|
|
Gerald R. Ford Library
1000 Beal Avenue,
www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
National Security Adviser
KISSINGER REPORTS ON
MIDDLE EAST DISCUSSIONS, 1974-76
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
Memoranda of conversations
and related materials compiled for President Ford concerning Secretary
Kissinger’s meetings with leaders of the
QUANTITY
2.0 linear feet (ca. 4,000
pages)
DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession
number 77-118)
ACCESS
Open, but some materials continue to be national security classified
and restricted. Access is governed by
the donor’s deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, and National
Archives and Records Administration regulations (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford has donated
to the
Prepared by Geir Gundersen, June 1996;
Revised by Helmi Raaska, November 2003
[s:\bin\findaid\nsc\kissinger reports on ussr, china, and middle east discussions.doc]
INTRODUCTION
The Kissinger Reports on
This subcollection consists of ribbon copies of memoranda of conversations (memcons) and related materials concerning high level meetings with Soviet, Chinese, and Middle Eastern leaders. The materials were compiled for President Ford’s information, and after he had read them, they were returned to the NSC for filing. NSC staff kept the materials in binders with tabs separating the various documents. In a few cases there is a tab for a memcon which archivists found to be missing from the binder. Ford Library archivists removed the papers from the binders and placed them in folders during processing.
This collection
chronicles the practice of diplomacy at the highest level. The focus is on three important areas of Ford
administration foreign policy:
U.S.-Soviet relations, U.S.-China relations, and the
Secretary Kissinger’s reports to the President are also an important component of the files. These reports summarized the substance of his meetings, described the tone of the discussions and the mood of the participants, offered analysis of the progress being made in achieving goals, and informed the President of his travel schedule and upcoming meetings. The reports were submitted by cable to Brent Scowcroft, who had them typed as memoranda for the President. The memoranda, often ribbon copies, are filed in this collection.
Other materials in the files show the ongoing work of the Secretary and members of his staff who traveled with him. The staff prepared background memoranda, briefing papers, and checklists for Dr. Kissinger, and continually revised drafts of agreements and communiqués. Copies of press releases, public remarks such as Kissinger’s arrival and departure statements, and transcripts of press briefings are also part of the collection. All of these items taken together provide a picture of the process of diplomacy.
Scope and Content of the Materials
The materials cover a wide range of topics
within the areas of U.S.-Soviet relations, U.S.-China relations, and
negotiations for a Sinai disengagement agreement. Each series has its own highly significant
issues, and a few additional topics are identified in this finding aid to
illustrate the broad scope of some discussions.
The best subject access for researchers is through PRESNET search
reports which are available upon request.
Files on
Materials concerning
discussions with the Chinese are from the Secretary’s trips to
The last series of
discussions includes materials from Secretary Kissinger’s March and August 1975
A Sinai I agreement
had been reached in 1974 during the Nixon administration. Secretary Kissinger undertook the shuttles
during the Ford administration as mediator in further Sinai disengagement
negotiations between
Related Materials (November 2003)
Related materials are available in several other National Security Adviser collections. Among these are Presidential Country Files, NSC Staff Files, Kissinger-Scowcroft West Wing Office Files, Memoranda of Conversations, Kissinger Trip Briefing Books and Cables, and Presidential Trip Briefing Books and Cables. Only portions of some of these collections are currently open for research; some are entirely unprocessed and unavailable. Researchers can identify the file locations of related open materials from PRESNET search reports. As additional collections become available, the information is entered into the PRESNET database. Researchers can also consult the Ford Library website for announcements as collections are opened.
Series Descriptions
Memcons, reports, draft communiques and agreements, proposals, letters, notes, talking papers, and press releases concerning U.S.-Soviet relations. Included are materials on Secretary of State Henry Kissinger's trip to Moscow, his meetings with Andrei Gromyko in Vienna and Geneva, the Vladivostok Summit, and President Ford's meetings with Leonid Brezhnev in Helsinki during the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe. Memcons and reports from these meetings are of particular interest. Included is information on SALT and other arms control agreements, Soviet-Chinese relations, grain purchases, Angola, Korea, Japan, Indochina, Somalia, Cyprus, the Middle East, trade, emigration, oil, and the United Nations.
Arranged chronologically by date of trip and then by date of meeting.
Box
2
Memcons, reports, draft communiques
and agreements, proposals, briefing papers, letters, notes, and press releases
concerning U.S.-China relations.
Included are materials on Secretary of State Henry Kissinger's trips to
Arranged chronologically by date of trip and then by date of meeting.
Boxes 3-5 Middle
Memcons, reports, draft agreements and annexes, briefing
materials, proposals, letters, notes, talking papers,
and press releases concerning Secretary of State Henry Kissinger's shuttle
diplomacy in the
Arranged chronologically by date of trip and then date of meeting.
Container List
October 24-27, 1974 - Kissinger/Brezhnev Talks in Moscow (1)-(3)
November 23-24, 1974 - Vladivostok Summit (1)-(2)
May 19-20, 1975 - Kissinger/Gromyko Meetings in Vienna (1)-(2)
July 10-11, 1975 - Kissinger/Gromyko Meetings in Geneva (1)-(2)
July 30-August 2, 1975 - Ford/Brezhnev Meetings in Helsinki (Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe)
September 18-21, 1975 - Talks with Gromyko
January 21-23, 1976 - Kissinger Moscow Trip (1)-(3)
November 25-29, 1974
- Kissinger's Trip (1)-(4)
- Summaries of Kissinger/Teng Discussions
September 28, 1975 - Kissinger's Meeting with PRC Officials in New York
October 19-23, 1975
- Kissinger's Trip (1)-(5)
- Drafts of Joint Communique
December 1-5, 1975 - President Ford's Visit to Peking (1)-(3)
March 7-22, 1975 - Kissinger's Trip
- Vol. I (1)-(10)
- Vol. II (1)-(4)
March 7-22, 1975 - Kissinger's Trip
- Vol. II (5)-(9)
August 21-September 1, 1975 - Sinai Disengagement Agreement
- Vol. I (1)-(7)
- Vol. II (1)-(3)
Box 5 Middle East Memcons and Reports
August 21-September 1, 1975 - Sinai Disengagement Agreement
- Vol. II (4)-(6)
- Vol. III (1)-(9)
September 1, 1975 - Sinai Disengagement Agreement - Documents (1)-(2)