FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 2, 1974

Office of the White House Press Secretary

THE WHITE HOUSE

The President today announced his intention to nominate two persons for appointment as Members of the Board of Parole for terms of 6 years:

George J. Reed, of Eugene, Oregon; who was Chairman of the Board of Farole from 1959 to 1972.

William E. Amos, of College Park, Maryland; Member of the Board of Parole since 1969 and Chairman of the Youth Correction Division since 1972.

The Board of Parole consists of eight members, appointed by the President by and with the advice and consent of the Senate. It has sole authority to grant, modify, or revoke paroles of all U.S. prisoners. It is responsible for the supervision of parolees and prisoners released upon the expiration of their sentences with allowances for statutory good times. U.S. probation officers supervise parolees and mandatory releases.

The Board has additional responsibility in cases in which the committing court specifies that the Board of Parole shall determine the date of parole eligibility of the prisoner. It may, under its rules, discharge parolees from supervision.

#

The Board also has the responsibility of determining, in accordance with the provisions of section 504 of the Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959, whether the service as officials in the field of organized labor of persons convicted of certain crimes is contrary to the purposes of that act.