Gerald R. Ford Library

1000 Beal Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI  48109-2114

www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SIDNEY L. JONES

Economist; Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy, Department of the Treasury; other senior government positions:

Papers, (1954) 1969-1992 (1995)

 

 

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

 

Policy memoranda, correspondence, speeches, testimony, publications, reports and studies, and newspaper clippings mainly concerning his work as a high-ranking economic policy official in the White House and several Federal government departments and agencies, 1969-1992.  In addition to general economic policy, the materials concern such topics as international trade, foreign investment, and economic statistics. Also included are materials from academic and other positions that he held while not in government service.

 

QUANTITY

8 linear feet (ca. 16,000 pages)

 

DONOR

Sidney L. Jones (accession numbers 96-11 and 98-1)

 

ACCESS

Open.  Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

 

COPYRIGHT

Sidney Jones has donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

 

Prepared by William McNitt, September 2002; Revised May 2003

[s:\bin\findaid\jones, sidney - papers.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

 

 

 

Sidney Lewis Jones

 

 

 

September 23, 1933            Born at Ogden, UT

1951-54                              Utah State University, B.S. in Economics

1954-56                              First Lieutenant, Quartermaster Corps, U.S. Army

1956-60                              Stanford University, M.B.A. and Ph.D.

1960-65                              Assistant/Associate Professor of Finance, Northwestern University

1965-69                              Associate Professor/Professor of Finance, University of Michigan

1969-71                              Senior Economist and Special Assistant to the Chairman, Council of Economic Advisers

1971-72                              Professor of Finance, University of Michigan

1972-73                              Minister-Counselor for Economic Affairs, U.S. Mission to NATO, Brussels, Belgium

1973-74                              Assistant Secretary for Economic Affairs, Department of Commerce

1974-75                              Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy to the Counsellor for Economic Policy, The White House

1975-77                              Counselor to the Secretary and Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy, Department of the Treasury

1977-78                              Fellow, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Smithsonian Institution

1978                                   Assistant to the Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System

1979-83                              Research Scholar, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy

1983-85                              Under Secretary for Economic Affairs, Department of Commerce

1985-86                              Fellow, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Smithsonian Institution

1986-89                              Associate Faculty, Center for Public Policy Education, Brookings Institution

1989-93                              Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy, Department of the Treasury

1993-                                  Adjunct Faculty, Center for Public Policy Education, Brookings Institution; Visiting Professor at Various Colleges

 


INTRODUCTION

 

 

 

Sidney Jones started his career as a professor of finance at Northwestern University and the University of Michigan.  In 1969, Council of Economic Advisers chairman Paul McCracken (a former colleague on the Michigan faculty) recruited him to serve as a CEA senior economist and special assistant to the chairman. 

 

Over the next 23 years, Jones served as a Federal government official in a variety of positions involving economic policy.  During the Nixon, Ford, Reagan, and Bush administrations he worked in the White House or in the Commerce or Treasury Departments.  Between these government positions, he held research positions with Washington think-tanks and was a visiting professor at various colleges and universities.

 

Jones worked in the White House as the deputy to Counsellor for Economic Affairs Kenneth Rush, beginning late in the Nixon administration and continuing through the early months of the Ford administration.  His work as a key economic adviser to the Secretary of Commerce involved two different tenures -- 1973-74 (Secretary Frederick Dent) and 1983-85 (Secretary Malcolm Baldridge).  He was Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Economic Policy in 1975-77 (Secretary William Simon) and again in 1989-93 (Secretary Nicholas Brady).

 

The Jones Papers do not contain a complete record of his work in these government positions.  The strength of the collection lies in photocopies of selected policy memoranda that he wrote.  Jones apparently saved copies of what he felt to be his most important memoranda. The collection does not include all memoranda he wrote, just this selection.  They deal with the economy and related issues and are usually of a substantive nature and often lengthy.  Particular areas of interest to Jones include government statistics on the economy, international trade, and foreign investment.

 

Also included in the Papers are an extensive set of his speeches and publications, personal correspondence, and newspaper clippings about Jones and his activities.  There are only a few subject files on issues.  A small amount of material concerns his teaching and research activities from those time periods when he did not hold a government position.

 

 

Related Materials (August 2002):

The Library has a Jones oral history in the Composite Oral History Accessions concerning his work with the Council of Economic Advisers.  Another closely related collection is the files of Kenneth Rush.  Jones served as his deputy in the Ford White House.  Other key Library collections on Nixon and Ford administration economic policy include the Council of Economic Advisers Records, the L. William Seidman Files, and the Arthur Burns Papers.  Some Jones materials from his work at the Council of Economic Advisers may appear in the Paul McCracken Papers at the Bentley Historical Library.


 

Series Descriptions

 

1-4           Outgoing Memoranda, 1969-93.  (1.4 linear feet)

Copies of selected Jones memoranda to his government colleagues and superiors, including Cabinet Secretaries.  The memoranda focus primarily concerning Federal government economic policy.

Arranged chronologically.

 

4-7           Incoming Correspondence, (1960) 1970-94.  (1.2 linear feet)

Originals of letters received by Jones primarily from friends and fellow economists.  Although they often include references to economic policy, the file is primarily personal in nature.

Arranged chronologically.

 

7-8           Materials Submitted to Secretary of the Treasury Nicholas Brady, 1989-92.  (0.6 linear feet)

Copies of memoranda and other documents prepared for Brady while Jones was serving as Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Economic Policy in the George H.W. Bush administration.

Arranged chronologically.

 

9-13         Speeches, Statements, and Scholarly Papers, (1954) 1971-93.  (1.8 linear feet)

The text of speeches, statements, and scholarly papers delivered by Jones.  Occasionally speech drafts or later published versions also appear.  The file primarily concerns Federal government economic policy.

Arranged chronologically by date of the speech.

 

13-18       Publications File, 1959-91.  (1.8 linear feet)

Copies of publications written in whole or in part by Jones.  Copies of some articles based on speeches or lectures appear in the Speeches, Statements, and Scholarly Papers series rather than here.

Arranged chronologically

 

18             Teaching Materials, 1971-95.  (0.2 linear feet)

Course materials and lecture background notes used in classes he taught at various colleges and universities.

Arranged alphabetically by type of material or name of institution.

 

18-19       Reports and Studies, 1974-95.  (0.5 linear feet)

Copies of reports and studies on various economic topics of interest to Jones.

Arranged chronologically.

 


19-20       Subject File, 1974-93.  (0.2 linear feet)

Memoranda, biographies, press releases, a desk planner, and photographs.  This is a small and fragmentary file containing material about Jones or about various economic issues.

Arranged alphabetically.

 

20             Newspaper Clippings, 1967-92.  (0.3 linear feet)

Newspaper clippings of articles about Jones or articles in which he is quoted.

Arranged chronologically.

 


 

Container List

 

Box 1       Outgoing Memoranda

8/69 - 4/4/74

 

Box 2       Outgoing Memoranda

4/5/74 - 10/76

 

Box 3       Outgoing Memoranda

11/76 - 12/89

 

Box 4       Outgoing Memoranda

1/90 - 10/93

Incoming Correspondence

3/60 - 5/75

 

Box 5       Incoming Correspondence

5/75 - 12/83

 

Box 6       Incoming Correspondence

1/84 - 12/90

 

Box 7       Incoming Correspondence

1/91 - 12/94

                 Material Submitted to Secretary of the Treasury Nicholas Brady

6/89 - 6/90

 

Box 8       Material Submitted to Secretary of the Treasury Nicholas Brady

7/90 - 12/92

 

Box 9       Speeches, Statements, and Scholarly Papers

Lists of Talks and Briefings, 1970 to 1995 (1)-(2)

Undated - Various Speech Notecards

5/29/54 - Valedictorian Address - Utah State University

1962 - The Current Ethic

5/14/71 - The Limitations on National Economic Decisions

9/1/71 - Is Education Possible in the Business School? - Alta, Utah

9/1/71 - Bibliography: Future of Capitalism

10/8/71 - Reporting Corporate Social Responsibilities Activities

7/14/72 - Changing International Economic Patterns - Brussels, Belgium

3/13/73 - The International Monetary Situation

6/5/73 - Economic Background

7/24/73 - Statement Before the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on State, Justice, Commerce, the Judiciary and Related Agencies

9/6/73 - International Economic Issues: The American Perspective - Alpbach, Austria

10/11/73 - The Permanence of Economic Change - U.S. Air Force War College

10/30/73 - The Evolving Framework of the World's Economic System - Philadelphia, PA

11/13/73 - Federal Statistical Programs: Analysis and Attitudes

12/18/73 - Setting Economic Policy During the Transition - National Economics Club

1/74 - International Economic Issues: The American Perspective - Michigan Business Review

1/23/74 - Foreign Direct Investment in the United States

2/6-7/74 - Investing in the United States - Financial Times Conference - London, England

2/27/74 - Comments at the Meeting of Senior Economic Advisers, Economic Commission for Europe, United Nations Economic and Social Council - Geneva, Switzerland

4/2/74 - 1975 Budget Request for the Social and Economic Statistics Administration

4/24/74 - The Realities of Our Political Economy - St. Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

5/2/74 - The Challenge of Leadership Summer 1974 - The Lessons of Wage and Price Controls

6/10/74 - Statement Before the House Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs Subcommittee on the Environment

6/17/74 - Statement on the Importance of Communication of Information to Heirs and Financial Advisors

6/18/74 - The Realities of our Political Economy - Carlisle, Pennsylvania

 

Box 10     Speeches, Statements, and Scholarly Papers

7/15/74 - The Challenge of Economic Leadership

7/31/74 - Various Speeches Sent to Kenneth Rush

7/74 to 8/74 - The Realities of Our Political Economy - in Atlanta Economic Review

9/3/74 - Remarks before the Economic Symposium, Alpbach European Forum - Alpbach, Austria

9/23/74 - Are We Giving Answers to the Right Questions?

10/74 - The U.S. and International Economics

11/7/74 - View From the White House

11/19/74 - President Ford's Economic Program - Brussels, Belgium

12/74 - A Responsible Economic Package

12/5/74 - The Realities of our Corporate Economy - Los Angeles, California

3/3-8/75 - Energy Policies - Geneva, Switzerland

3/3-8/75 - U.S. Economic Policies - Geneva, Switzerland

4/1/75 - Energy Policies

5/22/75 - U.S. Economic Policies in a Changing World Economy - Seoul, Korea

5/31/75 - U.S. Economic Policies for the Future - Cairo, Egypt

6/2/75 - Draft Speech on Regulatory Reform

8/5/75 - U.S. News and World Report

8/19/75 - Economic Policy at the Turning Point - Tuscon, Arizona

8/22/75 - Talking Points for the U.S. Economy

9/30/75 - Notes from G. Tsai and Company, Inc. Institutional Meeting - Regency Hotel, New York

11/5/75 - Remarks at Press Briefing on National Economic Issues - Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois

12/3/75 - 1976 Travel Outlook Forum - Washington, D.C.

Winter 1975 - A Responsible Economic Package

2/5/76 - Remarks at the Economic Forum Sponsored by the American Cancer Society - Los Angeles, CA

2/11/76 - Remarks Before the Economic and Social Committee of Banque Bruxelles-Lambert - Brussels, Belgium

2/13/76 - Statement Before the Danish Economic Association - Copenhagen, Denmark

2/19/76 - Statement Before the Subcommittee on Financial Markets of the Senate Finance Committee (on capital formation) - Washington, D.C.

2/24/76 - Interview with Jack Bennett - Voice of America - The American Issues Forum

3/22/76 - Draft Copy of Taping Made of Talk at Lafayette College - Lafayette, PA

6/26/76 - The Challenge of Economic Leadership - Speech for the Western Economic Association and the Western Finance Association - San Francisco, CA

7/6/76 - Speech at Luncheon Meeting of G. Tsai and Company, Inc. - New York, NY

9/6/76 - MacNeil/Lehrer Report - WETA TV Interview

9/24/76 - Prospects for Increasing the Federal Budget by $60 Billion Dollars

10/4/76 - Causes of Inflation

10/8/76 - Agenda for the Future

 

Box 11     Speeches, Statements, and Scholarly Papers

1/3/77 - The Fundamental Link Between Financial Markets and National Economic Policies

1/21/77 - Economic Policies and Prospects

2/1/77 - Economics as a Science - Brookings Institution

2/15/77 - U.S. Economic Relations with Eastern Europe

1/31/78 - Financial Institution Reform: The Development of Economic Policy

3/15/78 - Economic Goals and Fiscal Policies

3/21/78 - The Future of Market Economies

6/22/78 - Background Comments on Capital Investment

8/10/78 - Aspen Papers: Resources

9/1/78 - U.S. Economy Relations with Hungary - Text Delivered to International Communications Agency for Publication

11/6/78 - Regulation

11/9/78 - Policy Issues

3/26-27/79 - Foreign Banking and the U.S. Economy - London, England

4/6-7/79 - Status and Future of Private Enterprise

6/2/79 - Monetary Aspects of Interdependence

7/20/79 - Economic Prospects - IDS Session

8/10/79 - The Policy Environment for East/West Trade

11/8/79 - Economic Prospects - IDS Session

11/30/79 - The Outlook for the U.S. Economy - Hong Kong Visit

12/6/79 - National Economic Policy and the Future - BYU Lecture

1/14/80 - Economic Policy Issues - Wells Fargo Bank

1/14-15/80 - The Convergence of Economic Policy Issues - Phoenix

2/15/80 - The Economic Outlook for the United States

3/80 - Can the Fed Save the World? - New York, NY

3/25/80 - Addendum to Summary on Economic Outlook from 2/15/80

5/13/80 - Economic Outlook and Policies - Address to IDS Advisory Client Seminar - Washington, D.C.

10/23/80 - Human Resource Development in a Limited Growth Economy - National Adherent Forum

10/24/80 - Economic Prospects - IDS Session

3/81 - Economic Prospects and Policies

3/81 - Long-term Economic Growth - Las Hadas, Mexico and Newark, NJ

4/81 - Economic Policy Issues

6/24/81 - The Economic Outlook for the United States

 

Box 12     Speeches, Statements, and Scholarly Papers

11/26/81 - Outlook for the U.S. Economy and Policy Issues

11/30/81 - The Economic Outlook for the United States

5/82 - A Good Time for Phase II

8/82 - The U.S. Economy on a Side Track

8/13-15/82 - The First AEI World Forum on International Trade Policy Issues - Vail, Colorado

12/2/82 - The Capital Budget Alternative

1/83 - The U.S. Economy in an Integrated World Economy

3/25/83 - The Crucial Difference Between Economic Growth and Economic Recovery

4/83 - Prospects for Near-Term and Long-Term Recovery

9/83 - The Integration and Divergence of German and American Economic Interests - Washington, D.C.

7/30/84 - Saving - The United States Experience - Cabinet Council on Economic Affairs

3/20-23/85 - Statistics in Government Decision Making - Reston, VA

6/21/85 - Capital Formation and Movement: The Human Dimension - Beaver Creek, Colorado

7/85 - Economic Prospects and Policies - Washington, D.C.

9/4/85 - Draft Comments on Tax Reform

11/4/85 - Prospects and Policies for Economic Growth

1986 Undated - The International Economy in 1986

1986 Undated - Outline for Economic Prospects and Policies

1/1/86 - The Political Economy in 1986

2/27/86 - The Domestic Budget: Commerce and Economic Development Functions and Issues - Brookings Institution

4/15/86 - Tax Reform: Why Do We Change the Tax Laws at Least Every Two Years?

4/17/86 - Testimony Prepared for the Joint Economic Committee Hearings on the Quality of Economic Statistics

5/86 - The Environment of Economic Policy

6/11/86 - Prospects and Policies for Economic Growth

6/20-22/86 - Integration of the World Economy - AEI World Forum

7/86 - The Status of Federal Economic Statistics

11/20/86 - Economic Prospects and Policies - Washington Forum

1987 Undated - Budget Policies

1987 Undated - Do Economic Statistics Tell It Like It Is? "A Former Insiders View"

1987 Undated - Economic Prospects and Policies

1/29/87 - The Current Environment for Economic Policy - Paine Webber

5/14/87 - Economic Prospects and Policies - IDS Conference

10/15/87 - The U.S. Economy in Transition - Washington Forum

11/4/87 - Favorable and Unfavorable

11/4/87 - Economic Policies and Prospects

1988 Undated - U.S Economic Policies in an Integrated World Economy, CBIT Paper

2/28/88 - The U.S. Economy in and Integrated World Economy

3/18/88 - The U.S. Economy in an Integrated World Economy - UTC Advisory Councils

4/27/88 - Brookings Institution and Committee for Economic Development Public Policy Conclusions

5/3/88 - The U.S. Economy in an Integrated World Economy - BMI Seminar

 

Box 13     Speeches, Statements, and Scholarly Papers

11/9-10/88 - The Political and Social Economy of Debt and Deficits - Syracuse University, Washington, D.C.

12/15/88 - Coleman-Bartlett Seminar

2/18/89 - American Trade Policy for the Future: Regional or Worldwide? - Brookings Institution

4/1/89 - Economic Policies in a Changing Global Economy - Potomac, Maryland

4/19/89 - Economic Prospects and Policies

11/2/89 - Speech at the Washington Research Group Annual Fall Symposium - the Willard Hotel

3/27/90 - Statement Before the Committee on Finance, U.S. Senate - Washington, D.C.

8/27/90 - The U.S. Role in the Economic Transformation of East Central Europe - Alpbach, Austria

11/27/90 - Department of Agriculture Economic Outlook Conference

2/5/91 - Current Economic Conditions - Washington, D.C.

11/91 - Moral Values and Ethical Behavior in Public Service

8/28/93 - Keynote Speech at UNC Executive MBA Class of 1993 Graduation - Chapel Hill, NC

 

                 Publications File

c.1959 - The Generalist-Specialist Dichotomy in the Management of Creative Personnel

6/62 - "The Creative Individual in Industrial Research" - IRE Transactions on Engineering Management

11/62 to 12/62 - "Meeting the Developmental Needs of R & D Personnel" - Personnel

1963 - "Professional Development Needs of the Researcher" - The Management of Scientific Talent

3/63 to 4/63 - "How the Midwest Can Catch Up" - Illinois Bell News

11/63 to 12/63 - "The Feasibility of Personnel Management in Industrial Research Organizations" - Journal of the Society for Personnel Administration

 

Box 14     Publications File

1964 - Managerial Problems in Finance/Cases in Decision Making

1966 - Financial Institutions

1968 - "Financing Small Business" - Creative Business Financing

 

Box 15     Publications File

1969 - "Financing Michigan's Small Business" - Legislating for Economic Expansion

4/69 - "The 'Experimental' Course on Black Capitalism" - AACSB Bulletin

4/14/70 - "The Future Availability of Money for Housing" - Manufactured Housing in the 1970s

5/70 - "The Compatibility of Commercial Goals and Research" - Michigan Business Review

Autumn 1970 - "Economic Policy: National, Institutional, and Individual Issues" - BYU Studies

9/70 - "The Current Domestic Economy" - Transition

10/15-16/70 - "The Political Economy in 1970" - Pitt Conference on Business Prospects

7/72 - "The Value Added Tax" - Michigan Business Review

6/75 - "Measuring National Wealth and Well-Being" - A Numerator and Denominator for Measuring Change

8/18-20/75 - "Economic Policy at the Turning Point" - Collected Papers of the American Accounting Association's Annual Meeting

 

Box 16     Publications File

12/10/75 - The Financial Crisis of Our Cities

6/19/78 - "Trade Competition- Free or Fair?" - Balancing Economic Interests: International Conference on Trade and Investment

1979 - The Development of Economic Policy: Financial Institution Reform

7/80 to 8/80 - "Free Enterprise: Its Survival Is up to You" - Business

12/80 - "Can the Economic Future be Foretold?" - Adherent

1981 - Inflation: Causes and Prospects

7/9/81 - "The Economic Outlook for the United States" - Brook Hunt & Associates, Ltd.

5/5/82 - "The Economic Outlook for the United States" - Brook Hunt & Associates, Ltd.

4/83 - "An Economic Outlook for the United States" - Brook Hunt & Associates, Ltd.

Winter 83/84 - "Protectionism and the U.S. Economy" - the Cato Journal

 

Box 17     Publications File

1986 - "Cooperation and Competition in an Integrated World Economy" - Zeugen Des Wissens

1/86 - Commentary: Sidney Jones on the International Competitive Climate - Japan Economic Survey

9/30/87 - "Demographic Trends in America: Squaring the Population Pyramid" - The Washington Forum: Forum Report

11/4-5/87 - "Government and Business: Beyond Regulatory Issues" - Economic Deregulation: Promise and Performance

11/10-11/88 - "The Economic Policy Challenges Facing the United States" and "The Political and Social Economy of Debt and Deficits" - The Federal Deficit: Where Do We Go From Here

3/31/89 - Foreign Direct Investment: Net Economic Benefits and Political Risks

 

Box 18     Publications File

3/89 to 4/89 - "Federal Statistics Program" - the Journal of Corporate Governance

7/90 - Commentary in Business Taxes, Capital Costs, and Competitiveness - ACCF-CPR

9/3/91 - Marcus Common Interest Forum: Economic Report on the Nation, the State, and the Milwaukee Area - Milwaukee, Wisconsin

                 Teaching Materials

Carleton College Teaching Materials

Cornell University Teaching Materials

Dartmouth College Course Materials

Georgetown University Class Materials

Lecture Background Notes

Public Policy Issues and Business Decisions

University of Michigan Teaching Materials

                 Reports and Studies

Undated - Various Data, Charts, and Graphs

10/74 - Changes in U.S. Foreign Trade: The Post-1971 Experience in Perspective

1983? - Economic Impact of Demographic Changes

9/11/89 - FY 1991 Budget Strategy

 

 


Box 19     Reports and Studies

Spring 1990 - Saving Trends and Behavior in OECD Countries - OECD Economic Studies

1991? - Competitiveness/Hollowing Out

4/91 - Treasury Economic Information System

6/91 - Overview of the Automobile Industry - Treasury Study

1992? - Monetary Background Material

1994 - Demographic Indicators

1995 - OECD Economic Indicators

                 General Subject File

Cargo Preference, 1974-76

Debt Burdens, 1976

Economic Statistics, 1973-93

Jones - Biographical Information

 

Box 20     General Subject File

Jones - Personal Planner, 1992

Jones - Photographs

Jones - Press Releases, 1984-89

Various Clippings and Pamphlets

                 Newspaper Clippings

1967-92