club), or academic institutions (such as Colgate University and Carnegie Mellon University).
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
115-207 Post-Government Subject File, 1977-1990. (37.2 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, articles, speeches, minutes, notes, membership lists, and publications. The bulk of material in this series documents Stever's activities with scientific organizations during the period after his retirement from the White House. Stever regularly participated on government committees, acted as a consultant to several science oriented companies, kept up liaison with the university community, and headed quasi-governmental projects, all relating to science, technology, and defense areas. The materials also represent work he did as a member of the National Research Council, National Academy of Engineering, and as the Chair of the Assembly of Engineering (National Academy of Sciences). Some of the well documented issues include science and technology in developing countries, government's role in science, aeronautical engineering, the National Research Council, energy, the National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Science, basic scientific research, ballistic missile defense systems (including the Strategic Defense Initiative), and space vehicles. Material on social clubs, souvenirs, routine corporate memoranda, and other personal material makes up part of this series.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
208-211 Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute, 1978-1990. (1.6 linear feet)
Notes,
memoranda, committee reports, drafts, strategic plans, agendas, minutes, annual
reports, correspondence, biographies, and brochures. The material relates to oceanographic
research, Woods Hole institutional development, and administrative
matters. Included are Stever's Visiting Committee working papers and department
evaluations, a 1986 process review, and the director's mission statements. Topics include ocean boundaries, ocean
research, NSF grants, privatization of research, the establishment of the
Coastal Studies and
Arranged alphabetically and chronologically thereunder.
212-216 University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, 1980-84. (2.0 linear feet)
Correspondence,
memoranda, proposals, concept papers, long-range plans, minutes, annual and
committee reports, budgets, agendas, contracts, biographies, invitations, and
lists. The material is related to UCAR
and NCAR atmospheric and environmental research, program development, and
administrative matters. The material
describes the institutional development and funding strategies of UCAR, a
consortium of universities, and the
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
217-225 Universities Research Association, 1978-89. (3.6 linear feet)
Meeting minutes, reports, correspondence, memoranda, and articles. Materials collected while he was closely associated with the administration of the Universities Research Association, an organization that contracts to run large scientific projects. Much of the material relates to the operation of Fermilab and the Superconducting Super Collider. There are also materials related to the URA's failed proposal to operate the space telescope.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
226-230 Panel to Redesign the Space Shuttle Solid Rocket Booster, 1986-89. (2.0 linear feet)
Meeting material, reports, correspondence, memoranda, and background material on the redesign of the space shuttle's solid rocket booster, following the Challenger disaster.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
231-234 Committee on the Human Exploration of Space, 1989. (1.6 linear feet)
Reports,
correspondence, memoranda, presentation material,
articles, and studies. Materials
documenting the work of the committee, formed in response to President Bush's
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
235-237 Committee on Space Policy, 1987. (1.2 linear feet)
Reports, correspondence, memoranda, articles, and studies. Materials collected as part of Stever's work on the National Research Council committee, which explored all aspects of civil space policy. The Committee's results were presented to President-elect George Bush as recommendations for space program directions.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
238-240 Publications, 1968-88. (1.2 linear feet)
Books, reports, studies. Publications about various scientific topics, including technology development and transfer, military science, and basic science.
Container List
Correspondence
Draft
Final Copy (1)‑(2)
Publications by Michael Gorn (1)‑(2)
Courses:
Atomic Physics, 1930‑38 (1)‑(2)
Biology, 1934
Calculus, 1933‑36
Chemistry, 1938 (1)‑(2)
Dimensional Analysis, 1939‑40 (1)‑(2)
Electricity, Light, and Atomic Physics, 1940 (1)‑(2)
History of Physics, 1941 (1)‑(2)
Humanities, ca.?1938
Courses:
Hydromechanics, 1942
Kinetic Theory, 1944
Math (Differential Equations), 1937‑38
Mathematical Physics ‑ General, 1940 (1)‑(3)
Mathematical Physics ‑ Notes, 1940 (1)‑(2)
Notes, ca.?1933 (1)‑(4)
Courses:
Notes, c1933 (5)‑(6)
Nuclear Physics, ca.?1930
Optics, 1938 (1)‑(2)
Optics Seminar, ca.?1938
Philosophy and Religion, ca.?1937
Physics Seminar, 1938 (1)‑(3)
Courses:
Quantitative Analysis, ca.?1935
Quantitative Analysis ‑ Inorganic Chemistry, 1937
Quantum Mechanics, ca.?1937 (1)‑(2)
Relativity, ca.?1938
Seminar III‑IV, ca.?1938
Seminar on Geiger Counters, ca.?1938
Social Sciences, 1935
Spectroscopy, ca.?1935
Unidentified ‑ Prof. Epstein, 1939
Unidentified ‑ Notes, 1939‑40 (1)
Courses:
Unidentified Notes, 1939‑40 (2)‑(5)
Dissertation ‑ Expedition for Mesotron Decay Data, 1939
Dissertation ‑ Original Manuscript, 1940
Experiment Data, 1944
Journal, ca.?1935 (account of first days of college ‑ "Entrance Week")
Papers:
"The Absorption of Cosmic Rays in Air and Water," 1936
"Discharge Mechanism of Fast GM Counter from the Dead Time Experiment", 1941
"The Mean Lifetime of the Mesotron from Electroscope Data", 1941
"Report on the Disintegration of the Mesotron", ca.?1939
"A Short Summary of Interpolation", ca.?1939
Printed Material, 1934 (two course texts)
Administration, 1960‑61 (1)‑(3)
Advisory Panel on Aeronautics ‑ Steering Group, 1959
Aeronautical Engineering, Dept of, 1954
Aeronautics and Astronautics, Dept. of, 1948‑61
Aerodynamics Laboratory ‑ Navy, 1960‑63 (1)‑(2)
Aeronautics
Publication Program,
Aerodynamics ‑ Reports, 1948‑50 (1)‑(2)
Aerodynamics ‑ Reports, 1948‑50 (3)
Air Force Office of Scientific Research, 1963
American
Anglo‑American
Aeronautical Conference ‑
Anglo‑American Aeronautical Conference ‑ Misc
"Applied Mechanics", 1950‑58 (reviews)
Appointment to Head of Mechanical Engineering, Naval Architecture, and Marine Engineering, 1961
Arthur Dehon Little Memorial Lecture, 1946‑47
Athletic Board, 1947‑49
Bibliographies, 1948
Bureau of Ships ‑ Search for Chief Scientist, 1964
Cal Tech Development Program, 1958
Carnegie Corp., 1961
Class Grades, 1947‑57
Class Notes:
Course "Aerodynamics of Compressible Fluids", 1948 (1)‑(4)
Course "Missile and Space Re‑entry, ca.?1960
Course 16.03, 1948‑50
Course 16.04, 1948‑50
Course 16.052 "Compressible Aerodynamics", 1950 (1)‑(2)
Course 16.059 "Aerodynamics of Missiles", 1957 (1)
Class Notes:
Course 16.059 "Aerodynamics of Missiles", 1957 (2)
Course 16.059 "Transonic Aerodynamics, 1954 (1)‑(4)
Course 16.07 "Aero‑Kinetics", 1948
Course 16.105, 1948
Course 16.13, 1948‑49
Course 16.18, 1948‑49 (1)‑(2)
Course 16.47 "Guided Missiles"
Class Notes:
Course 16.761 "Orbital and Ballistic Flight", 1959‑60 (1)‑(4)
Course 16.762 "Orbital and Ballistic Flight", 1959‑60
Course 17.762 "Astronautics Seminars", 1961 (1)‑(2)
Course 2.44 "Heat Engineering", ca.?1948
College Federal Agency Council, 1964
Compressible Aerodynamics ‑ Bibliographic information, ca.?1953
"Condensation of Air in Hypersonic Wind Tunnels", 1950
"Condensation of Air in Hypersonic Wind Tunnels", Corrections, 1951
"Condensation of Air in Supersonic Wind Tunnels", 1956
Consulting:
Analytic Server (ANSER) ‑ Expense Accounts, 1959‑62
Analytic Server (ANSER) ‑ General (1)‑(3), 1959‑60
Analytic Server (ANSER) ‑ Member/Trustee (1)‑(3), 1961‑62
Axe Science and Electronics 1961‑62, (1)‑(2)
Chance Vought ‑ Weapon Systems (SLAM), 1960‑61
Chance Vought ‑ Ling‑Temco Vought, 1960‑63
Control
Board of
Consulting:
Epsco, Inc., 1962 (1)‑(7)
Fairchild Guided Missiles, 1952
Goodyear Aircraft Corp., 1950‑51, (1)‑(3)
Consulting:
Miscellaneous Expense Accounts, 1953‑58
Missiles/Jets and Automation Management Co., 1957‑60 (1)‑(2)
Project STARLIGHT, 1957‑62
Positions Declined, 1954‑66 (1)‑(3)
Space Technology Labs, 1957‑62 (1)‑(3)
Consulting:
United Aircraft Corporation:
Correspondence, 1958‑64 (1)‑(2)
Energy Conservation Systems ‑ Scientific Advisory Committee, 1962‑63
Expense Accounts, 1960‑63
Future Developments, 1957
General, 1959‑60
Laboratories Report, 1959‑60 (1)‑(2)
Materials Research, 1957
Missiles and Spacecraft, 1960
Program Planning and Scheduling, 1959
Research Proposals, 1959
Scientific Advisory Committee, 1961‑62
Vtol (helicopters) ‑ photos, 1962
Vtol Scientific Advisory Committee, 1962‑64
United Technology Corp. ‑ General, 1960‑61
Consulting:
United Aircraft Corporation:
United Technology Corp. ‑ Propulsion and Accessory Meetings, 1961
United Technology Corp. ‑ Scientific Directorate, 1960‑61
Weather, 1959‑64
United Research Corp. ‑ General, 1959
United Research Corp. ‑ Program Plan, 1959‑60
United Research Corp. ‑ Scientific Directorate, 1959
United Research Corp. ‑ Scientific Director's Meeting, 1959‑60
Westinghouse ‑ Atomic Power Dept, 1959
Westinghouse ‑ Expense Accounts, 1960‑62
Westinghouse ‑ General, 1959‑62
Correspondence:
Family/Personal, 1956
General, 1948‑59 (1)‑(3)
Course "Missile Aerodynamics", 1957
Course "Modern Developments in Combustion", 1957
Course 16.47, "Rocket Propelled Missiles", 1957‑59
Defense Science Board, 1956‑61 (1)‑(2)
Defense Science Board ‑ Expense Accounts, 1960‑63
Doctoral Exam, Written Problems for, 1950‑58
"Dynamics of Atmospheric Flight of Space Craft", ca.?1950
Expense Accounts, 1958‑62 (1)‑(2)
Ford Foundation ‑ Grant, 1959 (1)‑(3)
Gaither Associates, 1959‑63 (1)‑(3)
Heat
Transfer ‑
Heat Transmission ‑ Publications, 1951
Hodograph Wedge Solutions, ca.?1955
House Committee on Science and Astronautics, 1960
Institute of the Aerospace Sciences:
Aerospace Panel for Space Physics, 1960‑61
American Rocket Society, 1958‑63
Annual Meeting, 1961
Committee on Science and Astronautics, 1960
Correspondence, 1961‑63
Consolidation with American Rocket Society:
Council Meetings, 1962 (1)‑(2)
Executive Committee, 1957‑60 (1)‑(2)
General, 1961‑63 (1)‑(2)
Institute of the Aerospace Sciences:
Consolidation with American Rocket Society:
General, 1961‑63 (3)‑(4)
Honors and Awards, 1961‑62
National Nominating Committee, 1962
Organization, A.I.A.A., 1962
Planning Reports, 1962
Proposed Merger, 1961
Summer Meeting, 1962
"Think Sessions", 1960 (1)‑(2)
Institute of the Aerospace Sciences:
Consolidation with American Rocket Society:
"Think Session", 1960 (3)
Executive Committee, 1961 (1)‑(2)
Executive Council, 1960‑62 (1)‑(4)
Expense Account, 1960‑63
General, 1958‑63 (1)‑(2)
Institute of the Aerospace Sciences:
General, 1958‑63 (3)‑(5)
Honor's Night, 1961
Louis Hill Award, 1962‑63
Navy (Curtiss A‑1), 1961
Progress Report, 1958
Institute of the Aerospace Sciences:
Pamphlets, 1961
Publications, 1963
Publications Committee, 1961
Sectional Affairs, 1961
Souvenir, 1961‑62 (1)‑(4)
"A Space Technology Program", 1958
Strategic Air Command Inspection Trip, 1961
Wright Brothers Lecture, 1961
"Mathematical Theory of Big Game Hunting", 1937
McGraw Hill Book Company, 1952‑63 (1)‑(3)
Mid‑Century Convocation, 1949
Miscellaneous
National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics:
Committee on Space Technology, 1958
Instrumentation, 1958
Reentry, 1958
Space Surveillance, 1958
National Aeronautics and Space Administration:
Subcommittee, 1953
Committee Membership, 1958‑61
Committee Reports, 1962
House Select Committee on Astronautics and Space Exploration (Stever's testimony), 1958 (1)‑(2)
Photos, 1957-64
National Aeronautics and Space Administration:
Senate Special Committee on Space and Astronautics, 1958
Space Science Board ‑ Space Summer Study, 1962
Naval Ordnance Test Station, 1957‑59
Notes, ca.?1955 (1)‑(3)
Ober Course 16.07 Aerodynamic/Kinetic of Gases ‑ Problems, 1944
Ober Course 16.10, 1947
Ober Course 2.44 Kinetic Theory of Gases, 1947‑49 (1)‑(3)
Political Science Doctorate, Ad Hoc Committee on, 1957‑58 (1)‑(2)
President's Commission on the Patent System, 1966
Project STARLIGHT, 1961‑63
Radiation Lab:
Course ESMDT 241, ca.?1942
Course 8.44, 1946
Course 971, 1942
Course 992, 1942
Course
1084, 1942 (
Course Electromagnetic Radiation, 1941
Radiation Lab:
Course Microwave Properties, 1941
Course Notes from Reports, ca.?1942
Past, Present, Future, 1941
Untitled, ca.?1942
Science and Policy Conference ‑ "Science and National Security", 1958
Seminars ‑ Advanced Fluid Mechanics, 1950
Seminars ‑ Aerodynamics Research, 1951‑52
Seminars ‑ Aeronautical Engineering, 1949‑52 (1)‑(3)
Seminars ‑ Mechanical Engineering, 1950
Shock Tube Project, 1949‑55 (1)‑(3)
Shock Tube Project ‑ "The Shock Tube in Aerodynamic and Structural
Research" 1954
"Space Flight", ca.?1960
Space Vehicles ‑ Background, 1958 (1)‑(3)
Speeches:
General, 1952‑64 (1)‑(4)
Index, ca.?1956
Outlines/Notes, 1950‑64 (1)‑(2)
Speeches:
Outlines/Notes, 1950‑64 (3)‑(7)
Transcripts ‑ Aerospace/Engineering, 1957‑61
Transcripts ‑ Flight, 1955
Transcripts ‑ Guided Missiles, 1956‑57
Transcripts ‑ Military/National Security, 1955‑58
Transcripts ‑ Misc., 1957‑64
Speeches:
Transcripts ‑ Outer Space, 1958‑63 (1)‑(2)
Sputnik (clippings), 1959
Staff Administration Committees, 1952 (1)‑(2)
Student‑Faculty Committee, 1953‑55
Student Papers:
"Atmospheric and Photographic Reconnaissance Probe for Planet Mars", 1960
"Correction of Guidance and Control Errors in Return Trajectories from
Extremely High Altitude Earth Orbits", 1962
"Experimental Investigation of the Condensation of Air in a Mach 7.2 Wind Tunnel", 1942
"Ionization of a Gas in a Nozzle", 1948
"The Kinetics of Collisional Chemical Reactions in Gases"
Student Papers:
"The Lift and Drag Coefficient in the Free Molecular Flow Region", 1948
"Optimum Interplanetary Capture Operations", 1960
"Optimum Retro‑Thrust Trajectories", 1960
"On the Separation of Isotopes by Thermal Diffusion", 1948
"The Separation of Isotopes", 1948
"A Statistical Study of Solar Weather Relations", 1961
"Transonic Flow Past a Wedge at Zero Angle of Attack", 1952
"Wall Corrections for Lifting Models in Compressible Flow for Wind Tunnels", 1952
Studies/Reports:
Manuscript ‑ Misc., 1953‑59
Manuscripts ‑ Stever, 1950‑54
Printed, 1942‑56 (1)‑(3)
Studies/Reports:
Printed, 1942‑56 (4)‑(9)
"Scientific Intelligence: Some Aspects of Development from 1939‑45"
"Soviet Education in Aeronautics: A Case Study", 1955
"Transient Aerodynamics of Two Dimensional Airfoils", 1954
Superaerodynamics, 1948
Supersonic Aircraft and Missiles, 1949
Symposium/Lectures ‑ Misc., 1949‑51
Theses Subjects, 1953
Theses Supervision, 1958‑59 (Course XV)
Transonic Aerodynamics, 1954 (1)‑(2)
Transonic Aircraft Control, 1951
Transonic Aircraft Control Project, 1952
Trip
‑
Undergraduate Policy in Engineering, 1955 (1)‑(2)
U.S./U.K.
Advisory Committee on
Von Karman, Theodore, 1956
Ad Hoc Committee on Air Force/Department of Defense Relationships, 1963
Ad Hoc Committee on Hypersonic Wind Tunnels, 1964
Ad Hoc Committee on In House Laboratories, 1961‑64 (1)‑(2)
Ad Hoc Committee on Research and Development, 1958
Advisory Group for Aeronautical Research and Development (AGARD), 1964
Air Research and Development Command
Background Information, (1)‑(2)
Bioastronautics, 1963
Computer (Burroughs B5000), 1964
Conflict of Interest, 1961‑64 (1)‑(3)
Correspondence, 1957‑64 (1)‑(2)
Correspondence, 1957‑64 (3)‑(5)
Division Advisory Groups, 1962‑63
Executive Committee, 1963‑64 (1)‑(6)
Expense Accounts, 1962‑64 (1)‑(2)
Full Board Meeting (1)‑(5)
General, 1963‑64
General Board Meeting, 1964
Information Processing Panel, 1963‑64
Manned Orbiting Laboratory, 1964
Memoranda, 1963‑65
Mission/History, 1963
Naval Research, 1963 (Annual Report)
Office of Aerospace Research, 1963
Operations, 1961‑64
Project FORECAST, 1963‑64
Project FORECAST West, 1964
Research and Technology Division Laboratories, 1964 (1)‑(2)
Scientific Guidance Group, 1960‑61 (1)‑(4)
Steering Committee, 1964 (1)‑(2)
Stever ‑ Biographical, 1955
Tactical Air Command Task Group, 1964
Air Force Association, 1955
AGARD ‑ "Modern Trends in Dynamic Stability Analysis and Experiment", 1955
Clippings, 1955
Correspondence, 1954‑55 (1)‑(3)
Miscellaneous:
Chief Scientist, 1955‑56
Conferences, 1955‑56
Corporate Reports, 1955‑56
Miscellaneous:
Invitations/Souvenirs, 1955‑56
Printed/Published, 1955‑56
Speeches:
"Aeronautical Electronics Contribution to Air Force Strength", 5/1956
"The Coming Air Power Technical Crisis (to Air Force Association)", 8/1955
"Electronics in Aviation", ca.?1955
"The Future For Research in Government", 9/1955
"Modern Aerodynamic
Measurements" (to
"The Partnership of
Science and the Air Force" (to IAS),
"Potential Fighter Developments through the Aid of Scientific Advancements", 1955
"Research and
Development Shortages" (to
"Research Requirements for Weapon System Developments", 6/1956
"Speech to the
"Technical Barriers
to High School Flight",
"Technical Commitments of the Aeronautical Engineering Community", 3/1956
"Technical Military
Superiority is Still Needed" (to ARS)
Untitled (to
Addressograph Multigraph Corporation, 1971
Aerospace Corporation, 1970
Air Force Association ‑ Aerospace Education Foundation, 1964‑67
Air Force Systems Command, 1964‑65 (1)‑(4)
Air Force Systems Command, 1965‑67 (5)‑(11)
Air Force Systems Command, 1968‑71 (12)‑(15)
Allegheny Conference on Community Development, 1965‑71
American Council on Education, 1970‑71
American
General, 1964‑71 (1)‑(9)
American
General, 1971‑72 (10)
Finance Committee, 1965‑67 (1)‑(2)
Goddard Award Committee, 1965‑67 (1)‑(2)
Hill Award, 1963‑71 (1)‑(5)
American
Hill Award, 1971 (6)
Honors and Awards Committee, 1963‑68 (1)‑(5)
Long‑Range Planning Committee, 1963
Engineering, 1963
National Nominating Committee, 1963‑70 (1)‑(2)
Presidents from Committee, 1967‑71
Sylvanus Albert Reed Award, 1963‑66
American Ordnance Association, 1959‑69
American Physical Society, 1966‑69
American
Red Cross ‑
American Society for Engineering Education, 1962
American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 1961‑70
Armco Steel Corporation, 1969
Bohemian Club, 1969‑72 (1)‑(2)
California Institute of Technology ‑ Jet Propulsion Laboratory, 1967‑70 (1)‑(3)
Carnegie Institute of Technology:
Announcement of Appointment as 5th President, 1964
Congratulatory Letters on Appointment as 5th President, 1964 (1)-(4)
Carnegie Institute of Technology:
Congratulatory Letters on Appointment as 5th President, 1964‑65 (5)
Inauguration, 10/65
Inauguration, ‑ Greetings, 1965
Visits, 1964‑65
Center for Strategic and International Studies, 1969‑71
Century Association, 1969‑71
Citizens for the Advancement of Community Health/Retardation Services, 1966
Community
Chest of
Cosmos Club, 1955‑66 (1)‑(2)
Cosmos Club, 1967‑71 (3)‑(4)
Defense Science Board, 1961‑65 (1)‑(6)
Defense Science Board, 1965 (7)‑(13)
Defense Science Board, 1967‑69 (14)‑(17)
Division
of
Advisory Committee, 1964‑1967 (1)‑(3)
Division
of
Episcopal Church Foundation Survey, 1964
Preparatory Study Commission on Science and Technology, 1962‑63
Duquesne Club, 1965‑72
Fisher Body Craftsman's Guild, 1966‑68 (1)‑(2)
Fisher Scientific Company, 1968‑71 (1)‑(3)
Goodwill Industries, 1969‑71
Governor's Committee for Transportation, 1967‑70 (1)‑(3)
Health Research and Services Foundation, 1965‑66
Hospital
Council of
House of Representatives ‑ Committee on Science and Aeronautics, 1959‑63 (1)‑(2)
House of Representatives ‑ Committee on Science and Aeronautics, 1965‑1972 (3)‑(9)
Indian Institute of Technology, 1965‑66
International Science Foundation, 1971
Koppers Company, 1966‑72 (1)‑(4)
LTV Aerospace Corporation, 1960‑68 (1)‑(2)
LTV Aerospace Corporation, 1968‑71 (3)
Mellon National Bank and
Trust Company ‑
Lunar Science Institute, 1967‑69 (1)‑(5)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1965‑71 (1)‑(2)
McGraw‑Hill Book Company, 1959‑65
National
Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board, 1967‑68 (1)‑(9)
National
Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board, 1968‑70 (10)‑(19)
National
Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board, 1970‑71 (20)‑(26)
Committee on Membership, 1965‑67 (1)‑(2)
National
Committee on Membership, 1968‑71 (3)‑(9)
Committee on Organization Planning, 1969‑70 (1)‑(3)
National
Committee on Organization Planning, 1970 (4)‑(5)
Committee on Technology Assessment, 1968
Council and Executive Committee, 1969‑71 (1)‑(4)
National
General, 1965‑69 (1)‑(3)
National
General, 1970‑71 (4)‑(5)
NASA/DOT Study of Civil Aeronautics Research and Development,
1969‑71 (1)‑(2)
Symposium ‑ "Product Quality, Performance, and Cost", 1971 (1)‑(4)
Task Force on the Patent System, 1968
Advisory Board on Hardened Electrical Power Systems, 1964‑65
Space Applications Summer Study, 1967‑71 (1)‑(2)
National Research Council, 1956‑72 (1)‑(4)
Woods Hole Summer Program, 1967 (1)
Woods Hole Summer Program, 1967 (2)
National Bureau of Standards ‑ Statutory Visiting Committee, 1971 (1)‑(2)
National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 1963‑71 (1)‑(3)
National Science Board, 1970‑71
National Science Foundation:
Appointment as Director, 1971 (1)‑(2)
Congratulatory letters as Director, 1971 (1)‑(8)
National Science Foundation:
Fourth Board Report, 1970‑72 (1)‑(3)
Special Commission on Social Sciences, 1967‑69 (1)‑(2)
Newcomen Society in
Office of Science and Technology, 1966‑71 (1)‑(3)
Playhouse Association, 1965‑71
Polytechnic
Institute of
President's Commission on the Patent System, 1965‑68
President's Science Advisory Committee, 1960‑64
Recommendation, Letters of, 1965‑68 (1)
Recommendation, Letters of, 1968‑71 (2)‑(3)
Regional Industrial Development Corporation, 1965‑67
Royal Aeronautical Society, 1963‑67
Royal Society of Arts, 1968‑1970
Sarah Mellon Scaife Foundation, 1965‑66
Science Advisory Board ‑ Employment Statements, 1967‑68
Science
Advisory Board ‑
Science
Advisory Board ‑
Science Policy Task Force ‑ Nixon Administration, 1969
Security:
Classified Document Log, 1964‑71
Document Destruction Certificates and Receipts, 1969‑70
Facility Clearances, 1964‑72
Personnel Clearance Forms, 1950‑69
Shady
Simplex Wire and Cable Company, 1963‑67
Speech Index, 1965‑71
Speeches:
January‑May 1965
June‑December 1965
January ‑ April 1966
May ‑ September 1966
Speeches:
October ‑ December 1966
January ‑ August 1967
September ‑ December 1967
January ‑ August 1968
September ‑ December 1968
1969
January ‑ March 1970
April ‑ December 1970
1971
Speech Correspondence:
1965 (1)‑(2)
Speech Correspondence:
1966 (1)‑(4)
1967 (1)‑(5)
Speech Correspondence:
1967 (6)‑(8)
1968 (1)‑(6)
1969 (1)
Speech Correspondence:
1969 (2)‑(3)
1970 (1)‑(2)
1971
Speech Material:
1958‑59
1960‑62
1963‑64
1965 (1)‑(2)
Speech Material:
1966 (1)‑(2)
1967‑68
1969
1970‑71
Stever:
Air Force Personnel File, 1954‑56
Automobiles ‑ Accidents, Insurance, 1962‑63
Biography and Photographs, 1964‑71
Book, Flight, 1964‑66
Book, "Science and Technology in the Future of the World", 1967‑71
Contributions, 1965‑70
Stever:
Fishing
Trips,
Personal Correspondence, 1957‑71 (1)‑(8)
Stever:
Personal Correspondence, 1957‑71 (9)‑(12)
Resignation Letters, 1972
Skiing Trips, 1962‑72
System Development Corporation, 1965‑70 (1)‑(2)
Task Force on Science (President‑elect Nixon), 1968‑69 (1)‑(3)
Task Force on Science (President‑elect Nixon), 1968‑69 (4)‑(5)
Trans‑Sonics, 1961‑67
United Aircraft:
General, 1965‑72 (1)‑(6)
Report of Chairmen of Scientific Advisory Committee, 1967‑70 (1)‑(2)
United Aircraft:
Energy Conversion Systems, 1963‑71 (1)‑(5)
VTOL Scientific Advisory Committee, 1965‑71 (1)‑(2)
United
Fund of
United Research Incorporated, 1964
The University Club, 1965‑69
Von Karman Institute, 1960‑70
WQED Pittsburgh Public Broadcasting, Inc., 1966‑71
Achievement Awards for College Scientists Foundation ‑ Scientist of the Year, 1976
Advisory Steering Group on Science and Technology for the First National Symposium of the Civilian/Military Institute (Walter Orr Roberts)
American
Council on
American
American
American Men of Science, Who's Who and Other Biographical Compilations (1)‑(4)
Bohemian Grove ‑ Hideaway (1)‑(2)
Carnegie‑Mellon University (1)‑(2)
Carnegie‑Mellon University ‑ Press Releases
Century Association
Chronological File:
Office of Science and Technology Policy, Congressional, 1976‑77
Office of Science and Technology Policy, 1976‑77 (1)‑(8)
Personal, 1971‑76 (1)‑(4)
Chronological File:
Personal, 1976‑77 (1)‑(2)
Conference Board Senior Executives Council, 1971‑73 (1)‑(6)
Box 86 NSF/OSTP Subject File
Conference Board Senior Executives Council, 1973‑74 (1)‑(9)
Conference Board Senior Executives Council, 1974‑76 (1)‑(6)
Confidential Statements of Employment and Financial Interests
Congratulatory Letters ‑ Appointment as Science Adviser (1)‑(5)
Congratulatory Letters ‑ Appointment as Science Adviser (6)‑(9)
Congressional Appointments, 1974
Copernican Volume ‑ Stever Essay on the History of Aviation and Manned Space Flight, 1971‑73 (1)‑(6)
Cosmos Club (1)‑(2)
Cosmos Club (3)‑(5)
Earthquake Prediction and Hazard Mitigation
Economic Policy Board Meeting on Tax Policies for Research and Development
European Trip, 1972 ‑ Stever and Drury (1)‑(2)
Federal Council for Science and Technology and Federal Coordinating Council for Science, Engineering and Technology ‑ Activities Report, 1975‑76 (Publication)
Hall
of Fame for Great Americans ‑
Hall
of Fame for Great Americans ‑
Health Records ‑ Stever
International
Interviews, Editorials and Articles (1)‑(2)
Interviews, Editorials and Articles (3)‑(9)
Invitations Accepted, 1973‑74 (1)‑(5)
Invitations Accepted, 1975‑76 (1)‑(3)
Invitations Regretted, 11/72‑8/73
Invitations Regretted, 9/73‑5/74
Invitations Regretted, 6/74‑3/75
Invitations Regretted, 4/75‑1/76
Invitations Regretted, 2/76‑10/76
Invitations Regretted, 11/76‑1/77 (1)‑(2)
Lamme Award Committee, 1972
Lindbergh Memorial Fund
Miscellaneous
Miscellaneous ‑ Membership Cards
Miscellaneous ‑ Passports and Health Certificates (1)‑(3)
National
National
National
National
(1)‑(2)
National
National
National Advisory Council on Minorities in Engineering (1)‑(3)
National Science Foundation ‑ Analysis of the Office of the Director, January 1972, and Selected Speeches by W.D. McElroy, 1969‑71 (1)‑(2)
Nomination File ‑ Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy:
General, (1)‑(4)
Clippings
Published Hearings
Office of Science and Technology Policy ‑ Invitations Pending
Office of Science and Technology Policy ‑ Stever Personal
Operation Sail
Organizations (1)‑(3)
Personal Correspondence, A‑D
Personal Correspondence, E‑M
Personal Correspondence, N‑T
Personal Correspondence, U‑Z
Personnel File ‑ Stever (1)‑(2)
Portrait to be Painted for Carnegie‑Mellon University, 1972
Presidential Letters
Project Knowledge 2000
Scrapbook, 1973
Society of Women Engineers Achievement Award, 1976 (1)‑(2)
Souvenir File, 11/71 ‑ 8/73 [RETURNED TO DONOR, 6/96]
Souvenir File, 9/73 ‑ 8/74 [RETURNED TO DONOR, 6/96]
Souvenir File, 9/74 ‑ 3/75 [RETURNED TO DONOR, 6/96]
Souvenir File, 4/75 ‑ 10/75 [RETURNED TO DONOR, 6/96]
Souvenir File, 11/75 ‑ 7/76 [RETURNED TO DONOR, 6/96]
Souvenir File (1)-(4)
Special Documents ‑ Personal and Confidential
Speeches and Trips:
Speeches and Trips:
10/11‑12/76: 27th
Congress of the Intl. Astronautical Fed.,
12/10‑11/76:
Workshop on Alternative Energy Strategies,
12/11‑15/76:
Speeches and Trips:
1/12‑13/77:
Speeches Declined, 8/76‑1/77 (1)‑(2)
Stever Biographies
Stever Notes (1)‑(3)
Trip
to
Trip
to
Cooperation, 1973 (1)‑(2)
White House Briefing for Spouses of Presidential Spokesmen
Workshop on Alternative Energy Strategies (1)‑(7)
Academy for Educational Development, 1987 (canceled)
Academy Industry Program (NRC) ‑ Symposium on Corporate Restructuring and Industrial Research and Development, 1989
Achievement Awards for College Scientists, 1984
Action Committee for Technology, 1981
Ad Hoc Committee for Review of the Space Shuttle Main Engine Development Program (NRC), 1978‑79 (1)‑(2)
Ad Hoc Committee on Government‑University Relations in Support of Science (NRC):
Correspondence, 1981‑83 (1)‑(3)
Meeting, 10/9‑10/81 (1)‑(2)
Meeting,
Ad Hoc Committee on Government‑University Relations in Support of Science (NRC):
Meeting,
Meeting, 1/28‑29/82 (1)‑(3)
Meeting, 4/12‑13/82 (1)‑(3)
Meeting, 7/8‑9/82 (1)‑(5)
Ad Hoc Committee on Government‑University Relations in Support of Science (NRC):
Meeting, 7/8‑9/82 (6)
Meeting, 9/29‑30/82 (1)‑(4)
National Commissions on Research Reports, 1980 (1)‑(2)
National Institutes of Health Advisory Committee, 1981 (1)‑(3)
Office of Management and Budget Circular A‑21, 1979
Ad Hoc Committee on Government‑University Relations in Support of Science (NRC):
Report By the Comptroller General on Indirect Costs of Health Research, 1979
Report on Quality of Research in Science, 1982 (1)‑(2)
Ad Hoc Committee on New Separation Processes for Genetic Engineering and Chemical and Energy Industries (NRC), 1982
Ad Hoc Committee on the Review of the National Research Council:
Background, 1981 (1)‑(4)
Correspondence, 1981‑82 (1)‑(2)
Meeting Agendas and Summaries, 1981‑82
"Addressing Public and Personal Concerns About Science", by John F. Ahearne, 1989
Advanced Manufacturing Technology Report, 1984 (1)‑(2)
Advanced Rotorcraft Technology Task Force Report, 1979 (1)‑(2)
Advanced X‑Ray Astrophysics Facility (AXAF), 1983‑89 (1)‑(2)
Advisory Board on Military Personnel Supplies Report (NRC), 1982
Advisory Board on the Built Environment (NRC), 1982‑83
"Aeroelasticity" ‑ Proceedings of the Memorial Symposium for Ray
Bispinghoff, 1986
Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (NRC):
Book of Memorabilia (1966‑83) Presented to Robert J.Burger, 1983 (1)‑(3)
General 1982‑83
Report on Aviation Turbine Fuels, 1982 (publication)
Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (NRC):
Report on the Influence of Computational Fluid Dynamics on Experimental Aerospace Facilities, 1983 (publication)
Workshop on NASA's Future Role in Aeronautics: General, 1980 (1)‑(2)
Workshop on NASA's Future Role in Aeronautics: Report ‑ Comments, 1980 (1)‑(3)
Workshop on NASA's Future Role in Aeronautics: Report ‑ Draft 4, 1980 (1)‑(3)
Workshop on NASA's Future Role in Aeronautics: Report ‑ Draft 5, 1980 (1)‑(3)
Aerospace Industries Association ‑ Technology Transfer Symposium, 1982 (1)‑(2)
"After the Dust Settles", ‑ Draft Article on Mass Transit, 1981
Agency for International Development Rural Satellite Program, 1979
Agricultural Development Council, 1983 (publication)
Air Force History Guest Speaker Series, 1987
Air Force Scientific Advisory Board, 1981‑82
Air Force Studies Board (NRC), 1979‑80
Air Force System Command History Conference, 1989
American Association for the Advancement of Science:
Annual Meeting: Science
Advice to the Next President of the
Colloquium on R&D Policy
General, 1977‑90 (1)‑(2)
Intergovernmental R&D Project, 1978‑80 (1)‑(2)
American Association for the Advancement of Science:
Intergovernmental R&D Project, 1978‑80 (3)
President‑Elect Material, 1987‑88
Science and Technology Network Task Force
American
Council on
American
50th Anniversary Committee, 1979‑81 (1)‑(5)
50th Anniversary Committee: Lists of Founder Members, 1980 (1)‑(2)
Fellows Nominations, 1977‑90 (1)‑(2)
American
Fellows Nominations, 1977‑90 (3)
Fellows Selection Committee, 1977‑89
General, 1977‑89
Headquarters Relocation Proposal, 1984
International Cooperation, 1988
American Physical Society, 1982‑83
American Society for Engineering Education ‑ Annual Conference, 1988
American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 1978
Analytic Services, Inc. (ANSER), 1983
Aspen Institute Executive Seminars, 1982
Assembly of Engineering, 1979‑83
Assembly of Engineering ‑ Personnel File
Association of Graduate Schools ‑ Stever Speech at Meeting, 1985
Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy, Inc., 1983‑84
Astronomy and Astrophysics Survey, 1990
Aviation and Space Historical Preservation Committee, 1985‑86
"BASE", 1983‑85
Base Broadening Committee, 1981‑82
Bazelon, David L. ‑ Articles by, 1972‑79
Bio‑Saline Research Workshop, 1977
Board on Army Science and Technology (NRC), 1983
Board on Minorities in Engineering and Science, (NRC), 1981
Board on Science and Technology
for International Development (BOSTID):
Board on Science and Technology for International Development (BOSTID):
Discussion Seminar on Regional Science and Technology
Development in the
General, 1978‑83 (1)‑(6)
Board on Science and Technology for International Development (BOSTID):
Meeting 4/10‑11/1978
Meeting 10/11‑12/1978
Meeting 11/29‑30/1979
Meeting 5/5‑6/1980
Meeting 12/11‑12/1980
Meeting 5/14‑15/1981 (1)‑(2)
Publications, 1978
Summary of Activities, 1970‑78
Board on Science and Technology for International Development (BOSTID):
Trip Reports, 1978‑80 (1)‑(2)
Board on Telecommunications ‑ Computer Applications (NRC), 1982‑83
Boeing Company, 1980 (1)‑(3)
Bohemian Club, 1977‑90
Brookings Institute Forum on Science and Technology, 1979‑80
Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, 1980
Bush, Vannevar ‑ Symposium, 1990
California Institute of Technology ‑ Alumni Association, 1980‑88
Canadian/Mexican/USA Seminar on Hemispheric Cooperation in Science and Technology (NAS), 1980‑81
Carbon Dioxide Assessment Committee (NRC), 1982
Cardiovascular
Advisory Committee,
Carnegie Commission on Science, Technology, and Government:
General, 1989‑90 (1)‑(7)
Meeting Binder, 1989‑90 (1)‑(2)
Research and Development, 1990
Carter, Jimmy ‑ Message on Science and Technology, 1979
Case Institute of Technology ‑ Commencement Address, 1977
Caterpillar Tractor Company, 1977‑90
Center for Intelligent Machines and Robots, 1982
Central Intelligence Agency ‑ Estimate on Soviet Sciences, 1984
Century Association, 1977‑89
Chief Sorcerers and Apprentices (Air Force Chief Scientists), 1977‑89
Civil Service Commission Seminar on Science, Technology and Public Policy, 1977
Cohen,
E.D.G. ‑ Meeting,
Collier Trophy Selection Committee, 1982‑83 (1)‑(2)
Commission on Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education (NRC), 1982
Commission on Engineering and Technical Systems (NRC) ‑ General, 1982‑83 (1)‑(3)
Commission on Engineering and Technical Systems (NRC) ‑ Meeting, 2/9‑10/83 (1)‑(4)
Commission on Engineering and Technical Systems (NRC) ‑ Program Plans, 1982‑83 (1)‑(2)
Commission on Human Resources/Commission on International Relations Joint Committee on International Human Resources Issues (NRC), 1979‑82
Commission on International Relations (NRC):
General, 1977‑78
Meeting, 1/18‑20/78 (1)‑(2)
Meeting, 5/18‑19/78
Meeting, 11/20‑21/78
Committee for a Second Review of the Department of Energy's Inertial Confinement Fusion Program (NRC), 1990
Committee for the Understanding of Technology in Human Affairs, 1979
Committee on Commercially Developed Space Facility (NRC), 1988‑89
Committee on Advanced Energy Storage Systems (NRC), 1982
Committee on Advanced Nuclear Systems (NRC), 1982‑83
Committee on an Aging Society (NRC), 1982‑83 (1)‑(2)
Committee on Army Manpower (NRC), 1982
Committee on Federal Science Policy (NAS), 1979
Committee on Future
Energy Alternatives for
Committee on Independent Research and Development Issues (NRC), 1978‑80
Committee on Industrial Policy for Developing Countries, 1982
Committee on International Science, Engineering, and Technology, 1985‑86
Committee on Magnetic Fusion (NRC), 1982
Committee on Minorities in Engineering (NRC), 1979‑80
Committee on NASA Scientific and Technological Program Reviews (NRC):
General, 1978‑83
Meetings,
Meetings,
Report on Assessment of Constraints on Space Shuttle Launch Rates, 1982‑83
Review of Proposed Reductions in 1983 Aeronautics Research & Tech. Prog., 1982
Committee on Nuclear and Alt. Energy Systems (NRC), Report Review 1979 (1)-(2)
Committee on Pesticide Decision Making (NRC), 1977 (1)‑(2)
Committee on Research Grants (NRC):
General, 1981‑82 (1)‑(2)
Meeting, 6/8‑9/81 (1)‑(2)
Meeting, 12/7‑8/81 (1)‑(3)
Committee on Research Grants (NRC):
Meeting, 12/7‑8/81 (4)‑(6)
Meeting,
Committee on Research Priorities in Tropical Biology (NRC), 1979‑80 (1)‑(2)
Committee on Satellite Power Systems (NRC), 1979
Committee
on Scholarly Communication with the People's Republic of
Engineering Education Delegation, 1978 (1)‑(4)
Committee
on Scholarly Communication with the People's Republic of
Engineering Education Delegation, 1978 (5)‑(6)
Background, (1)‑(9)
Committee
on Scholarly Communication with the People's Republic of
Background, (10)
Institutional Reports (1)‑(3)
Report (1)‑(3)
Stever Notes (1)‑(2)
General, 1978‑86 (1)‑(2)
Committe on Scholarly Communication with the People's
Republic of
General, 1978‑86 (3)
Newsletters, 1977‑82
Committee on Science and Public Policy (NAS), 1981
Committee on Science, Engineering and Public Policy (NAS), 1982‑90
Committee on Synthetic Fuels Facilities Safety (NRC) ‑ Report, 1982
Committee on Technology and International Economic and Trade Issues: Study of the Influences of Technology ‑ Automobile Panel Report, 1981 (1)‑(6)
Committee on Technology and International Economic and Trade Issues: Study of the Influences of Technology ‑ Automobile Panel Report, 1981 (7)
Committee on Technology and International Economic and Trade Issues – Study of the Influence of Technology ‑ Civil Aviation Panel Report, 1984
Committee on the Steel Industry Study for the OSTP (NRC), 1978
Committee on Transportation (NRC):
Freight Systems Study ‑ Draft Report, 1977
Freight Systems Study ‑ Final Report, 1979
Freight Systems Study ‑ General, 1977‑78 (1)‑(4)
Committee on Transportation (NRC):
Freight Systems Study ‑ General, 1977‑78 (5)‑(7)
Freight Systems Study ‑ Newspaper Clippings and Articles, 1977‑78 (1)‑(3)
Community and Economic Development Workshop, 1978
Computer Science and Technology Board (NRC), 1980‑81
Conference
on
Conoco ‑ Coal Conversion, 1981
Consultants International Group, 1981
Cooper Union ‑ Stever Speech, 1980
Corning Sports Hall of Fame, 1978
Cosmos Club, 1977‑87 (1)‑(4)
Council for the Understanding of Technology in Human Affairs
Council of Academies of Engineering and Technological Sciences ‑ 6th Convocation Opening Remarks, ca. 1984
Council on Science and Technology for Development:
Annual Meeting, 1979
Annual Meeting, 1981
Brookings Study on Development Assistance Strategies, 1977
General, 1977‑82 (1)‑(5)
Council on Science and Technology for Development:
General, 1977‑82 (6)‑(9)
Defense Science Board, 1988
Deferred Compensation ‑ Sohio, 1980
Department of Energy ‑ Hearings on National Energy Policy, 1990
Diesel Impacts Study Committee (NAS), 1979‑80 (1)‑(2)
Director of Central Intelligence ‑ Science and Technology Advisory Panel, 1977‑79
"Directory of Scholarly Unusual Men", 1980
DNAX Research Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Inc. ‑ Goals Performance Committee, 1986 (1)‑(2)
DNAX Research Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Inc. ‑ Goals Performance Committee, 1986 (3)
Earthquake Engineering Facilities and Instrumentation, 1982‑84
Ecology
and Environmental Programs in the
Report, 1980
Editorial for "Science", 1982
Egyptian National Award for Science, 1981
Einstein Memorial Fund, 1979
Electric Power, 1981‑82 (1)‑(2)
Electrochemical Society Meeting ‑ Stever Lecture, 1977
Employment Patterns of Academic Scientists and Engineers (Publication), 1980
Energy and Resource Recovery from Solid Waste Workshop, 1979
Energy Engineering Board (NRC), 1980‑83
Energy Policy, 1979
Energy Research Advisory Board (Department of Energy):
Awards Screening Committee, 1988 (1)‑(2)
Energy Research Advisory Board (Department of Energy):
Awards Screening Committee, 1988 (3)‑(4)
General, 1979‑82
Meeting, 8/5‑7/87
Meeting,
Meeting, 12/16‑17/87 ‑ Education Panel (1)‑(2)
Meeting, 2/10‑11/88 (1)‑(3)
Energy Research Advisory Board (Department of Energy):
Meeting, 2/10‑11/88 (4)
Meeting, 6/13‑15/88 (1)‑(2)
Meeting,
Meeting,
Meeting, 11/8‑10/89 (1)‑(3)
Meeting,
Engineering Deans Council, 1988
Engineering Deans Institute, 1981 (1)‑(2)
Engineering
Education ‑
(1)‑(2)
Engineering News ‑ Report, 1981
Engineering Systems Commission (NRC), 1983
European Science Foundation, 1982
FAMU/FSU (Florida A&M
University/Florida State University)
FASST (Forum for the Advancement of Students in Science and Technology), 1978
Federal Construction Council (NRC) ‑ Report, 1982
Federal Science and Technology Budget Priorities, 1988
Federation of Materials Societies, 1984
Feldstein, Martin, 1982
Fellows Advisory Committee (NRC), 1980‑82
Fellowship Applications (NRC), 1982‑83 (1)‑(2)
Fellowship of Engineering, 1990
File Index, 1980
Fire Safety and Disaster Preparedness Workshop, 1979
Fusion Policy Advisory Committee (Dept. of Energy) ‑ Final Report, 1990
Fusion Policy Advisory Committee (Dept. of Energy) ‑ General, 1990 (1)‑(6)
Fusion Policy Advisory Committee (Dept. of Energy) ‑ Report Drafts, 1990 (1)‑(3)
Future Development of the
Garwin, Richard
Gas Research Institute, 1979
General Correspondence 1/77‑9/78
General Correspondence 10/78‑6/82
General Correspondence 7/82-6/86
General Correspondence 7/86-12/90
Geophysics Study Committee - Energy and Climate Report, 1977
German Marshall Fund, 1977
Global Warming, 1988 (1)-(2)
Golden, William ‑ Stever Contribution to the book "Science and Technology Advice to the Highest Levels of Government", 1987-88 (1)-(3)
Goode Award, 1981
Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co., 1981-86
Governing Board of the National Research Council:
General, 1979-83 (1)-(4)
Executive
Committee Meeting,
Governing Board of the National Research Council:
Executive
Committee Meeting,
Meeting,
Meeting,
Meeting,
Meeting,
Meeting,
Government-University Committee Rosters, 1988
Government - University - Industry Research Roundtable (NAS), 1988
Hannay, Bruce - Possible New Initiatives, 1982
Harbor Branch Foundation, 1975
Hazardous Waste Management Workshop, 1979
Health and Human Service Innovations Workshops, 1979 (1)-(2)
House Committee on Science and Technology, 1978-85 (1)-(4)
House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, 1988
IBM Journal of Research and Development, 1981
Industrial Innovation and
Public Policy Options - National
Institute for Scientific and Technological Cooperation ‑ Discussion Seminar 1979‑80 (1)‑(3)
Institute for Scientific and Technological Cooperation ‑ Discussion Seminar, 1979‑80 (4)
Institute for Scientific and Technological Cooperation ‑ General, 1978‑80 (1)‑(8)
Intergovernmental
Goodwill
International
International Aspects of Science Materials Research, 1983
International Conference on Iceberg Utilization, 1977
International Institutes for Applied Systems Analysis, 1978‑90 (1)‑(2)
International Science and Engineering Fair, 1988
International Tunneling Association, 1982
Joint Consultative
Committee (NRC) Scientific and Technological Research Cooperation Program with
General, 1977‑87 (1)‑(7)
Joint Consultative
Committee (NRC) ‑ Scientific and Technological Research Cooperation
Program with
General, 1977‑87 (8)‑(9)
Meeting, 5/6‑9/78 (1)‑(5)
Meeting, 11/3‑4/78 (1)‑(5)
Joint Consultative Committee
(NRC) ‑ Scientific and Technological Research Cooperation with
Meeting, 3/28‑29/79
Meeting, 2/25‑27/80 (1)‑(2)
Meeting,
Meeting, 11/5‑6/80 (1)‑(5)
Meeting, 4/1‑2/81 (1)‑(3)
Joint Consultative
Committee (NRC) ‑ Scientific and Technological Research Cooperation with
Meeting, 4/1‑2/81 (4)‑(5)
Newspaper Clippings, 1980‑89
Program Evaluation Report, 1980
Publications, 1976‑78
Semiannual Report, 1978
Tentative Program Plan, 1979
Joint Mexican‑U.S. Workshop
on the Operations and Policy Role of the
Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research, 1977‑79
Libby, Bill ‑ Publication of Life's Works, 1981
Lindbergh Fund and Awards, 1976‑89 (1)‑(3)
Lunar Base Steering Committee, 1983‑85 (1)‑(3)
Major Materials Facilities Committee (NRC) - General, 1984‑85 (1)‑(2)
Major Materials Facilities Committee (NRC) ‑ Meeting, 5/3‑4/84 (1)‑(3)
Major Materials Facilities Committee (NRC) ‑ Meeting, 5/3‑4/84 (4)‑(6)
Major Materials Facilities Committee (NRC) ‑ Reports, 1984 (1)‑(6)
Major Materials Facilities Committee (NRC) ‑ Workshop, 1984
"Management of Research Institutions" ‑ Manuscript of Book by Hans Mark and Arnold Levine, 1984 (1)‑(6)
Manufacturing Innovation and Technology Conference, 1979 (1)‑(2)
Manufacturing Studies Board (NRC), 1980‑82
Marine Board (NRC), 1982
Martin Marietta Corporation ‑ Speech at Dedication of New Research Facilities, 1987
Massachusetts Institute of Technology ‑ Accreditation Review Visiting Team, 1979
Massachusetts Institute of Technology ‑ Dept. of Aeronautics and Astronautics 50th Anniversary, 1989
Massachusetts Institute of Technology ‑ General, 1978‑83
McCormack,
Mike ‑ For
Miscellaneous, 1977‑90
Modern Scientists and Engineers, 1978‑79
Montauk Symposium on Co‑Venturing, 1979
Motor Vehicle Nitrogen Oxides Standard Committee, 1981
Murray, Bruce ‑ Book Manuscript "Journey into Space", 1988 (1)‑(4)
Multi‑Association Policy Advisory Group, 1981
National
Auditing Board, 1989 (1)‑(2)
Colloquium on Industrial Innovation and Public Policy Options, 1980
Committee of Enquiry into the Engineering Profession, 1979
National
Council
Meeting,
Council Meeting, 7/28‑29/88
Council
Meeting,
Council of Academies of Engineering and Technological Sciences, 1988
Engineering Roundtable on Education and Utilization of the Engineer, 1981
Founder's Award, 1981‑82
General, 1977‑78 (1)
National
General, 1982‑90 (2)‑(8)
Meeting with Engineering Society Representatives, 1980
Meeting with Engineering Society Representatives ‑ Stever remarks, 1985
Member Survey, 1985
Membership, 1980‑81
National
Membership Nominations, 1977‑90 (1)‑(2)
Nominating Committee, 1977
Oil Spills, 1979
Outlook for Nuclear Power Session, 1979 (1)‑(2)
Outstanding Engineering Achievements of Significant Benefit to Human Welfare, 1989
Planning Committee ‑ General (1)‑(5)
National
Program on Product Quality, Performance, and Cost, 1971
Publications, 1978‑88
Roundtables on Civil Aviation, 1982
Sixth Science Meeting of European, Japanese, and North American Science Officers, 1987
Task Force on Engineering Education, 1978‑80
Annual Meeting, Congressional Committees Tour, 1977
Auditing Committee, 1977‑78 (1)‑(5)
Auditing Committee, 1978 (6)
Elections and Bylaws, 1981‑82
Five Year Outlook, 1978‑81 (1)‑(2)
Foreign Secretary, 1981‑82
General, 1977‑90 (1)‑(6)
Handler, Philip, 1981‑82
Nominating Committee, 1988 (1)
Nominating Committee, 1988‑90 (2)‑(4)
Visit to General Motors Environmental Activities Staff, 1979 (1)‑(3)
National Action Council
for Minorities in Engineering Inc. - Board Meeting
National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering, Inc. ‑ General, 1980‑82 (1)‑(2)
National Aeronautics and Space Administration:
Advisory Council ‑ General, 1988‑90
Advisory
Council ‑ Informed Task Force on Study of the
National Aeronautics and Space Administration:
Advisory Council ‑ Meeting, 4/9‑10/81 (1)‑(3)
Aeronautics Research and Technology Program, 1982‑83
Symposium on NASA Roles and Missions, 1977‑78
Ad Hoc Technical Review Panel, 1983 (1)‑(6)
Ad Hoc Technical Review Panel, 1983 (7)‑(8)
Conceptual Design Report, 1983 (1)‑(2)
General, 1983
Letters to the House Committee on Science and Technology, 1983 (1)‑(5)
National Commission on Excellence in Education ‑ Hearing on Education in Science, Mathematics and Technology, 1982 (1)‑(4)
National Energy Policy Plan, 1983‑84
National Materials Advisory Board (NRC), 1982 (1)‑(4)
National Medal of Science, 1976‑91 (1)‑(2)
National Research Council ‑ General, 1980‑84
National Science Board, 1977‑90 (1)‑(4)
National Science Board ‑ Report on the Formulation of Science Policy, 1981 (1)‑(2)
National Science Foundation:
General, 1977‑90 (1)‑(4)
General Accounting Office Report, 1976‑77 (1)‑(2)
National Science Foundation:
Proposed Research Strategy 1977
Report on Academic Research Facilities Modernization, 1989
Reports on Federal R & D Funding, 1978‑79 (1)‑(2)
Task Force on International Strategy and Programs ‑ Background, 1978‑85 (1)‑(3)
Task Force on International Strategy and Programs ‑ General, 1984‑85 (1)‑(4)
Task Force on International Strategy and Programs ‑ Report Drafts, 1985 (1)‑(2)
National Science Policy, 1975‑79 (1)‑(2)
National Society of Professional Engineers ‑ Speech, 1977
National Technology Foundation Legislation ‑ Hearings, 1980 (1)‑(5)
National Transonic Facility, 1984
Naval Studies Board, 1982
New York Times Articles, 1982
Nobel Laureates Day, 1984
North American Agriculture and the Greenhouse Problem, 1983
Nuclear Arms Control
Agreements and Proposals: Background and Issues – National
Nuclear Manpower Study Committee (NRC) ‑ Report on Personnel Supply and Demand Issues in the Nuclear Power Industry, 1981‑82
Nuclear Regulatory Commission Study, 1983
Nuclear
Science in the People's Republic of
Ocean Drilling Panel (NSF), 1978‑79 (1)‑(5)
Ocean Drilling Program Review, 1990
Ocean Energy Conference, 1981
Office of Management and Budget, 1982
Office of Science and Technology Policy:
Advisory Panel on Basic Automotive Research in the Department of Transportation, 1980 (1)‑(3)
Departure Correspondence, 1977
General, 1977‑90 (1)‑(3)
House Oversight Hearings, 1988
Report on Realignment of Federal Scientific and Technological Activities, 1979
Senate Oversight Hearings, 1978
Office of Science and Engineering Personnel, 1982
Office of Technology Assessment:
Annual Report, 1983‑84
General, 1977‑82 (1)‑(2)
Office of Technology Assessment:
"Maintaining the Defense Technology Base, 1988
"Maintaining the Defense Technology Base", Background Material (1)‑(3)
New Ballistic Missile Defense Technologies Study:
Draft Report ‑ General, 1984‑85 (1)‑(4)
Draft Report, Chapter 1, 1984‑85 (1)‑(2)
Office of Technology Assessment:
New Ballistic Missile Defense Technologies Study:
Draft Report, Chapter 2, 1984‑85
Draft Report, Chapter 3, 1984‑85 (1)‑(2)
Draft Report, Chapter 5, 1985
Draft Report, Chapter 7, 1985
Draft Report, Chapter 10, 1985
Graham, Daniel O., 1984‑85
General, 1984‑85 (1)‑(4)
Panel
on Health of the Scientific and Technical
R & D in the Civil Sector (implications of Federal Grant and Cooperative Agreement Act of 1977)
Office of Technology Assessment:
Research & Development Program, 1975‑78 (1)‑(2)
SDI Technology, Survivability, and Software ‑ Draft Report, Chapter 1,
1987
SDI Technology, Survivability, and Software ‑ Draft Report, Chapter 6,
1987
SDI Technology, Survivability, and Software ‑ General, 1986‑87 (1)‑(4)
SDI
Technology, Survivability, and Software ‑ Meeting,
SDI
Technology, Survivability, and Software ‑ Meeting,
"Missile Defense in Space", 1984
Office of Technology Assessment:
Soviet Strategic Doctrine and Policy, 1984
Technology Assessment Advisory Council, 1988
Operation Skyquest, 1983 (special design hot air balloon)
Panel on Advanced Technology Competition and the Industrialized Allies (NRC), 1982
Panel on Population, Health and Nutrition (NAS), 1984
Panel to Assess Candidate Expendable Launch Vehicles for Heavy Lift:
Draft Report (NAE, NRC), 1984
Meeting, 4/12‑13/84 (1)‑(3)
Meeting, 6/7‑8/84 (1)‑(4)
Panel to Assess Candidate Expendable Launch Vehicles for Heavy Lift:
Meeting, 7/10‑11/84 (1)‑(3)
Publication, 1984
"Peer Review and the Negotiation of Science", 1984
Peterson, M.N.A., 1981‑82
Pioneers of Science and Technology Historical Association, 1986
Planetary Society, 1987‑88
Planning Conference on Synthetic Fuels ‑ General, 1989 (1)‑(3)
Planning Conference on Synthetic Fuels ‑ Report, 1979 (1)‑(3)
Plasma Technology Inc., 1990
Population Crisis Committee, 1978 (re: endorsing a report)
President Elect's Advisory Task Force on Science and Technology, 1982
Presidential Rank Award, 1981
Public Opinion Laboratory "Attitudes of Religious, Environmental, and Science Policy Leaders toward Biotechnology", 1985
Relative Roles of Government and NRC Advisory Groups, 1980
Report Review Committee (NAS), 1982‑83
Research and Development in Steel and Alternative Uses of Abandoned Steel Plants, 1978
Research and Development in the Civil Sector, 1977‑78
Research and Development Organization, 1982
Research Grants, 1990
Resumes (A‑Z), 1977‑85 (1)‑(4)
Revelle, Roger, 1984
Roundtable
in Science, Technology, and Development in
Royal Aeronautical Society, 1989
SALT II, 1979
Board
Meeting,
Board Meeting, 11/7‑10/80 (1)‑(2)
General, 1978‑84
Report, 1979
Schering Plough Corporation:
General, 1980‑87
Report to Board of Directors, 7/1987
Report to Board of Directors, 9/1987
Report to Board of Directors, 04/1989
Report to Board of Directors, 5/1989
Shareholders' Meeting, 4/1989
School Heating Experiment (Solar Power), 1979
Science Advising, 1977‑90
Science and Technology, 1977‑90
Science and Technology and the 1992 European Market Integration Sym., 1990 (1)‑(2)
Science and Technology Developments up to A.D. 2000, 1971 (1)‑(2)
Science and Technology for Development ‑ General, 1977‑78 (1)‑(2)
Science and Technology
for Development ‑ Report on Indicators of Scientific and Technological
Efforts in the
Science and Technology for Development ‑ Workshop on Organized Labor's Concerns, 1979 (1)‑(3)
Science and Technology in the White House, 1977‑80
Science Diplomats Luncheon, 1988
Science Fellows Study Group Meeting, 1988
Science Resources Studies, 1980 (Publication)
Science Service, Inc.:
Board
Meeting,
Board
Meeting,
Board
Meeting,
Board
Meeting,
Board
Meeting,
Board
Meeting,
General, 1982‑90
Science Service, Inc.:
International Science and Engineering Fair, 1985‑86
National Science Foundation Grant Application "Opportunities for Precollege Students in Science", 1983‑84 (1)‑(2)
Scientific Advisory Committee of Science/Technology Holdings, Inc., 1982‑84 (1)‑(5)
Scientists' Committee for the Scientists' Institute for Public Information ‑ Second Annual Dinner‑Dance, 1982
Seminar for Energy
Planning (
Seminars on National Educational Policies in Science and Engineering, 1980
Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation ‑ Frank PressConfirmation Hearings, 1977
Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation ‑ General, 1982‑89
Shale Oil Forums, 1978‑79 (1)‑(2)
Sigma Xi ‑ The Scientific Research Society, 1982‑86
Simulation of Area Weapons Effects Concept Development Plan, 1982
Smith, Philip M., 1980‑82
Society of Manufacturing Engineers, 1980‑82
Solar Energy, 1980
Solar Energy Research and Development ‑ Energy Research Advisory Bd. Study, 1982
Solar Energy Research Institute, 1982
Solar Sail, 1990
Souvenirs, 1977‑78 (1)‑(3)
Soviet Negotiating Strategy and Tactics, 1978
Soviet Scholarly Exchanges, 1979
Soviet Science and Technology ‑ CIA Meeting, 1978
Soviet Scientists Visit, 1987
"Space Age" Planning Committee, 1989 (1)‑(2)
Space Applications Board (NRC), 1982‑83
Space Based Solar Power, 1977
Space Policy Act, 1978
Space Science Board (NRC) ‑ 30th Anniversary, 1988
Space Telescope History Project, 1986
State Department ‑ Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs, 1978‑79
Steering Committee ‑
Stever, H. Guyford:
Appointments Schedule, 1977 and 1982
Article: "Getting Even in Technology", 1987
Article: "Science Advice: Out of and Back Into the White House", 1980
Article: "Space Policy: Deciding Where To Go", 1989
Article: "Why We Must Toughen Our Science and Math", 1981
Articles: General, 1979‑87
Biographical, 1975‑84
Calendar, 1983
Calendar, 1987
Stever, H. Guyford:
Correspondence re Birth Certificates, 1981
Donation of Personal Papers to the Ford Library, 1977
Invitations, 1977‑89 (1)‑(5)
Passport Application, 1982
Personal, 1978‑85 (1)‑(2)
Personnel, 1979
Speeches, 1977‑85 (1)‑(3)
Stever, H. Guyford:
Speeches, 1977‑85 (4)‑(6)
Statement of Organizational and Financial Interests, 1982
Study of Innovation at the National Research Council, 1980
Super Robot, 1985
Surge Capability, 1980
Sverdrup Corporation ‑ Advisory Council for Science, Technology, and Engineering, 1977‑78 (1)‑(3)
Symposium on "Maintainability of Aerospace Systems", Stever Speech on the Redesign of the Space Shuttle Rocket Booster, 1989
Symposium on "Planet Earth" ‑ Remarks by Frank Press, 1989
Synchrotron Radiation Facilities Planning Committee, 1983‑84 (1)‑(2)
Synchrotron Radiation Storage Rings Workshop, 1983 (1)‑(3)
Synthetic Fuel, 1981‑82
Tau Beta Pi Article ‑ "Engineers' Changing World ‑‑ International Cooperation", 1988
Teague Awards in Science Journalism, 1977‑78
Technological Frontiers and Foreign Relations Symposium, 1983‑84 (1)‑(5)
Technologies for Health Care Delivery ‑ Discussion Seminar, 1979
TIAA/CREF, 1983
Transition Team for President Reagan ‑ Background, 1980 (1)‑(6)
Transition Team for President Reagan ‑ Correspondence, 1980‑81 (1)‑(4)
Transition Team for President Reagan ‑ Personnel Appointments, 1980 (1)‑(2)
Transition Team for President Reagan ‑ Report Drafts, 1980 (1)‑(5)
Transportation Needs Workshop, 1979
Transportation Research Board (NRC), 1982
Trenu, Thaddeus J. ‑ Study on Science Advice to American Govt., 1981‑82 (1)‑(2)
TRW Inc., 1977‑89 (1)‑(12)
Tyco Laboratories, Inc., 1982
UNESCO Science Programs:
A Preliminary Assessment of a
United Nations Committee for Science and Technology Development:
Background, 1977‑79 (1)‑(6)
United Nations Committee for Science and Technology Development:
Briefing Book, 1979 (1)‑(4)
Congressional
Hearings on
Consolidated Discussion Paper, 1979
Coverage in Newsletters, 1979
Draft Program of Action, 1979
General, 1978‑79 (1)‑(3)
United Nations Committee for Science and Technology Development:
General, 1978‑79 (4)‑(10)
International Communications Agency Press Releases, 1979
Lists of Participants, 1979 (1)‑(2)
National Research Council Study: Correspondence, 1977‑78 (1)‑(3)
United Nations Committee for Science and Technology Development:
National Research Council Study: Correspondence, 1977‑78 (4)‑(8)
National Research Council Study: Panel 1 ‑ Population, Health, and Nutrition, 1977 (1)‑(2)
National Research Council Study: Panel 2 ‑ Energy, Natural Resources, and Environment, 1977
National Research Council Study: Panel 3 ‑ Food, Climate, Soil and Water, 1977
National Research Council Study: Panel 4 ‑ Employment, Trade and Industrialization, 1977
National Research Council Study: Panel 5 ‑ Urbanization, Transportation and Communication, 1977
United Nations Committee for Science and Technology Development:
National Research Council Study: Report, 1978
National Research Council Study: Report Drafts, 1978
National Research Council Study: Terms of Reference and Background for Panels, 1977 (1)‑(2)
Preparatory Committee, 1979
Southeast Regional Conference and Public Hearing, 1978
Transcript of Meeting,
United Technologies Corporation, 1977‑80
Von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics, 1980
Von Karman Professorship ‑ California Institute of Technology, 1977‑83
Von Karman Stamp, 1983‑88 (1)‑(3)
Von Karman Symposium ‑ Articles of Interest, 1981 (1)‑(3)
Water Activities in the National Research Council, 1982
Water General Corporation, 1982
Water Technologies Board, 1982
Weaknesses in Precollege Math and Science ‑ Convocation, 1982
Wells, William P. ‑ Dissertation on "Science Advice and the Presidency, 1933‑76", 1977 (1)‑(11)
Wells, William P. ‑ Dissertation on "Science Advice and the Presidency, 1933‑76", 1977 (12)‑(14)
White House Science Advisory Conference, 1988
White Paper on Science
and Technology ‑ Meeting,
Women in Science, 1978
Workshop on Alternative Energy Strategies, 1977‑78 (1)‑(3)
World Coal Study, 1978
World Cultural Foundation, 1981
Wunsch Prize in Biomedical Engineering, 1979
Annual Reports, 1978‑86 (1)‑(3)
Directories, 1978‑87
Financial Statements, 1979‑81
General, 1979‑90 (1)‑(4)
Industry Relations Committee Report, 1982
Matemek Research Station, 1984
Meeting Agendas, 1980‑89
Meeting Minutes ‑ Executive Committee, 1980‑87 (1)‑(3)
Meeting Minutes ‑ Members, 1982‑87
Meeting Minutes ‑ Trustees, 1982‑87
Meetings ‑ Advisory Committee, 9/12‑14/1979 (director's 10‑year plan)
Meetings
‑ Nominating Committee,
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings ‑ Trustees and Members, 6/12‑13/1986 (1)‑(3) (Visiting Committee Process report)
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings ‑ Trustees and Members, 6/18‑19/1987
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings
‑ Trustees and Members,
Meetings
‑ Winter Trustee and Corporate,
Publications, 1978‑86 (1)‑(2)
Visiting Committee:
General, 1982 (includes Director's 's statement on oceanographic future)
General, 1986‑87 (1)‑(2)
MIT Joint Program, 1982
Subcommittee Chairman's Meeting, 1982
Subcommittee Report on the Biology Department, 1982
Subcommittee Reports on the Chemistry and Physical Oceanography Depts, 1982
Subcommittee Report on the Geology and Geophysics Department, 1982
Subcommittee Report on Ocean Engineering Department, 1982
Subcommittee for Ocean Engineering Department, 1987 (1)‑(2)
Subcommittee Reports, 1987
Corporate Prospectuses, 1981‑82
General, 1980‑84
Meetings:
11/20‑21/1980 - Executive Committee/Budget and Program Committee
1/15‑16/1981 - Board (1)‑(4)
Meetings:
4/13‑14/1981 - Board (1)‑(4)
10/12‑14/1981 - Board/Annual Members (1)‑(5)
2/10‑12/1982 - Trustees/Budget and Program Committees (1)‑(3)
Meetings:
4/19‑20/1982 - Board (1)‑(3)
5/23‑24/1982 - Board Agenda Committee
7/12‑13/1982 - Board (1)‑(4)
10/12‑13/1982 - Members (1)‑(4)
Meetings:
10/12‑13/1982 - Board (1)‑(2)
1/6‑7/1982 - Board (1)‑(6)
4/11‑12/1983 - Board (1)‑(3)
Meetings:
10/11‑12/1983 - Board
10/11‑12/1983 - Annual Members (1)‑(2)
1983 - Budget, Program, and Executive Committees
1/23‑24/1984 - Board (1)‑(2)
Search for UCAR President, 1983 (1)‑(3)
Administrative Committee, 1983-87 (1)‑(2)
Administrative/Organizational, 1978-89
Advanced X‑ray Astrophysics Facility Working Group, 1983
Annual Report, 1979-82
Board of Trustees Meetings:
February 16‑17, 1978
Novemember 30 -
June 7‑8, 1979
December 6‑7, 1979
March 20‑21, 1980
June 12‑13, 1980
September 18‑19, 1980
December 4‑5, 1980
Board of Trustees Meetings:
October 10‑11, 1985
March 20‑21, 1986
October 2‑3, 1986
March 12‑13, 1987 (1)‑(2)
Board of Trustees Meetings:
March 10‑11, 1988 (1)‑(3)
May 1988
Correspondence ‑ Fermilab, 1982-86
Correspondence ‑ General, 1978-90 (1)‑(5)
Correspondence ‑ Superconducting Super Collider, 1983-86
Fermilab ‑ Dedicated Collider Proposal, 1981-83
Fermilab ‑ Director Search, 1978
Fermilab ‑ General, 1978-89 (1)
Fermilab ‑ General, 1978-89 (2)‑(10)
Fermilab ‑ Overseers, 1989
Fermilab ‑ Scientific Personnel Appointments, 1975-81
Financial Information, 1978-81
High Energy Physics, 1982-83
House Committee on Science and Technology ‑ Testimonies, 1981-82
Meeting
with Department of Energy Undersecretary Salgado,
Membership Applications, 1987
National Laboratory Operating Contractors Meeting, 1984-85
Pan American Symposium on High Energy Physics and Technology, 1982
Physics Committee, 1980-85
President Search, 1978
President Search, 1989
Project ISABELLE, 1982
Space Telescope Science Institute Proposal, 1978-80 (1)‑(4)
Space Telescope Science Institute Proposal, 1980 (5)‑(6)
Stever speech ‑ "Science Policy in Fair and Foul Weather", 1982
Superconducting Super Collider:
General, 1982-86 (1)‑(5)
Superconducting Super Collider:
General, 1987-90 (6)‑(10)
Secretary of Energy Meeting (Herrington), 1984‑86 (1)‑(2)
Siting Parameters Document, 1985
Superconducting Super Collider:
"Super Collider in the Scheme of Things", 1985
Task Force on Management Issues, 1987
URA
Board of Trustees/SSC Board of Overseers,
Supersonic Aircraft Experiment, 1973-83 (1)‑(2)
Synchrotron Radiation Facilities, 1983 (1)-(2)
Collected Reports, 1986-88
Committee on the Space Station Report, 1987
Congressional Testimony, 1987-88
Correspondence, 1986-87 (1)‑(10)
Correspondence, 1987-89 (11)‑(24)
Interim Reports to James Fletcher, 1986-88
Meeting, 10/21‑23/87 (1)‑(2)
Meeting, 12/7‑8/87 (1)‑(4)
Meeting, 3/31/88‑4/1/88 (1)‑(3)
Meeting, 5/13‑14/88 (1)‑(3)
Meeting, 7/22‑23/88 (1)‑(2)
Meeting,
Morton‑Thiokol, Inc. ‑ Report on Margin Improvements and RSRM Cost Reductions, 1988 (1)‑(2)
NASA ‑ Management Study Group Report, 1987
NASA ‑ Report on "Lessons Learned", 1986
NASA ‑ Space
Shuttle Launch,
National Commission on Space ‑ Report "Pioneering the Space Frontier", 1986
National Research Council Report ‑ "Post‑Challenger Assessment of Space Shuttle Flight Rates and Utilization", 10/1986
Newspaper Clippings, 1987-88 (1)‑(4)
Presidential Commission on the Space Shuttle Challenger Accident ‑ Vol. III, 1986
Stever ‑ Article "From Challenger to Discovery ‑ The Redesign Process", 1988
Stever ‑ Paper "Some Lessons Learned From the Redesign of the Space Shuttle Solid Rocket Booster", 7/89
Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board ‑ Space Station Freedom, 1988
Antimatter Propulsion, 1985-90 (1)‑(2)
Briefing Book, 1989 (1)‑(2)
Correspondence, 1989-90 (1)‑(4)
Correspondence, 1990 (5)‑(6)
Great Exploration Plan for the Human Exploration Initiative, 1989 (1)‑(5)
Hedratecture/Expandable Platform, 1988
Lunar Polar Probe Conference ‑ Proceedings, 3/11‑12/89
Miscellaneous ‑ Articles and Studies, 1989 (1)‑(3)
NASA ‑ "Report on 90‑Day Study on Human Exploration of the Moon and Mars", 1989
NASA ‑ Reports and Studies, 1989-90 (1)‑(2)
National Research Council Policies on Studies and Reports, 1989
Newspaper Clippings, 1989-90
Report Drafts, 1990 (1)‑(8)
Report Drafts, 1990 (9)‑(12)
Report on Space Science in the Twenty‑First Century, 1988 (1)‑(7)
Space Ship Experimental, 1988
Workhorse Launch System, 1990
Background (1)‑(3), 1988
Clippings, 1988
Competitiveness of US Private Sector in Space, 1988
Correspondence (1)‑(8), 1987‑88
Correspondence (9), 1988
Discussion
of the Study,
General (1)‑(6)
Meeting, 4/5‑6/88 (1)‑(2)
Meeting,
Meeting,
Meeting, 7/20‑21/88 (1)‑(2)
Reference Book (1)‑(3)
Seminar,
Worldwide Space Program
"Arms Control in Space," 1984
"Brief Descriptions of Nongovernmental Institutions in the Federal Republic of Germany Co‑operating with Developing Countries in Science and Technology," 1979
"Building for
Tomorrow: Global
"Effects of a National Space Program on Universities," 1968
"Energy Security," 1987
"Globalization of Technology ‑ International Perspectives," 1988
"Global Models, World Futures, and Public Policy ‑ A Critique," 1982
"The International Technology Transfer Process," 1980
"Launch Options for the Future," 1988
"Mobilizing Technology for World Development," 1979
"MX Missile Basing," 1981
"The NASA Program in the 1990s and Beyond," 1988
"The National Science Foundation," 1979
"Private Enterprise and Public Policy: The Critical Interface Between Private Enterprise and Government," 1980
"Program Options
through which the Engineering Profession of the
"Recent Trends in Aeroelasticity, Structures, and Structural Dynamics," 1987 "Research & Development, AAAS Report IV, Federal Budget: FY 1980, Industry International," 1979
"Research and Technology Utilization," 1988
"Research Vessel Oceanus"
"Review of the National Research Council Report 'Physics Through the 1990's'," 1987
"Science - The Endless Frontier," 1980
"Science and Engineering Education," 1988
"Science and Technology: A Five - Year Outlook," 1979
"Science and
Technology in
"The Strategic Defense Initiative: Some Arms Control Implications," 1985
"Technology Transfer
and Management in the Developing Countries: Company Cases and Policy Analyses
in
"
"The
"
"University - Industry Research Relationships: Selected Studies," 1982
"Yearbook of Railroad Facts - 1977 Edition," 1977