# The original documents are located in Box C30, folder "Presidential Handwriting, 11/4/1975" of the Presidential Handwriting File at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

#### **Copyright Notice**

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. If you think any of the information displayed in the PDF is subject to a valid copyright claim, please contact the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

## THE WHITE HOUSE

November 4, 1975

Max Friedersdorf:

The attached was returned in the President's outbox.

Jim Connor

### MEMORANDUM

### THE PRESIDENT HAS SEEN

May 7.

November 4, 1975

Re: House vote on H.R. 1287, September 25, 1975

H.R. 1287, amending the United Nations Participation Act of 1945 was defeated September 25, 1975 in the House, 187 to 209 with 37 absentees. One House seat was vacant then and remains vacant.

A preliminary vote count was maintained by supporters of H.R. 1287. In this count preliminary to the House vote, twelve (12) Republicans who ultimately voted against H.R. 1287 were counted as being favorable to the bill. If these twelve Republicans listed below had supported the bill, H.R. 1287 would have passed:

Bell Garry Brown Coughlin Esch Hagedorn Lent Pettis Pressler Pritchard Ruppe Sarasin Steelman

Several other Republicans who voted against H.R. 1287 supported the Rhodesian sanctions in the past or have shown some sympathy toward the United Nations sanctions:

Cleveland

O'Brien Vander Jagi

Fish Vander Jagt

Four Republicans counted as "firm supporters" of H.R. 1287 were absent

Brown, Ohio Erlenborn

on September 25:

Fenwick

Heckler, Massachusetts

Republican House Members (22) voting for H.R. 1287 are listed below:

Anderson, Illinois
Biester
Buchanan
Cohen
Conable
Conte
du Pont
Emery
Findley
Frenzel
Gude

Horton
Jeffords
McCloskey
McDade
McKinney
Mosher
Peyser
Railsback
Rinaldo

J. William Stanton

Whalen