|
|
Gerald R. Ford Library1000 Beal Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2114www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
Office of Public Liaison
FERNANDO
E.C. DE BACA
Special
Assistant to the President for Hispanic Affairs:
Files, 1974-76
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
Material related to De Baca's liaison with Hispanic groups and individuals, their issues and goals, and the federal government's role in assisting their development in areas of civil rights, education, equal employment opportunity and technical aid.
QUANTITY
6.6 linear feet (ca. 13,200 pages)
DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77‑64 and 77‑107)
ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford has donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.
Prepared by Nancy Mirshah, September 1989
[s:\bin\findaid\de baca, fernando - files.doc]
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Fernando E.C. De Baca
January 20, 1938 Born, Albuquerque, New Mexico
1961 B.A.,
University of New Mexico
1962‑1964 U.S. Army, South
Vietnam
1964‑1967 Special Agent (Major),
U.S. Army Airborne Intelligence Corps
1968‑1971 New Mexico State
Manpower Coordinator, then Assistant State Personnel Director, Regional Tax
Director, Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles, Special Assistant
to the Governor
1969 M.A.,
University of New Mexico
1971‑1972 Assistant to the
Chairman and Director of the Sixteen Point Program for Spanish Speaking
Americans,
1972 San Francisco
Regional Director, Department of Health, Education and Welfare
1973 Chairman,
Federal Regional Council for Region IX (the western United States)
Sept. 1974-Mar.
1976 Special Assistant to the
President, The White House
April 1976 Director, Department of
Health and Social Services, State of New Mexico
1985 Business
executive, Washington, D.C.
1985 Chairman,
Republican National Hispanic Assembly, Washington, D.C.
INTRODUCTION
In July 1974, President Nixon
appointed Fernando E. C. De Baca as Counsellor Anne
Armstrong's Deputy for Hispanic Affairs, but De Baca did not arrive at the
White House until the following September.
He received the new title of Special Assistant to the President for
Hispanic Affairs from President Ford and served under Armstrong in the
newly-created Office of Hispanic Affairs (OHA) until her resignation in
December 1974. The one-person office was
then placed with similar special interest groups in the newly-created Office of
Public Liaison (OPL) under the direction of William J. Baroody,
Jr. De Baca resigned his historic role
as the first Hispanic Special Assistant to the President in March 1976 and
returned to his native state to serve as Director of New Mexico's Department of
Health and Social Services. His White
House position remained vacant until July when President Ford appointed Thomas Aranda his successor.
The Special
Assistant's function was to advise the President on the needs of
Spanish-speaking Americans and to promote the President's programs within the
Hispanic community and the federal government.
In addition, through standard OPL procedures, he provided liaison for
Hispanics requesting government assistance.
De Baca
sometimes claimed direct contact with the President in constituent mail, but there
is little evidence of it in the collection.
Materials are present on his efforts to oversee and promote the
President's policies in the federal government, especially in areas of federal
employment opportunity, presidential appointment of Hispanics and minority
business programs. He served on and
collected material from the Domestic Council Committee for Illegal Aliens and
the Interagency Council for Minority Business Enterprise but these materials
provide only scant information about his own contributions. He received materials from the Cabinet
Committee on Opportunities for Spanish Speaking Persons (CCOSSP), but his
lobbying efforts for its extension, as well as for the Voting Rights Act and
bilingual education appropriations, are similarly not well documented.
Material is
ubiquitous on De Baca's energetic outreach and shared goals with Hispanics and
major Hispanic organizations, through conference participation, speeches,
correspondence, visits and telephone calls.
The material contains the hopeful, sometimes ardent and verbose,
expectations and pronouncements of a minority attempting to gain government
assistance and build political power. De
Baca faced occasional conflict between his loyalties to the administration and
his Hispanic constituency, although this is more implied than documented in the
files.
Interesting but
scattered material is provided related to De Baca's efforts to define the role
of the Special Assistant, the style and content of his communications, the cultural
and political expectations of his constituency and his actual role in the White
House. His well-documented publicly
stated views were sometimes controversial and in contrast to the President's
such as his endorsement of blanket citizenship for illegal aliens, statements
about Cuban refugee attitudes and an Army depot layoff affecting a local
Hispanic labor force.
The
Chronological File and White House memoranda in the Subject File provide
informative material on De Baca's activities. Included are occasional activity
reports to Armstrong and Baroody, De Baca initiatives
in the White House, and information requests from senior staff, in addition to
more frequent and routine queries related to topics of presidential
proclamations and appearances, guest lists, personnel references and even a
Spanish translation request from the First Lady's Office.
The De Baca
files were originally accessioned as a joint collection with those of his
successor Thomas Aranda, but they easily separated
into two collections during processing.
Much of the material was found in a state of disarray and substantial
amounts of unfiled or misfiled material were
integrated into existing folders, causing many redundant, nearly empty or empty
folders to be eliminated.
Related
Materials (Date):
Related material
is found in the collections of Special Assistant to the President for Hispanic
Affairs Thomas Aranda and Deputy Assistant for
Hispanic Affairs Reynaldo Maduro (late 1976). The Aranda
collection contains some original De Baca material in scattered folders. Additional material related to illegal aliens
is found in the collections of Assistant to the President for Domestic Affairs
James M. Cannon, Assistant Director for Justice, Civil Rights, Drugs and
Communications F. Lynn May and General Counsel Richard D. Parsons. The currently unprocessed files of William J.
Baroody, Jr., to whom De Baca reported, also may
contain related files.
Additional
related material exists in White House Central Files categories:
Federal Government: FG 6‑11‑1/De Baca
FG 6‑15 Domestic Council
FG 17 Justice Department
(OA 9281)
FG 21‑17 Office of Minority
Business
FG
145 Cabinet Committee on Opportunities
for
Spanish Speaking Persons
Human Rights: HU 2 Equality
HU 2‑2 Employment
HU 2‑4 Voting
Immigration: IM Immigration and Naturalization
Series
Descriptions
1-3 Hispanic Organizations, 1974‑75. (1.0 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda,
briefing papers, committee reports, organization position papers and
statements, notes, research studies, proposals, agendas, schedules, speeches,
printed materials, newsletters and lists.
They relate to De Baca's liaison with Hispanic organizations and
government efforts to increase economic, educational and political opportunity
for Hispanics. Also included are
reports, affidavits, testimonies, applications and background material related
to federal financial assistance for Hispanic organizations and civil rights
complaints.
Arranged
alphabetically by organization name or acronym.
3-5
Major Hispanic Issues, 1974‑75. (0.9 linear feet)
Correspondence
and memoranda relating to De Baca's liaison with Hispanics, White House staff
and agency officials on the following issues:
bilingual education, illegal aliens, immigration, National Hispanic
Heritage Week, Spanish-speaking appointees, U.S.-
Cuban relations and voting rights. Also
included are proclamations, government printed material, news clippings, press
releases and lists.
Arranged
alphabetically by issue and thereunder by subject.
5-7 Meetings and Trips, 1974‑76. (0.6 linear feet)
Summaries,
talking points, and a briefing paper related to President Ford's 1974 meetings
with Counsellor Anne Armstrong, De Baca and leaders
of major Hispanic organizations.
However, most meetings and trips are weakly documented with only
occasional speeches and a few routine items such as arrangements
correspondence, schedules, programs, itineraries, invitations, printed
material, travel requests, travel vouchers and name lists. They concern De Baca's nationwide outreach
with Hispanic organizations and local meetings in the White House.
Arranged
chronologically by meeting date.
7-8 Federal Programs, 1974‑76. (1.6 linear feet)
Correspondence,
memoranda, reports, agendas, tables, summaries, notes and printed materials
related to several meetings of the Interagency Council for Minority Business
Enterprise, and additional routine liaison activities with federal agencies. Also included are press releases,
newsletters, statements and news clippings.
Arranged
alphabetically by program name or acronym.
8-14 General Subject File, 1974‑76. (2.5 linear feet)
Q's and A's,
White House staff memoranda, referrals, news clippings and press releases
related to the role of the Special Assistant and the Office of Hispanic
Affairs. Also included are routine
correspondence with groups and individuals, occasional speeches, proposals,
reports, fact sheets, statistics, newsletters and publications. Additionally, the series contains OHA
telephone message logs, De Baca public appearance and OPL meeting logs,
resumes, job applications, travel vouchers, press releases, theater schedules,
and sample forms.
Arranged
alphabetically by subject.
14-17 Chronological File, 1974‑76. (1.0 linear feet)
Carbons
of outgoing letters to Hispanic individuals and organizations and memoranda to
White House staff. Most are responses to
routine incoming mail and follow-up correspondence from De Baca's activities,
occasionally with attachments. A
significant amount of intra-White House memoranda reflects liaison activities
not represented elsewhere in the collection, including occasional activity
summaries submitted to William Baroody, Jr.
Arranged
chronologically.
Container
List
American
Association of Spanish‑Speaking Certified Public Accountants
American G.I.
Forum
ASPIRA
Chicano
Education Association
Chicano
Federation
Colegio Cesar Chavez
Comision Pastorale de Migraciones
El Congreso ‑ National Congress of Hispanic American
Citizens
El Congreso Nacionale de Asuntos Colegiales
EOFULA ‑
Educational Organization for United Latin Americans
Grand Council of
Hispanic Societies in Public Service
Hispanic Businessman's
Association, Inc.
Hispanic Society
‑ Police Department of New York City
IMAGE (1)-(2)
International
Latino Art Forum
Juntos, Inc.
LA SED ‑
Latin Americans for Social and Economic Development
LAMA ‑ Latin
American Manufacturer's Association
League of
Mexican‑American Women
Lists of
Prominent Hispanics and Hispanic Organizations
LULAC ‑
League of United Latin American Citizens (1)-(2)
MACEP ‑
Mexican American Council for Economic Progress
MAES ‑ Mexican
American Engineering Society
MALDEF ‑
Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (1)-(2)
MANA ‑
Mexican American Women's National Association
MAPA ‑
Mexican American Political Association
Mexican American
Organizations
Minor
Organizations
National Bankers
Association
National
Conference of Hispanic Law Enforcement Officers
National Council
of La Raza
National
Hispanic Crusade Committee to Conquer Inflation
National
Republican Heritage Groups
NEDA ‑
National Economic Development Association
Opportunities
Industrialization Center
Pan‑American
Association of Opthamology
PRHSF ‑
Puerto Rican Health Services Federation
Puerto Rican‑Hispanic
Young Republic Club
Republican
National Hispanic Assembly
SED Center
SER/Jobs for
Progress (1)-(2)
Society of
Hispanic Professional Engineers
Spanish Speaking
Coalition on Domestic Affairs
SSPA ‑
Spanish Speaking Political Association
TELACU ‑ The
Major Hispanic
Issues
Bilingual Education
Bilingual
Education ‑ White House Meeting, March 4, 1975
Illegal Aliens ‑
Ames, Fred
Illegal Aliens ‑
Background Information
Illegal Aliens ‑
Correspondence
Illegal Aliens ‑
DeBaca Notes
Illegal Aliens ‑
Domestic Council Committee
Illegal Aliens ‑
Garcia, Al
Illegal Aliens ‑
Manuel D. Fierro Statement
Illegal Aliens ‑
San Diego Study
Illegal Aliens ‑
Willis, Clayton
Immigration ‑
Aliens
Immigration ‑
Study and Statistics
Immigration and
Naturalization Requests
National
Hispanic Heritage Week (1)-(2)
U.S.‑Cuban
Relations (1)-(2)
U.S.‑Cuban
Relations ‑ Correspondence
Voting Rights
Act (1)-(2)
Voting Rights
Act Signing Ceremony
Meetings and
Trips
1974/01/29 ‑
Hispanic Leaders, White House Luncheon
1974/04/11 ‑
Vice President and Hispanic Leaders (folder empty)
1974/09 ‑
Meetings
1974/09/16 ‑
DeBaca and Hispanic Leaders
1974/10/17 ‑
President Ford and Hispanic Leaders
1975/02/25 ‑
Minority Small Business Summit Conference
1975/02/28 ‑
White House Issues Briefing
1975/03/04 ‑
Tuesday at the White House Meeting on Bilingual Education
1975/03/12 ‑
Spanish Speaking Conference, Providence
1975/03/14 ‑
THINK TANK Session at the White House
1975/03/21 ‑
National Association of Counties, Albuquerque
1975/03/21 ‑
Pan American Employees Speech/Dinner, Houston (Empty)
1975/03/22 ‑
Mexican‑American Leadership Conference of Houston
1975/04/03 ‑
White House Conference, San Diego
1975/04/04 ‑
National Hispanic Businessman's Organization
1975/04/12 ‑
Third Annual Latino Media Coalitions Conference, San Antonio
1975/04/18 ‑
SBA Conference, Houston
1975/04/24 ‑
Mexican Chamber of Commerce Luncheon Keynote, Dallas
1975/04/25 ‑
Association of Mexican‑American Educators of California Legislators
Annual
Convention, Oakland
1975/04/26 ‑
SSPA Fourth Annual Installation Dinner, San Diego
1975/04/29 ‑
Opthamological Congress, San Juan
1975/05/22 ‑
IMAGE National Convention, Kansas City
1975/05/29 ‑
Crystal City
1975/06/04 ‑
Albuquerque High School Commencement
1975/06/12 ‑
COSSMHO, Chicago
1975/06/12‑14
‑ Minority Program Manager's Workshop, Washington, DC
(Empty)
1975/06/14‑15
‑ Second Annual Ethnic Press Conference, American University
1975/06/23 ‑
Brookings Luncheon Speech
1975/06/25 ‑
Hispanic Reception White House
1975/06/25 ‑
Oaxaca Reception
1975/06/28 ‑
Baroody, DeBaca and
Hispanic Leaders
1975/06/28 ‑
LULAC Convention, Milwaukee
1975/07/15 ‑
FAA Luncheon Speech, Washington DC
1975/07/17 ‑
Ford and SER Board of Directors
1975/07/24‑27
‑ National Institute on Access to Higher Education for the
Mexican‑Americans,
Albuquerque
1975/07/31 ‑
St. Petersburg
1975/08/07 ‑
National Council of La Raza Conference, Phoenix
1975/08/19 ‑
Tuesday at the White House
1975/08/22 ‑
El Monte
1975/08/9‑10
‑ American G.I. Forum
1975/09/04‑07
‑ San Antonio/Albuquerque
1975/09/12‑16
‑ San Francisco/Midland
1975/09/19 ‑
U.S. Air Force Academy Visit
1975/09/20‑27
‑ U.S.A.F. Visit to Europe
1975/09/30 ‑
Luray, VA
1975/10/8‑12
‑ San Francisco/Fresno/Waco
1975/10/20 ‑
IMPA Conference
1975/11/12 ‑
AAIE Mayor's Prayer Breakfast, York, PA
1975/11/19‑22
‑ International Population Conference, Washington, DC
1975/11/21 ‑
Archdiocesan Latin American Committee, Chicago
1975/11/22 ‑
United California Mexican‑American Association Testimonial Dinner
1975/12/11 ‑
U.S. Civil Service Commission Federal Extension Board Recognition
Awards Program
1976/01/23 ‑
Federal Extension Board SS Program Coordinating Council Job Fair,
Dallas
1976/01/24 ‑
IMAGE, Installation Ceremonies, Boston
Federal Programs
Cabinet
Committee on the Spanish‑Speaking (CCOSSP)
Civil Service
Commission Spanish Speaking Program
Community
Services Administration
Department of
Justice
Department of
Transportation
EEOC ‑
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Equal Employment
Opportunity in the Federal Government
HEW
HUD
LEAA ‑ Law
Enforcement Assistance Administration
Legal Services
Corporation
OMBE
OMBE ‑
Agency Reports
OMBE ‑
Interagency Council for Minority Business Enterprise
Presidential
Appointments and Executive Level Appointees (1)-(2)
Small Business
Administration
Spanish Speaking
Presidential and Supergrade Appointees
USOE ‑
Office for Spanish Speaking American Affairs
General Subject
File
Activities ‑
First Quarter in Office
Affirmative
Action Congress
Albuquerque
Armstrong, Counsellor Anne
Attorney General
Baroody, William J.
Bicentennial
Chicano
Bibliographies and Periodicals
Conference on
Cultural Diversity
Consumer
Information Publications
Correspondence ‑
DeBaca/HEW, August, 1974 (1)-(2)
Correspondence,
A ‑ Z (1)-(3)
Correspondence ‑
With Members of Congress
Correspondence
Log ‑ September ‑ December, 1974
DeBaca ‑ Biographical
Sketch and Routine Personal Papers
DeBaca ‑ White
House Staff Memoranda, A‑Z, (1)-(3)
Diplomatic List ‑
State Department
Discrimination
Cases
Domestic Council
Committees
Dress, Margaret
Duplicating ‑
MT/ST Machine
Education
Filipino‑Americans
"Ford Team
in the White House"
Forms and
Samples
Hispanic
Organizations
History of
Hispanics
International
Women's Year
Invitations ‑
Accepted and Rejected
Invitations ‑
Returned from White House Central Files
Job
Announcements ‑ Clerical, Private and Federal
Job Applicants
Johnston, Edward
Kennedy Center
Opera House and Theater
Lists of
Prominent Hispanics and Hispanic Organizations (1)-(4)
Media ‑
Clippings and Newsletters (1)-(2)
Media ‑
Radio and T.V.
Meetings
Migrant Workers
Minority
Business Enterprise
National Space
Institute
Naval Air
Facility ‑ San Diego Trip
Office of
Economic Advisors
Office of Ethnic
Affairs (Empty)
Office of
Hispanic Affairs
Office of
Hispanic Affairs ‑ Personnel, Procedures and Maintenance
Office of
Hispanic Affairs ‑ Telephone Logs (1)-(2)
Organization of
American States
Panama Canal
Polls
President Ford
Committee
President's
Briefing Book
President's
Press Conferences and Remarks (1)-(2)
Presidential
Clemency Program
Press Releases
Referrals to
Agencies
Referrals to DeBaca
Republican
National Committee
Sample Schedule
Proposal and Model Letters
Savings and
Loans
Spanish Speaking
Nations, Puerto Rico and Guam
State Department
States: Arizona ‑
Texas
Travel Requests
and Vouchers (1)-(2)
Veteran's Day
Ceremony
White House
Biographies
White House
Initiatives for Spanish Speaking Americans
White House
Summer Intern Program
Who's Who Among Latin Americans
Women's Resources
Youth
Opportunities Foundation
United Way
9/74‑10/74
11/74‑5/75
6/75‑1/76
2/76‑4/76