Gerald R. Ford Library

1000 Beal Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI  48109-2114

www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MAX L. FRIEDERSDORF

Assistant to the President for Legislative Affairs:

Papers, (1971) 1974‑1977

 

 

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

 

Material includes appointment books, courtesy and some official correspondence, First Family schedules, and small subject files on domestic and international matters and Legislative Affairs Office activities.

 

QUANTITY

4.4 linear feet (approximately 3,500 pages)

 

DONOR

Max L. Friedersdorf (Accession Number 1999-NLF-043)

 

ACCESS

Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.  Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

 

COPYRIGHT

Max L. Friedersdorf donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

 

Prepared by Bethany Panozzo, February 2007

[s:\bin\findaid\friedersdorf, max - papers.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

 

Max L. Friedersdorf

 

[COMMENT1] July 7, 1929                         Born in Grammer, Indiana

 

1952                                   BA, Franklin College

 

1952‑55                              City editor, Franklin Evening Star

 

1955‑60                              Reporter, Louisville Times, Indianapolis News, and the Chicago Daily News

 

1961‑70                              Administrative Assistant, Congressman Richard Roudebush

 

1969                                   MA, American University

 

1970‑71                              Associate Director for Congressional Relations, Office of Economic Opportunity

 

1971‑73                              Special Assistant for Congressional Relations, White House

 

1973‑74                              Deputy Assistant to the President for the House of Representatives

 

1975‑77                              Assistant to the President for Legislative Affairs

 

1977‑79                              Staff director, Senate Republican Policy Committee

 

1979‑80                              Chairman, Federal Election Commission

 

1981                                   Assistant to the President for Legislative Affairs

 

1982‑83                              U.S. Counsel General to Bermuda

 

1983‑84                              Vice President for Public Affairs, Pepsico, Inc.

 

1985                                   Assistant to the President for Legislative Affairs

 

1985-87                              U.S. Counsel General to Bermuda

 

1987-ca.1990                     United States Representative to the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva

 

1991-                                  Senior Vice President, Neill and Co. Inc. (Washington government relations consulting firm)


INTRODUCTION

 

 

 

            When Gerald R. Ford became President in August 1974, Max L. Friedersdorf was serving as Deputy Assistant to President Nixon for Legislative Affairs.  His special responsibility was coordination of White House liaison with the House of Representatives.  He worked directly under William E. Timmons, the head of the Congressional Liaison Office.  In January 1975 Friedersdorf became the Assistant to the President (Ford) for Legislative Affairs and head of the office.  He had overall responsibility for liaison between the President and Congress.  The staff he directed included deputy assistants for the House and Senate and several special assistants under them.  Friedersdorf himself reported to John Marsh, Counselor to the President.

 

Friedersdorf and his staff were involved in virtually all aspects of presidential relations with members of Congress.  Tasks were often routine such as clearing personnel appointments, monitoring congressional invitations to White House social events and notifying congressional offices of various White House actions. More importantly however, the office was responsible for arranging meetings and telephone calls between the President and members of Congress, informing the president and his staff of congressional views and the status of legislation and lobbying for the administration's point of view on proposed legislation.

 

Most of this collection dates from Friedersdorf's activities after becoming head of the overall congressional relations operation in January 1975.  The collection unevenly documents Friedersdorf's activities.  Much of the correspondence is routine.  Much of the lobbying of members of Congress was carried out orally and documentation is sparse.  Nevertheless, there are materials compiled and occasional notes taken by Friedersdorf during meetings with members of Congress and the President which indicate how the office worked.  Occasional substantive materials also appear on major domestic and foreign policy issues such as the president's energy program, national security, and the end of U.S. involvement in Indochina.

 

 

Related Materials (February 2007):

The Max Friedersdorf Files, another Ford Library collection, contain further documentation of Friedersdorf’s responsibilities as Assistant to the President.   Material on the responsibilities and activities of the Congressional Relations Office is located in the files of Friedersdorf's office colleagues, including William Timmons, Vernon Loen, Charles Leppert, William Kendall, Patrick O’ Donnell, Joseph Jenckes, and Robert Wolthuis.  The files of White House Counsellor John Marsh also contain much on congressional liaison.  The files of individual White House staff will contain information on specific pieces of legislation in their respective policy areas.  In White House Central Files, categories LE (Legislation) and FG 30 through FG 37 (Congress) provide some overview of White House relations with Congress.

 

 


 

Series Descriptions

 

Boxes 1‑5 Correspondence File, 1975 – 77.  (1.8 linear feet)

            Carbon copies of outgoing letters arranged in two sequences – official mail and personal mail. 

            The official mail folders begin in January 1975 when he became head of the President’s Congressional liaison activities.  The correspondence includes letters from Friedersdorf to members of Congress regarding various House resolutions.  Much relates to routine personnel and administrative tasks.

            The personal correspondence folders begin in August 1974 and include thank you letters, invitations to events, personal letters and announcements.

            Arranged chronologically in each of the two sequences.

 

NOTE: Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.

 

Boxes 5-9 Scheduling File, 1975-77.  (1.4 linear feet)

            Appointment books, calendars, and schedules for Friedersdorf; and schedules for the First Lady and the Ford children.

            Arranged alphabetically by subject.

 

NOTE: Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.

 

Boxes 9-11      Subject File, (1971) 1974-77 (1.0 linear feet)

            Briefing papers, talking points, memoranda, newspaper clippings, memorabilia.  Topics include aid to Israel, aid to Turkey, congressional trip to People’s Republic of China, Indochina, the Mayaguez incident, national security, and Republican National Committee.

           Arranged alphabetically by subject.

 

NOTE: Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.

 

Box 11      Trips File, 1974-76 (0.2 linear feet)

            Notes, briefing papers, itineraries, and a briefing book.  Trips include People’s Republic of China, West Germany, USSR, Romania, Hungary, Yugoslavia, and Indiana (a campaign trip).

            Arranged chronologically by date of the trip.

 

NOTE: Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.

 


 

Container List

 

Box 1            Correspondence File

Official Mail, Jan. 1974-Dec. 1975

Personal Correspondence, Aug. 1974-Sept. 1974

 

Box 2            Correspondence File

Personal Correspondence, Oct. 1974-April 1975

 

Box 3            Correspondence File

Personal Correspondence, May 1975-Dec. 1975

 

Box 4            Correspondence File

Personal Correspondence, Jan. 1976-June 1976

 

Box 5            Correspondence File

Personal Correspondence, July 1976-Jan. 1977

Scheduling File

Appointment Book, 1976

Appointment Calendar, 1971-1973

 

Box 6            Scheduling File

Appointment Calendar, 1974-1975

Appointment Diary, 1977 (1)-(2)

Day-at-a-Glance Calendar, 1975-1976

First Family Travel

Mrs. Ford Official Calendar, 1975-1977

Planning Calendars, 1975-1976

Presidential and First Family Schedules, July–Oct. 1974

 

Box 7            Scheduling File

Presidential and First Family Schedules, Oct. 1974-May 1976

 

Box 8            Scheduling File

Presidential and First Family Schedules, June 1976-Jan. 1977

Schedule Cards (1)-(3)

 

Box 9            Scheduling File

Schedule Cards (4)-(5)

Subject File

Aid to Israel

Aid to Turkey

Congressional Trip to People’s Republic of China

Indochina

Mayaguez

Memorabilia

Memoranda for the President, Jan. 1975-Sept. 1975

 

Box 10          Subject File

Memoranda for the President, Oct. 1975-June 1976

National Security Miscellaneous

Newspaper Clippings – 1976 Election

Personal Pending

Republican National Committee

White House Emergency Plan

White House Mess Records

White House Office of Legislative Affairs, undated

White House Office of Legislative Affairs, 1971-1975

 

Box 11          Subject File

White House Office of Legislative Affairs, 1975-1977

Trips File

Sept. 1974 – People’s Republic of China

Sept. 1974 – People’s Republic of China – Briefing Book (1) – (3)

April 1975 – West Germany

August 1975 – USSR, Romania, Hungary, Yugoslavia

October 1976 – Indiana Campaign Trip

 


 [COMMENT1]Beginning on the line below, type a date or dates, press tab, and type the biographical information related to those dates.  Repeat for each entry, leaving a blank line between each one.  For any entries which go beyond a single line, press indent twice at the beginning of the second line to move the entire block over.