|
|
| ![]() |
Gerald R. Ford Library1000 Beal Avenue,
www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
National Security Adviser
Staff Assistant Peter W. Rodman:
Files, (1970) 1974-77
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
A chronological
file documenting handling of letters addressed to Kissinger or Scowcroft and
reminders to the National Security Adviser about matters requiring his
attention, and a fragmentary subject file concerning several foreign policy
issues. A few important documents appear, including a handwritten memorandum of
conversation of Henry Kissinger’s discussions with President Asad of
QUANTITY
0.6 linear feet (ca. 1200 pages)
DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-118)
ACCESS
Open, but some materials continue to be national security classified and restricted. Access is governed by the donor’s deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, and National Archives and Records Administration regulations (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
Gerald
Ford has donated to the
Prepared by William McNitt, October 1996
Revised by Donna Lehman, June 2004
[s:\bin\findaid\nsc\staff assistant Peter Rodman files.doc]
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Peter Warren Rodman
1964 B.A. summa
cum laude,
1966 B.A. &
M.A.,
1969 J.D.,
1969-77 Staff Member, National Security Council
1977-83 Fellow in
Diplomatic Studies, Center for Strategic and International Studies,
1982-83 Director of
Research, Kissinger Associates,
1983-84 Member, Policy Planning Council, Department of State
1984-86 Director, Policy Planning Staff, Department of State
1986-87 Deputy Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs
1987-90 Counselor to the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs
1990- Fellow, Johns Hopkins Foreign Policy Institute
1991-
99 Senior
editor, National Review
1995-2001 Director of National
Security Programs, The
2001- Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs
INTRODUCTION
The Staff Assistant Peter W. Rodman Files is one of many subcollections that comprise the National Security Adviser Files. The provenance and nature of the National Security Adviser Files as a whole are described in Appendix A.
Peter Rodman served as a staff assistant to National Security Advisers Henry Kissinger and Brent Scowcroft from 1969 to 1977. His duties ranged from the routine (drafting farewell and thank you letters for Kissinger and Scowcroft) to the important (creating memoranda of conversations for high-level foreign affairs discussions).
Rodman shared an office on the ground floor of the White House West Wing with other assistants to the National Security Adviser, including Robert McFarlane and John Matheny. He often traveled with Kissinger and Scowcroft, took notes on their meetings with foreign officials, and produced memoranda of conversations for the meetings. When not traveling, he assisted Kissinger and Scowcroft by conducting research, drafting talking points and speeches, and writing responses to their mail.
The
Rodman collection is small; the subject file is fragmentary. Most memoranda of conversations of foreign
policy discussions are filed in other NSC collections. This collection, however, does contain
several important documents. Included
are a handwritten memorandum of conversation of discussions of the
The
chronological file contains some substantive documents, including memoranda to
Kissinger and Scowcroft, draft talking points for meetings, and suggestions and
draft language for presidential speeches.
Among the topics covered here are the
Related
Materials (June 2004):
Memoranda
of conversations created by Rodman appear in the Kissinger-Scowcroft Office File and the
Kissinger Reports on
Series Descriptions
A small and fragmentary file of memoranda, reports, speech drafts, maps, a memorandum of conversation, and publications.
Arranged alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.
Incoming and outgoing memoranda, letters, telegrams, talking points, speeches, and messages drafted by Rodman. The materials concern most aspects of his work. The file contains Rodman’s correspondence, his memoranda to the National Security Advisers and others, letters that he drafted for the National Security Adviser’s signature, suggestions or draft language for Presidential speeches, and talking points for meetings. The bulk of the letters that Rodman drafted for Kissinger or Scowcroft to sign were routine in nature. The file contains occasional mentions of the meeting memoranda of conversations drafted by Rodman, but copies of the memoranda of conversations are not included.
Arranged chronologically.
Container List
Brzezinski, Zbigniew, 1970-75
Chile – [redacted, 25X1]
China - Published Article on Peking Man
Foreign Policy
- Gerald Ford’s First Year Accomplishments, July 1975
- Presidential Speech, Dec. 1974-Feb. 1975
- President’s Annual Review, 1973-75
France - Draft Program for Meeting Between Presidents Ford and d’Estaing,
Nov. 1974
Glomar Explorer
Israel - Arms Shipments, Oct. 1974
-
Kissinger Meeting with President Asad of Syria,
(handwritten memorandum of conversation)
- Report on Jordan and the Arab-Israeli War, 1974
- Sinai Maps Showing Current and Proposed Israeli and Egyptian Lines,
Aug. 1975
SALT, Oct.-Nov. 1974 and Aug.-Sept. 1975
Box 2 Chronological File
August 1974-January 1977