|
|
Gerald R. Ford Library1000 Beal Avenue,
www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
Assistant to the Director of Communications;
Special Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs:
Papers, (1969) 1971-1977
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
Materials relating to Scott’s work in the White House Office of Communications (1971-1973) and as the White House liaison with minorities (1973-1975). The bulk of the collection dates from the Nixon administration, but significant materials from the first year of the Ford administration also appear. Some files concern such issues as minority business, civil rights, and equal employment opportunity. Others relate to White House contacts with the Congressional Black Caucus, the role of African-Americans in the Republican Party, and the role of Mr. Scott and other Black appointees in the two administrations.
QUANTITY
19.6 linear feet (ca. 39,200 pages)
DONOR
Bettye L. Scott (accession numbers 98-22 and 98-36)
ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
Bettye L. Scott has donated to the
Prepared by William McNitt, September 2001
[s:\bin\findaid\scott, stan - papers.doc]
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
1951-1953 Attended
1954-1956 Served in
1959 B.S. (Journalism),
1960-1961 Editor-General Manager, The
1961-1964 General assignment
news reporter, copy editor and editorial writer, Atlanta Daily World, Atlanta, GA
1964-1966 First
full-time Black general assignment news reporter, United Press International,
1966-1967 Assistant Director
of Public Relations, National Association for the Advancement of Colored
People,
1967-1971 Radio newsman,
Westinghouse Broadcasting Corporation (the 24-hour all-news station, WINS),
1971-1973 Assistant to the
Director of Communications for the Executive Branch, The
White House
1973-1975 Special Assistant to
the President for Minority Affairs, The White House
1975-1977 Assistant
Administrator for
1977-1988 Philip Morris, Inc.
– eventually became Vice President for Corporate Affairs
INTRODUCTION
Stanley S. Scott was an experienced journalist and public relations specialist when he joined the Nixon White House staff in June 1971. As an assistant to Director of Communications Herbert Klein, Scott worked on White House liaison with the minority newspapers, TV stations, and radio stations. He helped to publicize administration initiatives of special interest to African-Americans and was involved in the effort to gain the support of Black voters for President Nixon in the 1972 campaign. In many of his projects, Scott worked closely with Robert J. Brown, then serving as the Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs.
Brown left the White House staff at the beginning of President Nixon’s second term in 1973, so the President appointed Stan Scott to take over Brown’s duties. In his new position, Scott handled all aspects of liaison with Black Americans and Black organizations. His duties included corresponding with individuals and organizations, speaking at national and local meetings, and arranging White House briefings.
The Office of Minority Affairs was part of the Office of Public Liaison, which handled White House liaison with interest groups. William J. Baroody, Jr. headed the Office of Public Liaison. Stan Scott’s assistant in the Office of Minority Affairs was John C. Calhoun.
After
the transition to the Ford administration, Scott was especially active in
bringing together groups of Black leaders to meet with the new President. He remained in the Ford White House until
October 1975 when he left to become Assistant Administrator for
The Scott Papers document his work in both White House positions, but contain only a small amount of material from his work with the Agency for International Development. His materials from the Office of Communications focus on relations with minority press and media outlets, especially his interactions with Black newspaper publishers. Also included are reports on an administration-wide communications review and a minority news dissemination plan for Cabinet departments.
Even while he was working in the Office of Communications, however, Scott’s interests and activities ranged well beyond his media role. The collection contains significant files on such topics as minority business, minority contracts, Federal support for Black colleges, and attempts to appeal to Black voters in the 1972 election.
The collection contains numerous documents addressed to or written by Robert J. Brown, including some that date from before Scott joined the White House staff. It is unclear whether Brown turned these materials over to Scott in a batch upon his departure from the White House staff or just sent them piecemeal as Scott needed to see them.
Scott’s
folders dating from the period during which he served as Assistant to the
President for Minority Affairs (1973-1975) are much broader in scope. As the highest-ranking Black official in the
White House, he received contacts from many organizations and individuals
seeking assistance, information, or meetings with government officials. Major topics include the administration’s
response to a drought in
The small file on the Agency for International Development focuses on Scott’s appointment and swearing-in and contains only a few scattered items on his work for that agency.
Related
Materials (September 2001):
The Domestic Council files of Arthur Fletcher, Deputy Assistant to the President for Urban Affairs, document his work on urban affairs, minority business, and other issues of special interest to Black Americans during 1976. The files of Richard Parsons and Norman Ross, two other African-Americans on the Domestic Council staff, concern topics ranging from voting rights and school desegregation to natural resources and immigration. The campaign records of the President Ford Committee, President Ford’s campaign committee for the 1976 election, contain extensive materials on efforts to appeal to Black voters. See especially the files of Robert Keyes and the Black Desk in the People for Ford division.
Series Descriptions
1-25 Subject File, (1969) 1971-1976. (9.7 linear feet)
Memoranda, correspondence, reports, briefing papers, lists, speeches, travel vouchers, press releases, and clippings. A large portion of the materials concern Scott’s work as Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs (1973-1975), although a significant amount dates from his work in the Office of Communications (1971-1973) and a small amount from his work with the Agency for International Development (1975-1977). Major topics include issues of special interest to African-Americans, the role of Blacks in the Republican Party, White House contacts with Black organizations, and the role of Black appointees in the administration.
Arranged alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.
25-27 Speech File, (1969) 1971-1975. (0.7 linear feet)
Copies of speeches delivered by Scott, along with about eight speeches by Robert J. Brown (Scott’s predecessor as Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs) and one by John Calhoun (Scott’s assistant). For most speeches only the final version of the speech appears, but occasionally the file includes drafts.
Arranged chronologically.
27-28 Outgoing Memoranda Chronological File, 1971-1975.
(0.75 linear feet)
Carbon copies of memoranda written by Scott to other White House staff members or agency officials.
Arranged chronologically.
29-31 Outgoing
Correspondence Chronological File, 1971-1975. (1.05 linear feet)
Carbon copies of letters written by Scott. Occasionally the incoming letter is attached. The files for 1971 and 1972 include some letters drafted by Scott but signed by Herbert G. Klein, White House Director of Communications.
Arranged chronologically.
31-42 Incoming Correspondence File,
1971-1975. (4.4 linear feet)
Letters and some White House memoranda received by Scott. This series does not contain all letters received by Scott – many are also filed in the Subject File. Much of the correspondence in this series is routine in nature, but it often touches on the same topics as those appearing in the Subject File.
Arranged chronologically.
42-44 Referrals to Agencies, 1974-1975. (0.7 linear feet)
Letters received by Scott from individuals or small businesses asking for information or assistance. He referred these letters to government agencies to either respond directly or draft a response for his use. Many of the letter writers requested assistance in dealing with problems faced by themselves, family members, or small businesses that they owned.
Arranged chronologically.
44-47 White House Press Releases,
1973-1975. (1.3 linear feet)
Copies of selected press releases issued by the White House Press Office. Included are presidential speeches, transcripts of press conferences and the Press Secretary’s press briefings, and other information released by the White House.
Arranged chronologically.
47-49 Newspaper Clippings, (1959) 1972-1977. (1.0 linear feet)
Newspaper clippings, mainly focusing on Stan Scott’s activities and the issues of interest to him and his office.
Arranged chronologically.
Container
List
1890 Land Grant Colleges, 1971-1972
Administration Accomplishments for Blacks, 1973
Administration Activities and Accomplishments, 1972
Administration Initiatives in Civil Rights and Related Social Programs, 1975
Administration
Initiatives Receiving Top Coverage in Minority Publications,
Administration
Initiatives Receiving Top Coverage in Minority Publications,
Administration
Initiatives Receiving Top Coverage in Minority Publications,
Administration
Initiatives Receiving Top Coverage in Minority Publications,
Administration
Initiatives Receiving Top Coverage in Minority Publications,
Administration-Wide Communications Review - Departmental Reports, December 1971 (1)-(2)
Administration-Wide
Communications Review - Draft Outline,
Administration-Wide Communications Review - Draft Report, December 1971
Administration-Wide Communications Review - Final Report, June 1972
Advertising Expenditures by the Armed Services with Black News Media, 1973-1974
African Drought, 1973-1974 (1)-(3)
African
Drought, 1973-1974 (4)-(6)
Agency
for International Development - Media Report, 1972
Agency
for International Development - Stan Scott's Activities, 1975-1977 (1)-(5)
American
Revolution Bicentennial Administration - Black Minority Candidates, May 1974
(1)-(2)
American
Revolution Bicentennial Administration - Chairman and Administrator, 1973
Baroody, Bill -
Conference on Economic and Domestic Affairs Speech,
Black
Appointees, 1969-1975 (1)-(5)
Black
Architects and Engineers, 1973-1974
Black
Caucus - General, 1974-1975
Black
Caucus - Legislative Agenda, February 1975
Black
Caucus - Meeting with the President, August 1974: Analyses of Position Papers
(1)-(2)
Black
Caucus - Meeting with the President, August 1974: Briefing Book
Black
Caucus - Meeting with the President, August 1974: General (1)-(2)
Black
Caucus - Meeting with the President, August 1974: Notes
Black
Caucus - Meeting with the President, August 1974: Position Statements
Black
Caucus - Response to Campaign Statement, October 1972
Black
Caucus - Review of Recommendations, May 18, 1971
Black
Caucus - Status Report on Administration Commitments, April 1972
Black
Mayors, 1971
Black
Military Officers - Promotions, 1973
Black
Perspective - Organization of Professional Newsmen (Folder received empty)
Black
Press Periodical Directory, 1973
Black
Publishers, 1971-1975 (1)-(2)
Black
Publishers, 1971-1975 (3)-(4)
Black
Report, 1972
Black
Republican Analysis of Inflation Priorities, 1974
Black
Republicans, 1972-1975 (1)-(2)
Black
Silent Majority Committee, 1972-1975
Black
Unemployment, 1975
Black
Vote in 1972 - Campaign Plan (1)-(7)
Black
Vote in 1972 - General (1)-(5)
Black-Sponsored
Presidential Dinner, 1975
Blacks
Serving in the Ford Administration, 1975
Blacks
Serving in the Nixon Administration, 1973
Blacks
Serving in the Nixon Administration, 1974
Blair
House, 1972
Briefing
Book Updates, 1973 (1)-(2)
Briefing
Book Updates, 1975
Briefings,
1971-1974 (1)-(3)
Brimmer, Andrew F. -
Speeches, 1972-1974
Broadcast
License Renewal Act, 1974
Brown,
Robert J. - Chronological File, December 1972 - February 1973
Brown,
Robert J. - Draft Memo on the Office of Minority Affairs, 1973
Brown,
Robert J. - Files, 1973
Brown,
Robert J. - General, 1970-1972
Brown,
Robert J. - Transcript of "Black Journal" Television Program on the
Campaign, October 1972
Cabinet
Department Reports on Progress in Civil Rights, 1972 (1)-(2)
Calhoun,
John - Press Release on Appointment, 1973
Calhoun,
John - Speech re Peace Corps and Minority Communications, 1971
Chisholm,
Shirley - Bicentennial Speech,
Christmas
Cards, 1973 (1)-(2)
College
Desegregation: A Survey of Black Students, 1974 (Publication)
Comprehensive
Planning Assistance Program, 1973
Conference
on Inflation, 1974 - General (1)-(2)
Conference
on Inflation, 1974 - Invitees (1)-(4)
Conference on Problems of the Minority Black Consumer, 1974?
Consumer
Affairs, 1974-1975 (1)-(2)
Contractors
(Minority), 1969-1974 (1)-(3)
Contractors
(Minority), 1969-1974 (4)-(8)
Council
on Minority Planning and Strategy, 1973
Cover
Letter File, 1971
Cover
Letter File, 1972
Cover
Letter File, 1974
Cover
Letter File, 1975
Department
of Agriculture - Reports on Minority Affairs, 1975
Department
of Commerce - Press Releases Impacting Minorities and Disadvantaged Persons,
1975 (1)-(5)
Department
of Justice - Civil Rights Division Report, 1975
Department
of Transportation - Civil Rights Activities Report, 1975
Department-Agency
White House Liaison, 1973
Desk
Calendar, 1973
Economic
Policy Briefing,
Employment
Policy, 1975
Equal
Employment
Equal
Employment
Equal
Employment
Equal
Opportunity in Housing, 1973-1974 (Publication)
Federal
Civil Rights Activities - Special Analysis, 1975
Federal Interagency Committee on Education - Task Force
Report on Black Colleges, 1970? (1)-(2)
First
Monday - Republican National Committee Newsletter, 1972-1973 (1)-(5)
General
Revenue Sharing and Civil Rights, 1975
General
Services Administration - Affirmative Actions and Minority Contracts, 1975
General
Services Administration - Civil Rights Program, 1974
Hurst,
Charles, 1973
Impoundment
of Funds, 1971
Inauguration,
1973
Interagency
Council for Minority Business
Interviews
(Radio and TV), 1971
Klein,
Herbert G. - Speeches, 1972-1973
Letters
of Recommendation, 1969-1975
List
of Contacts, 1971
Mailing
List of Black Newspapers - Additions, 1974
Mailing
Lists, 1973-1974 (1)-(4)
Mailing
Lists, 1973-1974 (5)-(11)
Memos
for the Record, 1974
Memos
to Jerry Jones, 1974-1975
Minority
Business, 1971-1975 (1)-(4)
Minority
Business, 1971-1975 (5)-(8)
Minority
Employee Programs in the Foreign Affairs Agencies, 1974
Minority
Employment in Federal Agencies in
Minority
Group Utilization of National Recreational Facilities, 1973
Minority
Media News Dissemination Plan for Cabinet Departments, 1972
Miscellaneous,
1971-1974
NAACP,
1971-1975 (1)-(3)
National
Aeronautics and Space Administration - Equal Opportunity Program, 1974
National
Bar Association Directory, 1970 (Publication)
National
Business League Convention, 1974
National
Citizens Committee for Fairness to the Presidency, 1974
National
Medical Association, 1969-1972 (1)-(3)
National
Medical Association - Delegation to
National
Negro History Week, 1971-1972
Negro
Press, 1969-1970
Negro
Women's Advisory Council, 1969-1970
Nondiscrimination
in Elementary and Secondary School Staffing Practices, 1971-1973
Office
of Economic
Office
of Minority Business
Office
of Minority Business
Office
of Minority Business
Office
of Minority Business
Omnibus
Crime Control Act, 1972
Op-Ed
Responses, 1972-1973
Operation
Second Chance, 1974
Opportunities
Industrialization Centers, 1972-1975 (1)-(2)
Personnel
Office, 1971-1975 (1)-(3)
Personnel
Office, 1971-1975 (4)-(16)
Phelps-Stokes
Fund, 1973
Photographic
Regulations, 1971
Pottinger, J. Stanley -
Speeches, 1973-1974
Presidential
Delegation to the
Presidential
Meeting with Black Civil Rights Leaders,
Presidential
Meeting with Mayors,
Presidential
Meetings, 1971-1975 (1)-(9)
Presidential
News Conferences, 1963-1971
Presidential
News Summaries, 1973-1975 (1)-(3)
Presidential Papers, 1971?
Presidential
Schedules, 1973-1975
Presidential
Speeches, 1974-1975
Presidential
Task Force for
Press
Conferences, 1972-1973
Project
75 (Minority Recruitment for Health Careers), 1975
Race
Relations and Industry (Publication of D. Parke Gibson Associates), 1971-1975
Republican
National Convention, 1972 - General
Republican
National Convention, 1972 - Requests for Credentials
Republican
Party, 1971-1975
Revenue
Sharing Information, 1972-1973
Rhodesian
Chrome, 1974
Salute
to Black Colleges, 1971
Scott,
Lewis A. - Obituaries and Sympathy Cards, 1972
Scott,
Stanley S. - Biographical Data, 1972-1975
Scott,
Stanley S. - Christmas Cards
Scott,
Stanley S. - Job Responsibilities,
Scott,
Stanley S. - Job Search,
Scott,
Scott,
Stanley S. - Photographs and Audiotapes, 1971-1975
Scott,
Scott,
Scott,
Stanley S. - Staff, 1973-1975
Scott,
Sickle
Cell Anemia, 1972-1974
Smith,
A. Kendall, 1972
Southern
Conference of Black Mayors, 1973-1975 (1)-(3)
Southern
Rural Action, Inc., 1973-1974
Special
Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs - Office Role, 1972-1975
(1)-(3)
Standards
of Conduct, 1974-1975
State
of the Union, 1974-1975
Statistics
(Workload), 1975
Surrogates
- 1972 Presidential Campaign (1)-(2)
Swearing-In
Ceremonies, 1971-1972
Talking
Paper - "The Urban Phenomenon", 1971
Telephone
Numbers and Addresses, 1974-1975
Thimmesch, Nick -
Columns, 1973
Transcripts,
1971-1975 (1)-(3)
Travel
Vouchers, 1971-1975 (1)-(2)
Travel
Vouchers, 1971-1975 (3)-(11)
Trends
in Social and Economic Status of Negroes, 1971 (1)-(2)
"Tuesday
at the White House" Meeting,
"Tuesday
at the White House" Meeting,
United
Cerebral Palsy, 1974
United
Way, 1973-1974
Urban
League, 1971-1975 (1)-(5)
Urban
League Convention, 1971
Vice
President, 1973-1975
Voting
Rights Act Extension, 1974-1975
Watergate
and Black