NATIONAL SECURITY COUNCIL WASHINGTON, D.C. 20506

CONFIDENTIAL/GDS

April 21, 1976

National Security Decision Memorandum 326

TO:

The Vice President
The Secretary of State
The Secretary of Defense
The Attorney General

The Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff The Director of Central Intelligence

The Director, Office of Management and Budget

The Director, Arms Control and Disarmament Agency
The Assistant to the President for National Security Affair

SUBJECT:

Functions and Organizations of National

Security Council Sub-Groups

I have reviewed the organization and functions of the various subgroups of the National Security Council and have made the following determinations:

The functions of the <u>Senior Review Group</u> will remain as described in the second and third paragraphs of National Security Decision Memorandum 85. It will continue to be chaired by the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs and its membership will include:

The Deputy Secretary of State
The Deputy Secretary of Defense
The Director of Central Intelligence
The Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff

Depending on the issue under consideration, other agencies shall be represented at the discretion of the Chairman.

KBH 145/96
(per NSC)

The Verification Panel will continue to perform the basic technical analysis to help develop choices and proposals for strategic arms limitation, approaches to mutual and balanced force reductions in Europe, and other major arms control subjects. This analysis will include the verification requirements which must accompany arms limitations and the capabilities of weapons systems whose limitation is being considered. It will be chaired by the Secretary of State in his capacity as a member of the National Security Council. Its membership will include:

The Deputy Secretary of State
The Deputy Secretary of Defense
The Director of Central Intelligence
The Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff
The Director, Arms Control and Disarmament Agency
The Assistant to the President for National Security Affair:

Those portions of the Memorandum of July 21, 1969, signed by the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs, and of National Security Study Memoranda 92 and 128 which relate to the organization or functions of the Verification Panel are superseded by this Decision Memorandum.

The Defense Program Review Committee, established by National Security Council Memorandum 26, shall be reconstituted as the Defense Review Panel. The Panel will review major defense policy and program issues which have strategic, political, diplomatic and economic implications in relation to overall national priorities. The Defense Review Panel will be chaired by the Secretary of Defense in his capacity as a member of the National Security Council. Its membership will include:

The Deputy Secretary of State
The Deputy Secretary of Defense
The Director of Central Intelligence
The Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff
The Director, Office of Management and Budget *
The Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs

[*For consideration of matters having budgetary implications.]

Depending on the issue under consideration, other agencies shall be represented at the discretion of the Chairman.

National Security Decision Memorandum 26 is hereby superseded by this Decision Memorandum.

The <u>Washington Special Actions Group</u> will continue to develop options for implementation of decisions during crises and for integrating the political and military requirements of crisis action. It will be chaired by the Secretary of State in his capacity as a member of the National Security Council. Its membership will consist of:

The Deputy Secretary of State
The Deputy Secretary of Defense
The Director of Central Intelligence
The Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff
The Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs

That portion of the Memorandum of May 16, 1969, signed by the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs, which relates to the organization and functions of the Group is superseded by this Decision Memorandum.

The 40 Committee, is hereby abolished. It is replaced by the Operations Advisory Group, established by Executive Order 11905 of February 18, 1976.

This group will review and advise the President on covert operations and certain sensitive foreign intelligence collection missions. It will be chaired by the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs and its membership will be as follows:

The Secretary of State
The Secretary of Defense
The Director of Central Intelligence
The Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff

Observers:

The Attorney General
The Director, Office of Management and Budget

The <u>Intelligence Committee</u>, established by the President's Memorandum of November 5, 1971, is hereby abolished.

The <u>Committee on Foreign Intelligence</u> was established by Executive Order 11905 and its duties are as described in the Executive Order.

It is chaired by the Director of Central Intelligence and its membership consists of:

The Deputy Secretary of Defense for Intelligence
The Deputy Assistant to the President for
National Security Affairs

The functions and membership of the <u>Under Secretaries Committee</u> will remain as described in National Security Decision Memoranda 2 and 8. It will be chaired by the Deputy Secretary of State.

The functions and membership of the six standing <u>Interdepartmental</u> <u>Groups</u> will remain as described in National Security Decision Memorandum 2. The five geographic Groups will be chaired by the appropriate geographic Assistant Secretary of State. The Interdepartmental Group for Political-Military Affairs will be chaired by a representative of the Secretary of Defense.

Mirchel R. Ful