|
|
Gerald R. Ford Library1000 Beal Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2114www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
ROBERT T. HARTMANN
Reporter;
Assistant to Representative Gerald R. Ford;
Chief of Staff
to the Vice President;
Counsellor
to the President:
Papers, (1884)
1930-1981
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
Materials concerning Hartmann's early
life; his career as a reporter and bureau chief for the Los Angeles Times,
public relations aide for the Republican Conference of the U.S. House of
Representatives, and senior advisor to Gerald R. Ford (1969-77); and the
drafting of his memoir Palace Politics:
An Inside Account of the Ford Years.
QUANTITY
86
linear feet (ca. 172,000 pages)
DONOR
The
Hoover Institution at Stanford University - transferred to the Ford Library at
the request of Robert T. Hartmann (accession number 92-64)
ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under
terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or
under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR
1256).
COPYRIGHT
Robert
Hartmann has retained during his lifetime his copyrights in all of his
unpublished writings in this collection.
The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or
organizations are presumed to remain with them.
Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official
duties are in the public domain.
Prepared by William H. McNitt, February 1994
[s:\bin\findaid\hartmann, robert - papers.doc]
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Robert
Trowbridge Hartmann
1917 Born, Rapid City,
South Dakota; the family moved to Beverly Hills, California when he was young.
1934 Graduated
from Beverly Hills High School
1938 B.A.,
Stanford University
1939‑41 Reporter, Los
Angeles Times
1941‑45 Active duty from
Ensign to Lieutenant Commander, U.S. Naval Reserve; served in Pacific
operations as command press officer and naval censor
1945‑54 Reporter and
editorial/special feature writer, Los Angeles Times
1954‑63 Washington bureau
chief, Los Angeles Times
1963‑64 Middle East and Mediterranean
bureau chief, Los Angeles Times
1964‑65 Information
adviser for North America, United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization
1966‑69 Editor, Republican
Conference, U.S. House of Representatives
1969‑73 Minority
Sergeant-at-Arms and Legislative Assistant to the Minority Leader (Gerald R.
Ford), U.S. House of Representatives
1973‑74 Chief of Staff to
Vice President Gerald R. Ford
1974‑77 Counsellor to the President, The
White House
1977-Present Senior Research Fellow,
Hoover Institution, Stanford University; Trustee, Gerald R. Ford Foundation
1980 Author, Palace
Politics: An Inside Account of the Ford Years
INTRODUCTION
The Ford Library has two Robert
Hartmann collections - the Hartmann Files and the Hartmann Papers. The Hartmann Papers consist of historical
materials from throughout his career that the Ford Library received in
1992. Described below under separate
headings are Hartmann's career, the scope and contents of the collection, and
related materials in the Ford Library.
Hartmann's
Career
Although born in South Dakota,
Hartmann spent most of his early years in southern California, graduating from
Beverly Hills High School and Stanford University. After his college graduation in 1938, he took
an extended trip to Japan, Manchuria, and Korea, returning via Europe. He then took a job with the Los Angeles
Times. During World War II, he
served in the Pacific in Navy public relations and press censor posts. Returning to the Times after the war,
he worked for many years as a reporter, editorial and special writer, and
bureau chief in Washington and Rome. In
1951, he spent a year reporting from the Middle East as the recipient of an
Ogden Reid fellowship. After leaving the
Times in 1964, he spent a brief stint as a public affairs officer for
the United National Food and Agriculture Organization.
During Hartmann's newspaper career,
he developed friendships with Richard Nixon and other California Republican
leaders. His media expertise and these
political connections assisted him in obtaining a position as an editor and
public relations consultant for the Republican Conference of the U.S. House of
Representatives in 1966. In this
position, he advised the House Republican leaders on media strategies,
coordinated research projects on the Johnson administration, edited
publications, and drafted some speeches.
When Melvin Laird, chairman of the
House Republican Conference, left Congress in 1969 to become Secretary of
Defense, Hartmann joined the personal staff of Minority Leader Gerald
Ford. Hartmann and Ford were close in
age, had served in the Navy during World War II, had ties to Richard Nixon, and
had similar beliefs on policy issues.
Over time, Hartmann assisted Ford in his efforts to improve his speech
delivery and media contacts. Ford also
came to appreciate Hartmann's candid and unvarnished advice on political and
policy matters. In addition to his
continued writing and political duties, Hartmann took on new duties in the area
of liaison with the Nixon White House.
After President Nixon nominated
Gerald Ford to be Vice President on October 12, 1973, Hartmann coordinated
Ford's preparations for the confirmation hearings on the nomination. He then became Vice President Ford's chief of
staff. It soon became obvious that the
burden of administrative matters -- hiring staff, finding office space, etc. --
kept Hartmann from devoting sufficient time to speeches, political liaison, and
advising the Vice President. Ford solved
this problem by hiring L. William Seidman as an
assistant for administration.
When Gerald Ford succeeded to the
presidency on August 9, 1974, he quickly named Hartmann as Counsellor
to the President, with Cabinet status.
In this position, one of Hartmann's main responsibilities was
supervision of the Editorial Staff in the preparation of presidential speeches,
statements, messages, and correspondence.
He also handled White House liaison with Republican Party organizations
and advised President Ford on a wide variety of matters that went beyond his
formal duties.
In the early months of the Ford
administration, Hartmann continued to draft a number of President Ford's
speeches, as he had done for several years, but as time passed he worked on
fewer speeches (except for major addresses) and concentrated on his other
duties. Although Paul Theis and then Robert Orben
headed the day-to-day work of the Office of Editorial Staff, Hartmann often
edited material prepared by that office.
Hartmann was also responsible for
White House liaison with the Republican Party and various Republican
organizations. Gwen Anderson and John
Calkins assisted Hartmann in this work.
Although Hartmann worked with Republican organizations throughout the
administration, White House Chief of Staff Richard Cheney's office handled
liaison with the President's campaign organization, the President Ford
Committee. One of Hartmann's key
contributions to the campaign was the drafting of President Ford's acceptance
speech at the Republican National Convention.
In his role as an adviser to the
President, Hartmann spent considerable time conferring in the Oval Office,
attending Cabinet and other meetings, and reading for input or editing copies
of White House staff and federal agency memoranda before they were submitted to
the President. Hartmann often clashed
with other White House staff members and administration officials, especially
Nixon administration holdovers whom he suspected of working in their own self-interest
rather than the President's. Although
some administration officials found Hartmann hard to deal with or were jealous
of his close relationship to the President, Ford remained loyal to his
long-time aide and friend.
After the end of the Ford administration,
Hartmann devoted himself to the drafting of his memoir Palace Politics: An Inside Account of the Ford Years,
which was published in 1980. He also
continued to assist former President Ford with major speeches.
Scope and
Content of the Hartmann Papers
The first two series in this
collection concern Hartmann's early life and his newspaper career. While they provide detailed documentation on
some periods and some aspects of his life, there are several gaps. For instance, the collection contains only
scattered items from the years 1939-54.
Extensive materials appear on his relationship with his parents and
other family members (boxes 2-9); his college days at Stanford University
(Boxes 2-3 and 19-20); a 1938 trip to Japan, Manchuria, and Europe (Boxes 3-4
and 11-14); and his work as a Los Angeles Times bureau chief (Boxes 5-7
and 21-34). Only a single box documents
his brief service on the staff of the United Nations Food and Agriculture
Organization and much of that concerns his search for a different job.
More than one third of the
collection consists of a significant set of files concerning Hartmann's work
for the Republican leaders of the House of Representatives. Materials from his service on the staff of
the Republican Conference (1966-68) include research files on issues and the
activities of the Johnson Administration, transcripts of the joint press
conferences of the Republican leaders of Congress (Boxes 50 and 51), liaison
with Republican Party organizations (Boxes 83-96), and information on the
drafting of Republican responses to President Johnson's State of the Union
addresses (Boxes 96-97).
With the inauguration of a
Republican President in 1969, Hartmann's role shifted to liaison with the White
House. Documentation on his new role
includes case files on weekly liaison meetings of the Republican leaders of
Congress with President Nixon and his staff (Boxes 106-107) and files on
legislation introduced by the Nixon administration. The collection also contains extensive
documentation on the 1972 delegation to China headed by Gerald Ford and Hale
Boggs, including transcripts of their discussions with Chinese leaders and
their reports to President Nixon and the House of Representatives (Boxes
41-44). Although Hartmann assisted
Representative Ford in the attempt to impeach Supreme Court Justice William O.
Douglas during 1969 and 1970, little of significance on that issue appears in
this collection.
The Hartmann Papers contain only a
small fragmentary subject file dating from Gerald Ford's brief service as Vice
President. The material is uneven in
quality - much is routine in nature or duplicates information found elsewhere
in the Library's holdings.
The extensive files from the Ford
presidency are divided into a subject file and a speech file. While there is some duplication between these
materials and the documents in the Robert Hartmann Files, there is also much
that is unique. Included are notes from
the President to Hartmann and Hartmann's notes on various meetings.
The subject file reflects the broad
range of Hartmann's duties and interests, including such topics as the
organization and operation of the Editorial Office, selection of a new vice
president in 1974, the 1976 presidential campaign, liaison with national and
state Republican Party leadership, and public opinion polling.
Hartmann's case files on
presidential speeches and statements contain significant files on Ford's three State of the Union addresses, including handwritten
instructions from the President to Hartmann on the drafting of the 1976
address. Other large case files include
those for the major speeches celebrating the Bicentennial of American
independence, the Republican Convention acceptance speech, and various
addresses to Congress. Smaller, but
often significant, amounts of material appear for other speeches.
Documents from the post-White House
years consist mainly of drafts and research materials for Hartmann's memoir Palace
Politics, although some information on speeches drafted for Gerald Ford
also appears.
Provenance and
Related Materials (November 1993):
This collection includes much
material that Hartmann took from his office at the end of the Ford
administration, along with such items as early family papers, correspondence
from his newspaper career, and drafts of his memoirs. Hartmann originally donated this collection
to the Hoover Institution at Stanford University. The collection remained at the Hoover
Institution until August 1992, when it was transferred to the Ford Library at
Hartmann's request.
In addition to the papers which
Hartmann took home in 1977, he left behind in the White House a large
collection of files covering the entire period of his work for Gerald
Ford. Those materials came directly to the
Ford Library as part of President Ford's donation and currently comprise the
Hartmann Files (part of the White House Staff Files) and the Hartmann series in
the Ford Congressional and Vice Presidential Papers. The documents in these collections are closely
related to, and sometimes duplicate, those in the appropriate series of the
Hartmann Papers.
Additional related materials from
the White House years include the files produced by the staff members of the
Editorial Office, which Hartmann supervised, and the files of his political
aides Gwen Anderson and John Calkins.
January 1994
Accretion
In January 1994, Robert Hartmann delivered to the Ford Library approximately 10 cubic feet of additional papers comparable in scope and nature to the papers described above. These new papers are not available to research, pending completion of a deed of gift for them and subsequent archival processing.
Series Descriptions
1-21 Early Life and Personal File, 1884-1974 (8.2 linear
feet)
This series is rich in the memorabilia,
minutia, and ephemera that accompanied decades of events in the Hartmann
family, much of it evidently saved by Hartmann's mother. One large segment consists of letters exchanged
between Hartmann, his parents, and his wife.
Written frequently, the letters provide intimate documentation of
Hartmann's life and times, including his college days at Stanford University; a
1938 trip to Japan, Manchuria, and Europe; and his joys and frustrations as a Los
Angeles Times reporter and bureau chief.
Hartmann's propensity for writing is
pervasive. Included are early literary
publications, high school and college newspaper articles, post-college
editorials and short stories, Navy press releases, and the beginning drafts of
a book on the Aleutian Islands in World War II.
Also included in the range of material are
such items as his father's schoolbooks and company newspapers; family
photographs; childhood drawings; printed materials; political campaign flyers;
menus; school and theater programs; small amounts of material on his Navy
service in the Pacific during World War II; and a file on his service in the
Naval Reserve.
Arranged
alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.
21-34 Los Angeles Times Subject File, 1946-64. (5.4 linear feet)
Correspondence, wires, awards, resumes, and
newspaper clippings related to Hartmann's work for the Los Angeles Times,
as a reporter, Washington Bureau Chief, and Chief of the Rome-based
Mediterranean and Middle East Bureau.
Included are letters and wires between Hartmann and editors, publishers,
and colleagues concerning company policy, stories, assignments, staff, and
business matters. Also included is
correspondence with Vice President Richard Nixon, state and national political
leaders, and Naval Reserve officials.
The letters fully document Hartmann's activities, frustrations, and
career decisions over two decades, including his resignation. Also present are interviews, untranscribed dictaphone
discs, notes, wires stories, and press kits from various assignments, including
the 1960 presidential campaign. The
series also contains an extensive set of Hartmann's articles in the Times,
including serial articles on Nixon's 1958 trip to South America, the Americans
for Democratic Action, and Latin America.
Arranged
alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.
35 United Nations Food and
Agriculture Organization File, 1964- 66. (0.4 linear feet)
Correspondence, press releases, conference
papers, FAO publications, and expense vouchers related to Hartmann's brief
employment as director of FAO's North American
information program. Much of the
correspondence concerns Hartmann's continuing job search.
Arranged
alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.
36-107 House of Representatives Subject File,
1966-1973. (28.8 linear feet)
Correspondence,
memoranda, proposed legislation, reports, meeting minutes, press releases,
publications, and newspaper clippings.
The materials concern many aspects of Hartmann's work for the House
Republican Conference, 1966-68, and on Gerald R. Ford's staff, 1969-73. They document Republican opposition to
Johnson administration programs and liaison between the Nixon White House and
Republicans in Congress. Only scattered
folders from the year 1973 are included as the bulk of the documents from that
year appear in the Hartmann series of the Ford Congressional Papers, along with
other Hartmann materials.
Important topics include Republican political
campaigns; campaign reform legislation; the Ford/Boggs trip to China in 1972;
the Johnson Administration "Credibility Gap"; the "Ev and Jerry Shows" (joint Senate-House Republican
leadership press conferences); Ford speeches drafted by Hartmann; House
Republican leadership meetings; allegations of mismanagement of the Vietnam War
leveled at Defense Secretary Robert McNamara; allegations of misdeeds by the
Democratic Party fundraising organization known as the "President's
Club"; the 1968 and 1972 Republican National Conventions, the activities
of the Republican Congressional Committee, the Republican Coordinating
Committee, the Senate Republican Policy Committee, and the Republican National
Committee; the drafting of Republican responses to Lyndon Johnson's State of
the Union addresses in 1967 and 1968; and virtually weekly meetings of the
Republican Senate and House leaders with President Nixon and his congressional
liaison staff. Some large runs of
relatively routine materials such as newsletters and press releases are also
included.
Arranged alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.
108-118 Vice Presidential
Subject File, (1949) 1973-74. (4.4 linear feet)
Correspondence,
memoranda, office manuals, and reference materials which document selectively
Hartmann's activities as Vice President Ford's chief of staff. Topics documented in more than fragmentary
form include Ford's confirmation as Vice President under the 25th amendment;
office procedures, operations, and staffing; scheduling for the Vice President;
and, speeches, remarks, and press releases.
The files do not appear to have been kept or
retained systematically. Their quality
is uneven. The Speeches and Statements
section, the most lengthy in the Subject File, contains copies of Ford's
remarks and press releases but only in rare instances includes reference
material or drafts. The Personnel Files
are currently closed under terms of the donor's deed of gift. The bulk of Hartmann's files concerning his
work on the vice presidential staff can be found in the Hartmann series of the
Ford Vice Presidential Papers.
Arranged alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.
119-170 White House Subject File, 1974-77. (20.8 linear feet)
Correspondence,
memoranda, schedules, briefing books, press releases, and clippings relating to
a wide range of issues and daily activities during the Ford administration. The materials concern such topics as the
organization and operation of the editorial and speechwriting office, selection
of a vice president in 1974, the 1976 presidential campaign, liaison with
national and state Republican Party leadership, and public opinion
polling. Some information in this series
also appears in the Robert Hartmann Files or in other collections, but there
are several unique segments. An example
is a run of folders titled "President - Notes to Hartmann." These are clippings and articles the
President sent to Hartmann with notes indicating they contained information
that could be useful in the drafting of speeches. Another unique segment is Hartmann's
handwritten notes from various meetings, including some meetings of the 1974
transition group and the Cabinet and discussions of the 1976 presidential
campaign. The papers also contain
Hartmann's schedules, personal correspondence, and telephone call logs.
Arranged
alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.
171-191 White House Speech File, 1974-77. (8.4 linear feet)
Case files on presidential speeches containing
drafts by Hartmann and others; memoranda from the White House staff and others
including suggestions on theme and contents or comments on drafts; and briefing
papers and background information.
Included are files on many of the speeches given by the President during
his administration. Drafts of most major
speeches contain President Ford's handwritten changes and comments. Additional materials on the drafting of
speeches appear in the White House Subject File and in the separate
Presidential Speeches and Statements Series in the Robert Hartmann Files.
Arranged chronologically
by the date of the speech.
192-199 Post-White House Subject File, (1965)
1977-83. (3.2 linear feet)
The bulk of this file relates to Hartmann's
memoir, Palace Politics:
An Inside Account of the Ford Years (1980). In addition to reference materials consisting
of bibliographies, limited correspondence, notes, and interviews, the materials
include drafts of his book proposal and four book drafts and the master
proof. The files reflect Hartmann's
planning for, and organization of, the book and show its evolution, but do not
document either the editing process or the subsequent marketing of the book.
The Post-White House Subject File also
contains incomplete information about Hartmann's other writing assignments,
including continued drafting of speeches for Ford.
Arranged
alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.
200-215 Invitations File,
1969-77. (6.4 linear feet)
Invitations received by Mr. and Mrs. Hartmann,
responses, programs and souvenirs from events attended, and occasional
newspaper clippings about the events.
Although some invitations from Hartmann's service on Gerald Ford's congressional staff are included, the bulk date from
the vice presidential and White House periods.
Arranged chronologically by month with separate folders for many months labelled "Official" and "Mrs. Hartmann." The former were apparently maintained by his secretary and the latter by his wife.
Container List
Boy Scouts
‑ General, 1928‑1939
‑ Handbook and Kerchief, 1916‑33
‑ Hartmann Writings, 1930‑31 (1)‑(2)
‑ Merit Badge Work, ca. 1930‑33
(1)‑(2)
Clippings
‑ Articles About
Family and Friends, 1913‑64
‑ Articles About Hartmann, 1917‑45
(1)‑(2)
‑ Articles By
Hartmann, 1937‑40
Correspo