Gerald R. Ford Library

1000 Beal Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI  48109-2114

www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov

 


 

Office of Editorial Staff

 

 

 

 

PRESIDENTIAL SPEECHES AND STATEMENTS:

Reading Copies, 1974-77

 

 

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

 

       Reading copies, usually on cards and often annotated by President Ford, of over one thousand speeches, veto messages press conference statements and other prepared remarks.  Supporting material (background and drafts) appear in only a few folders.

 

QUANTITY

16.8 linear feet (ca. 33,600 pages)

 

DONOR

Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-103)

 

ACCESS

Open.  Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

 

COPYRIGHT

Gerald Ford has donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections.  The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.  Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

 

Prepared by Leesa Tobin, January 1982

[s:\bin\findaid\president's speeches and statements - reading copies.doc]


INTRODUCTION

 

 

 

             This file consists almost entirely of the reading copies of President Ford's 1,051 public messages.  They are arranged chronologically.  Related and supporting materials appear occasionally and include preliminary drafts and, less frequently, background material.

 

In addition to speeches there are veto messages, legislative messages to Congress, statements accompanying bill signing, presidential proclamations, miscellaneous messages and greetings to private organizations, press conference statements and numerous, less formal "drop‑in" remarks and talking points prepared for convenience in delivery, most public messages were prepared in large type face on large index cards.  They are very often heavily annotated in his hand, especially underlining for speaking emphasis.

 

For the most part, however, drafts and background material on presidential speeches before November 1, 1975 are in the White House Central Files Subject File for presidential speeches (SP).  Material produced after November 1, 1975 is more likely in the files of Robert Orben, Special Assistant to the President.  Related material in a particular speech or remark may be found in many locations, such as the files of White House staffers with a scheduling or policy interest.


 

Series Descriptions

 

1‑42         Reading Copies of Speeches, 1974-77.  (16.8 linear feet)

A chronologically arranged set of case files containing reading copies of presidential speeches, along with occasional speech drafts and Ford notes.


 

Container List

 

Box 1     Reading Copies of Speeches

8/9/74 ‑ Swearing‑in Ceremony

8/12/74 ‑ Presidential Address to Congressional Joint Session (Includes draft)

8/13/74 ‑ Presidential Appointees

8/19/74 ‑ Veterans of Foreign Wars Convention

8/30/74 ‑ Commencement of Ohio State University

9/2/74Michigan Republican Convention

9/2/74 ‑ Radio Tape for the Michigan Championship Rodeo

9/3/74 ‑ White House United Way Message

9/4/74 ‑ Tenth Anniversary of the National Endowment of the Arts Reception at the Kennedy Center (Draft only, no reading copy)

9/5/74 ‑ Meeting of Economists

9/6/74 ‑ Reconvening of the Continental Congress, Philadelphia, PA

9/8/74 ‑ Presidential Pardon Message

9/9/74Pittsburgh Conference on Urban Transportation

9/10/74 ‑ Arrival Statement for Visit of Prime Minister Rabin

9/11/74 ‑ Conference on Inflation

9/11/74 ‑ Dedication of the World Golf Hall of Fame

9/11/74 ‑ Opening of the World Golf Hall of Fame

9/11/74 ‑ Greetings for Radio‑TV Correspondents Association International Conference

9/12/74 ‑ Rosh Hashanah

9/12/74 ‑ Introduction of Eugene Fodor, Guest Violinist, at the State Dinner for Prime Minister Rabin

9/16/74 ‑ Announcing a Program for the Return of Vietnam Era Draft Evaders and Military Deserters

9/18/74Washington Press Club

9/18/74 ‑ United Nations General Assembly

9/23/74 ‑ World Energy Conference, Detroit, Michigan

9/24/74 ‑ International Association of Chiefs of Police

9/24/74 ‑ Congressional Administrative Assistants

9/24/74 ‑ Presentation of Portrait of Congresswoman Leonor Sullivan

9/25/74 ‑ Arrival Statement, His Excellency Giovanni Leone

9/27/74 ‑ Conference on Inflation, Opening Remarks

9/27/74 ‑ LBJ Memorial Grove Groundbreaking Ceremony

9/28/74 ‑ Conference on Inflation, Closing Remarks

9/30/74 ‑ International Monetary Fund

10/3/74 ‑ Congressional Retirees Dinner

10/7/74 ‑ George Aiken Day

10/7/74 ‑ Joint Session of the Congress

10/8/74 ‑ White House Lawn Welcome, First Secretary Gierek

10/9/74 ‑ Opening Remarks at News Conference

10/9/74 ‑ White House Signing Ceremony, U.S. ‑ Polish Agreements

10/9/74Pennsylvania GOP Reception

10/10/74Michigan Republican Salute the President Dinner

10/14/74 ‑ Presidential Remarks on Continuing Resolution Veto

 

Box 2     Reading Copies of Speeches

10/15/74 ‑ Future Farmers of America

10/16/74South Dakota Republican State Central Committee Rally

10/16/74Indianapolis Fundraiser

10/16/74 ‑ Lincoln, Nebraska Campaign Speech (Draft only, no reading copy)

10/18/74 ‑ Dedication of New Departmental Headquarters Building

10/18/74 ‑ National Council on Crime and Delinquency

10/19/74 ‑ Newspaper Dedication, Anderson, South Carolina

10/19/74GreenvilleSpartanburg, S.C. Airport Arrival (Includes handwritten Ford notes)

10/19/74Rock Hill Shopping Center, Rock Hill S.C.

10/19/74Greenville, South Carolina Fundraiser

10/19/74Louisville, Kentucky

10/19/74Greensboro, North Carolina

10/21/74 ‑ Remarks at the Border of U.S. and Mexico

10/21/74Mexico Visit Departure Statement

10/22/74 ‑ GOP Fundraiser, Cleveland, Ohio

10/22/74 ‑ Morning Fundraiser, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

10/22/74Myriad Center, GOP Public Rally, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

10/24/74 ‑ Steps of the Capitol, Des Moines, Iowa

10/24/74Des Moines Republican Fundraiser

10/24/74 ‑ President's Dinner, United GOP Fundraiser, Chicago

10/28/74 ‑ Veterans Day Address, Arlington Cemetery

10/29/74 ‑ Statement on Energy Team Appointments

10/29/74Calder Plaza, Grand Rapids, Michigan

10/29/74Calvin College GOP Rally

10/31/74 ‑ Remarks for Film Clip for "The Fun in Your Life"

10/31/74 ‑ Remarks at the Sioux City Municipal Airport

10/31/74Los Angeles GOP Fundraiser

 


Box 3     Reading Copies of Speeches

11/1/74 ‑ Remarks at the Oregon GOP Reception

11/1/74Wichita, Kansas GOP Rally

11/1/74 ‑ Remarks at the Fresno Air Terminal

11/1/74 ‑ White House Conference on Domestic and Economic Affairs, Portland, Oregon

11/1/74 ‑ Shriners Convention Drop‑By Wichita, Kansas

11/1/74 ‑ Auction for Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, Portland, Oregon

11/2/74Utah Republican State Central Committee, Salt Lake City, Utah

11/2/74 ‑ Remarks at a Rally for Senator Peter H. Dominick

11/4/74 ‑ Statement Regarding Election Day

11/6/74 ‑ Tribute to Representative Bob Sikes

11/8/74 ‑ Christmas Message for the Veterans

11/11/74 ‑ Thanksgiving Day Proclamation

11/12/74 ‑ Welcoming Remarks, Chancellor Kreisky

11/12/74 ‑ Toast for Kreisky State Dinner

11/12/74 ‑ Vikki Carr Introduction At Kreisky Dinner

11/14/74 ‑ Remarks at Luke Air Force Base

11/14/74 ‑ Opening Remarks for Society of Professional Journalists ‑ Sigma Delta Chi Press Conference

11/14/74 ‑ National Association of Realtors, Las Vegas, Nevada

11/17/74 ‑ Elmendorf Air Base, Alaska

11/17/74 ‑ Departure from the White House for the Far East

11/19/74 ‑ Toast at the Imperial Banquet, Imperial Palace, Tokyo

11/19/74 ‑ Presidential Toast at Luncheon Tendered by Prime Minister Tanaka

11/20/74 ‑ American Community Reception at U.S. Embassy, Tokyo

11/20/74 ‑ Toast at the Akasaka Palace, Tokyo, Japan

11/20/74 ‑ Congressional (Diet) Reception, Hotel Okura, Tokyo

11/20/74 ‑ Reception of Non‑Governmental Groups, Okura Hotel, Tokyo

11/20/74Japan Press Club

11/22/74 ‑ Welcoming Speech in Republic of Korea

11/22/74 ‑ Toast After Dinner at Banquet Hotel, Seoul, South Korea

11/22/74 ‑ Toast to President Park, Seoul, Korea

11/23/74 ‑ Arrival Statement, Vozdvizhenka Airfield, U.S.S.R.

11/23/74 ‑ Toast to General Secretary Brezhnev

11/24/74 ‑ Remarks Upon Return From Trip to Japan, Republic of Korea, and USSR, Andrews Air Force Base

11/26/74 ‑ Signing of Mass Transportation Assistance Act

11/26/74 ‑ Reception Honoring Congressman John Rooney

11/29/74 ‑ Presidential Remarks For Clemency Boards Signings

12/1/74 ‑ Salute to Lee Elder

12/2/74 ‑ Press Conference Opening Remarks, The Economy and Asian Trip

12/2/74 ‑ Scouter of the Year Dinner

 

Box 4     Reading Copies of Speeches

12/3/74 ‑ American Conference on Trade

12/4/74 ‑ Rockefeller Public Service Awards

12/4/74 ‑ Toast in Honor of Prime Minister Trudeau

12/5/74 ‑ Remarks at Breakfast for Defeated Members of Congress

12/5/74 ‑ Welcoming Remarks, Chancellor Schmidt

12/5/74 ‑ Remarks at Lilly Endowment Conference Meeting

12/5/74 ‑ Dinner Toast to Chancellor Schmidt

12/5/74 ‑ Presidential Introduction for Joel Grey

12/6/74 ‑ Suggested Tall Jokes for Meeting with Harlem Globetrotters

12/10/74 ‑ Remarks at Unveiling of Portrait of Congressman Mahon

12/10/74 ‑ Annual Awards Dinner, National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame (Includes draft)

12/11/74 ‑ Business Council

12/12/74 ‑ Remarks at Medal of Honor Ceremony

12/14/74 ‑ Arrival Statement, Martinique

12/14/74 ‑ Toast at French State Dinner, Martinique

12/15/74 ‑ Introduction of Sarah Vaughan

12/15/74 ‑ Toast for Dinner Hosted By President Ford in Martinique

12/17/74 ‑ Remarks for the Christmas Ball

12/17/74 ‑ Remarks for Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony

12/19/74 ‑ Ceremony for General Andrew Goodpaster

12/19/74 ‑ American Freedom Train Certification (Includes assignment sheet and letter)

12/19/74 ‑ Remarks for the Press Corps Christmas Party

12/20/74 ‑ Remarks for Senator Sparkman Birthday Luncheon

1/3/75 ‑ Remarks on Signing of the Trade Act of 1974

1/7/75 ‑ Remarks at the National Collegiate Athletic Association Award Luncheon

1/9/75 ‑ Remarks for International Women's Year

1/9/75 ‑ Remarks for American Football Coaches Association Dinner

1/10/75 ‑ Remarks for the Vince Lombardi Outstanding College Lineman Award Dinner

1/13/75 ‑ T.V. Address, Preview of the State of the Union Message (Includes drafts) (1)‑(2)

1/15/75 ‑ State of the Union Address, 94th Congress (Includes drafts) (1)‑(3)

1/15/75 ‑ Film Clip For Martin Luther King's Birthday

 


Box 5     Reading Copies of Speeches

1/16/75 ‑ Remarks to Group of Mayors, Governors, County Officials and State Legislators (Includes notes by President Ford)

1/16/75 ‑ Remarks to Presidential Spokesmen

1/16/75 ‑ Remarks to U.S. Industrial Payroll Savings Committee

1/17/75 ‑ Remarks for Legislative Leaders Awards Ceremony

1/18/75 ‑ Bob Georgine Testimonial Dinner

1/21/75 ‑ Press Conference Opening Remarks

1/22/75 ‑ Remarks to the Conference Board

1/22/75 ‑ Signing Ceremony: Geneva Protocol of 1925 and the Biological Weapons Convention

1/23/75 ‑ Statement for Proclamation on Increasing Imported Oil Fees

1/23/75 ‑ Remarks to the National Newspaper Publishers

1/24/75 ‑ Remarks for Radio ‑ Television News Directors Association

1/25/75 ‑ Remarks for the Alfalfa Club

1/26/75 ‑ National Press Club Swearing in Ceremony Remarks

1/26/75Kennedy Center Preview of Capitol Hill Historical Society Film

1/28/75 ‑ National Religious Broadcasters' 32nd Annual Congressional Breakfast

1/30/75 ‑ Remarks at National Prayer Breakfast

1/30/75 ‑ Arrival Remarks for Prime Minister Wilson

1/30/75 ‑ Toast for Prime Minister Wilson

1/30/75 ‑ Introduction of Beverly Sills

2/1/75 ‑ Budget Briefing Remarks

2/3/75 ‑ Remarks at Signing of the Budget Message to Congress

2/3/75 ‑ Remarks at Signing of Economic Report of the President

2/3/75 ‑ Talking Points for Meeting with Governors, Atlanta, Georgia

2/3/75 ‑ Remarks to White House Conference on Domestic and Economic Affairs, Atlanta, Georgia

2/4/75 ‑ Remarks for News Media Breakfast, Atlanta, Georgia

2/4/75 ‑ Remarks to the Opportunities Industrialization Center

2/5/75 ‑ Toast at State Dinner for Prime Minister Bhutto

2/5/75 ‑ Introduction of Billy Taylor

2/7/75U.S. Senate Youth Program

2/7/75 ‑ Remarks for Swearing‑In Ceremony of Edward Levi, Attorney General (Includes draft)

2/10/75 ‑ Talking Points on Swearing‑In of James Lynn (Includes draft)

2/10/75 ‑ Talking Points for Governors Dinner and Press Breakfast, Houston, Texas

2/11/75 ‑ Remarks Before the Energy Conference, Houston, Texas

2/11/75 ‑ Talking Points for Governors' Luncheon, Topeka, Kansas (Includes draft)

2/11/75 ‑ Presidential Remarks to Joint Session of Kansas State Legislature

 


Box 6     Reading Copies of Speeches

2/12/75 ‑ Abraham Lincoln Wreath Laying Remarks

2/13/75 ‑ Remark to New York Society of Security Analysts

2/13/75 ‑ Remarks to Honor Nelson Rockefeller Dinner

2/14/75 ‑ Testimony for Congressman Sam Devine

2/15/75 ‑ A Bicentennial Declaration

2/17/75 ‑ Remarks at Masonic National Memorial

2/18/75 ‑ Betty Murphy Swearing‑in (reading copy missing)

2/20/75 ‑ Remarks and Toast, Dinner for Governors and Spouses

2/21/75 ‑ Reserve Officers Association of the U.S.

2/25/75 ‑ White House Conference, Miami, Florida

2/25/75