|
|
Gerald R. Ford Library1000 Beal Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2114www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
Staff Secretary
JAMES E. CONNOR
Staff Secretary
and Secretary to the Cabinet:
Files, 1974-77
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
The Connor files document his
responsibilities as Staff Secretary and Cabinet Secretary, especially White
House administrative matters; the flow of presidential paperwork; and the
planning, preparation and follow-up of Cabinet meetings. Connor's office oversaw the flow of paperwork
to and from the president, and communicated presidential decisions and comments
to the Cabinet and White House staff.
His special expertise in energy policy and his work on intelligence
community reforms is also well documented.
QUANTITY
22.6
linear feet (ca. 45,200 pages)
DONOR
Gerald
R. Ford (accession numbers 77-96 & 77-102 )
ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under
terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or
under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR
1256).
COPYRIGHT
President
Ford has donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his
unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other
individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees
as part of their official duties are in the public domain.
Prepared by Paul
Conway, December 1986
Revised by William McNitt, November 1995
[s:\bin\findaid\connor, james - files.doc]
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
James E. Connor
1957‑68 Student, Columbia
University (BA, MA, PhD in international relations)
1968‑69 Assistant
Professor, Columbia University
1968‑69 White House Fellow
(assigned to Bureau of Budget)
1969‑70 Investment
Counselor, Cresop, McCormick & Paget, Inc.
1970‑71 Office of Economic
Opportunity (under Donald Rumsfeld)
1971‑72 Department of
Commerce (under Maurice Stans)
1972‑74 Director of Office
of Planning and Analysis, Atomic Energy Commission
Nov. 1974-Jan.
1975 White House Personnel Office
(detail)
Jan. 1975-Jan.
1977 Secretary to the Cabinet, The White House
June 1975-Jan.
1977 Staff Secretary, The White House
1977-1989 Assistant to Chairman,
then managing director, First Boston Corporation (New York)
October 30, 1994 Died, Dallas, TX
INTRODUCTION
Connor was one of several young
assistants brought into the Ford White House by Assistant to the President for
White House Operations Donald Rumsfeld. Originally detailed from the Atomic Energy Commission,
Connor's first assignment was to review the presidential scheduling and advance
operations. When Connor became Cabinet
Secretary in January 1975, he continued to supervise the Scheduling and Advance
Office and oversee the planning of President Ford's long-range schedule.
As Cabinet Secretary, Connor oversaw
the organization of Cabinet meetings by preparing agendas, assembling
background papers, accumulating meeting minutes, confirming attendance by
Cabinet officers and White House aides, and coordinating follow-up
activities. Connor worked closely on
these tasks with Warren Rustand of the Scheduling
Office. Rustand
had handled similar activities in 1974, although without the title of Cabinet
Secretary, and he also took notes at Cabinet meetings from 1974 until he left
the White House in October 1975. Connor,
however, was the principal intermediary between the White House and Cabinet
officials. He was charged with assuring
direct access to the president and mobilizing the Cabinet on behalf of key
presidential initiatives, including important congressional votes.
In June 1975, Rumsfeld
reorganized a number of White House operations.
In the shuffle, Connor retained his role as Cabinet Secretary but took
over Jerry Jones' duties as Staff Secretary.
Jones in turn replaced Connor as head of the Scheduling and Advance
Office. As Staff Secretary, Connor was a
key supervisor of the White House Office, but delegated many duties to staff
assistants. David Hoopes
directly handled most routine matters, including assigning White House staff
perks and assembling briefing papers.
Michael Farrell coordinated White House tours and special events. Trudy Fry maintained the Special Files, and
the presidential handwriting file.
Robert Linder had responsibility for the correspondence unit and other
permanent operating offices.
Connor's day-to-day duties as Staff
Secretary included monitoring the flow of paperwork to and from the president,
including special presidential courier service outside the Washington, D.C.
area. He also notified White House
staff, Cabinet officials and other senior level advisers of the final decisions
and comments on documents sent to the president and on certain personnel
appointments. Throughout 1975, Connor
coordinated Rumsfeld's efforts to reduce the size of
the White House payroll by ten percent.
During his tenure in the White
House, Connor also worked on a variety of special projects assigned to him by Rumsfeld or Richard Cheney, including energy policy formulation,
the reform of the intelligence community, and the White House Fellows
program. He also was involved in
planning the presidential campaign of 1976 and the transition from the Ford to
Carter administrations, but these latter topics are incompletely documented in
the files.
The collection
document his responsibilities as Staff Secretary and Cabinet Secretary,
especially his handling of White House administrative matters; the flow of
presidential paperwork; and the planning and follow-up of Cabinet
meetings. As a matter of course, the
files also document many events and policy issues.
The Connor files are especially full
in documenting his work with Chief of Staff Donald Rumsfeld
during 1975, both as Cabinet Secretary and as Staff Secretary. The Staff Secretary Subject File and the
Cabinet Secretary Subject File both contain numerous memoranda and notes
exchanged between Connor and Chiefs of Staff Rumsfeld
and Cheney.
A number of series span the entire
Ford administration and include files accumulated by Connor's predecessor as
Staff Secretary, Jerry Jones. The
Presidential Personnel Appointments File in particular appears to cover a wide
range of personnel decisions throughout the administration. However, the Staff Comments File and possibly
the Courier Materials File are incomplete for much of 1976. Connor's files on intelligence community
reforms are strongest for July to September 1975, although some later materials
appear.
Related
Materials (November 1995):
Given the central role of the Staff
Secretary in the operations of the White House, many of the White House staff
files in the Ford Library contain information about Connor's
responsibilities. In particular, the
papers of Michael Raoul-Duval, the files of John
Marsh, and the files of Richard Cheney help fill gaps in the Connor files,
especially Connor's work on the 1976 campaign and on the Ford-Carter
transition.
Other files in the Ford Library
document the work of Connor's staff assistants and the Office of Staff
Secretary, including the Special Files, the President's Daily Diary, the
Presidential Handwriting File, and the Presidential Mail and Telephone
Logs. The files of Jerry Jones, Connor's
predecessor as Staff Secretary; the files of Warren Rustand,
who had Cabinet-related responsibilities in 1974 and 1975 (currently
unprocessed); and the files of Deputy Staff Secretary David Hoopes
may be useful as well.
Series Descriptions
1-3 Cabinet Secretary Subject File,
1975-76. (1.0 linear feet)
Biographical information on Cabinet members,
memoranda concerning presidential meetings with individual Cabinet members,
background memoranda on selected issues discussed in Cabinet meetings, lists of
presidential meetings with the Cabinet, and other information on Connor's
organization of Cabinet meetings and Cabinet members' contacts with Congress on
policy issues.
Arranged
alphabetically by subject and thereunder
chronologically.
3-6 Cabinet Meetings File, 1974‑76. (1.2 linear feet)
Announcements, memoranda, agenda suggestions,
agendas, talking points, attendance lists and background papers from all but a
few Cabinet meetings, including two cancelled meetings. Also includes Warren Rustand's
minutes for most meetings from October 1974 to October 1975.
Arranged
chronologically by date of meeting.
7-21 Staff Secretary Subject File, 1974‑77. (6.0 linear feet)
Material on
Connor's activities in the White House as assistant to Donald Rumsfeld and later as Staff Secretary. The file also includes materials on Connor's
1974 and 1975 scheduling and advance work and scattered information on contacts
with Cabinet officials and their staffs, although most of the latter is filed
in the Cabinet Secretary Subject File.
Particularly well documented is White House Office administration,
including Rumsfeld's efforts to reduce the size of
the staff and institute tighter controls over the president's scheduling operations. Other
subjects covered are early planning efforts for the 1976 presidential campaign;
energy policy review, including nuclear power, uranium enrichment and a
critique of Energy Resources Finance Corporation (ERFCO); and Connor's
activities as White House liaison on the selection of White House Fellows.
Arranged
alphabetically by subject.
22-26 Connor Chronological File, 1974‑77. (2.0 linear feet)
Photocopies and
carbons of outgoing memoranda to White House staff and occasional
correspondence with government officials, friends, and professional associates. The file consists mostly of memos reporting
presidential decisions and comments on papers submitted to Ford. Sometimes copies of presidential handwritten
notes are attached, especially if they help clarify a presidential decision or
comment.
Arranged
chronologically.
27-31 Presidential Decisions and Comments File,
1974‑77. (2.0
linear feet)
Photocopies of memos from Connor or his
predecessor Jerry Jones to White House staff, Cabinet officials and political
advisers informing them of presidential decisions or comments on documents they
had submitted to Ford. Also included are
comments and directives originating with the president which Connor or Jones
routed to appropriate individuals. The
series provides an overview of the extent to which Ford directed and responded
to the work of his advisers.
Arranged by name of person receiving the memo,
and thereunder chronologically.
32-41 Staff Comments File, 1974‑77. (4.0 linear feet)
Action Memoranda, mostly from 1974 and 1975, from
the Staff Secretary to selected White House staff requesting comments on policy
memoranda, congressional bills, correspondence to non-federal government
officials, and other documents. Attached
to each Action Memorandum is a copy of the item upon which staff comments were
requested and the comments themselves.
The original memoranda and original staff comments are typically filed
here. This series also includes copies
of memos routed to White House staff for informal comment outside the
Action Memoranda system.
Arranged
chronologically.
42-46 Courier Materials File, 1974‑76. (1.8 linear feet)
Photocopies of memoranda, correspondence,
reports and other material sent by special courier from the Staff Secretary to
President Ford on certain trips out of the Washington DC area, especially to
Vail and Camp David. None of the items
document subsequent presidential annotations or decisions. Most of the courier materials are duplicated
in other Connor series or in other files in the Ford Library. A possible exception are
scattered notes from Rumsfeld to Ford in some 1975
folders.
Arranged
chronologically.
47-55 Presidential Personnel Appointments File,
1974‑77. (3.6
linear feet)
Memoranda from
the White House Personnel Office to President Ford recommending appointments to
a wide variety of Executive branch agencies, boards and commissions, with
Ford's decisions. Included is a sequence of
preliminary recommendations from the personnel office director to Donald Rumsfeld, with Rumsfeld's
initials or comments; and status reports on vacancies in the Executive
branch. Also included is information on
Ford's appointments to federal district and circuit judgeships and on various
ambassadorial appointments.
Arranged
alphabetically by agency.
56-58 Intelligence Community Subject File, 1975‑76. (1.0 linear feet)
Material concerning foreign intelligence
matters, especially the 1975 intelligence investigations and White House
attempts to reform the intelligence community.
Connor was most heavily involved in these matters from July to October
1975. Although the series contains
scattered reports, presidential decision memoranda, and briefing books from
other time periods, few Connor working papers fall outside that four month
span. A major focus of the series is
White House attempts to review and implement Rockefeller Commission
recommendations, July-September 1975.
Some material concerns the creation of the White House Intelligence
Coordinating Group in September 1975, its operation in the first month or so,
and the House and Senate Select Committees.
Arranged
alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.
Container List
Agricultural
Policy Committee
Agriculture ‑
Earl T. Butz
Cabinet ‑
General (1)‑(3)
Cabinet
Biographies ‑ Press Releases
Cabinet Campaign
Activities ‑ Guidelines
Cabinet Meetings
‑ Attendance and Seating Policy
Cabinet Members ‑
Lists
Cabinet Photo
Session
Cabinet
Secretary ‑ Responsibilities
Commerce ‑
Elliot Richardson
Committee on Urban
Development and Neighborhood Revitalization
Congressional
Testimony by Cabinet
Counsellor to the
President ‑ Rogers C. B. Morton
Defense ‑
Donald Rumsfeld (1)‑(4)
First Year Fact
Sheets
Health Education
and Welfare ‑ David Mathews (1)‑(2)
Housing Veto
Call
Housing and
Urban Development ‑ Carla Hills: 1975
Housing and
Urban Development ‑ Carla Hills: 1976
Interior ‑
Stanley K. Hathaway
Interior ‑
Thomas S. Kleppe
Justice ‑
Edward H. Levi
Labor ‑ HEW
Appropriations Call
Labor ‑
John T. Dunlop (1)‑(3)
Labor ‑
William J. Usery
Mayaguez Crisis Call
Memoranda to
Cabinet from Connor
National Labor
Protection Agreement ‑ Sec.13(c)
Natural Gas
Deregulation Call
Oil Decontrol
Call
Presidential
Meetings with Cabinet Members ‑ Monthly Summaries (1)‑(2)
Public Works
Veto Call
State of the
Union Preview Call
State ‑
Henry A. Kissinger
Task Force on
Questionable Corporate Payments Abroad
Tax Bill Veto
Call
Transportation ‑
William T. Coleman (1)‑(2)
Treasury ‑
William F. Simon
Turkish Aid Vote
Call
USUN ‑
Daniel P. Moynihan (1)‑(4)
USUN ‑
William W. Scranton
Cabinet
Meetings File
Aug. 26, 1974
Oct. 11, 1974
Oct. 30, 1974
Nov. 15, 1974
Jan. 8, 1975
Jan. 17, 1975
(cancelled)
Jan. 29, 1975
Feb. 21, 1975
Mar. 12, 1975
Mar. 26, 1975
Apr. 16, 1975
Apr. 29, 1975
May 7, 1975
June 4, 1975
June 25, 1975
July 16, 1975
Aug. 8, 1975
Aug. 27, 1975
Sept. 17, 1975
Oct. 6, 1975
Oct. 8, 1975
Nov. 6, 1975
Nov. 26, 1975
(cancelled)
Dec. 10, 1975
Jan. 7, 1976
Jan. 19, 1976
Feb. 19, 1976
Apr. 14, 1976
June 18, 1976
June 29, 1976
July 20, 1976
Aug. 30, 1976
Sept. 8, 1976
Sept. 28, 1976
Nov. 5, 1976
Airline
Transport ‑ Piedmont Airlines Proposal
American Indians
‑ Meeting with the President
American
Political Report
Arab Extremists ‑
Conflict Studies
Auto Emission
Standards, Russell Train ‑ Briefing Papers
Bicentennial ‑
Long Range Planning
Bicentennial
Events ‑ July 4 Weekend Planning
Briefing Papers ‑
Miscellaneous
Budget 1975
Callaway, Bo ‑
Crested Butte Ski Area
Camp David
Reservations
Campaign
Organization and Planning Subseries
Campaign ‑ Early Efforts
Campaign ‑ Eyre, Richard (Bailey Deardourff & Eyre)
Campaign ‑ Ford Constituency
Campaign ‑ Planning 1976
Cheney, Richard
(1)
Cheney, Richard
(2)‑(8)
Chicago State
University ‑ Invitation
Coal Industries
Dinner with the President, Mar. 21, 1975
Commodities
Policy
Conger, Clement ‑
West Wing Decoration
Congressional
Mail Follow‑up (1)‑(3)
Congressional
Relations ‑ General
Congressional
Testimony ‑ Procedures & Guidelines
Crime Message (1)‑(2)
Cuban Migration
to the United States
Domestic Council
‑ General
Economic and
Energy Policy Review (1)‑(5)
Emergency
Presidential Powers ‑ CRS Study
Energy Policy Subseries
Environmental Impacts of Electricity
Generation
FEA Meeting Background
FEA Technical Analysis
General
Oil Tariff Draft Statement
Press Releases
Utility Oil Savings
Energy Research
and Development Administration
Energy Resources
Finance Corporation ‑ ERFCO (1)‑(3)
Energy Resources
Finance Corporation ‑ ERFCO (4)‑(9)
Executive
Privilege ‑ Congress
Executive
Privilege ‑ Previous Administrations
Federal Election
Commission (1)‑(6)
First Lady's
Staff ‑ Connor Liaison and Meetings
Ford
Administration ‑ First Year Fact Sheet
Ford
Biographical Information
Ford Financial
Statement
Ford Image with
the Press
Ford, Jack ‑
Advance Work in the Campaign
Freedom of
Information Act Request on Oil Import Control
General
Correspondence A ‑ Z
Glomar Explorer
Goldwin, Robert ‑
Seminars
Hartmann Office ‑
Speechwriting
Hatfield, Mark ‑
Ford Inaugural Medal
Hudson Institute
‑ Herman Kahn
Inflation Impact
Statements
International
Trade Commission
Kennedy Center
Scheduling ‑ Presidential Box
Kristol, Irving ‑
The Public Interest
Land Use
Planning
Laquer, Walter ‑
"The West in Retreat"
Magruder, William ‑
Piedmont Airlines
Medal of Freedom
‑ Staff Comments (1)‑(3)
Military Aide's
Office
Names
National
Endowment for the Humanities ‑ Meeting with the President
National
Security Council ‑ Meetings During Nixon
Administration
Neustadt, Richard ‑
Manuscript on Presidency
New Hampshire
Primary
Nuclear Policy
Review (1)‑(5)
Nuclear Power ‑
General
Nuclear Power ‑
Public Radio Report on Karen Silkwood
Nuclear Power ‑
Study Papers
Nuclear
Regulatory Commission
Nuclear Waste
Management ‑ FEA Paper
Office of
Management and Budget ‑ Hugh Heclo Article
Office of
Telecommunications Policy
Opinion Polls ‑
Market Opinion Research, Robert Teeter
Opinion Polls ‑
Republican National Committee Research Division
Outer
Continental Shelf Revenue Sharing
Presidential
Initiatives Followup
Presidential
Meetings ‑ Followup on Presidential Directives
(1)‑(2)
Presidential
Schedule ‑ Additions
Presidential
Schedule ‑ Long‑Range Planning Meeting with the President
Presidential
Schedule ‑ Procedures and Mechanisms
Presidential
Speeches ‑ Miscellaneous
Presidential
Spokesmen ‑ Contacts and Guidelines
Presidential
Spokesmen ‑ Scheduling
Presidential
Travel Subseries
Travel Procedures and Planning
Presidential
Travel Subseries
Feb. 3, 1975 - White House Conference
Atlanta (3)
Feb. 10, 1975 - Texas and Kansas
Feb. 13, 1975 - New York City
Feb. 25, 1975 - Florida
Mar. 17, 1975 - Indiana
Mar. 29, 1975 - California
President's
Daily Schedule (1)‑(4)
Railroad
Revitalization (1)‑(4)
Reagan, Ronald ‑
Assets
Reagan, Ronald ‑
Speech, Mar. 31, 1976
Republican Leadership
Breakfast with the President
Republican
National Committee ‑ Scheduling
Resumes ‑
Miscellaneous
Rhode Island ‑
Urban Renewal in Providence
Rumsfeld, Donald ‑
White House Chief of Staff (1)‑(9)
Rumsfeld, Donald ‑
White House Chief of Staff (10)‑(13)
Science and
Technology ‑ General
Science and
Technology Adviser
Sequoia
Reservations ‑ Presidential Yacht
Slovenian
Community in Cleveland
Staff Secretary ‑
Miscellaneous
State of the
Union Address ‑ 1975
‑ Followup
Actions with the Press (1)‑(2)
‑ Press Releases (1)‑(2)
State of the
Union Address ‑ 1975
‑ Press Releases (3)-(4)
Sub‑Cabinet
Officials ‑ Liaison with White House
Telephone Call
Recommendations
TerHorst Resignation as
Press Secretary
Travel Expenses ‑
Administration Policies
Uranium
Enrichment (1)‑(8)
Uranium
Enrichment ‑ Planning Book (1)‑(3)