Gerald R. Ford Library

1000 Beal Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI  48109-2114

www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov

 


 

Press Secretary's Office

 

 

 

ERIC ROSENBERGER and DOUGLASS BLASER

Directors of Press Advance:

Files, 1974-77

 

 

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

 

       The Press Advance Office handled logistical planning and support for media covering the President's foreign and domestic trips.  A small subject file includes useful folders on the 1976 campaign and advance procedures.  Case files for foreign trips are occasionally substantive.  Domestic trip files are very routine with rare exceptions, e.g. New Hampshire, 1976.

 

 

QUANTITY

20 linear feet (ca. 37,000 pages)

 

DONOR

Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-89)

 

ACCESS

Open.  Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

 

COPYRIGHT

Gerald Ford has donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

 

Prepared by David Horrocks, July 1984

[s:\bin\findaid\rosenberger, eric and blaser, douglass - files.doc]


                                           BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

 

 

 

                                           Eric Rosenberger

 

 

 

 

1944                                   Born

 

1967                                   B.A., Harvard College

 

1967‑72                              Various private industry positions

 

1968                                   Member, Massachusetts Nixon‑Agnew Committee

 

Oct. 1972                            Became volunteer advanceman for the Committee for Re‑election of the President

 

Dec. 1972                           Joined Nixon Inaugural Committee as a subcommittee assistant director

 

Feb. 1973                           Became consultant for Office of Economic Opportunity.  Began volunteer advance work for First Family.

 

Nov. 1973                           Joined White House staff as advanceman for First Family

 

Dec. 1973                           Became advanceman for Vice President Ford, "on loan" from White House staff

 

March 1974                        Appointed director of White House press advance

 

June 1976                            Resigned, returned to Boston to work in family firm, Woodfield Farm


                                           BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

 

 

 

                                           Douglass Blaser

 

 

 

 

1942                                   Born in Logan, Utah

 

1965                                   B.S., Utah State University

 

1965‑68                              Allstate Insurance Co., Los Angeles

 

1968                                   Became marketing manager, Mattell Inc.

 

1972                                   Joined Vice President Agnew's staff as an advanceman

 

1973                                   Became Executive Assistant to the Director, National Park Service

 

April 1976                           Joined White House press advance staff

 

June 1976                            Appointed director of press advance

 

Jan. 1977                            Resigned


INTRODUCTION

 

 

 

             Eric Rosenberger and his successor, Douglass Blaser, directed White House press advance.  Press advance was assistance to the White House press corps, the local press, and press office staff during all presidential trips outside the White House.  Such assistance might include: visas, credentialling, air and ground transportation, lodging, camera lighting, press positions, equipment and space for filing stories, and organization of press pools.

 

Most of the Rosenberger‑Blaser Files, especially domestic trip case files, abundantly reflect these routine logistical activities.  Some case files, however, do contain materials of greater research value, e.g. State Department cables regarding foreign trips, occasional memoranda on local political conditions, and clippings of local press coverage.  A general subject file includes useful information on the 1976 campaign, press relations problems and goals, office organization, and advance work "philosophy" among other matters.

 

The press advance staff was small and used field volunteers during domestic trips.  It was part of the Press Secretary's Office, and its head reported to the Deputy Press Secretary.  Predictably, it had coordination problems with the much more important but separate Office of Scheduling and Advance, which did the advance work for the presidential party.

 

 

Related Materials (July 1984):

 At this writing, archivists have identified no other files narrowly focussed on press advance.  However, the files and paper of colleagues in the Press Secretary's Office will contain related material in varying degrees, as will WHCF category PR‑Public Relations.  A few items on Rosenberger and Blaser may be found in WHCF Name File and WHCF subcategory FG 6‑11‑1/(name).

 

Material on the many facets of presidential trips, including advance work, may be found at WHCF category TR‑Trips.  The files of "Red" Cavaney, who directed advance work for the presidential party, extensively treat all aspects of advance work but they are currently unprocessed and unavailable.

 


 

Series Descriptions

 

1‑5           Subject File, 1974-77.  (2.5 linear feet)

Advance office manual, memoranda, newsletters to volunteers, schedules, checklists, forms, press releases, resumes, expense logs, and other material.  Subjects include press advance procedures, expenses and personnel; 1976 campaign press relations, analysis of still photo coverage, and relations with the President Ford Committee and the Republican National Committee; diverse reference information such as a mileage tabulation of presidential trips.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

 

6‑16         Foreign Trips, 1974-76.  (4.5 linear feet)

State Department cables, memoranda, airport diagrams, floor‑plans, schedules, press kits of country fact sheets and biographical statements on foreign officials, tourist literature, and local press clippings (especially West Germany and Indonesia).

Arranged by trip and thereunder by itinerary.

 

17‑44       Domestic Trips, 1974-76.  (11.5 linear feet)

Memoranda, transportation schedules, checklists, floorplans, airport diagrams, local newspaper clippings, maps, tourist literature, press releases, and correspondence.  Most of the material is highly routine, but there are exceptions, e.g. New Hampshire 1976.

Arranged by state and thereunder by date of each trip.

 

44‑47       District of Columbia Area Trip File, 1974-77.  (1.5 linear feet)

Hotel floorplans and publications, press releases, schedules, memoranda, and checklists regarding presidential events in the D.C. metropolitan area.

Arranged chronologically by trip.


 

Container List

 

Box 1     Subject File

Advance Manual (1)‑(5)

Advance Manual Revision ‑ "International Press Advance"

Advance Manual Revision ‑ "The Press" (Chapter VIII) (1)‑(2)

Advance Office Newsletter

Biographies

Camp David ‑ Background, 1969‑73 (1)‑(3)

 

Box 2     Subject File

Checklists and Forms ‑ Domestic Trips

Checklists and Forms ‑ Foreign Trips

Checklists and Forms ‑ In Town

Directory of Staff Assistants to Governors

Expenses ‑ Bills (1)‑(2)

Expenses ‑ Local Press Center (1)‑(6)

Expenses ‑ Rosenberger

 

Box 3     Subject File

Ford Travel, Speeches, Interviews

Local Press Relations

Military Aide's Office

Planning Calendars

Pre‑Advance Trip to Salzburg

Presidential Campaign ‑ Miscellaneous

Presidential Campaign ‑ Republican Convention

Press Advance Log Book

Press Advance Meeting, June 1976

Press Advance ‑ Miscellaneous Internal Memos

Press Advance Procedures

Press Advance Relations with the Republican National Committee

Press Advance Schedules, Aug. ‑ Dec. 1975

Press Pools (1)‑(2)

 


Box 4     Subject File

Press Pools (3)‑(5)

Press Relations Meeting, June 1975

Press Relations Meeting, Aug. 1976

Resumes ‑ Female

Resumes ‑ Male

Rosenberger ‑ Letters (1)‑(3)

Rosenberger ‑ Memoranda (1)‑(2)

Schedules ‑ Mrs. Ford

United States Information Agency

United States Secret Service

 

Box 5     Subject File

Volunteer Forms

Volunteer Seminar, September 1976

Volunteers ‑ Current List

Volunteers ‑ Previously Used (1)‑(2)

Washington, DC ‑ Media List (1)‑(3)

Washington, DC ‑ Hotel Conference Space Floor Plans

White House Organization/Standards of Conduct, Standards of Conduct

 

Box 6     Foreign Trips

Mexico, October 1974

: General (1)‑(2)

: Bills

: Schedules

: Thank You Letters

Far East, November 1974

: General

: Japan Advance Book

: Japan Briefing Book

: Japan Cables

: Japan General (1)‑(2)

: Japan Kyoto Visit

 

Box 7     Foreign Trips

Far East, November 1974

: Japan Network Requirements

: Japan Pool Breakdowns

: Japan Schedules (1)‑(4)

: South Korea Advance Book

: South Korea Cables

: South Korea General


: South Korea Schedules (1)‑(2)

: U.S.S.R. Advance Book

: U.S.S.R. Cables

 


Box 8     Foreign Trips

Far East, November 1974

: USSR General

: USSR Schedules

Martinique, December 1974

: Advance Book

: Cables

: Fact Book

: General (1)‑(5)

: Press Releases

: Schedules (1)‑(3)

 

Box 9     Foreign Trips

Martinique, December 1974

: Tourist Literature (1)‑(2)

Europe, May‑June 1975

: Europe Advance Book

: Europe General

: Gifts from President Ford

: Press Book Originals (1)‑(2)

: Press Pools

: Schedules (1)‑(3)

: Belgium Cables

: Belgium Diagrams

: Belgium General (1)‑(2)

 


Box 10   Foreign Trips

Europe, May‑June 1975

: Belgium Press Lists and Pool

: Belgium Schedules

: Spain American Embassy Packet

: Spain Cables

: Spain Diagrams

: Spain General (1)‑(2)

: Spain Press Kit

: Spain Press Lists and Pools

: Spain Reporters Notebook

: Spain Schedules (1)‑(3)

: Austria Cables

: Austria Facts and Figures

 


Box 11   Foreign Trips

Europe, May‑June 1975

: Austria General

: Austria Press Kit

: Austria Press Lists and Pools

: Austria Schedules (1)‑(2)

: Italy Cables

: Italy General

: Italy Press Kit

: Italy Press Lists and Pools

: Italy Schedules

Europe, July‑August 1975

: Europe Cables

: Europe General

: Europe Gifts Exchanged

: Europe Press Book (1)‑(2)

: Europe Press Book Originals (1)

 

Box 12   Foreign Trips

Europe, July‑August 1975

: Europe Press Book Originals (2)‑(3)

: Europe Schedules

: Germany Press Book Raw Materials (1)‑(2)

: Germany Background (Printed Material)

: Germany General

: Germany Local Press Clippings

: Germany Press Notebook

: Germany Schedules


: Poland Cables

: Poland Diagrams

 

Box 13   Foreign Trips

Europe, July‑August 1975

: Poland General

: Poland Schedules

: Poland Tourist Literature (1)‑(3)

: Finland General

: Finland CSCE Biographical Information

: Finland Tourist Literature

: Romania General

: Romania Press Kit

: Romania Schedules

: Yugoslavia American Embassy Packet

: Yugoslavia Cables

: Yugoslavia Diagrams

 

Box 14   Foreign Trips

Europe, July‑August 1975

: Yugoslavia General

: Yugoslavia Press Kit

: Yugoslavia Schedules

France/Rambouillet, Nov. 1975

: Biographies of Participants

: Diagrams

: General (1)‑(2)

: Press Book

: Press Pools and Lists

: Schedules

: Tourist Literature (1)‑(3)

 

Box 15   Foreign Trips

Pacific Basin, November‑December 1975

: General Schedule

: China General

: China Tourist Manual

: Philippines

: Indonesia Cables

: Indonesia Diagrams

: Indonesia General (1)‑(2)

: Indonesia Local Press Clips

: Indonesia Press Lists


: Indonesia Press Notes

: Indonesia