National Security Adviser
PRESIDENTIAL COUNTRY FILES FOR MIDDLE EAST AND SOUTH ASIA, 1974-1977
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
This
collection concerns high-level U.S. diplomatic relations with
all countries of the Middle East and South Asia. The topical scope is broad, involving, for
example, Indo-Pakistani relations, Lebanon’s collapse into civil war, Sinai
disengagement discussions between Egypt and Israel, military and economic
assistance programs, oil exports and prices, the partition of Cyprus and
Greek-Turkish tensions, the Rabat Summit of Arab leaders, and the Arab-Israeli
conflict generally. Materials are
primarily memoranda of National Security Advisers Kissinger and Scowcroft,
National Security Council staff memoranda, and cable traffic between the State
Department and individual U.S. embassies in the
region. The collection is arranged
alphabetically by name of country, with separate sequences for NSC documents
and State Department telegrams. Folders
for Egypt are included in this
collection, but folders for the other Arab nations of North Africa are located in Presidential
Country Files for Africa.
QUANTITY
14
linear feet (ca. 28,000 pages)
DONOR
Gerald
R. Ford (accession number 77-118)
ACCESS
Open, but some materials
continue to be national security classified and restricted. Access is governed by the donor's deed of
gift, a copy of which is available on request, and National Archives and
Records Administration regulations (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
Gerald
Ford has donated to the United States of America
his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives
collections. The copyrights to materials
written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with
them. Works prepared by U.S. Government
employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.
Prepared by Helmi
Raaska, February 2004.
[s:\bin\findaid\nsc\presidential
country files for middle east and south asia.doc]
INTRODUCTION
The
Presidential Country Files for the Middle
East and South Asia is one of many subcollections that comprise the
National Security Adviser Files. The
provenance and nature of the National Security Adviser Files as a whole are
described in Appendix A.
This
particular subcollection concerns U.S.
relations with all countries in the Middle East and South
Asia, encompassing both regional and bilateral matters. In arrangement, the first folders concern the
Middle East in general or the United States Sinai
Support Mission. The rest of this
substantial collection is arranged alphabetically by country name and
thereunder by type of document, i.e. National Security Council
letterhead memos in the first folders, Secretary of State – Embassy cables in
the next folders. Egypt
is included here, but researchers should consult Presidential Country Files for Africa for the other Arab nations of
North Africa.
Scope and Content of the Materials
Presidential Country Files include
materials prepared for and by the National Security Adviser and National
Security Council staff. Memoranda,
reports, briefing papers, schedule proposals, correspondence, and telegrams
make up the bulk of the collection.
Materials in the “Middle East –
General” folders relate to a variety of topics including arms sales, economic
and military assistance, reassessment period in American Middle East
policy, Palestine Liberation
Organization, Arab boycott of companies trading with Israel, and tensions
between India and Pakistan. The Sinai
Support Mission materials concern the establishment of the Mission
and the appointment of C. William Kontos as its director.
Materials on several significant
foreign policy events are found throughout the collection under multiple
country headings. These events include
the Sinai II disengagement negotiations between Israel
and Egypt,
negotiations with Greece
and Turkey to
resolve the Cyprus
partition crisis, and the emerging civil war in Lebanon. Other topics include Arab-Israeli relations
in general, Palestinian representation in the Middle East
peace process, arms sales, military cooperation, economic assistance, and
concern about the proliferation of nuclear weapons.
Several country headings merit
special mention. Egypt
and Israel are
significant for materials on all aspects of the peace process and related
topics such as U.S.
military and economic assistance, the United Nations, monitoring stations in
the Sinai, and transport of Israeli cargo through the Suez Canal. Folders for Egypt
also include material on cooperation in the peaceful uses of nuclear
energy. The Syria,
Jordan, and Saudi
Arabia folders include materials relating to
the Middle East peace process, Arab-Israeli relations, Lebanon,
arms sales, and military training.
Materials in Saudi Arabia
folders are also relevant for discussions about oil and the Arab boycott of
businesses dealing with Israel. In addition to materials concerning Cyprus,
folders for Greece
and Turkey also
contain information about their conflict over territorial sea and continental
shelf in the Aegean Sea, military base negotiations, and
the U.S. arms
embargo against Turkey. The Iran
and Iraq
folders contain material on the conflict between these countries and their
relations with the Kurds. Specific to Iran
are materials on Iranian investment in the U.S.,
especially in Pan American Airways, U.S.-Iranian bilateral oil agreements,
manufacturing co-production agreements, and uranium enrichment. Folders for India
and Pakistan
have materials relating to their bilateral relations, Bangladesh,
and development and proliferation of nuclear weapons. Materials for India
also concern naval deployments in the Indian Ocean and
naval facilities on Diego Garcia.
Throughout this subcollection State
Department telegrams provide an overview of communications between officials in
Washington and staff at embassies
across the region. They provide
contemporaneous, on-the-scene reports and analyses of events and
conversations. The telegrams also convey
comments and analyses by host government officials and members of the diplomatic
corps from other countries. PRESNET
search reports, available upon request from Ford Library staff, provide subject
access to the broad range of topics discussed in the telegrams.
Related
Open Materials (February 2004):
Related
materials are available in various White House Central Files Subject File
categories, especially country files.
The National Security Adviser Files subcollection Kissinger Reports on USSR, China, and Middle East
Discussions, 1974-1976, is especially relevant to the Middle
East peace process and negotiations between Egypt
and Israel. Researchers can locate related material in
other processed/declassified segments of National Security Adviser Files by
requesting PRESNET search reports.
Additional materials will undoubtedly become available as
declassification processing continues in all Ford Library collections.
Container List
Box
1 Country File
Middle
East - General (1)-(15)
Box
2 Country File
Middle
East - General (16)-(18)
Middle
East - United States
Sinai Support Mission (1)-(2)
Afghanistan
(1)-(2)
Afghanistan
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS
To
SECSTATE - NODIS
Bangladesh
Bangladesh
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS
To
SECSTATE - NODIS
Bhutan
Cyprus
(1)-(4)
Cyprus
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(2)
Box
3 Country File
Cyprus
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(2)
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(12)
Diego
Garcia
Egypt
(1)-(4)
Box
4 Country File
Egypt
(5)-(15)
Egypt
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(2)
Box
5 Country File
Egypt
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS - Aswan Cables
Only
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(16)
Box
6 Country File
Egypt
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (17)-(21)
From
SECSTATE - NODIS - Aswan Cables
Only (1)-(3)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(6)
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(2)
Box
7 Country File
Egypt
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (3)-(17)
Box
8 Country File
Egypt
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (18)-(35)
Box
9 Country File
Egypt
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (36)-(53)
To
SECSTATE - NODIS - Aswan Cables
Only (1)-(3)
Box
10 Country File
Greece
(1)-(6)
Greece
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(5)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(4)
Box
11 Country File
Greece
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(13)
India
(1)-(2)
Box
12 Country File
India
(3)-(5)
India
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(3)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(2)
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(3)
Iran
(1)-(3)
Box
13 Country File
Iran
(4)-(13)
Iran
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(3)
Box
14 Country File
Iran
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (4)-(5)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(2)
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(8)
Iraq
Iraq
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - NODIS
To
SECSTATE - NODIS
Box
15 Country File
Israel
(1)-(14)
Box
16 Country File
Israel
(15)-(28)
Box
17 Country File
Israel
(29)-(32)
Israel
- Analysis of Israeli Proposals for a Corridor to Abu Rudays
Israel
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS - Jerusalem Cables
Only
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(8)
Box
18 Country File
Israel
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - NODIS - Jerusalem Cables
Only (1)-(8)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(4)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS - Jerusalem Cables
Only
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(2)
Box
19 Country File
Israel
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (3)-(14)
To
SECSTATE - NODIS - Jerusalem Cables
Only (1)-(2)
Box
20 Country File
Israel
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS - Jerusalem Cables
Only (3)-(4)
Jordan
(1)-(11)
Box
21 Country File
Jordan
- Options Book, 8/9/74
(1)-(3)
Jordan
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(8)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(3)
Box
22 Country File
Jordan
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(15)
Box
23 Country File
Jordan
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (16)-(30)
Kuwait
Kuwait
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - NODIS
Box
24 Country File
Kuwait
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS
To
SECSTATE - NODIS
Lebanon
(1)-(9)
Lebanon
- Evacuation (1)-(4)
Box
25 Country File
Lebanon
- Evacuation (5)-(6)
Lebanon
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(3)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(2)
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(7)
Box
26 Country File
Lebanon
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (8)-(13)
Nepal
Nepal
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - NODIS
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS
To
SECSTATE - NODIS
Oman
(1)-(2)
Oman
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS
To
SECSTATE - NODIS
Pakistan
(1)-(3)
Box
27 Country File
Pakistan
(4)-(6)
Pakistan
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(2)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(4)
Saudi
Arabia (1)-(6)
Box
28 Country File
Saudi
Arabia (7)-(15)
Saudi
Arabia - State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(2)
Box
29 Country File
Saudi
Arabia - State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (3)-(6)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(5)
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(6)
Box
30 Country File
Saudi
Arabia - State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (7)-(15)
Sri
Lanka
Sri
Lanka - State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NOODIS
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS
To
SECSTATE - NODIS
Syria
(1)-(4)
Box
31 Country File
Syria
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(8)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(2)
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(5)
Box
32 Country File
Syria
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (6)-(16)
Trucial
States [Abu Dhabi, Bahrain,
Qatar, Muscat,
Oman, United
Arab Emirates] (1)-(3)
Trucial
States - State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS
To
SECSTATE - NODIS
Box
33 Country File
Turkey
(1)-(14)
Box
34 Country
File
Turkey
(15)-(17)
Turkey
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(7)
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS (1)-(3)
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (1)-(2)
Box
35 Country
File
Turkey
- State Department Telegrams
To
SECSTATE - NODIS (3)-(13)
Yemen
Yemen
- State Department Telegrams
From
SECSTATE - EXDIS
From
SECSTATE - NODIS
To
SECSTATE - EXDIS
To
SECSTATE - NODIS