|
|
Gerald R. Ford Library1000 Beal Avenue,
www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
White House
Operations
RICHARD
B. CHENEY
Deputy
Assistant to the President;
Assistant
to the President for White House Operations:
Files,
1974‑77
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
Files
concerning numerous domestic and foreign policy issues, investigations of the intelligence
community, Supreme Court and other personnel appointments, 1974 and 1977
transitions, and the 1976 presidential election, especially the campaign for
the Republican nomination.
QUANTITY
8.4 linear feet (ca. 16,800 pages)
DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77‑102,
77‑107, 77‑117, and 78‑61)
ACCESS
Open.
Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of
gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and
Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford has donated to the
Prepared by William H. McNitt, August 1985
[s:\bin\findaid\cheney, richard - files.doc]
BIOGRAPHICAL
INFORMATION
Richard
Bruce Cheney
1965 B.A.,
1966 M.A.,
1966 Staff aide to
Governor Warren Knowles (R-Wisconsin)
1966‑68 Graduate
student,
1969 Congressional Fellow, American Political Science Association - served on the staff of U.S. Representative William A. Steiger (R-Wisconsin)
1969‑1970 Special Assistant to
Donald Rumsfeld, Director,
1970‑71 Deputy to Counsellor to the President Donald Rumsfeld, The
White House
1971‑73 Assistant Director
for Operations, Cost of Living Council
1973‑74 Partner, Bradley,
Woods & Co. investment advisory firm
Sept. 1974-Nov. 1975 Deputy Assistant to the President for White House Operations
Nov.
1975-Jan. 1977 Assistant to the
President for White House Operations ("Chief of Staff")
1977‑78 Partner, Bradley,
Woods & Co.; public policy consultant,
1979-
1981- Chairman,
House Republican Policy Committee
INTRODUCTION
During
the Ford administration, Richard Cheney held the positions of Deputy Assistant
and Assistant to the President for White House Operations, titles commonly
referred to by the news media and others as "Deputy Chief of Staff"
and "Chief of Staff." He
initially served as deputy to Donald Rumsfeld and
succeeded him in November 1975 when Rumsfeld became
Secretary of Defense. This collection
contains material concerning Cheney's work in both positions.
Discussed
below under separate headings are the organization and functions of the White
House Operations Office, the scope and content of the Cheney files, and related
materials in the Ford Library.
Organization and Functions of the White House
Operations Office
The
Assistant to the President for White House Operations worked with the President
and senior staff to insure the smooth operation of the White House, chaired daily
senior staff meetings, managed the flow of information to and from the
President, coordinated the personnel appointments process, and handled liaison
with political groups. He also
supervised the work of the following staff offices:
Staff Secretary
Cabinet Secretary
Scheduling and Advance
Presidential Personnel
White House Photographers
President's Office (personal staff of the
President)
Originally
the staff of the White House Operations Office consisted only of the Assistant
to the President, the Deputy Assistant, Special Consultant Robert Goldwin, and
their secretaries. Foster Chanock, H. James Field, and James Reichley
joined the staff between October 1975 and May 1976, with most of their duties
relating to the presidential election campaign. After Cheney became the
Assistant to the President in November 1975, the deputy position remained
vacant until the appointment of James Cavanaugh in July 1976.
Scope and Content of the Cheney Files
The
Cheney files consist partly of materials created by or addressed to Cheney and
partly of materials addressed to the President by other White House staff
members, campaign committee officials, friends of the President, government
officials, and Republican leaders. The
President apparently transmitted most of these documents to Cheney for his
information or handling.
The
two topics most heavily documented in the Cheney files are the 1976
presidential campaign and the 1975 investigations of the intelligence
community.
The
bulk of the campaign materials (over two linear feet) concern President Ford's
efforts to obtain the Republican nomination, May 1975-August 1976. Included are such items as a virtually
complete set of progress reports from President Ford Committee chairmen Howard
"Bo" Callaway and Rogers Morton, July 1975-July 1976; letters from
Republican leaders giving campaign advice; handwritten messages from the
President to Cheney; and the President's handwritten notes concerning telephone
calls to Republican convention delegates, June-August 1976.
Materials
on the intelligence investigations (over one linear foot) concern such topics
as William Colby's report to the President in December 1974 on alleged abuses
by the Central Intelligence Agency, the establishment and operation of the
Rockefeller Commission, congressional investigations, and proposed presidential
actions to reform the intelligence community.
Researchers
interested in the intelligence investigations or other topics relating to
national defense and foreign affairs questions should be aware that archivists
have withdrawn numerous classified documents during processing. These are not currently available for
research, but researchers may initiate requests for agency review for possible
declassification.
The
amount of material on most topics other than the campaign or the intelligence
investigations is fairly small. The
collection concerns a wide range of domestic and foreign policy issues,
personnel appointments (including the nomination of John Paul Stevens to the
Supreme Court), and the 1974 and 1977 transitions. What the files lack in quantity, they often
make up for in quality. Many folders
contain the originals of significant documents addressed to the President
and/or notes exchanged between Cheney and the President.
One
area that is not well documented in this collection is the large number of
meetings that Cheney attended. Although
the senior staff met on a daily basis, only a few scattered notes by Cheney on
the discussions appear in the files.
Similarly, there are few notes from Cheney's meetings with the President
and other individuals.
Related Materials (August 1985):
The
files of Alexander Haig relate to his work as Chief
of Staff during August and September 1974.
The Library has no collection of Donald Rumsfeld
files covering his work in this position.
The files of Cheney's assistants James Field, Robert Goldwin, and James Reichley are available for research.
Related
materials on the intelligence investigations can be found in White House
Central Files category ND 6 and in several collections in the Congressional
Relations Office, especially the files of Vernon Loen
and Charles Leppert.
Collections
containing material on the 1976 presidential campaign are described on the Ford
Library handout "The 1976 Presidential Election: A Guide to Manuscript
Collections Available for Research."
Series Descriptions
1‑13 General
Subject File, 1974‑77. (5.2 linear feet)
Memoranda,
correspondence, handwritten notes from the President to Cheney, briefing papers,
option papers, decision memoranda, recommended telephone call forms, reports,
testimony, hearing transcripts, press releases, schedules, and clippings. These materials concern a wide variety of
domestic and foreign policy issues and personnel appointments. Over one foot of material relates to the 1975
investigations of the intelligence community.
Other topics include: federal budgets, common situs
picketing legislation, organization and operation of the Domestic Council,
economic and energy issues,
Arranged alphabetically by topic.
14‑16 President Ford Committee Weekly
Reports to the President, July 1975-July 1976.
(0.9 linear feet)
Originals (and occasional copies) of detailed reports on the
campaign submitted to the President by PFC Chairmen Howard "Bo"
Callaway and Rogers Morton. The
reports cover such topics as organization and staffing of the PFC, state
campaign organizations, legal matters, delegate selection, fundraising, press
contacts, advocate schedules, campaign advertising, and campaign leaflets. Reports #3 and #4, covering late July and
early August 1975, were missing when the collection was received, but have been
added from other sources. The PFC apparently
discontinued these reports after the middle of July 1976.
Arranged chronologically.
16‑19 Campaign Subject File, 1975‑76. (1.4
linear feet)
Memoranda,
correspondence, handwritten notes from the President to Cheney, briefing
papers, recommended telephone call forms, and clippings. Although some material relates to the fall
campaign against Jimmy Carter, the bulk of the series concerns the campaign for
the Republican nomination. Topics
include: campaign advice from Republican leaders, organization and operation of
the President Ford Committee and its advertising division, Campaign '76 Media
Communications, Inc.; meetings with and telephone calls to convention delegates (including the
President's handwritten notes re the telephone calls); and the presidential
campaigns of Ronald Reagan and Jimmy Carter.
Arranged alphabetically by topic.
19‑21 Correspondence File, 1974‑76. (0.9
linear feet)
Correspondence,
mostly between Cheney and businessmen, local officials, and the general public. The series consists mostly of carbon copies
of outgoing letters and attached photocopies of incoming letters. The originals of many of the incoming letters
appear in the White House Central Files.
Although occasional items from the early part of the administration are
included, the bulk of the series dates from Cheney's service as Assistant to
the President after November 1975. The
correspondence concerns legislation, invitations, congratulations, personnel
matters, and the 1976 presidential campaign.
Some specific topics on which a significant amount of material appears
are: bilingual education program budget cut, common situs
picketing legislation, National Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Act,
maximum allowable cost program, antitrust legislation, and the Energy
Conservation and Oil Policy Act.
Arranged alphabetically by correspondent.
Container
List
Abortion
Advance Schools, Inc.
Agency for International Development
Agriculture Secretary (1)‑(3)
Ambassador to
Ash,
Aviation Noise Control
Bailey,
Baum, William W.
Belin, David
Budget (FY1977) ‑ Agriculture and Small
Agencies (1)‑(2)
Budget (FY1977) ‑ HUD
Budget (FY1977) ‑ NASA
Budget ‑ General
Busing
Cabinet
Capitol Hill Club
Cargo Preference
Civil Aeronautics Board ‑ Personnel
Changes
Civil Aeronautics Board ‑ Publication of
Decisions
Civil Aeronautics Board ‑ Transportes Aereos Portugueses Decision
Civil Defense Policy
Coal Strike
Cole,
Commission on Security and Cooperation in
Commission on the Organization of Government for
the Conduct of Foreign Policy
Report
Common Situs Picketing
‑ General
Common Situs Picketing
‑ Transcripts of Hearings (1)‑(9)
Conference on Security and Cooperation in
Congress ‑ Falsifying Committee
Transcripts
Corruption in Government Legislation (S.495)
Crime Message
Defense ‑ Briefing on Installation
Reductions and Closures
Defense ‑ General
Defense ‑ Hearings on Donald Rumsfeld's Nomination
Delaney, Patrick
Domestic Council ‑ Meeting,
Domestic Council ‑ Reorganization
Domestic Council ‑ Review Group on Regulatory
Reform
Domestic Council ‑ Study of Federal Social
Programs
Domestic Council ‑ Vice President's Role
Domestic Council and OMB Directorships
Dow Chemical
Dunlop, John (1)‑(2)
Economic ‑ Deficit Financing and Capital
Markets
Economic ‑ General
Economic And Energy
Proposals
‑
Congressional Leadership Breakfast,
‑
Spokesman's Briefing Book,
‑
Spokesman's Briefing Book,
‑
Spokesman's Briefing Book,
Economic And Energy
Proposals
‑
Spokesman's Briefing Book,
Economic Intelligence Weekly
Economic Policy Board Meeting,
Economic Policy Board Meeting,
Economic Policy Review (1)‑(3)
Economic Review
Economic
Economic
Education for the Handicapped
Electronic Surveillance Legislation
Energy
‑
General
‑
International Oil Developments Reports
‑
Morbark Industries
‑
Natural Gas Shortfall (1)‑(2)
‑
Nuclear Power
‑
Oil Price Decontrol
Energy
‑
Personnel Changes
‑
Synthetic Fuels
Energy Policy Options Paper
Energy Resources Finance Corporation (1)‑(2)
European Community Subsidized Cheese
Transshipments
Federal Trade Commission
Feldman, Trude
Food Aid (PL480)
Food Stamps Reform
Ford, Betty
Fortune Magazine Bicentennial Issue
Funeral Delegations
General Revenue Sharing
General Services Administration
Graham, Billy
Grain Sales to the
Gramshammer, Pepi
Gun Control
Hoffman,
Housing
Immigration of
Intelligence Subseries
Appointment
of CIA Director
Colby
Report
Colby
Testimony (1)
Intelligence Subseries
Colby
Testimony (2)
Congressional
Investigations (1)‑(3)
Decision
Book (1)‑(4)
Intelligence
‑ General
Meeting
to Review Decision Book
New
York Times Articles by
Olson,
Frank
Options
Paper
Intelligence Subseries
President's
Actions Draft Report (1)‑(2)
President's
Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board
President's
Meeting with Richard Helms
Release
of Documents to the Church Committee (1)‑(2)
Reorganization
Report
by James J. Angleton
Report
on CIA Assassination Plots (1)‑(2)
Rockefeller
Commission ‑ General
Rockefeller
Commission ‑ Implementation of Recommendations
Rockefeller
Commission Report ‑ Final (1)
Intelligence Subseries
Rockefeller
Commission Report ‑ Final (2)‑(4)
Rockefeller
Commission Report ‑ General
Rockefeller
Commission Report ‑ Working Copy
Interstate Commission on the
Issues Briefing Book, Nov. 1975 (1)‑(2)
Issues Briefing Book, Oct. 1976 (1)‑(5)
Kahn, Herman (1)‑(2)
Kissinger, Henry ‑ Removal of Documents
from the White House
Kluczynski, John
Laird, Melvin
Law of the Sea Negotiations
Legislation ‑ General
Lewis, James ‑ Immigration Request
Library of Congress
Luce, Clare Booth
Microwave Study ‑ American Embassy ‑
Milliken, William E.
Office of Telecommunications Policy
Olympics
Parks Proposal
Passman, Otto
Penny, Don
Personnel ‑ General
Personnel ‑ Presidential Personnel Office
Director
Postal Rate Commission
Postal Service Legislation
President ‑ Assassination Attempt
President ‑ Ford Vision of the Good
Society
President ‑ Golf
President ‑ Media Contacts
President ‑ Meeting with the Pope
President ‑ Miscellaneous Notes to Dick
Cheney
President ‑ Request for Tickets to the
1977 Inauguration
President ‑ Schedule
President ‑ Succession Arrangements
President ‑ Telephone Calls
President ‑ Television Ratings Summary
President ‑ Trips
Presidential Clemency Board
Presidential Commission on School Integration
Privacy Legislation
Railroads
Republican National Committee
Republican Senatorial Campaign Committee
Reserve Officers Association Mid‑Winter
Conference
Rockefeller, Nelson ‑ Meeting with the
President,
Rockefeller, Nelson ‑ Progress Report on
Assignments
Rockefeller, Nelson ‑ Role as Vice
President
Sandman, Charles
Savings Bonds
Secret Service
Securities and Exchange Commission
Senior Staff Meeting,
Small Business Leaders Meeting with the
President
Social Security Finances
Social Security Tax
Solzhenitsyn, Alexander
State Department Personnel Changes
State of the Union Address, 1975
State of the Union Address, 1976
State of the Union Address, 1977
Steel Price Adjustments
Strategic Arms Limitation Talks ‑ Briefing
Paper
Strategic Arms Limitation Talks ‑ General
Strategic Arms Limitation Talks ‑ Options
Paper
Student Loan Program
Summary of Presidential Nominations and
Appointments, Mar. 1976 (1)‑(2)
Summary of Presidential Nominations and
Appointments, Apr. 1976 (1)‑(2)
Supreme Court Nomination
‑
Background on Recommended Candidates
‑
Letters to the President
‑
Opinions of John Paul Stevens on Environmental Questions
Tax Cut / Spending Limitation Proposal
Tax Exempt Status of Private Educational
Institutions
Television Series on the American Presidency
Transition (1974)
‑
Possible Candidates for Appointment to Positions (1)‑(2)
‑
Suggestions from the Cabinet and Agency Directors (1)‑(2)
‑
White House and Cabinet Personnel Report
Transition (1977)
‑
Analysis of White House Organization (1)‑(3)
‑
Briefing Book for Second Ford Administration (1)‑(2)
‑
General
Transportation Secretary
Trident Submarine
Truck Brake Regulations
Truck Regulatory Reform
Tulley, John Patrick
Unemployment Statistics
United Nations Ambassador
United Parcel Service Strike
United Service Organizations
Vail Trip
Vice Presidential Staff Salary Increases
Vocational Rehabilitation Bill
Voting Rights Act Extension
Waggoner, Joe
Welfare Reform ‑ Caspar
Weinberger Proposal (1)‑(2)
Welfare Reform ‑ Ronald Reagan Letter and
Report
White House Public Forums on Domestic Policy
Report (1)‑(5)
White House Social Events List
March 6 -
June 28 -
Campaign Subject File
Baker, Howard ‑ Meeting with the
President,
Belin, David
Butz, Earl
Campaign Communications Strategy (1)‑(3)
Campaign Strategy ‑ Advice to the
President
Carter, Jimmy
Connally, John
Conservative Third Party
Convention ‑ General
Convention Delegates
‑
General
‑
‑
‑
‑
Debates
Dole, Robert
Federal Election Campaign Act
Ford, Jack
Goldwater, Barry
Graham, Billy
Green, Edith
House and Senate Wednesday Groups
Longley, James
Marsh, John
MIA Task Force
Morton,
National Republican Congressional Committee
Fundraising Letter
National Republican Congressional Committee
Speech Kit (1)‑(2)
Paulucci, Jeno
Polling
President
‑
Financial Disclosure
‑
Investigations of his Finances
‑
Letter of Support from Republican Congressmen
‑
Miscellaneous Notes to Dick Cheney
‑
Telephone Calls (1)‑(8)
President
‑
Telephone Calls (9)
President Ford '76 Factbook
(1)‑(3)
President Ford Committee
‑
Advertising Policy
‑
Advisory Committee Meeting
‑
Establishment (1)‑(5)
‑
Fundraising
‑
General
‑
Lee Nunn Resignation as Political Director
‑
Lists of Officials and Staff, Nov. 1975
Primary Campaign Media Interview Rehearsals,
Reagan, Ronald
Rhodes, John
Rockefeller, Nelson
Spokesmen Program
State Campaign Information
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
‑
Vice President
Volpe, John
Young Republican Conferences
Correspondence
File
A‑B
C‑L
M‑Z