|
|
Gerald R. Ford Library1000 Beal Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2114www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
Counsellors to the
President
ROBERT
T. HARTMANN
Counsellor
to the President:
Files,
1974‑77
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
Hartmann,
a senior adviser to the President, oversaw the work of the White House
Editorial Staff and White House liaison with Republican Party
organizations. His files concern the
drafting of presidential speeches, statements, messages, and correspondence;
political affairs, especially Republican Party liaison and the 1976
presidential election; presidential appointments to federal government
positions; the appointment of a new Vice President in 1974; and a wide variety
of issues.
QUANTITY
38.4 linear feet
(ca. 76,800 pages)
DONOR
Gerald R. Ford
(accession numbers 77‑63 and 77‑107)
ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under
terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or
under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR
1256).
COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford
has donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his
unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other
individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees
as part of their official duties are in the public domain.
Prepared by William McNitt,
February 1984
[s:\bin\findaid\hartmann, robert - files.doc]
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Robert
Trowbridge Hartmann
1917 Born, Rapid
City, South Dakota
1938 B.A.,
Stanford University
1939‑41 Reporter, Los
Angeles Times
1941‑45 Ensign, U.S. Naval
Reserve; served in Pacific operations in public relations and press censor
posts; ordered to inactive duty as Lt. Commander
1945‑54 Reporter,
editorial and special feature writer, Los Angeles Times
1954‑63 Washington bureau
chief, Los Angeles Times
1963‑64 Middle East and
Mediterranean bureau chief, Los Angeles Times
1964‑65 Information
adviser, Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
1966‑69 Editor, Republican
Conference, U.S. House of Representatives
1968 and 1972 Assistant to permanent
chairman Gerald R. Ford, Republican National Convention
1969‑73 Minority
Sergeant-at-Arms and Legislative Assistant to the Minority Leader (Gerald R.
Ford), U.S. House of Representatives
1973‑74 Chief of Staff to
Vice President Gerald R. Ford
1974‑77 Counsellor to the President, The
White House
1980 Author, Palace
Politics: An Inside Account of the Ford Years
INTRODUCTION
Discussed below under separate
headings are: Robert Hartmann's role in the Ford White House, the scope and
content of the Hartmann files, and related collections at the Ford Library.
Hartmann's Role
in the Ford White House
Gerald R. Ford
appointed his long-time aide Robert Hartmann as Counsellor
to the President (with Cabinet status) as one of the first official acts of his
Presidency. In this position Hartmann's
main responsibility was to supervise the White House Office of Editorial Staff
in the preparation of presidential speeches, statements, messages, and
correspondence. He was also responsible
for White House liaison with Republican Party organizations and advised
President Ford on a wide variety of matters that went beyond his formal duties.
In the early
months of the Ford administration Hartmann continued to draft a number of
President Ford's speeches, as he had done for several years, but as time passed
he did less speechwriting (except for a few major addresses) and concentrated
on his other duties. Although Paul Theis and then Robert Orben
headed the day-to-day work of the Office of Editorial Staff, Hartmann
supervised the work and often edited material prepared by that office.
After Dean Burch
left the White House in 1974, Hartmann became responsible for White House
liaison with the Republican Party and various Republican organizations. Burch's aide Gwen Anderson joined Hartmann's
staff to assist with these duties.
During 1975 John Calkins also assisted Hartmann with political
matters. While Hartmann and Anderson
continued to handle liaison with the Republican Party in 1976, they did not
play a key role in the campaign. Richard
Cheney and his staff in the White House Operations Office handled most of the
campaign work, including liaison with the President Ford Committee. With the exception of the President's
acceptance speech at the Republican National Convention, Hartmann did not write
any campaign speeches. The Office of
Editorial Staff and David Gergen of the Press
Secretary's Office were responsible for most campaign speeches.
In his role as
an adviser to the President, Hartmann spent a considerable amount of time in
the Oval Office assisting the President and attending meetings with various
groups and individuals, regularly attended Cabinet meetings, and received
copies of White House staff and federal agency memoranda to the President for
his input or editing before they were submitted to the President.
Scope and
Content of the Hartmann Files
The Hartmann
collection is strongest on speechwriting, the administration of the Office of
Editorial Staff, political affairs, the selection of a new Vice President in
1974, personnel matters, and his editing or input on documents submitted to the
President.
Hartmann's
materials on speechwriting include case files on most, but not all, of the
speeches and statements that he drafted for the President. Memoranda and multiple drafts appear for the
Bicentennial speeches, the Republican Convention acceptance speech, and the
1977 State of the Union address.
Smaller, but often significant, amounts of material appear for other
speeches. Some major speeches, such as the 1975 and 1976 State of the Union
addresses, are not represented.
The collection
also documents the administration of the Office of Editorial Staff, including reports on
speechwriting, message, and
correspondence activity; schedules; and memoranda exchanged between
Hartmann and Theis, Orben,
or their staff. There are but few speech
drafts by Hartmann's staff, the exceptions occurring when Hartmann took over
the drafting of a speech and used another speechwriter's draft as a basis for
his own work.
Hartmann's
political files concern both his own work and the work of his assistants Gwen
Anderson and John Calkins. Included is
material on President Ford's activities in the 1974 congressional and
gubernatorial campaigns, ongoing liaison with the Republican National Committee
and other Republican organizations, and the 1976 presidential campaign. Although Hartmann handled some aspects of
political affairs for most of the administration, White House Chief of Staff
Richard Cheney had primary responsibility for White House liaison with the
President Ford Committee. Hartmann's
materials on the campaign relate to the drafting or editing of speeches and
statements (especially the Republican Convention acceptance speech), his
contacts (mostly routine) with the President Ford Committee, and documents
received from Republican officials with whom he had long-time working
relationships.
One special
assignment which generated a significant file was to compile and report to the
President on all suggestions from members of Congress, governors, the Cabinet,
and others concerning the nomination of a new Vice President in August
1974. Hartmann's files contain the
original incoming letters from these officials, along with tabulations and
related documents.
Included in the
collection are large files of documents submitted to Hartmann for his clearance
and/or editing by the Domestic Council, National Security Council, White House
Staff Secretary, and Presidential Personnel Office. While many of these bear only routine
comments by Hartmann or his staff, some contain extensive editing or comments.
Since Hartmann
was a long-time aide to Gerald Ford and had frequent access to the President,
much of his advice on specific actions and issues may have been submitted
orally rather than in writing. Much of
the material on specific issues is routine in nature and duplicates materials
found in other collections.
Related
Materials (May 1987):
Other available
collections on speechwriting include White House Central Files category SP
(Speeches), the files of Paul Theis and Robert Orben of the Editorial Staff and David Gergen
of the Press Secretary's Office, and the Reading Copies of Presidential
Speeches.
The files of
Hartmann's aides Gwen Anderson and John Calkins, the Dean Burch files, and
White House Central Files category PL concern White House liaison with
Republican Party organizations. Collections concerning the 1976 presidential
campaign are listed on the Ford Library handout "The 1976 Presidential
Campaign: A Guide to Manuscript Collections Available for Research."
Other material
on the nomination of a new Vice President in 1974 appears in White House
Central Files categories FG 38 and FG 38/A.
Hartmann's files
from his work as an aide to Gerald Ford prior to August 1974 appear in the Ford
congressional and vice presidential papers.
Hartmann has donated some additional materials concerning his career to
the Hoover Institution at Stanford University.
Hartmann's association with Gerald Ford is recounted in his 1980 memoir Palace
Politics: An Inside Account of the Ford Years.
List of Series
1‑8 Presidential Speeches
and Statements
9‑23 General Subject
File
24‑29 Political
Subject File
30‑35 Survey Research
Program File
36‑42 White House
Memoranda
43‑54 General
Correspondence
55‑72 Domestic Council
Memoranda
73‑75 National
Security Council Memoranda
75‑77 Staff Secretary
Memoranda
78‑89 Personnel
Decision Memoranda
90‑93 Personnel
Correspondence
94‑96 Speechwriter Job
Applications
Series
Descriptions
1-8 Presidential Speeches and
Statements, 1974‑77.
(3.2 linear feet)
Case files on presidential
speeches containing drafts by Hartmann and other speechwriters; memoranda from
the White House staff and others including suggestions on theme and contents or
comments on drafts; and briefing papers and background information. Included are files on several speeches per
month for the first seven months of the administration, but only scattered ones
thereafter. Occasional changes in
President Ford's handwriting appear on the drafts of some of the important
speeches. Scattered speech drafts and
other materials on the speechwriting process also appear in the General Subject
File.
Arranged
chronologically by the date of the speech.
9‑23 General Subject File, 1974‑77. (6.0 linear feet)
Memoranda
exchanged between Hartmann and the President, White House staff, or
departmental and agency officials; reports; briefing materials; speeches and
speech drafts; messages; schedules; press releases; and occasional
correspondence and clippings. One major focus of this
series is the speechwriting process and the Hartmann's oversight of the White
House Editorial Staff. Another important
focus is the selection of an new Vice President in
August 1974. Materials on economic and
energy matters are abundant, but documents tend to be few and/or routine on
other topics such as the Bicentennial, federal budget, appointments to
government positions, and presidential trips.
Arranged
alphabetically by subject.
24‑29 Political Subject File, 1974‑77. (2.4 linear feet)
Memoranda and
correspondence between Hartmann and the President, White House staff,
Republican Party officials, or President Ford Committee officials; reports;
schedules; speeches; briefing papers; and publications. This series concerns White House liaison with
Republican organizations, the 1976 presidential campaign, President Ford's
activities in the 1974 congressional and gubernatorial campaigns, campaign
trips, fundraising, and other political matters.
Arranged
alphabetically by subject.
30‑35 Survey Research Program File, Oct.
1974-Apr. 1975. (2.4
linear feet)
Polling data and
correspondence relating to a January 1975 proposal for a White House contract
with Decision Making Information, Inc. (headed by Richard B. Wirthlin) to establish an ongoing White House program to
survey changes in public opinion. The
series includes results from two national surveys and five local surveys, the
latter concerning changes in perceptions of President Ford and his programs
after presidential visits to those locales.
The major focus of these surveys was on issues, especially economic and
energy questions, rather than on politics.
After a brief test of the program it was apparently discontinued as no
materials from a later period have been discovered.
Arranged
alphabetically by survey title.
36‑42 White House Memoranda, 1974‑77. (2.8 linear feet)
Memoranda
exchanged between Hartmann and the President, Vice President, or White House
staff on a wide variety of matters.
Topics frequently discussed include: presidential speeches and messages,
scheduling and trips, political affairs (including the 1976 campaign), and
appointments to government positions.
Large files of memoranda exchanged by Hartmann with his own staff are
included.
Arranged
alphabetically by name.
Memoranda exchanged with junior members of the White House staff are
often filed under the name of the head of their office.
43‑54 General Correspondence, 1974‑77. (4.8 linear feet)
Correspondence
exchanged between Hartmann and government officials, Republican leaders,
businessmen, friends, and the general public on a variety of matters. While small amounts of material on a variety
of issues appear scattered throughout the series, one of the most common topics
is political affairs, especially the 1976 presidential campaign.
Arranged
alphabetically, with correspondents who wrote frequently having their own
separate case files.
55‑72 Domestic Council Memoranda, Nov.
1974-Jan. 1977. (7.2 linear feet)
Copies of
Domestic Council memoranda circulated to senior White House staff members for
comment and editing before being submitted to the President. Included are enrolled bill and resolution
reports; proposed budget and appropriations requests and budget rescissions;
and drafts of decision memoranda, signing and veto statements, proclamations,
proposed legislation, executive orders, messages to Congress, policy
statements, and occasional letters and memoranda. Many documents contain evidence of editing by
Hartmann or his staff or reflect the work of the Editorial Staff's research
office in checking for factual accuracy.
Arranged
chronologically.
73‑75 National Security Council
Memoranda, Feb. 1976-Jan. 1977. (1.0 linear feet)
Drafts
of outgoing head of state and head of government correspondence along with
scattered drafts of messages to Congress concerning international agreements
and drafts of letters to American citizens concerning foreign policy and
defense matters. The NSC submitted these
drafts to Hartmann for his editing.
While some of the head of state correspondence is substantive, the bulk consists
of routine messages concerning birthdays, national day celebrations, or the
American Bicentennial celebration.
Arranged
chronologically.
75‑77 Staff Secretary Memoranda, 1974‑77. (1.0 linear feet)
Copies of draft
memoranda circulated to senior White House staff members for comment and
editing prior to being submitted to the President. They relate in part to issues and
legislation, but more frequently concern presidential decisions on
administrative matters, issuance of Executive orders, proposed studies, approval of staff projects, decisions on presentation of
medals and awards, and proposed letters.
Nearly half of the documents in this sequence were drafted by the Office
of Management and Budget.
Arranged
chronologically.
78‑89 Personnel Decision Memoranda, 1974‑76. (4.8 linear feet)
Hartmann's
copies of decision memoranda drafted by the Presidential Personnel Office and
circulated to the White House senior staff for comments. Most of these documents bear annotations by
Hartmann or one of his assistants, but such notes are usually brief (often
"No comment" or "OK").
The memoranda concern the appointment of department and agency
officials, federal judges, U.S. attorneys and marshals, and appointments to
advisory councils, delegations, boards, and commissions.
Arranged
chronologically.
90‑93 Personnel Correspondence, 1968‑1976. (1.6 linear feet)
Correspondence
between Hartmann and persons seeking positions in the White House or the
federal departments, agencies, boards, and commissions. Much of the material in this series actually
dates from Gerald Ford's congressional and vice presidential service, but
Hartmann's staff continued to add some material throughout the Ford presidency.
Arranged
alphabetically.
94‑96 Speechwriter Job Applications, 1974‑76. (1.2 linear feet)
Case files
containing correspondence, resumes, and writing samples from persons interested
in joining the speechwriting staff.
While material from throughout the administration is included, many of
the applications date from the early months of 1976 when several new
speechwriters were sought and hired.
Arranged
alphabetically by name of the applicant.
Container
List
1974/08/09 ‑
Swearing‑in Ceremony
1974/08/12 ‑
Address to Congress
1974/08/19 ‑
Veterans of Foreign Wars,
1974/08/30 ‑
Ohio State University
1974/09/06 ‑
Dinner Honoring Reconvening of the First Continental Congress,
1974/09/08 ‑
Announcement of the Nixon Pardon
1974/09/18 ‑
United Nations General Assembly
1974/10/03 ‑
Congressional Retirees Dinner
1974/10/08 ‑
Economic Address to Congress (1)‑(2)
1974/10/15 ‑
Future Farmers of America, Kansas City, MO
1974/11/04 ‑
Election Day Statement
1974/11/08 ‑
Address to Congress (1)‑(2)
1974/12/02 ‑
Opening Remarks to Press Conference
1974/12/03 ‑
American Conference on Trade
1974/12/09 ‑
American Freedom Train Certification
1974/12/11 ‑
Business Council
1974/12/13 ‑
Statement on the Canonization of Mother Seton
1975/01/28 ‑
National Religious Broadcasters
1975/01/30 ‑
National Prayer Breakfast
1975/02/13 ‑
Salute to Vice President Rockefeller Dinner (1)‑(2)
1975/02/21 ‑
Reserve Officers Association
1975/03/04 ‑
Remarks Upon Vetoing the Energy Bill (1)‑(3)
1975/03/13 ‑
Radio and TV Correspondents Dinner
1975/03/17 ‑
1975/03/22 ‑
Gridiron Club (1)‑(2)
1975/04/15 ‑
Republican Senate ‑ House Dinner
1975/05/03 ‑
U.S.S. Nimitz Commissioning
1975/05/26 ‑
Unknown Soldier Wreath ‑ Laying Ceremony
1975/05/27 ‑
Energy Address on Television (1)‑(2)
1975/06/09 ‑
Opening Statement re CIA for Press Conference
1975/06/19 ‑
Crime Message Briefing
1975/07/24 ‑
Phone Call to Apollo Crew
1975/07/25 ‑
Americans of Eastern European Background
1975/12/15 ‑
Remarks to White House Staff Christmas Party
1976/04/05 ‑
American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association (AHEPA) (1)‑(2)
1976/05/08 ‑
Dedication of Harry S. Truman Statue
1976/07 ‑
Bicentennial Speeches: Correspondence and Memoranda (1)‑(4)
1976/07 ‑
Bicentennial Speeches: Correspondence Received After Delivery (1)‑(2)
1976/07 ‑
Bicentennial Speeches: Publication of (1)‑(3)
1976/07/01 ‑
Air and Space Museum Dedication: Background
1976/07/01 ‑
Air and Space Museum Dedication: Drafts
1976/07/02 ‑
National Archives: Background
1976/07/02 ‑
National Archives: Drafts (1)‑(2)
1976/07/03 ‑
Bicentennial Television Message
1976/07/03 ‑
Kennedy Center
1976/07/04 ‑
Independence Hall: Background
1976/07/04 ‑
Independence Hall: Drafts (1)‑(3)
1976/07/04 ‑
Operation Sail, New York City
1976/07/04 ‑
Valley Forge
1976/07/05 ‑
Monticello: Background
1976/07/05 ‑
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Composite Draft 1
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Composite Draft 2 (1)‑(2)
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Composite Draft 3 (1)‑(2)
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Composite Draft 4
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Composite Draft 5 (1)‑(2)
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Composite Draft 6 (1)‑(4)
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Composite Draft 7
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Hartmann Draft
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Memoranda
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Past Acceptance Speeches, 1948‑72
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Press Release and Printed Versions
1976/08/19 ‑
Convention Acceptance Speech: Suggestions and Drafts by Staff and Others (1)‑(7)
1976/12/08 ‑
Les Arends Portrait Unveiling
1977/01/12 ‑
State of the Union: Background and Memoranda
1977/01/12 ‑
State of the Union: Draft 1
1977/01/12 ‑
State of the
1977/01/12 ‑
State of the Union: Draft 3
1977/01/12 ‑
State of the
1977/01/12 ‑
State of the
1977/01/12 ‑
State of the
1977/01/12 ‑
State of the
1977/01/12 ‑
State of the Union: Reading Copy ‑ 2nd Edition
1977/01/12 ‑
State of the Union: Reading Copy ‑ 2nd Edition Changes
1977/01/12 ‑
State of the Union: Reading Copy ‑ Final Edition
Advancemen ‑
Requests To Be
American
Revolution Bicentennial Administration ‑ Advisory Council
Amnesty (1)‑(2)
Bicentennial
Bicentennial
Coins
Bicentennial
Sound and Light Show
Biographies ‑
President, First Lady, and Susan Ford
Blacks
Budget ‑
FY1975 (1)‑(3)
Budget ‑
FY1976
Budget ‑
FY1977 (1)‑(2)
Budget ‑
FY1978
Busing
Legislation
Busing Policy
Paper
Cabinet
Cabinet And Key White House Staff ‑ Out of Town Schedules
Cabinet Dinner
Honoring the President and First Lady, 1977
Camp David ‑
History
China ‑
Trade Delegation
Common Situs
Congress ‑
New Members (94th)
Congressional Black
Caucus Meeting, 1974/08/21 (1)‑(4)
Congressional
Recess Schedule, 1975
Congressional
Relations Office
Congressional
Staff Reception, 1974/09/24
Council of
Economic Advisers Memoranda to the President (1)‑(4)
Defense Officials
Dinner
Domestic Council
Doral Celebrity
Dinner Videotape
Editorial Staff
Activity
Education and
Work Initiative
Eisenhower,
Dwight D. ‑ Farewell Address
Energy
Energy Policy
and Conservation Act
Federal Domestic
Assistance Catalog
First Lady
Fletcher, Arthur
Foreign Policy
Speech ‑ Materials (1)‑(5)
Foreign Visitors
‑ 1974/08/16: King Hussein of Jordan
Foreign Visitors
‑ 1974/09/10: Prime Minister Rabin of Israel
Foreign Visitors
‑ 1975/01/30: Prime Minister Wilson of Great Britain
Foreign Visitors
‑ 1976/12/06 ‑ Prime Minister Andreotti
of Italy
Freedom of
Information Act Amendments
General Revenue
Sharing
Grain Sales to
the Soviet Union
Hartmann, Robert
‑ Interview by Sarah McClendon and Others
Hartmann, Robert
‑ National Press Club Speech, 1975/01/16
Hebert, F.
Edward ‑ Message
Hirshhorn Museum and
Sculpture Garden Dedication
Housing
Independence Day
Message, 1975
Inflation,
Conference on (1)‑(2)
International
Economic Report, 1977
International
Economic Summit ‑ Puerto Rico, 1976
International
Monetary Fund Meeting, 1974
Issues
Jackson, Marvin
Kriegsman, William E.
Laird, Melvin R.
McCrary, John
Reagan
Medal of Freedom
National
Endowment for the Arts
National
Football Foundation and Hall of Fame Dinner, 1974/12/10
National
Governors' Conference, 1975
National
Religious Broadcasters Convention
Natural Gas
Shortage (1)‑(2)
Navy
Nixon Papers
Nixon Pardon
Office ‑
Christmas Card Lists
Office ‑
Christmas Vacation Schedules
Office ‑
Organization
Office ‑
Personnel Matters (1)‑(3)
Office ‑
Requests for Equipment and Supplies (1)‑(2)
Office ‑
Requests for Equipment and Supplies (3)‑(4)
Office ‑
Sequoia Cruise
Oil Cargo
Preference Legislation
Outer
Continental Shelf Oil and Gas Development
Oval Office
Objects
Panama Canal
Treaty
Personnel
‑
Ambassadorial Status Report
‑
Appointments Pending at the Transition
‑ Boards
and Commissions Vacancy Reports (1)‑(2)
‑
Executive Level Vacancy Reports (1)‑(4)
‑ General
‑ Position
Specification Sheets
President
‑ Briefing
Book
President
‑
Christmas Presents (1)‑(2)
‑ Economic
and Energy Proposals (1)‑(4)
‑ House
Votes by Subject
‑
Interview with U.S. News and World Report
‑ Mail Summaries
‑ Messages
to Groups and Individuals (1)‑(2)
‑ Official
Picture
‑ Papers
(Publication)
‑ Proposed
Interviews by Groups of Columnists
‑
Recommended Telephone Call Procedures
‑ Report: One Year (1)‑(2)