|
|
Gerald R. Ford Library1000 Beal Avenue,
www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
Counsel to the President
KENNETH A. LAZARUS
Associate Counsel to the
President:
Files, 1974-77
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
Material on advice given to the President, White House staff, and First Family on legal matters, domestic and foreign issues, presidential powers, and personnel matters. Prominent topics include legislation, White House liaison with agencies and departments of the federal government, presidential appointments, including the Supreme Court nomination of Justice John Paul Stevens, executive-legislative relations, and White House administration. The collection contains much material created or received by Dudley Chapman, Barry Roth, Bobbie Greene Kilberg, Roderick Hills, William Casselman, and Jay French.
QUANTITY
23.6 linear feet (ca. 47,200 pages)
DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77-9, 77-10, and 81-29)
ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
Gerald
R. Ford has donated to the
Prepared by: Geir Gundersen, May 1994
[s:\bin\findaid\lazarus, kenneth - files.doc]
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Kenneth A. Lazarus
1964
1967 University
of
1967-69 Staff Assistant, Office of the Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division, Department of Justice
1969-71 Trial Attorney, Tax Division, Department of Justice
1971
1971-73 Associate
1973-74 Minority
1974 Minority
1974-1977 Associate Counsel to the President
1977- Partner,
law firm of Ward, Lazarus, and Grow,
INTRODUCTION
Kenneth Lazarus joined the White House staff in December 1974 as Associate Counsel to the President. Lazarus reviewed a wide array of issues and topics for possible legal problems. He facilitated, evaluated, or assessed substantive policy, legislative programs, enrolled bills, proclamations, executive orders, agency actions where law required presidential approval, executive privilege, and staff dealings with the Justice Department. He also handled conflict of interest and other standards of conduct with respect to White House staff and presidential appointees, Hatch Act and Civil Service questions affecting the White House, foreign and domestic gifts to the President, White House authorization bills and budget matters, and election questions.
Scope And Content of the Collection
The Files chronicle the numerous legal services provided by Lazarus and other attorneys in the Counsel's Office. At its inception, the collection served as the working files of Lazarus and his colleagues as they often shared or cooperated on tasks. Included are documents produced and received by Dudley Chapman, Bobbie Greene Kilberg, Barry Roth, Jay French, Roderick Hills, William Casselman, and Philip Areeda. With time, each individual created their own files as their specific roles evolved and as they were assigned special projects. However, Lazarus continued to add materials to this collection and assumed practical ownership of its contents.
A Subject File and an Office Chronological File comprise the collection. The Subject File, the major portion of the collection, is organized into categories based on the White House Central Files Subject File. The Subject File addresses a wide array of topics and includes major segments on legislation, the organizations of the federal government, and personnel management.
The Counsel's Office provided analyses and commentary on most legislative activity during the Ford administration. Included are drafts and analyses of bills and resolutions, staff commentary, agency input, and decision memoranda prepared for the President. There is also substantial material on executive-legislative relations, particularly "legislative encroachment" and the President’s veto power, and White House efforts to lobby Congress.
The Counsel's Office also served as the primary White House liaison with regulatory agencies and departments of the federal government. There is information on a multitude of agencies, commissions, and committees encompassing the three branches of government, including such diverse organizations as the Department of Agriculture, the Office of Telecommunications Policy, and the Commission on the Revision of the Federal Court Appellate System (the Hruska Commission).
In addition, the Counsel's Office played a key role in personnel management, particularly in regard to background and investigative checks of prospective White House staff and presidential appointees. The staff attorneys, and Ken Lazarus in particular, reviewed and commented on recommendations from the Presidential Personnel Office, ensured that all White House staff and presidential appointees had the proper clearances, and advised individuals about possible problems concerning standards of conduct, conflict of interest, or the Hatch Act. Of particular interest is the material on the Supreme Court nomination of Justice John Paul Stevens, including background information on the confirmation process, Justice Stevens, and his past decisions and statements.
The collection is also a good source
of information on a multitude of other topics.
For example, there is material on trade issues such as the Arab economic
boycott of firms dealing with
The second part of the collection, the Office Chronological File, consists of carbon copies of correspondence and memoranda created in the Counsel's Office.
Related
Material (May 1994):
Closely related material is located in the Counsel's Office staff files of Philip Buchen, Edward Schmults, Bobbie Greene Kilberg, and Jay French. Other collections from the Counsel's Office are unprocessed. Another important source of related material is the White House Central Files Subject File, in particular subject categories FG: Federal Government - Organizations, JL: Judicial - Legal Matters, LE: Legislation, and PE: Personnel Management. Other related collections are located in the White House Records Office: Enrolled Bill Case Files and the unprocessed files of the Presidential Personnel Office.
Series Descriptions
1-55 Subject
File, 1974-77. (22 linear feet)
Memoranda, reports, briefing papers, congressional and draft bills, correspondence, notes, messages, proclamations, executive orders, testimony, legal opinions, court motions and orders, press releases, and clippings. The materials concern legal analyses and commentary provided on a wide of variety of issues. The major topics are legislation, the organizations of the federal government, and personnel management, including the nomination of Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens. Other topics include inflation, executive privilege, standards of conduct, conflict of interest, the Hatch Act, the Kennedy assassination, the Presidential clemency program, the pardons of Iva Toguri (Tokyo Rose) and Otto Kerner, domestic and foreign gifts to the President, equality and sex discrimination (in particular Title IX), no-fault insurance, legislative encroachment, vetoes, the revocation of Executive Order 9066 (which had established the World War II Japanese-American internment camps), political affairs, personal matters of the President and First Family, public relations, trade, Arab economic boycott of Israel, oil import fees, improper corporate payments abroad, transportation policy, and administration of the White House.
Arranged by subject code and thereunder alphabetically.
56-59 Office Chronological File, 1974-76. (1.6 linear feet)
Carbon copies of memoranda and correspondence generated by many attorneys in the Counsel's Office from August 1974 through December 1976. The folder for January 1977 is located in the files of Bobbie Greene Kilberg.
Arranged chronologically.
Container List
BE: Business ‑ Economics
BE 2‑1: Deceptive Practices
BE 4: Industry (Maritime Subsidies)
BE 5: National Economy
BE 5‑3: Inflation ‑ Money Scarcity
ED 3: Scholarships ‑ Fellowships ‑ Grants
FE: Federal Government
FE 4‑1: Executive Privilege, Presidential Powers, Succession, etc. (1)‑(8)
FE 4‑1: Executive Privilege, Presidential Powers, Succession, etc. (9)‑(10)
FE 6: Executive Orders (1)‑(4)
FE 7‑2‑1: Presidential Seal (1)‑(4)
FE 7‑2‑1: Presidential Seal (5)‑(7)
FE 12: Libraries, Museums
FE 13: Proclamations
FE 14‑1: Access to Records
FG: Federal Government ‑ Organizations (1)‑(2)
FG
2‑34: Kennedy, John F. (
FG 2‑36: Nixon, Richard
FG 3: Transition to Incoming Administration (1)‑(2)
FG 6‑2: Central Intelligence Agency
FG 6‑6: National Security Council
FG 6‑10: Office of the Special Representative for Trade Negotiations
FG 6‑14: Office of Telecommunications Policy (OTP)
FG 6‑15: Domestic Council (1)‑(2)
FG 6‑15: Domestic Council ‑ Action Memoranda (1)‑(3)
FG 6‑15: Domestic Council ‑ Action Memoranda (4)‑(13)
FG 6‑15: Domestic Council ‑ Action Memoranda (14)‑(19)
FG 6‑15‑1: Domestic Council Committee on the Right of Privacy (1)‑(3)
FG 6‑20: Council on International Economic Policy
FG 6‑28: Clemency Review Board (1)‑(2)
FG 6‑33: Office of Science and Technology
FG 11: Department of State
FG 11‑4: Agency for International Development
FG 12‑5: Bureau of Customs
FG 12‑8: Internal Revenue Service
FG
12‑11:
FG 16: Department of the Air Force
FG 17: Department of Justice
FG 17‑1: Attorney General and Staff Officials
FG 17‑7: Law Enforcement Assistance Administration (LEAA) (1)‑(2)
FG 19: Department of the Interior
FG 19‑22/A: Mining and Safety Administration/Appointments
FG 20: Department of Agriculture
FG 21: Department of Commerce
FG 21‑7: Economic Development Administration
FG 23: Department of Health, Education, and Welfare (HEW)
FG 23‑6: Office of Education
FG 24: Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) (1)‑(2)
FG 24‑4: Federal Housing Administration
FG
31: Congress of the
FG
31: Congress of the
FG 33‑12: House Judiciary Committee
FG 38: Vice President (President of the Senate)
FG 44: General Accounting Office
FG 45: Government Printing Office (1)‑(2)
FG 50: Judicial Branch (1)‑(3)
FG 51/A: Supreme Court of the United States/Appointments (1)‑(8)
FG 51/A: Supreme Court of the United States/Appointments (9)‑(11)
FG 65: Independent Agencies, Boards, and Commissions (1)‑(5)
FG 65‑1: US President's
Commission on CIA Activities within the
FG 65‑1: US President's
Commission on CIA Activities within the
FG
65‑2: Committee on Foreign Investment in the
FG 65‑3: International Trade Commission
FG 65‑4: Federal Energy Administration (1)‑(3)
FG 65‑4: Federal Energy Administration ‑ Authorization (1)‑(2)
FG 65‑5: Federal Maritime Commission (1)‑(3)
FG
66: Administrative Conference of the
FG 71: Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
FG 78: Atomic Energy Commission
FG 90: Commission on Civil Rights
FG 91: Commission on Executive, Judicial, and Legislative Salaries
FG 100: Committee for the Preservation of the White House
FG
106:
FG
109: Equal Employment
FG 122: Federal Executive Boards
FG 129: Federal Power Commission
FG 133: Federal Trade Commission
FG 167: National Capital Planning Commission
FG
173: National Council on Indian
FG 205: President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports
FG 205‑3: President's Committee on Olympic Sports
FG 215: Securities and Exchange Commission
FG 216: Selective Service System
FG
218‑1:
FG 221‑21: Task Force on Crime and Law Enforcement (1)‑(2)
FG 221‑50: Task Force on
Proposed
FG
229:
FG
239:
FG 264: Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC)
FG 350: Interagency Classification Review Committee (1)‑(4)
FG 350: Interagency Classification Review Committee (5)‑(7)
FG 363: Consumer Product Safety Commission
FG 364: Pennsylvania Avenue Development Corporation
FG 370: American Revolution Bicentennial Administration
FG 371: National Commission for the Review of Federal and State Laws Relating to Wiretapping and Electronic Surveillance
FG 378: Commission on Revision of the Federal Court Appellate System (Hruska Commission) (1)‑(3)
FG 383: Energy Research and Development Administration
FG 384: Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) (1)‑(3)
FG 392: Legal Services Corporation
FG 416: National Study Commission on Records and Documents of Public Officials (1)‑(2)
FG
450: National Conference of Commissioners on
FG
450: National Conference of Commissioners on
FI: Finance
FI 1‑2: Economy
FI 2: Banks ‑ Banking
FI 4: Budget ‑ Appropriations
FI 11‑4: Investment Tax Credits (Income)
FO: Foreign Affairs
FO 9: Treaties (Executive Agreements)
GI: Gifts (1)‑(6)
GI:
Gifts ‑ Meeting with the President,
HE 9‑1: Air Pollution
HO: Holidays
HU 2: Equality
HU 2‑1: Education ‑ Schooling (also Racial Discrimination)
HU 2‑6: Sex Discrimination (1)‑(6)
HU 2‑6: Sex Discrimination (7)‑(12)
HU 3‑1: Civil Disturbances ‑ Riots (1)‑(2)
IM: Immigration ‑ Naturalization
IN: Indian Affairs
IS: Insurance (1)
IS: Insurance (2)
IV: Invitations (1)‑(2)
JL: Judicial ‑ Legal Matters
JL 1: Amnesty/Clemency/Pardons (1)‑(7)
JL
1‑1: Pardon ‑
JL 1‑2: Pardon ‑ Otto Kerner (1)‑(2)
JL 2: Judicial ‑ Civil Matters
JL 3: Criminal Matters
JL 5: Juvenile Delinquency
JL 6‑1: Secret Service Protection for Former Presidents, Presidential Candidates, and their Families (1)‑(2)
LA: Labor, Department of
LA 2‑3: Handicapped, Employment of
LE: Legislation (1)‑(4)
LE: Legislation ‑ Judicial (1)‑(2)
LE: Legislation ‑ War Powers (1)‑(3)
LE 1: Filibustering
LE 2: Lobbying (1)‑(3)
LE 4: Vetoes and Repeals (1)‑(3)
LE 6: Criminal Justice Information Systems Bill
LE 6: Legislative Drafts ‑ Energy (1)‑(2)
LE 6: Legislative Drafts ‑ Energy (3)
LE 6: Legislative Drafts ‑ Privacy (Tax Returns) (1)‑(6)
LE 7: Legislative Encroachment (1)‑(3)
LE 7: Legislative Encroachment (4)‑(8)
LE 8: Clean Air Act Amendments
LE 8: Common Situs Picketing
LE 8: Consumer Protection Agency (1)‑(3)
LE 8: Death Penalty (1)‑(2)
LE 8: Death Penalty (3)
LE
8: Energy
LE 8: Freedom of Information Act (1)‑(5)
LE 8: Freedom of Information Act ‑ Request for NSSM/NSDM List
LE 8: Freedom of Information Act ‑ Requests (1)‑(3)
LE 8: Freedom of Information Act ‑ Requests (4)‑(12)
LE 8: Freedom of Information Act ‑ Requests (13)‑(19)
LE 8: Freedom of Information Act ‑ Skybolt Report
LE 8: Gun Control Legislation (1)‑(4)
LE 8: Public Safety Officers Benefits Act of 1976
LE 8: H.R. 11552 Voter Registration Act (1)‑(3)
LE
8: H.R. 12261
LE 8: H.R. 12471 Freedom of Information Act Amendments (1)‑(4)
LE 8: H.R. 12471 Freedom of Information Act Amendments (5)‑(7)
LE 8: H.R. 12975 Freedom of Information Act Amendments
LE 8: H.R. 2559 Executive and Congressional Pay Raise
LE 8: H.R. 3035 Olson Family Legislation (1)‑(3)
LE 8: H.R. 4438 Executive Agreements Limitations Bill
LE 8: H.R. 6799 Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure Amendments Act of 1975
LE 8: H.R. 7600 Expanding NSC Membership to include Congressional Majority and Minority Leaders
LE 8: H.R. 8410 Packers and Stockyards Act of 1921
LE 8: Law Enforcement Assistance Administration (LEAA) Reauthorization Bill
LE
8:
LE 8: Privacy Act (1)‑(2)
LE 8: Public Works Employment Act of 1976
LE 8: S.1 Federal Criminal Code (1)‑(7)
LE 8: S.1 Federal Criminal Code (8)‑(10)
LE 8: S.5 Government in the Sunshine Act (1)‑(4)
LE 8: S.354 National No‑Fault Motor Vehicle Insurance Act (1)‑(10)
LE 8: S.495 Watergate Reorganization and Reform Act of 1975 (1)‑(5)
LE 8: S.522 Indian Health Care Improvement Act
LE 8: S.1284 Antitrust Legislation (1)‑(4)
LE 8: S.1284 Antitrust Legislation (5)
LE 8: S.1439 The Export Reorganization Act of 1975 (Nuclear Energy)
LE 8: S.1939 Pyramid Sales Act
LE 8: S.2447 Exemption of Members of Congress from State Income Taxes
LE 8: S.2477 Lobbying Act
LE 8: S.4016 Nixon Tapes Bill (1)‑(5)
LE 8: S.Res. 5 Commander Edward W. Rawlins (1)‑(2)
LE 8: Secret Service Protection
LE 8: Trade Act of 1974
LE 8: Uranium Enrichment (1)‑(8)
LE 8: Uranium Enrichment (9)‑(11)
LE 8: Voting Rights Act (1)‑(3)
LE 8: White House Authorization
MA 4: Presidential Commemorative Medals and Medallions
MC: Meetings ‑ Conferences
MC 3‑6: Law Day 1975
ME 1: Messages from the President (1)
ME 1: Messages from the President (2)‑(3)
ME 1: Messages from the President ‑ "Needs of the Federal Courts" (1)‑(3)
ND: National Security ‑ Defense
ND 8‑1: Casualties (MIAs)
ND 8‑6: Pay ‑ Allowances ‑ Pensions (Military)
ND 13‑3: Classified Information
ND 18: Japanese Internment Camps
ND 18‑2: Displaced Persons‑Refugees (President's Advisory Committee on Refugees)
PA 2: Memorials ‑ Monuments
PE: Personnel Management
PE 1: Standards of Conduct (1)‑(9)
PE 1‑2: Political Activities (Hatch Act) (1)‑(2)
PE 1‑2‑1 Hatch Act Amendments (1)‑(4)
PE 2: Employment ‑ Appointments (1)‑(3)
PE 2‑1: Presidential Appointments ‑ Clearances (1)‑(10)
PE 2‑1: Presidential Appointments ‑ Clearances (11)‑(19)
PE 2‑1: Presidential Appointments ‑ Clearances (20)‑(22)
PE 2‑1: Presidential Appointments/Senate Confirmations ‑ Clearances (1)‑(6)
PE 2‑1: Presidential Appointments/Senate Confirmations ‑ Clearances (7)‑(9)
PE 2‑1: Presidential Appointments ‑ Clearances ‑ Approved (1)‑(7)
PE 2‑1: Presidential Personnel Office ‑ Action Memoranda (1)‑(10)
PE 2‑1: Presidential Personnel Office ‑ Action Memoranda (11)‑(18)
PE 2‑1: Schedule C Appointments
PE 5: Hours of Duty
PE 7: Investigations (1)‑(2)
PE 8: Personnel Management Leave
PE 12: Salaries ‑ Wages
PE 12‑4: Salaries ‑ Judicial
PE 13: Separations
PL: Political Affairs
PL 1: Conventions
PL 2: Fund Raising ‑ Expenditures (1)‑(3)
PL 5: Political Parties
PL 5‑4: Political Affairs ‑ Republican Party
PP: President
PP 2: President ‑ Books About
PP 5‑1: First Lady (Betty Ford)
PP 5‑3: Ford, Jack (John Gardner)
PP 5‑5: Ford, Susan Elizabeth
PP 9: Memberships (1)‑(6)
PP 13‑5‑1: Birthplace ‑ Boyhood Home
PP
13‑5‑2: Home ‑
PP 13‑6: Medals ‑ Citations ‑ Decorations ‑ Awards
PR: Public Relations
PR: Autographs ‑ Photographs ‑ Holographs
PR 7: Engagements ‑ Appointments ‑ Interviews
PR 7‑1: Engagements ‑ Appointments ‑ Interviews ‑ Granted
PR 11: Motion Pictures ‑ Film Strips ‑ Recordings
PR 12: Pens
PR 14: Presidential Favors
PR 14‑2: Contributions/Donations
PR 14‑8: Opinions ‑ Statements ‑ Questionnaires ‑ Articles
PR 14‑9: President's Name ‑ Likeness (1)‑(2)
PR
18: White House
RA: Real Property
RA 2‑1: Guest Houses ‑ Blair House
RE 3: Bathing ‑ Swimming (1)‑(4)
RE 11: Golf
RS 3‑2: Reports ‑ Violation of Section 3679 (Anti-Deficiency Act) (1)‑(2)
RS 3‑2: Reports ‑ Violations of Section 3679 (Anti-Deficiency Act) (3)‑(4)
SA 2: Safety ‑ Highway ‑ Traffic
SO 1: Alcoholic Beverages Served in the White House
SO 3: Dinners
SO 4: Luncheons
SO 6: Receptions
SP 3: Presidential Speeches (1)‑(4)
TA: Trade
TA 1: Boycotts ‑ Embargoes (1)‑(3)
TA 3: Exports
TA 4: Tariff ‑ Imports (1)‑(7)
TA 4: Tariff ‑ Imports (8)
TA 7: Foreign Payoffs /US Companies (1)‑(6)
TN: Transportation (1)‑(2)
TN: Transportation (3)‑(4)
TN 4: Railroads
TR: Presidential Travel ‑ Trips
UT: Utilities
WE 3: Family Planning
WE 7: Social Security
WE 10‑4: Food Stamp Program
WH: White House Administration
WH 1: Budget (1)‑(2)
WH 2: Building ‑ Grounds (1)‑(2)
WH 2‑1: Furnishings
WH 2‑2: Buildings Management
WH 2‑2‑2: Office Space and Organization (1)‑(3)
WH 2‑2‑3: Parking Space
WH 3‑1: Consultants
WH 4‑1: Mail ‑ White House
WH 4‑2: Records (1)‑(3)
WH 5: Personnel Management ‑ Conflict of Interest ‑ Background Information (1)‑(2)
WH 5: Personnel Management ‑ Conflict of Interest ‑ Background Information (3)‑(5)
WH 5: Personnel Management ‑ Conflict of Interest ‑ Correspondence (1)‑(5)
WH 5: Personnel Management ‑ Conflict of Interest ‑ Correspondence ‑ Leo C. Levin
WH 5‑1: Applicants (1)‑(2)
WH 5‑1: Applicants (3)‑(7)
WH 6‑1: Accident ‑ Fire
WH 6‑3: Protection ‑ Physical (1)‑(3)
WH 8: Supplies ‑ Materials ‑ Services
WH 10: Travel ‑ Transportation (1)‑(2)
WH 11‑2: Automobile
WH 11‑3: Yacht
8/74 ‑ 2/75
3/75 ‑ 8/75
8/75 ‑ 4/76
5/76
‑ 12/76